$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
232 reviews
Great service, Great Hotel

I stay one night, I liked the hotel, clean, safe, friendly staff, great price. Close to main road,... See full review

  • Jose J
  • Dec 14, 2013
Doesn't get any better for a cheap price.

THe staff was friendly and understanding of my service dsog, didnt give me hard time at all. cant... See full review

  • carly1991
  • Sep 27, 2014
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7057 -80.2911
Area served
Miami, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Local attractions include:Miami Seaquarium, Miami Museum of Science, Viscaya Museum and Gardens, Fairchild Tropical Gardens, Matheson Hammock Park and beach, Key Biscayne, Lowe Museum of Art, Historical Venetian Pools (natural springs replenishes daily and is made out of natural coral) a true sight!, IMAX, AMC, Actors Playhouse, Coconut Grove Playhouse, The Improv Comedy Club, Gables Stage Theater; Homestead Miami Speedway, University of Miami Hurricanes, and University of Miami Basketball, American Airlines Arena Downtown Miami speedway races; South Miami Hospital, Baptist Hospital, Larkin Hospital, Jackson Memorial Hospital, Doctor's Hospital, Cedars Medical Center, Coral Gables Hospital and Miami Children's Hospital; University of Miami, Ross University/Larkin. Florida International University, Miami Dade Community College-South Campus, Wolfson Campus

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)
Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (232)

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.9

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shirley the explorer
Business
Toronto, Canada
Aug 14, 2012

She is like a great beauty whose beauty is fading with age.

My experience at the Best Miami was OK, for a stay of 4 days. I would have been really p'd off if I had to stay longer. I was pleasantly surprised with the continental breakfast. There were about 4 different things to eat and there was your juice, tea and coffee. All included in your room price. The room had a small leak from condensation with the air conditioning so there was a little puddle ouside the bathroom each morning. We could live with that for 4 ays. Th room had no coffe maker, which was a disappointment. The staff were OK. No one was rude. The pool was once beautiful. Not so much now but it was well used by children during our stay. The electronic key was annoying. It often did not open the door and we had to keep trying for about 5 minutes most times. I loved the glass elevator, we had a lovely view of the pool area. Like I said, it just takes a little imagination to see that this hotel was once a place of beauty. Although time has taken a toll on its appearance, we still got value for a modest rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
irene the profesional
Business
MD
Aug 24, 2012

The Best?

Staff there are helpful and someones very friendly and overall professional. The pool is a delight. The metro station is close and convenient. The complimentary breakfast is not what expected, just plain everything, coffee, one kind of bagels, two kind of cereals, not very good orange juice, some pastries, coffee and one kind of tea. The air conditioning is very high. The hotel seem that had had serious problems with humidity and mold, since there is a mold odor when one enters the lobby. I believe the air conditioning is so high in order to combat the mold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The chofer of the hotel will take you to some place around 5 miles of the hotel, when you ask for. You just need to tip him.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shucks
Business
Alpharetta Ga
Sep 4, 2012

Visiting friends

The hotel is in a great location. The room was not clean, esp the bathroom. The help was kind and helpful, but overall the hotel needs to take extra care in keeping the room clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JhonR
Business
Bogota, Colombia
Sep 16, 2012

uncomfortable hotel

well, my experience was not good, I think the staff and personal were not kind with us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rc14617
Business
Rochester, NY
Jan 27, 2013

Basic

From the description I expected the hotel to be much closer to the airport. The supposed free shuttle service only ran a few times a day and was not running when we arrived. Was forced to take a cab costing us $30 - not something we expected. The shuttle to the airport the next day left only at certain times and went to the cruiseport first to drop off passengers. Took a lot longer than expected - good thing we had extra time fefore the flight. The room was average but the fridge was rusty. Would not recommend the site especially if you are flying in and expect to save time and money by using it as convenient to the airport. Would not use the facility again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nettie1960
Business
florida
Jan 30, 2013

tired old lady

The layout of this hotel is very nice, the pool is in the center. Lobby is nice. breakfast was poor, room was clean. A full renovation would bring this once beautiful hotel back to former glory, the beds were old, but clean, overall, I have stayed in worse for far more money,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alice in Dairyland
Business
Madison WI
Feb 25, 2013

Great location, not great hotel

It was nice to be in walking distance of a variety of restaurants in a pleasant area of town. The hotel itself was a disappointment in all aspects -- poor breakfast, no washclothes available for two days, dirty bedspreads, leaky water faucets, "hidden" charges, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Father and Mother
Business
Louisburg, North Carolina
May 13, 2013

Graduation stay

The family was in Miami for my sons graduation from the University of Miami . It was a very good location. Very close the the U. Room was a little small. The bathroom needed to be cleaned. Could not get wifi in the room. Had to go outside the room to get connected to wifi. But it was a a great location and it served the purpose while we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bucket List Traveller
Business
WV
Jun 20, 2013

Not Quite What I Expected

I had a layover in Miami and chose to stay here because of cost and the fact that the hotel advertised shuttles. I almost missed the shuttle after I called for it because it was not marked with a sign in front, only 3 computer sized paper signs on the side. The shuttle driver tried to be helpful. The hotel only has one bus as I saw it. I could only get a shuttle to the airport at 9AM, 12PM or 3 PM for my 4:30 departure. I didn't realize that the hotel is next to the metro which does have a line to the airport.. As a newcomer to the Miami area, I had hoped the front desk could give me more advice on where to visit with the time I had other than just the sports stadium. There is an additional $2 fee for the electronic room safe whether you use it or not and an $8 a day parking fee. The room was clean and did have a working microwave and mini frig; however, there were puddles of water on the floor from the air conditioner and the tub had a constant drip. There was a pool in the center of the hotel that supposedly closed at 8pm, but, based on the noise, obviously was open much later. If I were to return to Miami, I would definitely look around to see what else is available before booking here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
xm mom
Business
Michigan
Jun 6, 2013

Business Travel

The hotel is hard to find. Check in & out was pretty easy. They charge you a $2 safe fee, regardless if you need it or not. Parking is an additional $8/day. Free breakfast was packaged muffins, cereal & fruit. The only reason I stayed is because it is close to South Miami Baptist Hospital.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the hospital.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top