$306 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 23, 2015 Check-out: Jun 26, 2015

Disney's Art of Animation Resort

3 stars
View map of 1850 Animation Way, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christie B.
Business
Hillsborough
Jan 26, 2015

Disney Family Trip

Disney's Art of Animation resort is the newest of its "value" priced hotels directly on Disney property and with access to Disney transportation, dining amenities, and shopping. It is a really great hotel for families with children as the suites sleep 6 people extremely comfortably (3 queen beds) and are roomy with 2 full bathrooms. The property and pools are adorably decorated, with Disney's typical attention to detail, and focus on cleanliness and kid-appeal. The rooms are also adorably decorated and the food in the attached food court was really quite good - much better than 6 years ago when we stayed at Disney's Pop Century resort. Getting to and from the theme parks was a breeze from this hotel, and as always, Disney caters to families - we arrived at 9 AM on the day of check-in, but official check in time is 3 PM - the hotel staff took our bags at the curb and brought them to our room when it was ready - we came home from Animal Kingdom at 8 PM to find everything already in our room. They just make everything super easy. My only complaint would be that unless you drive off Disney World premises, you have to eat the resort food or food in the parks and it is quite pricey. But again, the resort food at least had many choices and was good quality. Finally, we traveled with another family and Disney was very accommodating in arranging our rooms to be right next to each other in the hotel and on the floor we requested and with the view we wanted. Great customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disney lover
Business
Lockport
Jan 26, 2015

Mermaid rooms are too far away

We have stayed at many different resorts on Disney property. Each of them are very clean and the shuttle to the parks are great features. Enough so to stay at a Disney owned hotel. We stayed in the little mermaid section as we only had a need for that size room since we only had 3 people. While the room was up to par on the 10 other resorts we have stayed at through the years, this group of rooms were the farthest distance from the main building and the busses that we have ever stayed in. I was really disappointed in this! We should never have bought mugs since no one ever wanted to go get a refill since it would take about an 40 min to walk there and back to room. Glad we brought breakfast things to eat in the room since we would be late getting to the park if we relied on annimation hall (food court) for food. We really wanted to ses the cars section but never made it there since it was too far. I need to point out that our vacation was 8 days also. Sorry but too far for my liking and I'm a walker too. Love to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Choose a closer building!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
styxfire
Business
Naples
Jan 26, 2015

1-night getaway

The theming of the rooms (interior, as well as the exterior of the buildings) was so fun, so engrossing. Even as an adult I loved it, so I imagine kids would be awestruck. Has an amazing eatery with a plethora of food choices, not just fast food but real food cooked quickly right in front of you. I ate their for dinner, breakfast, and went back there again for late dinner after a day at the parks, even though I was already checked out! HUGE servings. Stayed in a Little Mermaid room, and I believe it was handicap-accessible... roll-in tile shower (still the gorgeous sea-blue walls, curtains, accessories). As such, I may have had wider walkways in my room than an average. I loved the room! It did have plenty of convenient plug-ins on the bedlamps & TV, which is a must these days. Also had a frig. The heating/cooling system was modern, so you get to specify the exact temperature you want. The grounds are beautiful. There are multiple buildings that stretch out along a lake, so the walk from end-to-end is beautiful. The pool area too is so in-character that I actually lounged there, and am NOT a pool-lounger at all! You can't help but be in a good mood here because everything is so fun to look at. Tiki bar at the pool, too. I was there in late January, and hardly had to wait at all for the Hollywood Studios bus in either direction. Busride was ~7 minutes... uber-convenient. There are elevators. Cons: the eatery was atrociously loud, because kids scream instead of talk. The rooms are motel-style, with exterior entrances, and I heard a lot of door-slamming all morning long. Having said that, I'm trying to figure out when I can get back there again. I wouldn't pay high-season prices, but in low-season I felt like I got a great price when booking 2 weeks out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't take all your luggage to the check-in counter. Send in 1 person without luggage. At the counter they'll assign you a room, then tell you to go back to your car, put a permit in the window, and park it in front of the appropriate building. THEN you can get your suitcases.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessie N.
Business
N/A
Jan 25, 2015

Wonderful family trip

Loved the staff thy went above and beyond for my two boys and our stay at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy A.
Business
Sunrise
Jan 24, 2015

Little Mermaid Vacation

This was my first stay at the Art of Animation. Me and my sister stayed in the Little Mermaid room which was awesome, very nicely done. The room felt brand new. My only complaints are that you can hear the flushing of your neighbors (common problem with the Disney value resorts) and that the little mermaid buildings are a far walk to the main building you'll need to drive to the main building if you want to go to the lobby/food court. I do prefer this hotel over the other Disney value hotels like Pop Century and All Star. Overall, I'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take Disney buses for easy access to the parks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael K.
Business
Jacksonville
Jan 24, 2015

Another Great Disney Hotel

We are regulars at Disney, and this was our first time staying in one of the family suites. The room had lots of space and offered everything that we need in a resort. The pool at the hotel is one of the best that Disney has at one of their resorts. Only downside to this resort is they do not have a sit down restaurant, but we were able to have a nice dinner at other resorts. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Most souvenirs that are purchased in the parks can also be purchased in the gift shop, so check out the gift shop so you don't have to walk around the parks with your merchandise when you can get your items on your way home.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anutt344
Business
Zanesville
Jan 21, 2015

2nd time staying in 2 years.

My wife and I love the Westin! Always welcoming, and very easy regarding upgrading rooms. The one thing that did happen was the staff used a card for incidentals and charged my card over $800. They quickly rectified it, but it was quite the ordeal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Check in early. If they have an open room they will allow you to upgrade!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Danielle H.
Business
Tampa
Jan 21, 2015

Wonderful Disney hotel

This hotel is great for families! We stayed in the Finding Nemo Family Suites and there was more than enough room for our family of four. We enjoyed having a separate bedroom and two bathrooms. The hotel pool is huge and the kids loved swimming in it. All of the movie themed decorations throughout the property were amazing and the kids loved walking around looking at everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steven S.
Business
N/A
Jan 21, 2015

Great for families

All the beds are comfortable, especially the murphy and pull out sofa. The queen bed was a bit hard. The bathrooms are great. The food court is super.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jones Family 4
Business
N/A
Jan 19, 2015

2015 Disney World AoA Resort

This was our family's first trip to Disney World. The Art of Animation resort was perfect for our little girls. They loved the Little Mermaid themed room. The resort property was well decorated with many Disney icons. We will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top