$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Disney's Art of Animation Resort

3 stars
1850 Animation Way, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
75 reviews
Family had a great time

The hotel was really great. The bus was right in front of the hotel to take to magic kingdom. my... See full review

  • AmandaDag0402
  • Jul 2, 2014
Great

Just what you would expect from a Disney family resort!!! See full review

  • Ben81
  • Jun 26, 2014
Disney's Art of Animation is all about getting behind the scenes, with rooms themed around animated favorites like The Lion King, The Little Mermaid and Finding Nemo, and bedspreads and murals that feature the same iconic films. Learn about the animation process with pencil drawings lining the check-in area, and sketches becoming more detailed as you progress through Animation Hall. There's even an ornate chandelier filled with storyboards. Although classing itself as a value resort, the largest pool on any Disney property can be found at this Orlando hotel, which is modeled after the setting of Finding Nemo. Free Internet access (fees may apply) and the Landscape of Flavors food court make things convenient for a family on the go.
Key facts
  • 864 guestrooms
  • 1,120 suites
  • Landscape of Flavors Restaurant
  • 3 swimming pools
  • Free airport shuttle
  • In-room childcare
  • Arcade/game room
  • Business center
Neighborhood
One of the official Walt Disney World Hotels, Disney's Art of Animation resort is located near Hollywood Studios in Orlando, across the Hourglass Lake from other Disney accommodations like the Pop Century Resort. The hotel is also near Disney's Boardwalk and the Downtown Disney area - perfect for wandering and browsing among waterfront restaurants and stores. If you need a break from the animation motif, the ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex nearby hosts special sports events, and the chance to get on a baseball field or basketball court yourself.
Hints and tips
The Art of Animation resort is comprised of different themed buildings; book a Finding Nemo suite, for instance, to be near the pool.
To save some money, consider the standard rooms in The Little Mermaid building, which contains its own pool and laundry facilities.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

28.3502 -81.5431
Area served
Lake Buena Vista.
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
Lake Buena Vista, Florida.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Art of Animation Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Disney's Art of Animation Resort Rooms

Cars Family Suite
One Queen-size bed, One Double-size Inova TableBed, One Double-size sleeper sofa, Living room, 2 bathrooms, Mini-kitchen, Reading chair, Table and chairs, Flat-panel TV, In-room wall safe, Voice mail, Microwave, coffeemaker, Hairdryer, Iron and ironing board, Crib is available upon request. All rooms are non-smoking. Wheelchair-accessible rooms are available. Cars themed Family Suites have views of the parking lot, courtyard or pool.
The Little Mermaid Standard Room
Little Mermaid themed hotel room with 2 double-size beds or 1 king-size bed, Bathroom. Table and chairs, flat-panel TV, In-room wall safe, Voice mail, Hairdryer, Iron and ironing board, Crib is available upon request, All rooms are non-smoking, E15Wheelchair-accessible rooms are available, Views of the parking lot, courtyard or pool.
The Lion King Family Suite
One Queen-size bed, One Double-size Inova TableBed, One Double-size sleeper sofa, Living room, 2 bathrooms, Mini-kitchen, Reading chair, Table and chairs, Flat-panel TV, In-room wall safe, Voice mail, Microwave, coffeemaker, Hairdryer, Iron and ironing board, Crib is available upon request. All rooms are non-smoking. Wheelchair-accessible rooms are available. Lion King Family Suites have views of the parking lot, courtyard.
Finding Nemo Family Suite
One Queen-size bed, One Double-size Inova TableBed, One Double-size sleeper sofa, Living room, 2 bathrooms, Mini-kitchen, Reading chair, Table and chairs, Flat-panel TV, In-room wall safe, Voice mail, Microwave, coffeemaker, Hairdryer, Iron and ironing board, Crib is available upon request. All rooms are non-smoking. Wheelchair-accessible rooms are available. Finding Nemo Family Suites have views of the parking lot, courtyard or pool.
Family Suite
One Queen-size bed, One Double-size Inova TableBed, One Double-size sleeper sofa, Living room, 2 bathrooms, Mini-kitchen, Reading chair, Table and chairs, Flat-panel TV, In-room wall safe, Voice mail, Microwave, coffeemaker, Hairdryer, Iron and ironing board, Crib is available upon request. All rooms are non-smoking. Wheelchair-accessible rooms are available. Family Suites have views of the parking lot, courtyard or pool. Specific theme is not guaranteed.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 1.4 mi

Dining

Landscape of Flavors
This Quick-Service food court serves an array of delectable dishes-from hearty cuisine to healthier fare-across 5 distinctive food shops at breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.
The Drop Off
A Poolside Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hasuchin
charlotte nc
Jan 20, 2013

Great Disney Stay

everything was great - bed a little hard for my liking but overall great experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AmandaDag0402
Port Saint Lucie, Fl
Jul 2, 2014

Family had a great time

The hotel was really great. The bus was right in front of the hotel to take to magic kingdom. my girls loved the Ariel theme. It was very clean and the pool was soooo NICE! they have a huge cafeteria type with lots of options. Overall it was good, a little pricey but what isn't when you go to disney!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tammy Edwards
Tallahassee, Florida
Jul 1, 2014

magical stay

Upon checking in we were upgraded from a standard room to a family suite. It was amazing and clean. The staff were wonderful and went out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful experience. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rachel H. S.
Davie, FL
Jun 30, 2014

DANGER TO PARENTS OF SMALL CHILDREN

My husband & I stayed this past weekend. We were so in love with everything about this hotel. The pools are amazing. The rooms are not good for parent’s lol but that’s not why you go there right? You go for the joy it brings to your children, big & small. Well Check in was a problem for me. They only had me listed as staying in the room alone. I had to wait for Zachary (who was an absolute pleasure to work with) to contact the hotel office and they made some changes which didn’t effect the cost just added my husband to the rooms so he could have a room key. Well after waiting about 25 – 30 minutes we were on our way to our room not before Zachary gave us a $25.00 credit for the delay at check in. Which was very nice of him. We got to the parking lot, we are making our way into the hotel room it was my husband, myself and my 18 month old daughter. She was just behind me as we were going into the room & the door went from WIDE open to SLAMED SHUT in 3 seconds. I turned around just in the nick of time to save my daughters 4 fingers from being severed. The door weighed about 90lbs. No joke. If I had been just a quarter of a second slower my daughter would have had to have emergency surgery to sew her fingers back on. After calming my horrified child down which took about 20 minutes I called the front desk to speak to management immediately. I wanted to express to them my opinion that my child could have been seriously injured. What if it wasn’t her fingers, a blow like that to a childs head that could kill someone. I am not only worried about my child, all of the millions of children that travel there every week. This could happen to anyone. It may have happened and I just don’t know about it but they need to fix this. I feel they would be liable if someone is injured because it has been brought to the attention of the manager. I am going to do my best to contact corporate and see to it that I have something in writing that they are aware of the issue. The manager didn’t care AT ALL he offered to send maintenance to the room to make sure the door was functioning just like all of the others which he admitted they do close very fast but go slow the first second or so. BE WARNED mommies & daddies watch your children when staying at this hotel. Decor was beautiful and thank GOD that my child was not injured.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC Culebra tourist
NYC
Jun 30, 2014

Fantastic theme

Love the Little Mermaid theme room and the staff, but the room is small for a comparable room at another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ben81
Isle of Man
Jun 26, 2014

Great

Just what you would expect from a Disney family resort!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make full use of the Disney transport

Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sindii
Santa Rosa Beach, FL.
Jun 12, 2014

Mother Daughter vacation

Room was clean & fun, 'themed the Little Mermaid'. Staff was VERY helpful & friendly. We had a very positive experience with this hotel. The only negative was housekeeping who knocked every morning around 7 am to clean our room. Last day we found the do not disturb sign which they honored the last day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jaimikay
Minneapolis
Jun 11, 2014

Excellent place to stay with Kids!

My son and I spent a long weekend here at the art of animation and we both had an amazing time. We stayed in the Cars themed suite which artistically is done to a tee! My son still thinks he stayed in raditator springs at the cozy cone hotel! If you have stayed there you will know why. Our family tends to visit disney twice a year and usually we spend a lot more money at the contempory resort because it's located on the monorail and convenient. With that said, we will never go back and always stay here at the art of animation. The bus system is super easy and although the furtherst distance from the parks to walk to get back on, it's not a big deal. If you have young kids you would be smart to bring your stroller anyhow, or rent one for up to 4 days for 40.00... so I'm not sure why people complain about the extra walk they have to do to get to the bus! Your at Disney World.. you walk.. you get sweaty, your kids are beat.. it's a given. Back to the hotel.. The food is basic, and rather cheap.. burgers, fries, pasta, pizza. We bought donuts there and didn't experience breakfast there, but lunch and dinner was good enough. The cup they sell you can only be used at the resort, but out of convenience I would say buy it. The little mermaid standard room is the furthest from the main area food court and pool but once again it's not as bad as some people post. You have a beautiful walk there through the lion king area, which is decorated very nice, plus your room is only 160/ night which included your transportation to and from airport, and parks. It's a great deal. I loved it. If you have a boy he will fall in love with the Cars suites. It's amazing and worth the money! The pool and splash pad was also a huge hit for my 4 year old boy! We will definitely be staying here from this point on! Great job Disney on this resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luckee Mama
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 6, 2014

Fun Family Getaway

Overall it was great! Very family friendly and kid oriented... Lion king, little mermaid, nemo and cars themes throughout the entire grounds and areas that make for very cute pictures... Only down side With it being a value resort you do have a longer walk to and from bus stops back and forth to the parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wheel Woman
Mandeville, LA
Jun 2, 2014

Great family hotel

We always stay at Pop Century, but were on our way back from Key West and needed a layover so we stopped at Art of Animation. Wonderful hotel, they also have suites for larger families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family Bri
West Bend, WI
May 28, 2014

1st time at art and animation

This was our first time staying at Art and Animation in Disney. We booked thru Orb... which can be hit and miss as far as getting things right. We arrived late at night/early morning. We had booked for only 1 night as this was an addition to our vacation that we planned months ago. We booked the cheapest room as we knew we wouldn't be in it long and wanted to stick around the hotel and swim the following day. Upon check in we received a magic moment upgrade to the Nemo family suite. We loved the suite, perfect size for family of 4. Kids 7 and 10, one on pullout sofa and one on fold down bed from wall. You could probably squeeze another child in there but it would be a bit of a squeeze. We were on top floor with nice view of the lake/pond. Only negative is our room was closest to the elevator and at 7-8 in morning we could hear all the traffic in the hallway. Our kids loves seeing all the cars, little mermaid, lion king stuff which took up about 1-2 hours. Best part was walking over to neighbor resort pop century and having to explain to our kids what some of the items were from the 80's and 90's. Overall I recommend this resort/hotel for anyone with young children under 10. As a typical Disney resort staff was friendly and helpful. My favorite Disney hotel is still Animal Kingdom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If the pool at Art and Animation is busy take a walk over to Pop Century. We arrived at Pop Century pool just as they started a pool party. They had a young woman at a little DJ stand and she had all kinds of games for families and kids. Our kids had a blast. There pool only had 30-40 people, Art and Animation was packed.

Back to menu Return to top