Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

4 stars
1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
323 reviews
Magical trip

We arrived early and our room was ready for us. Everyone was so pleasant and willing to help. The... See full review

  • MOlg
  • May 29, 2014
Fantastic Disney Weekend

Loved Port Orleans Riverside! The hotel is beautiful, very pretty grounds, great swimming pool, the... See full review

  • Sherry Vacation Planner
  • May 26, 2014
Return to the charming days of riverboats and Mark Twain as you discover this moderately priced resort. Courtly pillars, grand staircases and splendid gardens blend with the Mississippi-style waterways and gracious Southern hospitality. "Mosey over" to Alligator Bayou and discover its rustic architecture, front porches and meandering walkways. A stocked fishing hole, country-style pool, flowered fields and two-story cottages create the nostalgic romance of down-home charm. Resort features 2,048 guest rooms, pool with slide, five quiet pools and one kiddie pool, arcade, playground, bicycle rentals, family fishing hole and a marina with watercraft rentals. Rooms are available for guests with disabilities.

Complimentary Wi-Fi service is now available in all Walt Disney World Resort hotels. Guests will now be able to access complimentary Wi-Fi in their rooms as well as in select common areas within the resort hotel, including restaurant locations, bus load zones, feature pools, arcades, convention spaces (if applicable) and the porte cochere.

Disney Hotel Resort guests also enjoy their Extra Magic Hours Benefit. On select days, Disney Resort hotel guests can enter a Disney Theme Park an hour early-and on select evenings, enjoy a Park up to two hours after regular closing time. That's when lines may be shorter and the weather can be more comfortable. Guests have time for a midday break or a dip in the pool. Then the gang will be ready to head back to the same Theme Park for more fun! Don't forget your Magic Your Way Tickets with Park Hopper Option! The Park Hopper option is the only way you will be able to fully enjoy the Extra Magic Hours Benefit when the extra hours in the morning is a different Disney theme park than the extra hours in the evening.

Disney Hotel Resort guests receive complimentary Disney's Magical Express Service for roundtrip airport shuttle from Orlando International Airport, luggage delivery and airline check in*. To book Disney's Magical Express Service visit Disney's Magical Express Service Web site at www.disneysmagicalexpress.com/US to register once you have completed your booking. Luggage delivery service will be provided for Disney's Magical Express to Walt Disney World Resort for a resort stay who arrive on flights beginning at 5 a.m. until 10 p.m. You will receive your luggage tags and the Airport Transportation Information Booklet with specific direction and general information.
* Resort Airline Check-In Guests will be subject to the airline's checked bag fees policy.

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside Rooms

Royal Guest Room - Gardenview
It's where all your royal Disney friends stay! Each room makes you feel as though you're a character in the Disney stories you love. Magical Fireworks swirl about you as you recline in ornately decorated beds. Adorning the walls are Princely Banners, a magical painting and memories of Tiana and her friends displayed in exquisite frames. Your family will be swept up in a truly royal experience. Courtyard or garden view rooms with two queen beds or one king-sized bed with Television, hair dryer, coffee maker, ironing board/iron, ceiling fan, in-room safe, table and chairs and clock radio. Microwave (on request, surcharge). Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.
Water View
Rooms offer views of a pool or lake. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Banquette beds (35" x 65") may accomodate a child age 3-9 in the Alligator Bayou rooms.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
King Room
Maximum occupancy - 2 people
River View
Two queen beds. River view. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Preferred Room
Two queen beds. Varied view. Close to main lobby than standard room. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Standard View
Rooms offer views of a courtyard, garden, woodland or parking area. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Banquette beds (35" x 65") may accomodate a child age 3-9 in the Alligator Bayou rooms.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Hotel Map

28.3855 -81.5365
Area served
WALT DISNEY WORLD Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
DOWNTOWN DISNEY Resort Area

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 1.5 mi

Dining

Arcadian Pizza Express
Pizza delivery to Guests' rooms at Port Orleans offered from 4pm to midnight.
Boatwright's Dining Hall
Taste of Southern-style cooking and American favorites. Unique setting surrounded by shipbuilding artifacts, fireplace and view of our Southern Trace bakery.
Muddy Rivers - Ol' Man Island (Poolside)
Hot dogs, popcorn and specialty drinks.
Food Court
Burgers and chicken entrees, bakery items including cookies, ice cream and sundaes, BBQ chicken and red beans & rice, ribs, pizza, pasta and salads.
River Roost (Lounge)
Full bar, cocktail service, specialty drinks, hors d'oeuvres.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (323)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
323 out of 323
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ghostDo
Short Hills, NJ
Oct 31, 2012

Amazing staff, Outdated room, high score overall.

We stayed for 3 days and 2 nights for WDW, of course. Staff members were amazing since minute one, very friendly and eager to help. Room was a little outdated. We stayed at the Acadian House, but I think this applies to all rooms in the hotel, (stayed at the Alligator Bayou before, and it look about the same) Pool water was not warm enough for the cold weather during our visit. (end of October) The food court opens till midnight which is great if you forgot dinner after fireworks. A little expensive though, but expected for anyting within the WDW area. Otherwise you can take a short 10 minute drive (if you rent a car) and find some fast food, chinese food around the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
darciga
Mexico, MX
Oct 22, 2012

Not so much magic

Overall it was a good experience. I was expecting a bit more; being a Disney's Resort, there was no much to see. Besides the pool, amenities were limited. The one thing that was really good is the "free" (or already payed) buses to the parks and downtown disney. I wouldn't recommend to stay in this or any other disney's resort, unless you have plenty of time to enjoy the amenities of other resorts or to enjoy the "extra magical hours". The price is high compared to any other hotel with the same star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are gonna spend your money just because this is a Disney's Resort, think it twice, you may find better prices in another hotel, wich gives you the posibility to rent a car. You would have to pay parking, but you'll have a car, very usefull if going to the Universal Parks.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Manmarquez
Mexico
Sep 12, 2012

Very good hotel :D

Very good atention :D free transportation to the Parks and good resort :D

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MoMac2001
Connecticut
Aug 28, 2012

Family Friendly Hotel

We traveled to Disney World with our 7 year-old. The pools at this location were great--we liked the big one at Riverside better but the big one at French Quarter is fun, too. Lots of other (presumably quieter) pools around the resort. Location is pretty central to the 4 Disney parks--but if using Disney transport plan on at least 1/2 an hour to your destination,; more like 3/4 to 1 hour. The staff here, as all over DW, was VERY friendly and efficient. We ate at the sit-down restaurant and the food was pretty good. The boat to downtown and FQ was noisier than I thouhgt it would be--but it's still a fun way to get to these places. Overall, for the price, it's a nice, quiet & clean place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tiny Mom
Rochester, Michigan
Aug 16, 2012

Not comfortable

The bathroom is too small and the staff are not very kind. When we checked in at the arrival, the lady at the front desk was so rude at the begining (she got better manner after we talked a lot with her). We also had a bad experience with one of the room service staff - I asked her to come back in 10 minutes later as we were having shower after the swimming. But she didn't want to wait and insisted to walked into the room. I can't believe that is a 4-star hotel staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy C
Mpls, MN
Aug 13, 2012

Wonderful

Hotel is great. Rooms are great. Food is great. Couldn't have asked for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you are not on the dining plan purchase the Disney cup for $15.00. It has free refills, it will pay for its self.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wahine5O
Davis, CA
Aug 9, 2012

Unexpected Upgrades!

I visit WDW annually, but this 4-night stay at Port Orleans - Riverside (POR) was my first time staying at a moderate hotel (I usually stay at the deluxe hotels with DVC members) and my brother's first time at WDW. We were able to check in early upon arrival (~11am) and although I had originally booked a basic Standard View room, we were unexpectedly upgraded to a Water View Royal Guest Room (thank you)! It was the first of a few unexpected treats on our trip. The room was decorated to a "T" (literally, as Princess Tiana's first initial was at the top of our light-up headboards) with princess-themed artwork, bedding, and drapery in a royal blue/purple motif. Our room was conveniently close to the main lobby, dining hall, and the South bus stop which was much appreciated after spending 15+ hours in the parks on some days. We enjoyed the relaxing riverboat ride from POR to POFQ (for beignets) to Downtown Disney one morning. We never had to wait long for a bus from POR to the parks in the morning, however there was often a 1-2 bus wait on return rides from the various parks back to POR in the evening. Travel times between POR and the parks were lengthier than those when staying at deluxe hotels, but I expected this and it did not come as a surprise. The ~H20+ bath amenities are always appreciated, but I missed the body/bath wash usually provided at the deluxe resorts (we received orange-scented shampoo, conditioner, facial soap, and body soap). We rarely saw housekeeping or any other workers around the rooms, but again, we were at the parks most of the day and always returned to a clean room in the evening. My brother and I agreed that we really enjoyed our brief stay at POR, but will likely stay at another Disney resort the next time we visit WDW - there are just so many to experience! Finally, Disney's Magical Express was an added bonus that definitely helped us save on transportation costs to/from Orlando airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Reba Lookalike
Suwanee, GA
Jul 8, 2012

Perfect for our family

This hotel was everything we wanted and needed for our Disney vacation. Once we arrived and parked our car, we never had a need to drive again until it was time to leave. Our room was comfortable, the pool was fun, the Mickey waffels were a hit, and I could go on and on. We really enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Having a big breakfast at the hotel saves having to eat lunch in the park.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drowsy Mosquito
WV
Jun 1, 2012

Couple getaway

Great experience. Very clean room and grounds. Helpful staff. Food court was surprisingly good. Pleasantly surprised given the affordable price of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to downtown Disney.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MiamiNuke
Miami, FL
Apr 29, 2012

Disppointing

I was a little disappointed staying here. I had heard such great praise about this hotel and couldn't wait to try to it out. This being a Moderate Hotel I was surprised when the service was below value. I'll start with the positives, the grounds are beautiful. The problems started when I got my room key and was told it was on the second floor. I had to park very far from the building because there was construction in the building next door and the closest parking lot was reserved for construction workers. So it was quite a hike with 2 small kids. The room was on the second floor with no elevator and once inside we found a dead cockroach inside one of the drawers. We found a little girl’s princess crown on top of the pillows and thought perhaps the hotel assumed we had a daughter (we have two sons). The room was not cleaned on the first day we were surprised to find it just how we left it in the morning. The construction of the building next door kept us from walking around our area and using the closest pool because there were strong fumes from the paint or whatever they were doing. This did push us to walk around and really see how beautiful the hotel property was, however, it made me wonder why we were stuck in the back in an area called the Alligator Bayou when there were so many beautiful areas where no construction was happening. On our last day we did not receive our check out statement under the door as requested and the housekeeping staff was pushing us out of the room at 9:00 am. We when left she gave us a dirty look, then later chased us down to give us the princess crown we had found the first day, it was then that I realized the room had not been properly cleaned before our arrival. It would take a lot for me to change my mind on this Disney hotel. It was very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top