$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
338 reviews
Great service, Great Hotel

I stay one night, I liked the hotel, clean, safe, friendly staff, great price. Close to main road,... See full review

  • Jose J
  • Dec 14, 2013
Great

Last second booking, truly miamis best kept secret, family atmosphere! See full review

  • Ambi bear
  • Jun 8, 2014
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7057 -80.2911
Area served
Miami, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Local attractions include:Miami Seaquarium, Miami Museum of Science, Viscaya Museum and Gardens, Fairchild Tropical Gardens, Matheson Hammock Park and beach, Key Biscayne, Lowe Museum of Art, Historical Venetian Pools (natural springs replenishes daily and is made out of natural coral) a true sight!, IMAX, AMC, Actors Playhouse, Coconut Grove Playhouse, The Improv Comedy Club, Gables Stage Theater; Homestead Miami Speedway, University of Miami Hurricanes, and University of Miami Basketball, American Airlines Arena Downtown Miami speedway races; South Miami Hospital, Baptist Hospital, Larkin Hospital, Jackson Memorial Hospital, Doctor's Hospital, Cedars Medical Center, Coral Gables Hospital and Miami Children's Hospital; University of Miami, Ross University/Larkin. Florida International University, Miami Dade Community College-South Campus, Wolfson Campus

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)
Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (338)

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
338 out of 338
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
hartford ct
Feb 21, 2010

ok for price

no breakfast only toast, OJ and nasty coffee dont have face cloths electrical outlets only work when the want to

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jan 4, 2008

Good luck getting sheets.

After informing the front desk that I would be checking in late, I arrived in my room -- mind you, it was the coldest day in Miami in one hundred years! -- to no blankets on my bed. It took five calls to the front desk and a bit of a threatening attitude towards a generally unpleasant desk clerk to have two extra sheets delivered to my room. Sheets -- not blankets. I spent the entire night freezing (as there was no heat in the room to begin with) and checked out early the next day. Would not recommend this place to anyone who expects quality service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everglades is about 30m away. This is a good place to stay if you want to visit. US-1 (into the Keys) runs along the front road. Very easy to access.

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
hartford ct
Feb 21, 2010

ok for price

no breakfast only toast, OJ and nasty coffee dont have face cloths electrical outlets only work when the want to

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ORL
D-town
Feb 24, 2009

Ok hotel

Trip was great,hotel room was clean but does have musty smell.Bathroom looks new but room doesn't.The hotel is like in the middle of Miami,fl.Lots of eating places near by.Didnt like you had to pay 7.50 a day to park.What mad me upset is when I left the hotel I left my camera in the bedroom draw.And I was like five hours away from miami, and didn't want to turn around.I called the hotel and they said there was no camera found.I wasnt very helpful when called.That means it was stolen by staff. Because im 100% I left it in the room.Besides that it was a nice stay for the price.But room is outdated except bathroom and staff is rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shirley the explorer
Toronto, Canada
Aug 14, 2012

She is like a great beauty whose beauty is fading with age.

My experience at the Best Miami was OK, for a stay of 4 days. I would have been really p'd off if I had to stay longer. I was pleasantly surprised with the continental breakfast. There were about 4 different things to eat and there was your juice, tea and coffee. All included in your room price. The room had a small leak from condensation with the air conditioning so there was a little puddle ouside the bathroom each morning. We could live with that for 4 ays. Th room had no coffe maker, which was a disappointment. The staff were OK. No one was rude. The pool was once beautiful. Not so much now but it was well used by children during our stay. The electronic key was annoying. It often did not open the door and we had to keep trying for about 5 minutes most times. I loved the glass elevator, we had a lovely view of the pool area. Like I said, it just takes a little imagination to see that this hotel was once a place of beauty. Although time has taken a toll on its appearance, we still got value for a modest rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Agaa
Columbus
Nov 30, 2013

Rude receptionist

Very rude receptionist ; didn't do their job properly ; also no hotel shuttle available for us when we went

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
eli62
miami
Oct 30, 2011

the hotle was just o.k with very poor breakfirs.

we had been there only one night.the ctew was o.k parking cost 8$ over night. too far from miami beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FloridaMiamitravaler
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Sep 18, 2011

Broken AC

friendly staff. Rooms could be cleaner. The main problem, is the air conditioning which is stuck at a very cold settling. It makes for a very uncomfortable night.But, the price is right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MININA
MIAMI, FL
Jun 22, 2009

Great location, clean and quite

room was confortable, clean, comes with a microwave and small refrigerator, very practical when you travel with children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wenock
Tampa FL
Jan 23, 2012

The Faded Lady

In its day, was probably pretty nice. Room itself OK, but overall it is tired and needs much attention. Dirty windows detract from lobby ambiance. Hall carpets need replacing and in general, looks neglected. Did not expect $8 per night parking charge or $2 per night mandatory charge for safe in room. Desk clerk brusque. Room phone, clock and 2 lamps didn't work, but we only needed a clean, comfortable place to sleep. Afraid we wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. "Adequate" is the best we could say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top