$196 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

4 stars
View map of 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
307 out of 307
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slade2
Business
Omaha, Ne
Oct 23, 2014

Annual Fall Vacation

This was our second time visiting Port Orleans Riverside. The resort was as good as we remembered from our last visit 8 years ago. The resort is well laid out. It was just a short walk to all ammenities . We have visited several Disney hotels, but, this is still our favorite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you rent a car, stop at a grociery store and get drinks and snacks. We took our disney glasses from prior years and filled them with our own soda and juice, prior to heading to the food service area.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Darth Jader
Business
Denver, Colorado
Oct 17, 2014

Great Value on Disney Property

We were able to get a great price, well worth the stay, even for just my husband and I!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kbush7785
Business
Cape Coral
Oct 16, 2014

Awesome Hotel

So great for the value. We stayed in a royal guest room and loved it! We have stayed at nearly every Disney hotel and will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food court not so great!

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peach run
Business
Piqua, Ohio
Oct 6, 2014

Repeat guests at Port Orleans Riverside

We have stayed at POR more than any other resort. The layout of the resort is perfect - every room is near a bus stop and either the main pool or a quiet pool. As always, the cast members are friendly and helpful. The availability of a horse-drawn carriage ride and boats to Downtown Disney make this moderate resort seem a bit more upscale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TJ Bennett
Business
Southern California
Sep 29, 2014

Great Birthday Trip!

Great way to celebrate. Disney took care of everything on this trip, starting with being picked-up at the airport on a Disney bus. The themed resort was almost as fun as the theme parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the Disney resort transportation. Its free, convenient, and faster than driving.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DisneyGirl1973
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Sep 26, 2014

Love this resort!

The rooms & grounds were beautiful! So peaceful wandering the grounds. Bus service to the parks was very quick & bus stop was not far from our room. The rooms were cleaned promptly while we were at the parks in the morning & ready for us when we returned in the early afternoon. Highly recommend this resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The whole pizzas in the food court are pretty big & only cost about $15 for pepperoni. Our group of 6 (4 adults, 2 kids, 9 & 11) ordered 2 of them & it was plenty of food! If you are on the dining plan I believe they are only 2 QS credits each.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Darth Jader
Business
Denver, Colorado
Sep 25, 2014

Everything Wonderful, Needs some detail updates

My husband and I just got back from a 3 night stay here during Food and Wine Festival. The hotel itself is wonderful. The theming is excellent, overall very clean. 95% of cast members were excellent and cheerful, though we did bump into 1 or 2 grumpy ones (but everyone has bad days). The pools are very nice, and the grounds are beautiful. We were right next to a quiet pool which we used several times; it was very clean and perfect temperature, even in the rain! We stayed in a corner king bedroom which was very spacious for our needs. Bed was very comfortable, everything worked well and was generally very clean. We did bump into a few little things (rusty shower curtain rings, a few missed spots in cleaning) but nothing significant or that would effect a vacation! The bus system at the resort was consistent, buses were clean, and drivers were helpful and friendly. However my husband and I prefer to come and go as we please. In our minds our time spent doing other things holds more value over the free bus transportation. We opted to use a taxi several times over riding the bus and would probably rent a car next time. But again, this is our personal preference. The bus system itself was excellent. We got a great deal with several discounts. Even without those deals, we felt the resort would have been worth its regular seasonal price. There are lots of things to do, the food we had was very good, and the theming and charm of the hotel is very beautiful! We stayed without kids but my husband and I agree we loved the hotel in all its beauty and would stay there again in a heart beat with our 3 children. I would recommend this to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If you get a chance, Check out Yee-Ha Bob, he is wonderful and very entertaining!

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alohaholi
Business
Kalamazoo, MI
Sep 25, 2014

Great Place with Kids or without Kids

We stayed here 3 nights & loved it. I read the reviews & this Disney onsite hotel was priced great when we went. Yes, it is a long walk for little legs to the lobby or pool (if you get a room far away, like we did) & some how I missed this...BUT, If you stay near the West Bus Depot, it is the 1st pickup & 1st Drop Off for the Buses!!! I liked the Boat/Ferry ride. My family thought it took too long. I thought it was relaxing & I liked seeing the other resorts along the waterway. Hotel is 2 floors, with NO Elevator, (or at least we didn't find it when we were dragging luggage up & down the stairs, or when we came back from a long day at the Magic Kingdom) The theme was Princess & the Frog, New Orleans. Which means the food, decor, music is geared towards this. The grounds were gorgeous, it was like being in a beautiful swamp. Everyday the staff was Friendly & the place was spotless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have the dining plan or Not, go to downtown Disney. We didn't have it & found much better food & prices there. And from this hotel you can take the boat or the bus to almost anywhere!

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hammock swinger
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 16, 2014

Best mid-tier Disney hotel

Now that Disney has introduced FastPass+ where park guests who stay at a Disney hotel can reserve Fastpass+ selections 60 days in advance, staying on Disney property looks more attractive. The Port Orleans is big, yet comfy. Multi-story buildings are spread around a central pool area located on a small island. The property evokes a Mississippi riverboat feel. It was about a 8 minute walk from our room to the main dining area, though it could be longer from some rooms. Every room included a small mini-fridge, which is helpful to store breakfast items. If you like cajun food, the table service restaurant (Boatwright's) makes a pretty mean crawfish étouffée. Overall, we were very pleased with the amenities and value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Consider purchasing a refillable mug on your first trip to the dining hall. One could be shared between two adults; most kids meals come with a beverage (milk, juice, etc.).

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stabes66
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Sep 16, 2014

Expected a little more from Disney

The main building was absolutely beautiful and the buildings looked great; Disney is all about themes and our building looked like a wilderness lodge. We were greeted by an awkward little girl who had difficulty checking us in, but no big deal. We told her that he had a little toddler with us, but that didn't seem to matter because they put us on the second floor...without any elevators. The front desk girl did not tell us this, so he had to carry everything up staircases; not very Disney. We get to our room and it was dirty, our family who checked into the next room had dead cockroaches in their bathtub! Our little girl likes to climb around under the sink and when she put her hand down, it was covered in dust and dirt. We thought, that it just might be an over sight in cleaning, but the next day our room was barely cleaned and none of the coffees were refilled nor was our ice bucket bag that I had used replaced (I had to empty it and reuse it). Normally I don't mind these little inconveniences, however this is Disney. I expect more from them. The buildings are nice, but your room may or may not be clean and not one employee made us feel welcomed. Not sure why that is, but we'll remember it next time we book a hotel. Over all, good location, normal amenities, but un-Disney like employees with dirty rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The best part of the hotel was using the buses to get to the parks. The longest wait time we had was only about 10 minutes.

Back to menu Return to top