$181 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 10, 2014 Check-out: Dec 11, 2014

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

4 stars
1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
236 reviews
Awesome Hotel

So great for the value. We stayed in a royal guest room and loved it! We have stayed at nearly... See full review

  • Kbush7785
  • Oct 16, 2014
Repeat guests at Port Orleans Riverside

We have stayed at POR more than any other resort. The layout of the resort is perfect - every room... See full review

  • Peach run
  • Oct 6, 2014
Return to the charming days of riverboats and Mark Twain as you discover this moderately priced resort. Courtly pillars, grand staircases and splendid gardens blend with the Mississippi-style waterways and gracious Southern hospitality. "Mosey over" to Alligator Bayou and discover its rustic architecture, front porches and meandering walkways. A stocked fishing hole, country-style pool, flowered fields and two-story cottages create the nostalgic romance of down-home charm. Resort features 2,048 guest rooms, pool with slide, five quiet pools and one kiddie pool, arcade, playground, bicycle rentals, family fishing hole and a marina with watercraft rentals. Rooms are available for guests with disabilities.

Complimentary Wi-Fi service is now available in all Walt Disney World Resort hotels. Guests will now be able to access complimentary Wi-Fi in their rooms as well as in select common areas within the resort hotel, including restaurant locations, bus load zones, feature pools, arcades, convention spaces (if applicable) and the porte cochere.

Disney Hotel Resort guests also enjoy their Extra Magic Hours Benefit. On select days, Disney Resort hotel guests can enter a Disney Theme Park an hour early-and on select evenings, enjoy a Park up to two hours after regular closing time. That's when lines may be shorter and the weather can be more comfortable. Guests have time for a midday break or a dip in the pool. Then the gang will be ready to head back to the same Theme Park for more fun! Don't forget your Magic Your Way Tickets with Park Hopper Option! The Park Hopper option is the only way you will be able to fully enjoy the Extra Magic Hours Benefit when the extra hours in the morning is a different Disney theme park than the extra hours in the evening.

Disney Hotel Resort guests receive complimentary Disney's Magical Express Service for roundtrip airport shuttle from Orlando International Airport, luggage delivery and airline check in*. To book Disney's Magical Express Service visit Disney's Magical Express Service Web site at www.disneysmagicalexpress.com/US to register once you have completed your booking. Luggage delivery service will be provided for Disney's Magical Express to Walt Disney World Resort for a resort stay who arrive on flights beginning at 5 a.m. until 10 p.m. You will receive your luggage tags and the Airport Transportation Information Booklet with specific direction and general information.
* Resort Airline Check-In Guests will be subject to the airline's checked bag fees policy.

Hotel Map

28.3855 -81.5365
Area served
WALT DISNEY WORLD Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
DOWNTOWN DISNEY Resort Area

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside Rooms

Royal Guest Room - Gardenview
It's where all your royal Disney friends stay! Each room makes you feel as though you're a character in the Disney stories you love. Magical Fireworks swirl about you as you recline in ornately decorated beds. Adorning the walls are Princely Banners, a magical painting and memories of Tiana and her friends displayed in exquisite frames. Your family will be swept up in a truly royal experience. Courtyard or garden view rooms with two queen beds or one king-sized bed with Television, hair dryer, coffee maker, ironing board/iron, ceiling fan, in-room safe, table and chairs and clock radio. Microwave (on request, surcharge). Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.
Water View
Rooms offer views of a pool or lake. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Banquette beds (35" x 65") may accomodate a child age 3-9 in the Alligator Bayou rooms.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
King Room
Maximum occupancy - 2 people
River View
Two queen beds. River view. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Preferred Room
Two queen beds. Varied view. Close to main lobby than standard room. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Standard View
Rooms offer views of a courtyard, garden, woodland or parking area. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Banquette beds (35" x 65") may accomodate a child age 3-9 in the Alligator Bayou rooms.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 1.5 mi

Dining

Arcadian Pizza Express
Pizza delivery to Guests' rooms at Port Orleans offered from 4pm to midnight.
Boatwright's Dining Hall
Taste of Southern-style cooking and American favorites. Unique setting surrounded by shipbuilding artifacts, fireplace and view of our Southern Trace bakery.
Muddy Rivers - Ol' Man Island (Poolside)
Hot dogs, popcorn and specialty drinks.
Food Court
Burgers and chicken entrees, bakery items including cookies, ice cream and sundaes, BBQ chicken and red beans & rice, ribs, pizza, pasta and salads.
River Roost (Lounge)
Full bar, cocktail service, specialty drinks, hors d'oeuvres.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (236)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 236
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Detroit to Disney Mom
Business
Detroit
Nov 20, 2014

Fantastic Disney Vacation Location

Close and convenient to all Disney Parks. Very Helpful Staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Clifford
Business
North Tustin, CA
Oct 27, 2014

All good!

It was all good..............................................................

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kbush7785
Business
Cape Coral
Oct 16, 2014

Awesome Hotel

So great for the value. We stayed in a royal guest room and loved it! We have stayed at nearly every Disney hotel and will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food court not so great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peach run
Business
Piqua, Ohio
Oct 6, 2014

Repeat guests at Port Orleans Riverside

We have stayed at POR more than any other resort. The layout of the resort is perfect - every room is near a bus stop and either the main pool or a quiet pool. As always, the cast members are friendly and helpful. The availability of a horse-drawn carriage ride and boats to Downtown Disney make this moderate resort seem a bit more upscale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alohaholi
Business
Kalamazoo, MI
Sep 25, 2014

Great Place with Kids or without Kids

We stayed here 3 nights & loved it. I read the reviews & this Disney onsite hotel was priced great when we went. Yes, it is a long walk for little legs to the lobby or pool (if you get a room far away, like we did) & some how I missed this...BUT, If you stay near the West Bus Depot, it is the 1st pickup & 1st Drop Off for the Buses!!! I liked the Boat/Ferry ride. My family thought it took too long. I thought it was relaxing & I liked seeing the other resorts along the waterway. Hotel is 2 floors, with NO Elevator, (or at least we didn't find it when we were dragging luggage up & down the stairs, or when we came back from a long day at the Magic Kingdom) The theme was Princess & the Frog, New Orleans. Which means the food, decor, music is geared towards this. The grounds were gorgeous, it was like being in a beautiful swamp. Everyday the staff was Friendly & the place was spotless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have the dining plan or Not, go to downtown Disney. We didn't have it & found much better food & prices there. And from this hotel you can take the boat or the bus to almost anywhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hammock swinger
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 16, 2014

Best mid-tier Disney hotel

Now that Disney has introduced FastPass+ where park guests who stay at a Disney hotel can reserve Fastpass+ selections 60 days in advance, staying on Disney property looks more attractive. The Port Orleans is big, yet comfy. Multi-story buildings are spread around a central pool area located on a small island. The property evokes a Mississippi riverboat feel. It was about a 8 minute walk from our room to the main dining area, though it could be longer from some rooms. Every room included a small mini-fridge, which is helpful to store breakfast items. If you like cajun food, the table service restaurant (Boatwright's) makes a pretty mean crawfish étouffée. Overall, we were very pleased with the amenities and value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Consider purchasing a refillable mug on your first trip to the dining hall. One could be shared between two adults; most kids meals come with a beverage (milk, juice, etc.).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stabes66
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Sep 16, 2014

Expected a little more from Disney

The main building was absolutely beautiful and the buildings looked great; Disney is all about themes and our building looked like a wilderness lodge. We were greeted by an awkward little girl who had difficulty checking us in, but no big deal. We told her that he had a little toddler with us, but that didn't seem to matter because they put us on the second floor...without any elevators. The front desk girl did not tell us this, so he had to carry everything up staircases; not very Disney. We get to our room and it was dirty, our family who checked into the next room had dead cockroaches in their bathtub! Our little girl likes to climb around under the sink and when she put her hand down, it was covered in dust and dirt. We thought, that it just might be an over sight in cleaning, but the next day our room was barely cleaned and none of the coffees were refilled nor was our ice bucket bag that I had used replaced (I had to empty it and reuse it). Normally I don't mind these little inconveniences, however this is Disney. I expect more from them. The buildings are nice, but your room may or may not be clean and not one employee made us feel welcomed. Not sure why that is, but we'll remember it next time we book a hotel. Over all, good location, normal amenities, but un-Disney like employees with dirty rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The best part of the hotel was using the buses to get to the parks. The longest wait time we had was only about 10 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kbush7785
Business
Cape Coral
Sep 5, 2014

Disney experience

We stay at Disney hotels once a month because we are annual passholders. I enjoyed this hotel as a good value. We stayed in the royal guest rooms. As far as theming and the Disney experience it was fantastic. It felt like we were in a whole new place! As far as a hotel it was above average. Very clean and nice bathrooms but the beds were not very comfortable at all. I also thought the food court breakfast was good but other meals were overpriced and average. You can get an awesome meal around the countries at Epcot for what you'll spend in the food court :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bandjbaine
Business
Athens, GA
Sep 5, 2014

Wonderful Stay

Great hotel. A few problems, but nothing that would keep me from coming back. We had problems with them linking up our magic bands to charge to the room- that never got resovled but we were only there 2 nights. Only other confusion was check in- getting to the right building and having to park out in the parking lot to check in. They were accomodating with bell serivces though. Pool was fabulous. Room was spacious- great value for 5! Cute little murphy bed. Quiet, peaceful surroundings, lots of ammenities for a hotel at this price point!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some reserved parking spaces in the front of the parking lot for check in. I didn't see them until we already parked so we walked more than we needed to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJ100
Business
Palm Beach, Florida
Sep 1, 2014

Great for a family getaway

There were tons of kid friendly activities: movies, pools, etc. The rooms were comfortable and the in room refrigerator was super helpful to have. Transportation to disney parks was on time and easy to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the crawfish étouffée or shrimp & grits at the onsite restaurant. Very tasty!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top