$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

4 stars
1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
219 reviews
Wonderful Disney experience!

After staying at several Disney hotels, my husband and I decided to do a quick & cheap stay this... See full review

  • Mommy Poppins
  • Jul 15, 2014
Our favorite place

My husband and I LOVE the riverside! We've stayed there twice now, and are always more than happy... See full review

  • DaniD88
  • Jul 14, 2014
Return to the charming days of riverboats and Mark Twain as you discover this moderately priced resort. Courtly pillars, grand staircases and splendid gardens blend with the Mississippi-style waterways and gracious Southern hospitality. "Mosey over" to Alligator Bayou and discover its rustic architecture, front porches and meandering walkways. A stocked fishing hole, country-style pool, flowered fields and two-story cottages create the nostalgic romance of down-home charm. Resort features 2,048 guest rooms, pool with slide, five quiet pools and one kiddie pool, arcade, playground, bicycle rentals, family fishing hole and a marina with watercraft rentals. Rooms are available for guests with disabilities.

Complimentary Wi-Fi service is now available in all Walt Disney World Resort hotels. Guests will now be able to access complimentary Wi-Fi in their rooms as well as in select common areas within the resort hotel, including restaurant locations, bus load zones, feature pools, arcades, convention spaces (if applicable) and the porte cochere.

Disney Hotel Resort guests also enjoy their Extra Magic Hours Benefit. On select days, Disney Resort hotel guests can enter a Disney Theme Park an hour early-and on select evenings, enjoy a Park up to two hours after regular closing time. That's when lines may be shorter and the weather can be more comfortable. Guests have time for a midday break or a dip in the pool. Then the gang will be ready to head back to the same Theme Park for more fun! Don't forget your Magic Your Way Tickets with Park Hopper Option! The Park Hopper option is the only way you will be able to fully enjoy the Extra Magic Hours Benefit when the extra hours in the morning is a different Disney theme park than the extra hours in the evening.

Disney Hotel Resort guests receive complimentary Disney's Magical Express Service for roundtrip airport shuttle from Orlando International Airport, luggage delivery and airline check in*. To book Disney's Magical Express Service visit Disney's Magical Express Service Web site at www.disneysmagicalexpress.com/US to register once you have completed your booking. Luggage delivery service will be provided for Disney's Magical Express to Walt Disney World Resort for a resort stay who arrive on flights beginning at 5 a.m. until 10 p.m. You will receive your luggage tags and the Airport Transportation Information Booklet with specific direction and general information.
* Resort Airline Check-In Guests will be subject to the airline's checked bag fees policy.

Hotel Map

28.3855 -81.5365
Area served
WALT DISNEY WORLD Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
DOWNTOWN DISNEY Resort Area

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside Rooms

Royal Guest Room - Gardenview
It's where all your royal Disney friends stay! Each room makes you feel as though you're a character in the Disney stories you love. Magical Fireworks swirl about you as you recline in ornately decorated beds. Adorning the walls are Princely Banners, a magical painting and memories of Tiana and her friends displayed in exquisite frames. Your family will be swept up in a truly royal experience. Courtyard or garden view rooms with two queen beds or one king-sized bed with Television, hair dryer, coffee maker, ironing board/iron, ceiling fan, in-room safe, table and chairs and clock radio. Microwave (on request, surcharge). Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.
Water View
Rooms offer views of a pool or lake. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Banquette beds (35" x 65") may accomodate a child age 3-9 in the Alligator Bayou rooms.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
King Room
Maximum occupancy - 2 people
River View
Two queen beds. River view. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Preferred Room
Two queen beds. Varied view. Close to main lobby than standard room. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Standard View
Rooms offer views of a courtyard, garden, woodland or parking area. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Banquette beds (35" x 65") may accomodate a child age 3-9 in the Alligator Bayou rooms.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 1.5 mi

Dining

Arcadian Pizza Express
Pizza delivery to Guests' rooms at Port Orleans offered from 4pm to midnight.
Boatwright's Dining Hall
Taste of Southern-style cooking and American favorites. Unique setting surrounded by shipbuilding artifacts, fireplace and view of our Southern Trace bakery.
Muddy Rivers - Ol' Man Island (Poolside)
Hot dogs, popcorn and specialty drinks.
Food Court
Burgers and chicken entrees, bakery items including cookies, ice cream and sundaes, BBQ chicken and red beans & rice, ribs, pizza, pasta and salads.
River Roost (Lounge)
Full bar, cocktail service, specialty drinks, hors d'oeuvres.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (219)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mad Dooner
Madison, WI, USA
Feb 5, 2012

Very nice but inconsistent service

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Riverside. The not so good - Location - We had asked for a quiet room and were given one by the river which turned out to be a very quiet location until one of the delivery/maintenance carts went zooming by on the river side path. This went on at all hours night and day! Food - horribly overpriced and mediocre. Stale buns at the food court. No response to our complaints. Wi-fi - didn't work well with my iPad. Called several times to get corrected and was told it should work. Well it didn't! Finally got someone to admit they had problems with Apple devices. The very good - room size and amenities. Pools. Cleaning staff. The Great - Front desk service and front gate guards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take your own snacks and drinks to the Disney parks in a small backpack. It will save you lots of $$$$.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
almsreview
New Orleans, LA, USA
Jan 15, 2012

Great for the price

The hotel staff was extremely helpful. We had a great time and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grover51
Durham, NC, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Riverside resort

Beautiful resort. Room was not done until 3pm some days. The staff went around 8:30am in the morning with leaf blowers just outside the door and woke us up. People were very friendly throughout the resort. I would like to see the cable upgraded and free internet for the price you pay for the room. The grounds are manicured perfectly and the boat ride down to downtown disney was very nice. I will definitely stay here in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the boat down to the restaurants to avoid the parking and traffic snarls in the parking lots at downtown disney.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GrammyC
Hawaii
Oct 24, 2011

Dream Family Vacation

Our experience was very good. The people at the front desk check in were excellent. I was concerned when I was told that I still owed money for the room. They helped me get an Orbtiz agent on the phone and then stayed with me for the 45 minutes it took me to resolve the issue. The food in the restaurant was excellent while the food in the food court at lunch and dinner was ordinary. The folded towel animals in the room thrilled the kids. We got, swans, autterfuly, a one9eyed duck and mickdy mouse (2 rooms). We had a hard time figuring out how to adjust the air conditioning. The pool was nice but other guests gogged the hot tub so it was very crowded. Our biggest problem was that we did not have enough time to enjoy all of the features of the hotel because of all of the things to do at Disney World, Universal Studios and surrounding areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bottled Water is expensive. Ask for a cup of water (iced or not) at any of the Disney food counters that sell fountain drinks and it is free.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luggage H8tr
Washington DC
Jun 2, 2011

Relaxing stay, beautiful grounds, great!

We decided to try the Port Orleans Riverside and we were rewarded with a wonderful stay that the whole family really enjoyed. I booked a King room in Alligator Bayou which was spacious and had plenty of room for the crib that we requested at check-in. It was delivered so fast that it was waiting for us at the room when we got there. The food court, swimming pool, and resort grounds were all excellent. The room we had was extremely quiet (in contrast to the typical All-Star resort room) and the family slept very comfortably. The in-room fridge was an unexpected bonus. I regretably forgot to request a ground floor room and the resort was quite full so we were given a room on the second floor which was an extra hassle with our stroller and extra baby gear each day. Also, some rooms can be quite far from the main buildings, so I would recommend requesting a ground floor room close to the main building if possible. Some rooms face the parking lots, so I would try and avoid those as well. Otherwise, our stay at Port Orleans Riverside was perfect and we will definately be staying there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Instead of buying the refillable mugs, consider driving to one of the Hess stations onsite when you arrive and stocking up on bottled water/soda that you can keep in the fridge and take with you into the parks each day.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NeilOregon
Portland
May 31, 2011

Disney Weekend

We spent Memorial Day Weekend at the Disney Resorts; Port Orleans has a great shuttle service by boat to the middle of Downtown Disney, which is a great benefit versus taking a bus or driving. There are several pools you can relax in and the dining service is pretty good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Instead of driving, take the river boat ferry to Downtown Disney for shopping and dining.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P & J
New Jersey
Apr 10, 2011

Great place and value for the money

We previously stayed at Port Orleans "French Quarter" and wanted to try Port Orleans "Riverside" this time. We were not disappointed. A nice feature is that you can take a boat / ferry direct to the Downtown Disney area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The best building location is as close to the main entrance as you can get - because it is near the first bus depot stop and near dining at the resort. You can fax a location request in advance of your stay. We did and they put us in a building were we wanted - and they did not charge us any more money. Disney is very accommodating!

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marcela
Fort Lauderdale, Fl
Mar 22, 2011

Nice play to stay

We have stayed in this resort before and we really like it. Love the boat to downtown Disney which is great to grab breakfast , lunch or dinner since the food court and restaurant in the resort are not that great. Rooms are ok for a family of three. Like the lounge with the fire place and piano entertainment. Also good bus service. The pool has a nice slide which my daughter loved. Room has a refrigerator and table which made it eaasy for us to storage some staples and snacks. Only thing I don't like is the message and early maid visit the day of check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus or boat to downtown and dine at Wolgang puck express. The dinner is good and very affordable.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Plainfield, CT
Mar 22, 2011

Great Place to Stay

Really Enjoyed staying at this Hotel! Loved the Pool, lots of Waterfalls and the slide! The hotel also had a nice place to run in the morning. At first we were reluctant to eat in the food court area but we had Breakfast and a laet Dinner there and it was great, Pasta station was awesome. I would definately recommend this hotel especially for the price. If we can't get one of the upper leve Disney Hotels for a resonible price then we will be coming back to Port Orleans Riverside!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Mar 19, 2011

Felt like we were in Orleans

Port Orleans Riverside offered easy water access to the restaurants and shops at Downtown Disney. We took this trip 3 times in our 6 day stay. Rooms were spacious and quiet. Pools were easily accessible and water the perfect temperature. Boatwright Restaurant offered delicious southern menu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search