$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2015 Check-out: Sep 25, 2015

Ramada Gateway Hotel

3 stars
View map of 7470 West Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ramada Gateway Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
311 out of 311
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ramada Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Sumterville, FL
Jul 6, 2011

ROOMS NOT SAFE! GOT ROBBED!

The trip started out nice, the room was comfortable and the staff was courteous. While at Disney, our room was broken into and our valuables were stolen. The police officers demonstrated how the outdated locks at this hotel can be opened with a thick piece of paper (like the pizza menus that are slipped through the door twice per day). This in conjunction with the manager's admission that this happens frequently was enough for us to end our trip early. The manager told us that there would be no charge for the room, however, my credit card was charged for the room a few days later. The manager refused to return our calls. This budget hotel cost us THOUSANDS of dollars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Ramada Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sweet James Jones
Business
Gainesville
Apr 3, 2011

Might as well have slept in the car

This room was for me and my wife for a conference at a nearby hotel. Since it was a reputable chain, I thought I had nothing to worry about. When we got to the lobby everything looked old and outdated. When we got to the room it was worse. The room reeked of bleach so much, it made my eyes burn. Carpet was filthy, dust caked on the vents, mold in the corners of the bathroom ceiling, chips & cracks in the tub & tile from aging. While the staff was very apologetic and courteous, there wasn't much that could be done. I figured for the price I wasn't going to get a whole lot, but I expected more than this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ramada Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Florida_Ramada_Gateway_Kissimmee
Family
DE
Apr 4, 2011

Hotel accomadations

1. First room given by Ramada had Bugs and Cob-webs. 2. Second room given by Ramada had bad smell and faucet were not working. 3. Third room given by the hotel had to pay extra $15.00 +Tax per night and below par on TV quality (drizzle and some channels not working), restroom had lot of restoration work patches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Ramada Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Urkel
Couples
Gastonia, NC
Feb 2, 2010

Ramada Gateway Kissimmee

The first room we got had a terrible odor. It had a humid smell. I mentioned this to the receptionist and she was nice enough to move us to a room in the tower. This room was much better. There was still a humid smell in the bathroom but it was not as bad as the first one. The only good thing about this hotel is that is close to the Disney Parks. We will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ramada Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Aug 20, 2007

Unprofessional Management

After the 1st day I was left without washcloths. I let it go and used the mid size towels. Next day the same thing. After the 3rd or 4th time I decided to call. Also on that same day, I came back to the room at 11pm very tired from a full day. The AC seemed not to be on ( which I left on ) or not working. The switch seemed to be different from the previous time. I turned it on and heard the fan. I did not feel any cool air. So I decided after 20 minutes or I called the front desk. The towels came in 5 min. The maintenance person came later. She asked me what I needed, I told her the AC did not seem to be working. She told me it was on. I said it did not seem to be on and the..... she cut me off and began to to teach me how to turn the AC on. OK at 48 I have operated more controls in my life then 10 NASA pilots. i waited until the lesson was over, and again attempted to explain. Long story short, I was talked over and cut off at least 4 times. Extremely frustrated not because I was not getting the ac fixed but because I could not tell the person a complete sentence. I gave up and said opted see if I could get another room. note; I was ready to forget this whole thing because its such a lengthy story. So I am cutting it down for the sake of my time. I received a call from a person who said they were the manager. If it was you guys have some real problems with customer care training. This person made my 1st encounter seem like a love connection. The manager had a nasty tone from the start, she started questioning me, sir, the maintenance person said you had the door cracked open answer , yes to let the person in the door Front desk : sir , the maintenance person said you had a attitude Me; Did you just asked a customer if they had a attitude? Front desk; No sir I am trying to solve the problem Me: This how you solve the problem by asking if I have a attitude? Front desk: I did not say that sir. me ughhhhh Ok, lets start from the top, are you getting me another room? front desk; I see sir, I will cal you back. I get a call from someone else 20 minutes later telling me that the only room was wayyyyy over on the other side of the hotel and it was a smokers room. I said never mind its after 12am I will handle this later. Bottom line the room did cool off later, GREAT!! Not so great is that I had a very negative hotel experience, wanting to give the responsibility to upper management for not testing employes and or training employes on communication skills, and customer care. i have been in the hotel industry a long time and we are talking basic skills. I felt like i was being baited into a argument, I was questioned like a school kid. Again I do not hold the middle management and employee at fault. I think if upper management kept quality control systems in tacked I would have had a very different experience, with or with out the AC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Downtown Disney has a cool club seen for 20$.

Review of Ramada Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Charleston, SC
Aug 15, 2009

Hard Sell Turnoff

At check in you have to get a parking pass so they send you over to the Conceirage Desk. There you get a high pressure sales pitch for their Time Share. The guy will not let up and in fact CHASED US to our car in the parking lot. I WILL NEVER stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Ramada Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
savannah, ga
Jul 6, 2010

disappointing

this was the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. noisy we complained but nothing was done couldn't sleep at night too much noise with car alarms going off right outside our room they also lied no internet in our room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Ramada Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Long Island, New York
Sep 11, 2010

Great Location, Bad Hotel

Our family with our three sons (ages 8, 10, and 14) stayed at the hotel for 12 days and rented two rooms. The price was outstanding but the old saying goes "you always get what you pay for". We never saw any type of staff for the 12 days (except for the teenage girl at the front desk). The rooms need a major cleaning and maintenance. Our rooms were missing outlet covers, rusty refrigerator on the floor, sink and tub drains backed up with water. Housekeeping gave us clean towels and made our beds every day and that was it. Don't expect housekeeping to vacuum the floors or give you new paper cups or plastic bag for the ice bucket. Our rooms had the "garden view" which means our rooms looked across to the roof of the other row of rooms with grass growing on the roof. As for the Wi-Fi, you can only use it in the Lobby next to the Sales Department Office. Get there either in the morning or late evening for a seat on the two couches along with the other 20 people waiting to sit down. Maybe you don't mind standing to use your computer. If you are lucky enough to get a seat, then good luck with a good connection, usually only 1 bar. At the front desk, if you ask them any questions, they just smile and shrug their shoulders. Maybe because the average age at the front desk is 18. The restaurant at the hotel was open. We did not eat there. I did see only one family eat there the whole 12 days we were there. That made us very scared. They did have two pools, which amazedly was somewhat clean (we think). The only good thing I can actually say is the hotel is in a perfect location from Disney and Sea World. Plus there are plenty of restaurants and stores located close too. In my opinion if the Ramada actually remolded the hotel and hired some people, Ramada would have a nice hotel. But most likely this hotel needs to be condemned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Ramada Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
be careful
Family
chicago
May 2, 2009

BE CAREFUL

locations of room is not the way you feel when you lend in motel . inside pictures is not real replica of the motel . they do not give microwave when you book the room we surprise . when we ask then it jumps the price 20 dollars . well , next time we will be careful . with that price we can efford to stay inside the disney value resort .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

N/A

Review of Ramada Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Darells girl
Single
VA
Mar 18, 2009

Lacking in every way

The only nice thing that could be said about this place is that the rooms were large and semi clean. When I booked this hotel I made the mistake of thinking it was the Ramada that is across the street where I have stayed previously. I imagine I paid full rack rate for this room. Upon arrival I went to check in and they could not find my reservation, after about 10 minutes they were finally able to pull it up and then to my amazement they said I would have to see their concierge to get a parking permit. By concierge they mean salesman. It was 10 pm at night, I was tired and just wanted my room yet could not leave until I listened to this salesperson try to sell me an amusement park package. This was not some time share presentation I had purchased my room thru so I was beyond offended that I had to listen to his sales pitch before they would give me a parking permit. Then I made my way around to the far back of the hotel to my room on the second floor, park, go down the walkway of my building only to find the stairs are blocked off for repairs so I had to go back around to the middle building ,take their stairs to the second floor, go down the ramp between the buildings, turn 2 corners to get to my room. I had made the incorrect assumption that since the hotel amenities said microwave there was one in the room..WRONG! and I wasnt about to go back to the lobby to find the microwave so I could heat up my meal after the long and confusing journey thru repairs to finally arrive at my room. Housekeeping is also sporadically adequate at best, towels and wash cloths haphazardly placed, sometimes they would remember to leave washcloths, shampoo, soap, other day they wouldnt, they never refilled toilet paper while I was there and by the last day I was using Kleenex! Each night as I would come back to my room it was not only a hike to get to my room but it was quite the adventure to try to escape the spray from the sprinklers that sprayed heavily into the walkway I had to travel to get to the only open staircase. Not only will I NEVER stay at this hotel again, I will never book thru Orbitz again. This was showing as a 3.5 review and at best it is a 1.5 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top