$368 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 7, 2014 Check-out: Dec 8, 2014

Disney's Contemporary Resort

4 stars
4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
58 reviews
CONTEMPORARY = CONVENIENCE

The Contemporary is a fantastic resort. You can't get closer to the Magic Kingdom than a tower room... See full review

  • Sivaro
  • Oct 3, 2014
Mini vacation

Took my daughter and granddaughter for a weekend trip to magic kingdom. This hotel was excellent,... See full review

  • Angiesuern
  • Sep 1, 2014
From the dramatic art in the main tower with sleek monorails cruising overhead, to the casual style and convenience of garden rooms looking out over the beach, this is a Disney experience not to be missed. Its bold A frame design makes it a modern masterpiece, capped off by a breathtaking view of the MAGIC KINGDOM Park from the award-winning California Grill, perched high atop the resort. Resort features 656 renovated guest rooms in a 15-story tower and two 3-story garden wings, pool with slide, quiet pool, spas, arcade, playground, children's activity center, tennis courts, volleyball court, bicycle rentals, a marina with watercraft rentals and a health club with spa services and beauty salon.

Complimentary Wi-Fi service is now available in all Walt Disney World Resort hotels. Guests will now be able to access complimentary Wi-Fi in their rooms as well as in select common areas within the resort hotel, including restaurant locations, bus load zones, feature pools, arcades, convention spaces (if applicable) and the porte cochere.

Disney Hotel Resort guests also enjoy their Extra Magic Hours Benefit. On select days, Disney Resort hotel guests can enter a Disney Theme Park an hour early-and on select evenings, enjoy a Park up to two hours after regular closing time. That's when lines may be shorter and the weather can be more comfortable. Guests have time for a midday break or a dip in the pool. Then the gang will be ready to head back to the same Theme Park for more fun! Don't forget your Magic Your Way Tickets with Park Hopper Option! The Park Hopper option is the only way you will be able to fully enjoy the Extra Magic Hours Benefit when the extra hours in the morning is a different Disney theme park than the extra hours in the evening.

Disney Hotel Resort guests receive complimentary Disney's Magical Express Service for roundtrip airport shuttle from Orlando International Airport, luggage delivery and airline check in*. To book Disney's Magical Express Service visit Disney's Magical Express Service Web site at www.disneysmagicalexpress.com/US to register once you have completed your booking. Luggage delivery service will be provided for Disney's Magical Express to Walt Disney World Resort for a resort stay who arrive on flights beginning at 5 a.m. until 10 p.m. You will receive your luggage tags and the Airport Transportation Information Booklet with specific direction and general information.
* Resort Airline Check-In Guests will be subject to the airline's checked bag fees policy.

Hotel Map

28.4146 -81.5767
Area served
Walt Disney World Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
Magic Kingdom Resort Area

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Contemporary Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Disney's Contemporary Resort Rooms

Tower - Bay Lake View
Rooms offer views of Bay Lake. Features two queen-size beds or one king-size bed, day bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan and large bathroom with private commode. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, phone in bath area, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, high-speed Internet access.

Maximum occupancy - 5 people
Garden Wing - Garden View
Located in the Garden Wing, a three-story building next to the Tower, rooms offer views of beautifully manicured gardens, the marina, pools or Bay Lake. Features two queen-size beds or one king-size bed, day bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan and large bathroom with private commode. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, phone in bath area, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, high-speed Internet access.

Maximum occupancy - 5 people
Garden Wing - Standard View
Located in the Garden Wing, a three-story building next to the Tower, rooms offer views of landscaped or parking areas. Features two queen-size beds or one king-size bed, day bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan and large bathroom with private commode. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, phone in bath area, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, high-speed Internet access.

Maximum occupancy - 5 people
Tower - Theme Park View
Rooms offer views of the Magic Kingdom Park and parking area. Features two queen-size beds or one king-size bed, day bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan and large bathroom with private commode. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, phone in bath area, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, high-speed Internet access.

Maximum occupancy - 5 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Dining

California Grill & Lounge
At California Grill, the food is just as enticing as the spectacular views across Magic Kingdom theme park. Inspired by classic cuisines from around the world, yet combined in inventive and delicious new ways, the menu at California Grill reflects the very best of California fusion cooking.
Outer Rim
Cocktails, light snacks.
The Waveof American Flavors
Experience the transition from "day" to "night" in this casual restaurant with such atmosphere! The menu features fresh American and world flavors, and trendy cocktails.
Contempo Caf
Wave at the passing monorail while you order on touch-screen kiosks. Menu items include flavorful flatbreads and hot and savory sandwiches, like honey lime chicken.
Contemporary Grounds
Coffee Bar serving capuccino, expresso, latte, coffee, flavored coffees, iced coffees, juices, Perrier and Vittel water, smoothies, bagels, wine and beer, specialty liquors.
Sand Bar & Grill
Open seasonally. Menu: snacks, sandwiches, beverages, alcoholic and non-alcoholic frozen drinks, wine and beer.
Chef Mickey's at Disney's Contemporary Resort
All-you-can-eat breakfast and dinner buffet with Chef Mickey and the gang. Daily continuous seatings from 7:00 a.m.- 11:30 a.m.; 5:00 p.m.- 9:30 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Contemporary Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.6

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aunt Jess
Business
Illinois, USA
Mar 31, 2014

Superb Staff!

The staff at this hotel was amazing...always there when we needed them and took great care to ensure our Disney My Experience updates were always correct. The new magic bands, still in beta, got pretty messed up for us during our visit - but the front desk and concierge teams at this hotel took their time to ensure we had a hassle free visit once we got to the park!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Highly recommend taking advantage of Disney magic hours to enjoy the park without all the crowds! Its worth getting up early for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
davidinpit
Business
pittsburgh
Mar 5, 2014

Great, but monorail down!

Didnt know when I booked it that monorail down Jan-March from 1130A - 730P. That was really annoying as monorail was prime reason I chose hotel due to very young + very old people in my party. Otherwise, hotel, tho expensive, was great. And w this site's code, cost was moderated. Wave rstrnt very good, so altho couldnt get into Calif Grill, it was OK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aneyefordetail
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Fl
Jan 5, 2014

Mediocre Hotel with Great Location

The hotel is very overrated. It essentially feels like a dressed up motel that was remodeled. The location is what you are paying for. It has a direct stop to the Magic Kingdom on the monorail. The service could be better. They delayed our check-in because the reservation forgot to include our single 3 year old toddler. Give me a break! Most hotels do not flinch if two adults bring one additional small child let alone 2 kids; it's not like we were sneaking in a group of 4 kids like some families do. When we checked in, the person who checked us in was not particularly friendly nor did she communicate what the delay was about. The beds did not include a nice substantial comforter like most nice hotels. It felt like they substituted two flat sheets for a comforter. The mattress was not comfortable. Unlike most finer hotels in this price ranger, it was not a feather or pillow top. It felt like a cheap motel mattress. The hot water was restricted as well. When we arrived, the water on it's hottest scale felt like just above lukewarm water. I'm not one of those people who take scalding hot showers either but after a long day at Disney, a nice hot shower is a must. Maintenance arrived and removed the temperature restriction so that you turn the handle all the way up and get much hotter water. Our room was not cleaned well. Housekeeping forgot to remove a thong bikini that was hung on the shower when we arrived...gross. Also, the front desk is not particularly friendly when you call. When we called to complain about the hot water, the front desk was not apologetic or quick to help. On Sunday morning, the front desk did not even answer the phone. They were stingy about providing a late checkout meaning allowing us to check out at 12 PM versus 11 AM. And we booked with american ex online with our platinum card which is supposed to guarantee you a late check out. When we informed them of this, they still would not provide us a late check out. So what is nice? The resort monorail is a nice feature particularly when traveling to the Magic Kingdom. The ability to go to both Epcot and the Magic Kingdom in the same day makes this hotel nice. The air conditioning in the hotel was nice and our room got really cold. The shower amenities are nice. The valet parking is relatively cheap at $15 per day. They offer free parking so you don't need to valet. The swimming pool has lifeguards which is a nice tough for families with small children. The hotel also has a great system with their new bands. Purchasing items in the park with your bands is convenient. Bottom Line: you are paying for the location. If you are expecting a nice luxurious hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Superboss
Business
Viera, Florida
Nov 13, 2013

Location Location Location

The Resort was very nice. The location was the key right next to the Magic Kingdom. You can't get any closer! We didn't actually get a room in the main building so that was a little disappointing, but we were only in the room to rest! The staff was A number one. Very friendly and helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to the Magic Kingdom entrance. Way cool! Another tip if you stay on property you get to experience extended hours!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christopher's Aunt
Business
New York City
Aug 20, 2013

Disney Short Trip

Perhaps not as new or shiny as the Floridian or other newer Disney resorts but clean, close and still magical given you spend most of your time at parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Apa
Business
Sarasota, Florida
Jul 22, 2013

Family Getaway

The hotel was perfect, and so close to the Magic Kingdom!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girls trip 123
Business
New York, NY
Jul 3, 2013

Great stay

So convenient to get to the parks. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms can easily fit a family of 5 comfortably.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Wave has an amazing Breakfast buffet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dad the wise
Business
Douglasville, GA
Jun 28, 2013

Disney made perfect!

Our stay at the Contemporary was great! The staff could not have been any friendlier or more helpful. We had exactly the room promised with a breathtaking view of the Magic Kingdom. The shops and restaurants were convenient and top notch and the room service was prompt and delicious. The valet and concierge were very efficient. It was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure to get a reservation at Chef Mickey's but if you don't eat at the new restaurant, The Wave, on the first floor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
grand ee
Business
st louis mo
Jun 26, 2013

great grandparent experience

We have stayed at this hotel as well as the Polynesian and Grand Floridian and find this to be our favorite. The location is great, the pool is ideal for children and the rooms are quiet. We had the theme park view and could watch the fireworks as well as the water parade from our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I was able to get a GAC (guest access card) with a letter from my doctor which allowed 6 people to use the alternate entrance and thus avoid the long lines with my disability.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jason Livermore
Business
ft collins, Co
Jun 19, 2013

Family vacation

The Staff were awesome. Room and view were perfect. Watch the fireworks from the magic kingdom from your balcony!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top