$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
View map of 5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.9

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rob and Carrie
Business
Tampa, Florida USA
Jun 29, 2010

GREAT Price, AWESOME Miami Location

The entrance needed some cleaning and attention nevertheless, the lobby was very pretty but seemed like a ghost town. The lobby bar was closed and there is only one person at a time behind the front desk. The pool was clean and the hotel restaurant is a combination of Mediterranean (Arab) and Itallian. We did not eat their food but ordered drinks instead. They were very pricy at over 70.00 for 7 drinks. The rooms were clean but unfinished. The closet had no doors, there was no quarter round on the edge of the new laminate floors they installed and EVERY MORNING, although we had a "Do No Disturb" sign up, the maids would come knocking at our door beginning at 7:30AM thru 10:30AM. This was inconvenient since we were clubbing in Miami until about 6:00AM. We had little chance to sleep well without being disturbed by the maids. Otherwise, the location of this hotel was EXCELLENT as it was right off US1, close to Coconut Grove, S. Miami Hospital is around the corner, Kendall/Dadeland is 7 minutes away and I-95 takes you right to Key Biscayne, Downtown Miami and South Beach. Its Location is MORE THAN worth what you pay. We would definitely stay there again with a BIGGER DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door. ALSO NOTE, they own their own inside parking but DO NOT disclose to you that they charge you an ADDITIONAL 8-10.00 daily to park. The gate at the parking garage never closes so they do not offer much security. Just remember to add that amount to whatever the daily room rate there is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring your cooler with drinks and order pizza from a local restaurant.

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bball14
Business
nj
Feb 28, 2011

sunset

ok hotel in a good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not From Miami Traveler
Business
U.S.
Jun 30, 2009

Review on the Best Miami Hotel

I was going to Miami for a job interview which put me on a budget as the company was not compensating for this out-of-state trip as some companies do. Thank God for Orbitz-- if I would have paid the regular rate, I may have been slightly upset. This was an interesting stay. Unassuming, clean, budget-friendly when booking w/t Orbitz pricing. The hotel is tucked away in an area that was once known for being a point of interest but with time, it's image has faded. You can tell this was place was "something" in it's hey-day. Walking into the entry/foyer of the hotel, to the left is a defunct bar area which they leave unlit. Not sure if this was a wi-fi spot cause when I looked closer, there were about 5 people sitting in the dark on laptops on the chairs and sofas. Seemed a little eery but oh well. There are three levels on the outdoor elevator that give you a good view of the five-foot deep swimming pool, palms, and the now-defunct/closed Bernie's Steakhouse restaurant (previously owned by ex-NFL football player, Bernie Kosar which was a few strides from the pool area. The pool area is nice. The room I had was very clean. Standard inclusive was a hair dryer, mini fridge, iron/ironboard, t.v., alarm clock. Don't expect much on toiletries such as shampoo. Bring your own. This was the first time I had shampoo in a squeeze packet which I had a hard time opening (5 min, no kidding!) and then when I did get it open, it resembled blackberry jelly, not kidding again!!! Continental breakfast needs to be acknowledged as nothing at all special from 7am to 9am. I was actually embarrassed. This is served on the main level at the bar area. Their breakfast is nothing more than coffee, juice, and your choice of white or wheat bread that you toast in the back room (2 toasters/1 microwave). That was it!!! That part was a shock but hey, now YOU know! lol... They have a computer near the elevator if you need to check e-mail, do a mapquest, etc. No printer, though. They charge $8 a day for garage parking. If it's after 5pm, you can park next door at the dr's office but get your car out by 8:30 a.m. so you don't get towed. Street parking is $1/hr at the coin meters. Overall, hope this helps someone... If you are on a no-frills, budget trip and need a clean place to stay, I would definitely recommend! P.S. I didn't have time to check out their fitness room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This location is within walking distance of the Shops at Sunset Place which is an open-air mall located at 5701 Sunset Place. If you're walking, it's left on 61st,left on 72nd, and you have to cross straight through a "major" intersection at 72nd Street and U.S. Hwy 1/Dixie Hwy (be careful!), and it's a couple of blocks up with shops and cafes around. Good exercise!

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buddy Moyers
Business
Tallassee Al
Jun 22, 2009

Affordable

Check in was easy, good location once we found it. I suggest calling first and getting directions. The street that it is located on is only a block or two long, we kept thinking this street ran parallel with the others, but it does not. We drove around for a while trying to find it. But it was just what we needed. Great coffee!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beirut, Lebanon
Jul 2, 2010

Good value for money

Best Miami Hotel offers a good value for money if you intend to stay in the Coral Gables area. The rooms are big and well equipped and the service is decent in respect to other locations. Too bad no Internet in the rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
123987546
Business
Potomac, maryland
Jul 7, 2014

Just the breakfast...

Everything was good but i saw almost everyone at the hotel went out to get breakfast.. The hotel breakfast was so poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bymc
Business
Miami
Jul 14, 2014

No more than a night

For the price it was very reasonable...I would suggest no more than a nights stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Sunset place

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dario S
Business
Miami
Sep 3, 2014

You don't spend the day in the hotel

This ia not one of those hotels where you spend the whole day, you go outside and come back in the night just to sleep. For that propouse I guess this hotel is enough. Also thr breakfast is not particulary good but is still better than nothing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunset place

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zuly09
Business
miami
Sep 15, 2014

one night getaway

Normal but just a few things wrong like the ice machines were broken and the lobby was hot, no room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tasch
Business
Trinidad
Dec 1, 2014

CONVENIENT FOR THAT SHOPPING GETAWAY

Everything was average although under new management. The staff was friendly and nice however more bilingual staff would help a situation or two. Need for warm room temperatures for those occasional cold windy air weather. overhaul on carpets in hallways, too old and dingy. Other than that perfect getaway for convenient weekend getaway shopping. Walking distance to subway, sunset plaza, supermarket and great on shuttling to and fro from the airport, Dadeland Mall etc.Response time is quick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

For quick immediate shopping - Sunset Plaza

Back to menu Return to top