$345 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 18, 2014

Disney's Contemporary Resort

4 stars
4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
82 reviews
Superb Staff!

The staff at this hotel was amazing...always there when we needed them and took great care to... See full review

  • Aunt Jess
  • Mar 31, 2014
Family Getaway

The hotel was perfect, and so close to the Magic Kingdom!!! See full review

  • Super Apa
  • Jul 22, 2013
From the dramatic art in the main tower with sleek monorails cruising overhead, to the casual style and convenience of garden rooms looking out over the beach, this is a Disney experience not to be missed. Its bold A frame design makes it a modern masterpiece, capped off by a breathtaking view of the MAGIC KINGDOM Park from the award-winning California Grill, perched high atop the resort. Resort features 656 renovated guest rooms in a 15-story tower and two 3-story garden wings, pool with slide, quiet pool, spas, arcade, playground, children's activity center, tennis courts, volleyball court, bicycle rentals, a marina with watercraft rentals and a health club with spa services and beauty salon.

Complimentary Wi-Fi service is now available in all Walt Disney World Resort hotels. Guests will now be able to access complimentary Wi-Fi in their rooms as well as in select common areas within the resort hotel, including restaurant locations, bus load zones, feature pools, arcades, convention spaces (if applicable) and the porte cochere.

Disney Hotel Resort guests also enjoy their Extra Magic Hours Benefit. On select days, Disney Resort hotel guests can enter a Disney Theme Park an hour early-and on select evenings, enjoy a Park up to two hours after regular closing time. That's when lines may be shorter and the weather can be more comfortable. Guests have time for a midday break or a dip in the pool. Then the gang will be ready to head back to the same Theme Park for more fun! Don't forget your Magic Your Way Tickets with Park Hopper Option! The Park Hopper option is the only way you will be able to fully enjoy the Extra Magic Hours Benefit when the extra hours in the morning is a different Disney theme park than the extra hours in the evening.

Disney Hotel Resort guests receive complimentary Disney's Magical Express Service for roundtrip airport shuttle from Orlando International Airport, luggage delivery and airline check in*. To book Disney's Magical Express Service visit Disney's Magical Express Service Web site at www.disneysmagicalexpress.com/US to register once you have completed your booking. Luggage delivery service will be provided for Disney's Magical Express to Walt Disney World Resort for a resort stay who arrive on flights beginning at 5 a.m. until 10 p.m. You will receive your luggage tags and the Airport Transportation Information Booklet with specific direction and general information.
* Resort Airline Check-In Guests will be subject to the airline's checked bag fees policy.

Disney's Contemporary Resort Rooms

Tower - Bay Lake View
Rooms offer views of Bay Lake. Features two queen-size beds or one king-size bed, day bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan and large bathroom with private commode. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, phone in bath area, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, high-speed Internet access.

Maximum occupancy - 5 people
Garden Wing - Garden View
Located in the Garden Wing, a three-story building next to the Tower, rooms offer views of beautifully manicured gardens, the marina, pools or Bay Lake. Features two queen-size beds or one king-size bed, day bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan and large bathroom with private commode. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, phone in bath area, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, high-speed Internet access.

Maximum occupancy - 5 people
Garden Wing - Standard View
Located in the Garden Wing, a three-story building next to the Tower, rooms offer views of landscaped or parking areas. Features two queen-size beds or one king-size bed, day bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan and large bathroom with private commode. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, phone in bath area, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, high-speed Internet access.

Maximum occupancy - 5 people
Tower - Theme Park View
Rooms offer views of the Magic Kingdom Park and parking area. Features two queen-size beds or one king-size bed, day bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan and large bathroom with private commode. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, phone in bath area, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, high-speed Internet access.

Maximum occupancy - 5 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Contemporary Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.4146 -81.5767
Area served
Walt Disney World Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
Magic Kingdom Resort Area

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 4.5 mi

Dining

California Grill & Lounge
At California Grill, the food is just as enticing as the spectacular views across Magic Kingdom theme park. Inspired by classic cuisines from around the world, yet combined in inventive and delicious new ways, the menu at California Grill reflects the very best of California fusion cooking.
Outer Rim
Cocktails, light snacks.
The Waveof American Flavors
Experience the transition from "day" to "night" in this casual restaurant with such atmosphere! The menu features fresh American and world flavors, and trendy cocktails.
Contempo Caf
Wave at the passing monorail while you order on touch-screen kiosks. Menu items include flavorful flatbreads and hot and savory sandwiches, like honey lime chicken.
Contemporary Grounds
Coffee Bar serving capuccino, expresso, latte, coffee, flavored coffees, iced coffees, juices, Perrier and Vittel water, smoothies, bagels, wine and beer, specialty liquors.
Sand Bar & Grill
Open seasonally. Menu: snacks, sandwiches, beverages, alcoholic and non-alcoholic frozen drinks, wine and beer.
Chef Mickey's at Disney's Contemporary Resort
All-you-can-eat breakfast and dinner buffet with Chef Mickey and the gang. Daily continuous seatings from 7:00 a.m.- 11:30 a.m.; 5:00 p.m.- 9:30 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Contemporary Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.6

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
grand ee
st louis mo
Jun 26, 2013

great grandparent experience

We have stayed at this hotel as well as the Polynesian and Grand Floridian and find this to be our favorite. The location is great, the pool is ideal for children and the rooms are quiet. We had the theme park view and could watch the fireworks as well as the water parade from our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I was able to get a GAC (guest access card) with a letter from my doctor which allowed 6 people to use the alternate entrance and thus avoid the long lines with my disability.

Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jason Livermore
ft collins, Co
Jun 19, 2013

Family vacation

The Staff were awesome. Room and view were perfect. Watch the fireworks from the magic kingdom from your balcony!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grammy P.
Syracuse, NY
Mar 19, 2013

Lovely but a tad expensive

Loved the property. Had great Monorail service to all the parks. Only complaint was it was a good 10 minute hike to get to our room in another building, and their numbering system was very confusing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

For our 2- and 4-year-old grandchildren, it was easy to go to a la carte cafe on third level. They were very happy with their dinner selections and it was easy on us.

Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dennis131
Connecticut
Jul 9, 2012

Good resort

Good resort great location if you are going to visit the disney parks. acsess to the monorail is esential. great staff as with all of disney they aim to please. price is a bit high but again same with all of disney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the california grill! great food and in the hotel

Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DetteK
Alexandria, VA, USA
Apr 12, 2012

Great Trip for my family

The staff and amenities were GREAT, WONDERFUL, OUTSTANDING... We would definetly go back to the Contemporary when we return to Disney. A+++++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everywhere we eat was delightful. Never had a bad meal.

Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fruitface
Los Alamos, NM 87544, USA
Jan 11, 2012

Fun family time

We went for the marathon, it was very convenient to get to places. Restaurants at hotel had good service and delicious food. The light show on the lake in front of the hotel each evening at 10:10 should be earlier for the sake of children to see and runners who went to bed early the nights before the marathon. Runners who want quiet should ask for the side convention building. Pool noise also echoed up to our room on the 6th floor at night. So we might try the other building next visit, but you can't beat the beautiful view over the lake from our room. We could easily take the monorail to the Polynesian and the Grand Floridian for breakfasts, which is what we did. And took the boats to Wilderness Lodge for a dinner. Note: Whispering Canyon Cafe is far from quiet, lots of noise, encourages kids to scream and run around, have stick horse races during dinner and the waiters scream across the room for ketchup, etc, that's part of their act. But if you taught your kids to not scream indoors or run around during dinner, you might want to skip this restaurant or bring earplugs (will use those for the very loud music in the park parades too). We had a great time at Disney World, always do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Wave restaurant was very nice, ate their twice. Made reservations before we left home.

Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love MIckey
Steamboat Springs, CO
Dec 2, 2011

Disneyworld for one night

This Contemporary resort is a great hotel. I stayed there 30 years ago and it was just as good this time. It is a great location, especially if you only have one night because you can hop on the monorail to go back to the hotel, eat, change and go back to the park for fireworkds and parades.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Staying at a hotel on the monorail allows you to easily leave the park and come back very quickly

Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family with Young kid
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Great location

The location can't be beat! We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We had our breakfast at Chef Mickey's. My four year old had a great time meeting Mickey, Minnie, Goofy, Donald, and Pluto. Overall, great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family with Young kid
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Great location

The location can't be beat! We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We had our breakfast at Chef Mickey's. My four year old had a great time meeting Mickey, Minnie, Goofy, Donald, and Pluto. Overall, great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed Steve
Cranford NJ
Aug 1, 2011

Unimpressed

I had heard many wonderful things about staying at Disney properties. Our stay at the Contemporary Resort did not meet expectations. Wear and tear in busy hotel is normal. That said the room needed to be vacuumed and the bathroom was dirty, for the price we paid we expected better. The pool also looked dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top