$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
244 reviews
Great service, Great Hotel

I stay one night, I liked the hotel, clean, safe, friendly staff, great price. Close to main road,... See full review

  • Jose J
  • Dec 14, 2013
Great

Last second booking, truly miamis best kept secret, family atmosphere! See full review

  • Ambi bear
  • Jun 8, 2014
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7057 -80.2911
Area served
Miami, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Local attractions include:Miami Seaquarium, Miami Museum of Science, Viscaya Museum and Gardens, Fairchild Tropical Gardens, Matheson Hammock Park and beach, Key Biscayne, Lowe Museum of Art, Historical Venetian Pools (natural springs replenishes daily and is made out of natural coral) a true sight!, IMAX, AMC, Actors Playhouse, Coconut Grove Playhouse, The Improv Comedy Club, Gables Stage Theater; Homestead Miami Speedway, University of Miami Hurricanes, and University of Miami Basketball, American Airlines Arena Downtown Miami speedway races; South Miami Hospital, Baptist Hospital, Larkin Hospital, Jackson Memorial Hospital, Doctor's Hospital, Cedars Medical Center, Coral Gables Hospital and Miami Children's Hospital; University of Miami, Ross University/Larkin. Florida International University, Miami Dade Community College-South Campus, Wolfson Campus

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)
Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (244)

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
244 out of 244
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.9

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FloridaMiamitravaler
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Sep 18, 2011

Broken AC

friendly staff. Rooms could be cleaner. The main problem, is the air conditioning which is stuck at a very cold settling. It makes for a very uncomfortable night.But, the price is right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Jul 12, 2011

The ugliest hotel

Not good. Dirty, fridge is rusted. Pool is dirty, staff hardly speak English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston
Jul 4, 2011

Ok

Hotel was ok, but service was so bad, house keeping was good, front desk and breakfast sevice was so bad, breakfast sucks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Beach Gardens
Jul 3, 2011

Not a Good experience!

No parking and not really clean rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not satisfied at all
Business
Michigan
Jun 15, 2011

The worst experience ever!!!!!!

The hotel was not what it advertised on the site. This was one of the worst hotels to stay at and I didn't like the overall experience with trying to resolve the issues of false advertisement. Walls dirty, tape on tub so you can't take bath, ceiling vent that leaked water, carpets in hallways dirty, wood floors inside had sink hole, smell was like mildew, etc...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, CA
Jun 5, 2011

Worst Miami hotel

I booked my extended family of 10 here for our post-cruise stay in Miami b/c I thought it was a good deal and we could take advantage of their free shuttles to different locales to sight-see. Big mistake! It was so bad we checked out early. PROS: 1) Cesar, the friendliest hotel concierge ever. 2) Beautiful lobby. This is evidently where they poured all of their money into and even it is falling into disrepair. CONS: 1) The room reeked of black mold. And in case you weren't sure of that putrid smell, just look up at the mold clusters in the ceiling. 2) Both ice machines in hotel (only on 3rd & 4th floors)were broken and ice was 1/2 mile walk away in hot Miami weather. 3) Beds were lumpy and 10+ years beyond their use. In fact, if you sat at the end of it, you would completely tip the whole bed over. 4) There's one working shuttle and you have to book trips, so it really isn't reliable as a means of seeing Miami. 5) With exception of Cesar, other staff is surly and avoids interaction with guests. 6) Housekeeping left last guests' panty in one of our rooms. 7) No on-site restaurant as described. It was shut down per front desk... I wonder how long it'll take to get the rest of the place shut down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

walk Sunset Drive at night... not too scary and some nice shops.

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
betty sue
Florida
Jun 1, 2011

Best Miami Hotel

Looks run down and moldy on the outside. They dont have any of the things in the description except a pool. There wasnt a microwave in our room. There was mold in the ceilings that look like they painted over it. We had to pay for parking for each night we stayed there and a $150 deposit in which neither of these things were told to me when I booked the hotel. Shower was dirty and some of the plugs in the rooms did not have covers over them. The front desk representatives were not very helpful and a little rude. They first room they gave us was someone elses room then they gave us the wrong keys and door number to the second room. Also the ice machines had no ice and the window in the room did not have a screen. We were not in the room alot so we were able to just put up with it but I advise no one to stay there and we will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Dadeland mall was down the street like 2 miles. Also there were lots of restauraunts and it was only like 15 min away from south beac.

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
May 31, 2011

Best Miami Hotel?

After reading the negative comments about this hotel I somehow believed it couldn't be that bad, espcecially since we didn't intend on spending the entire time actually at the hotel. From the moment we arrived we heard rumours of bed bugs (which was addressed in previous visitors' comments). We passed it off but there were issues from the first night. The ceiling in our room began leaking; water was not dripping but actually flowing from the ceiling! We asked to be relocated AND upgraded, but the person at the front desk claimed that they were fully booked (which we highly doubted!). Unfortunately by the time hotel staff arrived, the leaking had reduced to a trickle. The hotel staff tried to convince us that we caused it by taking off the air condition for a long period. We were eventually moved (not upgraded though), but they seemed aprehensive to do so. We felt like they did not believe us and were just causing trouble. However, the flow began again and the hotel staff was called in time to see it. Only then they realised that it was due to a leaking bathroom on the floor above. The breakfast was another issue. This was also raised by other visitors on this site. Their wasn't a variety at all and who in their right mind gives Fruit Loops cereal to adults!!!! The lack of English-speaking staff members was another story. I understand that Miami has a high population of Spanish-speaking residents, but this is the United States of America - an English speaking country! Bilingual staff would have been greatly appreciated. It was a task for us to communicate the need for extra towels and toilet paper!! The hotel shuttle was relatively reliable. We only had a problem when we were leaving for the airport. Apparently the shuttle begins its operations at 8:00 am so if you have a flight that departs before 10:00 am, you need to call a taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sunset Plaza is walking distance away with stores such as Victoria Secrets, Aeropostale, Armani, Forever 21 and many more. There is also an Imax theatre and excellent restaurants and fast food outlets.

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
south miami
May 21, 2011

Great Location

Sleep,Everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iuliano
Business
San Juan, PR
Apr 28, 2011

Nice place for the price

very nivel hotel, good location. Only issue wad no shuttle during my staying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search