$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Disney's Art of Animation Resort

3 stars
1850 Animation Way, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
116 reviews
As expected, has what you need

I always stay on Disney property, to take advantage of the the amenities that offers (extra magic... See full review

  • OneWall
  • Nov 21, 2014
Being a kid in Disney

Hands down, the most awesome pool ever. Our kids loved the hotel and are still talking about it.... See full review

  • Roll Tide 15
  • Nov 21, 2014
Disney's Art of Animation is all about getting behind the scenes, with rooms themed around animated favorites like The Lion King, The Little Mermaid and Finding Nemo, and bedspreads and murals that feature the same iconic films. Learn about the animation process with pencil drawings lining the check-in area, and sketches becoming more detailed as you progress through Animation Hall. There's even an ornate chandelier filled with storyboards. Although classing itself as a value resort, the largest pool on any Disney property can be found at this Orlando hotel, which is modeled after the setting of Finding Nemo. Free Internet access (fees may apply) and the Landscape of Flavors food court make things convenient for a family on the go.
Key facts
  • 864 guestrooms
  • 1,120 suites
  • Landscape of Flavors Restaurant
  • 3 swimming pools
  • Free airport shuttle
  • In-room childcare
  • Arcade/game room
  • Business center
Neighborhood
One of the official Walt Disney World Hotels, Disney's Art of Animation resort is located near Hollywood Studios in Orlando, across the Hourglass Lake from other Disney accommodations like the Pop Century Resort. The hotel is also near Disney's Boardwalk and the Downtown Disney area - perfect for wandering and browsing among waterfront restaurants and stores. If you need a break from the animation motif, the ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex nearby hosts special sports events, and the chance to get on a baseball field or basketball court yourself.
Hints and tips
The Art of Animation resort is comprised of different themed buildings; book a Finding Nemo suite, for instance, to be near the pool.
To save some money, consider the standard rooms in The Little Mermaid building, which contains its own pool and laundry facilities.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Art of Animation Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Disney's Art of Animation Resort Rooms

Cars Family Suite
One Queen-size bed, One Double-size Inova TableBed, One Double-size sleeper sofa, Living room, 2 bathrooms, Mini-kitchen, Reading chair, Table and chairs, Flat-panel TV, In-room wall safe, Voice mail, Microwave, coffeemaker, Hairdryer, Iron and ironing board, Crib is available upon request. All rooms are non-smoking. Wheelchair-accessible rooms are available. Cars themed Family Suites have views of the parking lot, courtyard or pool.
The Little Mermaid Standard Room
Little Mermaid themed hotel room with 2 double-size beds or 1 king-size bed, Bathroom. Table and chairs, flat-panel TV, In-room wall safe, Voice mail, Hairdryer, Iron and ironing board, Crib is available upon request, All rooms are non-smoking, E15Wheelchair-accessible rooms are available, Views of the parking lot, courtyard or pool.
The Lion King Family Suite
One Queen-size bed, One Double-size Inova TableBed, One Double-size sleeper sofa, Living room, 2 bathrooms, Mini-kitchen, Reading chair, Table and chairs, Flat-panel TV, In-room wall safe, Voice mail, Microwave, coffeemaker, Hairdryer, Iron and ironing board, Crib is available upon request. All rooms are non-smoking. Wheelchair-accessible rooms are available. Lion King Family Suites have views of the parking lot, courtyard.
Finding Nemo Family Suite
One Queen-size bed, One Double-size Inova TableBed, One Double-size sleeper sofa, Living room, 2 bathrooms, Mini-kitchen, Reading chair, Table and chairs, Flat-panel TV, In-room wall safe, Voice mail, Microwave, coffeemaker, Hairdryer, Iron and ironing board, Crib is available upon request. All rooms are non-smoking. Wheelchair-accessible rooms are available. Finding Nemo Family Suites have views of the parking lot, courtyard or pool.
Family Suite
One Queen-size bed, One Double-size Inova TableBed, One Double-size sleeper sofa, Living room, 2 bathrooms, Mini-kitchen, Reading chair, Table and chairs, Flat-panel TV, In-room wall safe, Voice mail, Microwave, coffeemaker, Hairdryer, Iron and ironing board, Crib is available upon request. All rooms are non-smoking. Wheelchair-accessible rooms are available. Family Suites have views of the parking lot, courtyard or pool. Specific theme is not guaranteed.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 1.4 mi

Dining

Landscape of Flavors
This Quick-Service food court serves an array of delectable dishes-from hearty cuisine to healthier fare-across 5 distinctive food shops at breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.
The Drop Off
A Poolside Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KarinB
Business
Cape Coral, Fl
Mar 31, 2014

Great for the little ones

My husband and I took our 5 year old granddaughter to Disney World, and chose this hotel as she is a big fan of The Little Mermaid movie, and we knew she would love the themed room. Sure enough, she loved it. The drawback to that section of the hotel with the standard rooms is the distance to the lobby, restuarant and main pool. The room we stayed in did not have a coffee maker which meant having to drive over in the morning and having to cart it back. That was definetely a pain! In hindsight, I would recommend the Finding Nemo section that is right in the middle of all the action. The main pool is darling. The food was surprisingly good compared to past experiences years ago at other Disney hotel cafeteria style restaurants . They offer a lot more variety with options for vegetarians like myself. This one had Indian food to boot. The staff was very friendly. I highly recommend this hotel for families with children who are fans of the movies they feature.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AnitaJL
Business
Hialeah, FL
Mar 29, 2014

MAGICAL

The resort is very colorful. I stayed for 3 nights, and it was a dream come true. We reserved a little mermaid room. However, when we got there they upgrade us to to a CAR'S Suite. AWESOME!!! It really seems you are part of another world, Disney's World. The room was very spacious and clean. My 9 year old daughter and 7 year old nephew couldn't stop talking about how wonderful the resort was and it was the best resort they have ever stayed. It was truly a wonderful experience. Thank you!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Overnighter from FL
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Mar 25, 2014

One night getaway

I took my daughter to Legoland in the middle of Spring Break week and decided to stay the night in the Orlando area. I wanted a reasonably priced Disney hotel to get some Disney spirit without going to the parks. This was our first time in a Disney Value hotel, and I was very pleasantly surprised. I had been wanting to try this new resort, and being just my daughter and me, it seemed a good time to try it. The reason I chose this value hotel over the others was it is new and had a big swimming pool - really all we needed for a quick overnight getaway. Actually there are 3 swimming pools but we only used the main one. My daughter loved the pool although it had no slide, and the Disney lifeguards take their work very seriously. I was very happy with the room - clean and fresh smelling with comfortable beds, the fridge was clean and working well. The beds seem to be doubles not queens and the rooms are small - you can almost touch the door from the bed - but since my husband wasn't with us this was perfectly fine. The bathroom was very clean and the water pressure good, lots of hot water. We had a somewhat slow draining sink but not enough to warrant a call to housekeeping, esp for such a short stay. The towels here are smaller and thinner than in the Deluxes. Also you need to bring the towels from your room as they don't have any at the pool. There is a large food court which fit all our needs for one night and a half day. A bonus was the Arcade - having a new arcade to explore here saved me the drive over to the Contemporary arcade which my daughter loves. We didn't try the buses to the parks, since we almost always bring our car. We did drive to Beach Club for a character meal and it was very close, 5 minutes tops. A word on room location. Since there were only two of us, I got the smallest room, Little Mermaid - buildings 7, 8 and 9. They are a bit of a walk to the lobby area where the check-in, food court, arcade and main pool are located - since you have to walk past the other buildings where the bigger units are located. My daughter is 6 and the walk was fine for her. I did see a lot of parents carrying their kids at the end of the day though. They do have a nicely landscaped and themed walking area, Disney style. We got a corner room in Building 8 facing the quiet pool but near the parking lot. I couldn't have wished for a better location. The parking lot runs parallel to the length of the hotel so that you can park very close to your building no matter which one you are located in. All in all, at the end of our stay I wished we had planned to stay another night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Garith
Business
Delaware
Mar 18, 2014

Great family hotel

The staff was amazing. Huge heated pool. Dance party in the lobby every night. The kids loved it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yari Peraza
Business
Orlando, FL
Mar 17, 2014

Best Stay Ever!!!

I stayed there with my spouse and my daughter to celebrate her 2nd birthday. From the very beginning our experience was just amazing. Very technological with the new Mickey Wristbands - this gives you access to your credit card and room key. The Cast Members kept congratulating my daughter, calling her princess, etc. the Resource is breath taking... just beautiful, I actually felt part of the animation movies...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cape May Café... Breakfast with Characters, not expensive at all...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Long man
Business
Los Angeles ,California
Mar 15, 2014

Nice room

We are party two lived in the hotel that looks beautiful and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mombrenda
Business
Orlando fl
Mar 14, 2014

vacation

Arrived to hotel at 2am to ck in to a dirty room. Wanted us to wait for housekeeping to go up and clean it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenniferc611
Business
Chicago,IL
Mar 11, 2014

Awesome resort

My family had such a great time at the art of animation. One night we had a suite and the other night we were scheduled for a regular room. They upgraded us for free to the suite for the other night. We had a finding nemo suite and it was awesome. My husband and I, my two teenage step kids, and my 2 1/2 year old daughter all loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rudolph07
Business
Tulsa, OK
Mar 4, 2014

Great Family Vacation

Way to go Disney, this resort lived up to everything we expected. The kids had a great time and the convenience of everything was awesome. My only complaint about the experience was that the food is VERY salty! However this could just be our taste as we do not use salt in our normal everyday cooking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lch2
Business
Florida
Mar 3, 2014

Great stay

You can not hardly find better staff.. These people are so well trained and really go buy the customer is right moto. Location is fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Planning on your meals here is a great idea.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top