$181 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 10, 2014 Check-out: Nov 11, 2014

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

4 stars
1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
232 reviews
Awesome Hotel

So great for the value. We stayed in a royal guest room and loved it! We have stayed at nearly... See full review

  • Kbush7785
  • Oct 16, 2014
Repeat guests at Port Orleans Riverside

We have stayed at POR more than any other resort. The layout of the resort is perfect - every room... See full review

  • Peach run
  • Oct 6, 2014
Return to the charming days of riverboats and Mark Twain as you discover this moderately priced resort. Courtly pillars, grand staircases and splendid gardens blend with the Mississippi-style waterways and gracious Southern hospitality. "Mosey over" to Alligator Bayou and discover its rustic architecture, front porches and meandering walkways. A stocked fishing hole, country-style pool, flowered fields and two-story cottages create the nostalgic romance of down-home charm. Resort features 2,048 guest rooms, pool with slide, five quiet pools and one kiddie pool, arcade, playground, bicycle rentals, family fishing hole and a marina with watercraft rentals. Rooms are available for guests with disabilities.

Complimentary Wi-Fi service is now available in all Walt Disney World Resort hotels. Guests will now be able to access complimentary Wi-Fi in their rooms as well as in select common areas within the resort hotel, including restaurant locations, bus load zones, feature pools, arcades, convention spaces (if applicable) and the porte cochere.

Disney Hotel Resort guests also enjoy their Extra Magic Hours Benefit. On select days, Disney Resort hotel guests can enter a Disney Theme Park an hour early-and on select evenings, enjoy a Park up to two hours after regular closing time. That's when lines may be shorter and the weather can be more comfortable. Guests have time for a midday break or a dip in the pool. Then the gang will be ready to head back to the same Theme Park for more fun! Don't forget your Magic Your Way Tickets with Park Hopper Option! The Park Hopper option is the only way you will be able to fully enjoy the Extra Magic Hours Benefit when the extra hours in the morning is a different Disney theme park than the extra hours in the evening.

Disney Hotel Resort guests receive complimentary Disney's Magical Express Service for roundtrip airport shuttle from Orlando International Airport, luggage delivery and airline check in*. To book Disney's Magical Express Service visit Disney's Magical Express Service Web site at www.disneysmagicalexpress.com/US to register once you have completed your booking. Luggage delivery service will be provided for Disney's Magical Express to Walt Disney World Resort for a resort stay who arrive on flights beginning at 5 a.m. until 10 p.m. You will receive your luggage tags and the Airport Transportation Information Booklet with specific direction and general information.
* Resort Airline Check-In Guests will be subject to the airline's checked bag fees policy.

Hotel Map

28.3855 -81.5365
Area served
WALT DISNEY WORLD Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
DOWNTOWN DISNEY Resort Area

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside Rooms

Royal Guest Room - Gardenview
It's where all your royal Disney friends stay! Each room makes you feel as though you're a character in the Disney stories you love. Magical Fireworks swirl about you as you recline in ornately decorated beds. Adorning the walls are Princely Banners, a magical painting and memories of Tiana and her friends displayed in exquisite frames. Your family will be swept up in a truly royal experience. Courtyard or garden view rooms with two queen beds or one king-sized bed with Television, hair dryer, coffee maker, ironing board/iron, ceiling fan, in-room safe, table and chairs and clock radio. Microwave (on request, surcharge). Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.
Water View
Rooms offer views of a pool or lake. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Banquette beds (35" x 65") may accomodate a child age 3-9 in the Alligator Bayou rooms.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
King Room
Maximum occupancy - 2 people
River View
Two queen beds. River view. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Preferred Room
Two queen beds. Varied view. Close to main lobby than standard room. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Standard View
Rooms offer views of a courtyard, garden, woodland or parking area. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Banquette beds (35" x 65") may accomodate a child age 3-9 in the Alligator Bayou rooms.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 1.5 mi

Dining

Arcadian Pizza Express
Pizza delivery to Guests' rooms at Port Orleans offered from 4pm to midnight.
Boatwright's Dining Hall
Taste of Southern-style cooking and American favorites. Unique setting surrounded by shipbuilding artifacts, fireplace and view of our Southern Trace bakery.
Muddy Rivers - Ol' Man Island (Poolside)
Hot dogs, popcorn and specialty drinks.
Food Court
Burgers and chicken entrees, bakery items including cookies, ice cream and sundaes, BBQ chicken and red beans & rice, ribs, pizza, pasta and salads.
River Roost (Lounge)
Full bar, cocktail service, specialty drinks, hors d'oeuvres.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (232)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MiamiNuke
Business
Miami, FL
Apr 29, 2012

Disppointing

I was a little disappointed staying here. I had heard such great praise about this hotel and couldn't wait to try to it out. This being a Moderate Hotel I was surprised when the service was below value. I'll start with the positives, the grounds are beautiful. The problems started when I got my room key and was told it was on the second floor. I had to park very far from the building because there was construction in the building next door and the closest parking lot was reserved for construction workers. So it was quite a hike with 2 small kids. The room was on the second floor with no elevator and once inside we found a dead cockroach inside one of the drawers. We found a little girl’s princess crown on top of the pillows and thought perhaps the hotel assumed we had a daughter (we have two sons). The room was not cleaned on the first day we were surprised to find it just how we left it in the morning. The construction of the building next door kept us from walking around our area and using the closest pool because there were strong fumes from the paint or whatever they were doing. This did push us to walk around and really see how beautiful the hotel property was, however, it made me wonder why we were stuck in the back in an area called the Alligator Bayou when there were so many beautiful areas where no construction was happening. On our last day we did not receive our check out statement under the door as requested and the housekeeping staff was pushing us out of the room at 9:00 am. We when left she gave us a dirty look, then later chased us down to give us the princess crown we had found the first day, it was then that I realized the room had not been properly cleaned before our arrival. It would take a lot for me to change my mind on this Disney hotel. It was very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco CA
Apr 1, 2010

Dirty and dingy

The room was dark and stuffy. It was also not very clean. The food at the hotel was terrible. Good location and pretty grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Driving Miss Diane
Business
Massachusetts
Feb 24, 2011

Destination Disaster

From the outside, the you'd think you were in Louisana. But my 2 worst experiences were - (.1) the bathroom. The shower curtain had a good amount of blood on it. I don't know if the cleaning staff cut themselves while cleaning, but it was disgusting. (.2) transportation. As a resort hotel, buses are supposed to come by every 15 to 20 minutes to bring you to various attractions. It took 1-1/2 hours and a lot of complaining to get a bus to bring us (and others) to Blizzard Beach. The 1st bus that stopped was full, and they said they'd call in another bus to pick up, but after 20 minutes, none showed, so we asked the next bus that stopped to call into dispatch, and they said they would, but still no bus showed. And now the number of people waiting is increasing, and we're 45 minutes late meeting up with our friends. And still no bus. So we had to walk all the way back to the lobby, and no one working at the resort could/would help us - told us they didn't support transportation, but to us the house phone, so I called dispatch, ripped them a new one, and finally, a bus showed up. But by the time we got there, it was a 2 hour ordeal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jodica
Business
North Miaami Beach
Feb 21, 2011

Disney's Resort or Orlando Motel

This hotel looks great from the outside, but inside is another story it is a two start average motel. Very small rooms, thank goodness only there for 2 nights. The hotel simply did not live up to the website advertisement. [...] extra 10 dollars for internet [...]. The bathroom was clean, but everything was motel six qualities from the small towels to the little bottle of combo shampoo conditioner including the side of the room and old TV. There are better hotels for that price in that area. I DID NOT RECOMMENDED THIS HOTEL AT ALL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jan 14, 2010

The "not so magical" experience

I spend 70-100 nites per year in hotel rooms and normally don't write reviews, but this one deserves my special attention... The hotel simply did not live up to the website advertisement. Paid an extra 15 dollars for the water view and did not get any view at all. The maintenance people were out early with their air compressor - pressure washer waking everyone up and managed to pressure wash the sidewalk at the expense of getting all the cars parked in the front row full of wet grime (including ours). The bathroom was clean, but everything was motel six quality from the small towels to the little bottle of combo shampoo conditioner and there were sugar ants crawling all over the place. Paid a very premium price for a below average experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SDI
Business
Lexington, KY
Aug 1, 2009

At Disney for Niece's Wedding

Arrived Orlando/Disney expecting a 'nice - upscale' room (we were there for our niece's Disney Wedding (which was very nice) but room we had at Port Orleans Riverside was old, smelled of old smoke, room needed a major overhaul ... the rest of our party had very nice rooms ... matresses, linens, covers etc were basically clean but worn out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Other restaurants on Disney property were very good but not the one at Riverside ... Flying Fish was great and others we visited in area were very good also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
2puggles
Business
southbury, ct
Oct 8, 2009

not impressed

All I can say is that the sheets were clean (at least!). But the bathroom was not cleaned well (pee stains on the toilet seat hinges. We found bobby pins on the floor, the paint and furniture were chipped. But the shuttle service was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the shuttle takes you everywhere but there is a restaurant at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Feb 10, 2011

Terrible Hotel Experience

I'm not sure where to start. The four Disney parks were great but our hotel experience soured our first trip to Disney. The customer service at Riverside was absolutely horrendous. Since we had two families with small children(5 year old, two 3 year olds, and a 3 month old), we were "promised" a conjoining room on the first floor. Instead, we were given two rooms on the second floor(w/o an elevator) that were neither conjoining or adjoining. In order for them to correct the mistake, we were required to pack/unpack and move our suitcases to other rooms 6 different times within the first 3 days. We had also requested a crib for our 3 month old daughter. When we checked in at 10:30 am, we were "promised" that the crib would be in the room(which was the wrong room anyway) after we returned from the park. That did not happen either. I actually had to make two separate trips to the front desk(which was about a half mile from our room) before the crib was finally delivered at 11:00 pm. On the second day, they gave us keys to a room that was already occupied by another visitor. Despite all of their mistakes, I had two separate managers try and tell me it was our fault. It seemed like every manager I spoke with was more incompetent than the last. Each one kept making promises that the next manager wouldn't/couldn't uphold. It was a customer service nightmare!! When I asked for some sort of compensation for our extreme inconvenience, each of them looked at me like I was crazy. Finally after three days of empty "promises", they gave in a credited us $100. $100 credit, are you kidding me?!? If you have ever been to Disney, you know that's not going a long way. As a family, we have been taking two vacations a year for some time now. This is by far the worst experience I've had with a hotel and it's staff. I don't want to come off as a bitter person because we had a blast at the actual parks. I just want to make sure everyone is aware of what they should expect if they decide to stay at Riverside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Caronka
Business
Miami Beach
Jan 8, 2014

Too expensive but what they actually offer

Hotel needs to improve check-in services. The wait was horrible, they only had 3 staff members for a large crowd coming in. The rooms were not what expected, it had nothing special (alligator side). Overall not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chesterton, IN
Jan 3, 2010

great location

Very small rooms, thank goodness only there for 2 nights. Major rip off at $150 a night was not impressed with hotel at all. But it was a very good location. Would not stay Riverside again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short boat ride to Down Town Disney. Great food at Portabello's Italian food. Price fine, considering I live in Chicago.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top