$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
337 reviews
Great service, Great Hotel

I stay one night, I liked the hotel, clean, safe, friendly staff, great price. Close to main road,... See full review

  • Jose J
  • Dec 14, 2013
Great

Last second booking, truly miamis best kept secret, family atmosphere! See full review

  • Ambi bear
  • Jun 8, 2014
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7057 -80.2911
Area served
Miami, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Local attractions include:Miami Seaquarium, Miami Museum of Science, Viscaya Museum and Gardens, Fairchild Tropical Gardens, Matheson Hammock Park and beach, Key Biscayne, Lowe Museum of Art, Historical Venetian Pools (natural springs replenishes daily and is made out of natural coral) a true sight!, IMAX, AMC, Actors Playhouse, Coconut Grove Playhouse, The Improv Comedy Club, Gables Stage Theater; Homestead Miami Speedway, University of Miami Hurricanes, and University of Miami Basketball, American Airlines Arena Downtown Miami speedway races; South Miami Hospital, Baptist Hospital, Larkin Hospital, Jackson Memorial Hospital, Doctor's Hospital, Cedars Medical Center, Coral Gables Hospital and Miami Children's Hospital; University of Miami, Ross University/Larkin. Florida International University, Miami Dade Community College-South Campus, Wolfson Campus

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.
Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (337)

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lilly Pearl
Key West, Fl
Mar 31, 2010

You get what you pay for

We will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Senat
Key West
Jul 30, 2013

DON'T BOOK

DON'T BOOK WITH THEM! When my husband arrived they refused to check him in! Despite my prepaid booking. He was stranded in Miami over night without a hotel room. Best Miami Hotel is the worst hotel in Miami!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lilly Pearl
Key West, Fl
Mar 31, 2010

You get what you pay for

We will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dayton, OH
Jun 28, 2009

Yikes.

There was only one person working in the entire hotel. The "state of the art" workout facility is three old machines located in the garage. The internet advertising was pretty much false. They were listed as having a restaurant which had clearly closed some time ago. They were also listed as offering "continental breakfast," which literally consisted of a pile of white bread and a toaster. They were doing construction on the room directly above us and the alarm clock was going off in the room next door, but they "couldn't change our room." The room was fairly clean, however, and it was cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dan A
Business
Philadelphia
Oct 16, 2011

Changing the name of Hotel is a must

I had a pre-paid reservation for a king bed/ smoking room. The Hotel was poorly staffed upon arrival. I had to wait long to get my room. The key/card that was given to me did not open the door. I went to the desk 3 times to get a replament card. Finally I got a diffrent room. It turned out the room I got originally as well as the replacement room were non smoking. I asked for a smoking room they said they do not have one. But I can smoke in the room. Later on, I went downstairs (diffrent person attending the desk) I asked for an ashtray. He did not know what an Ashtray was. I had to use sign language. I was told I am not allowed to smoke in the room (using sign language as well) . Area by the pool was not clean at all. (it could be they empty the trash can weekly?). The choice at breakfast was simply: Milk w/ Cereal. orange Juice, regular Bagel w/ cheese. My recommendation is for owner/ operator to change the name of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

They was a great restaurant called "Marhaba" a short walk (2 blocks) on sunset with oudoor seating. Reasonable pricing and Great food.

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corona, CA
Nov 18, 2009

Never Go There!

We walked in and were immediately hit with the smell of mold and mildew. The room was dirty. We immediately said we couldn't stay there but were still charged for one night's stay. I wouldn't let an animal sleep there. DO NOT EVER GO TO THIS HOTEL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
boston
Mar 4, 2010

really cheap, but you get what you pay f

the bed was lumpy and the table was wobbly the sheets smelled a little funny, but a great place to crash after partying

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
xm mom
Business
Michigan
Jun 6, 2013

Business Travel

The hotel is hard to find. Check in & out was pretty easy. They charge you a $2 safe fee, regardless if you need it or not. Parking is an additional $8/day. Free breakfast was packaged muffins, cereal & fruit. The only reason I stayed is because it is close to South Miami Baptist Hospital.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the hospital.

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 1, 2008

not worth it.

the room was not worth $. very small. hotel looks very run down and needs alot of work. rates need to be lower for the size of the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 5, 2008

Good location

The only good thing about Best Miami Hotel is the location. If you have business in Coral Gables, this hotel is very well located and near the University of Miami. Other than that, yes, it is cheap, but so is the service and the staff. The day I checked in they wouldn't let me in the room until 3 PM (I had to take a very early flight in and had not been able to sleep so was looking forward to entering my room earlier) although the hotel had available rooms. Then, when I checked in I called them about the bathtub where the faucet was leaky and had the tub looking just used. Also there were some paint-like stains in it. When the maintenance guy came in he looked at it and just said that's not coming off, sorry. So I asked to get another room and he said he couldn't give me another room since that stain was not reason enough to change. One other thing I disliked a lot is the fact that every day I had to pick up at least 3 or 4 flyers that were shoved in my room underneath the door for pizza and food delivery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Shops at Sunset Place Whole Foods Market

Back to menu Return to top