$46 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Suites Lake Front Park Kissimme

2 stars
View map of 4836 W Irlo Bronson Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34746

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Suites Lake Front Park Kissimme

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Suites Lake Front Park Kissimme

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 7, 2011

Better Than The Reviews

I almost didn't book it because of the negative reviews, but we found it perfect for our needs. We were traveling with my wife's parents and our 2 young children (ages 2 & 5). This is one of the few economic choices you'll find to sleep more than 4 in one room. Parking is directly in front of the room and the location is EXCELLENT. In fairness to all the negative reviewers here, there is a definite ghetto feel to the property itself. If you are used to the Four Seasons you probably won't be happy. But our room was always clean and comfortable and almost everything you need is literally within walking distance. Walmart, Target, grocery stores and tons of food choices are all here. Disneyworld is a short drive (maybe 3 miles or so). Free wireless internet access worked great for us. The suite we stayed in had 3 double beds in two different rooms to sleep the six of us and we had a full kitchen to help save on food costs. The best part is we stayed here for a week for less than we would have paid for ONE NIGHT in two rooms at the cheapest Disney property. A family trip to Disneyworld is expensive, espcially from the west coast. If you are trying to do it on a budget and aren't super picky, this does nicely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Both Taco Bell and McDonalds are within walking distance and Target is literally right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Suites Lake Front Park Kissimme

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Apr 27, 2011

not bad for the price,good location

not bad for the price,good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Suites Lake Front Park Kissimme

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seattle Roadtripper
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 25, 2011

HoJo - Suites Lake Front

This hotel was in its prime 15 years ago. It does have a nice sized family pool and heated pool for parents in back that overlook Lake Cecile - and is good until dusk when mosquitoes start to invade. After reading other reviews I did pull back covers on both beds in my room and waited an hour to see if anything moved. On the bed closest to the bathroom did find three different types of insects...am not sure what a bedbug looks like but opted not to use that bed. The other bed remained movement-free but matress was lumpy. The free breakfast does use real milk but woefully small selection of baked items, no protein or fruit. THe rooms did not have microwave or mini-fridge so had to cool items with ice bucket. Also the fan/air conditioner seemed to add humidity to the room and smelled of feet.When I asked to stay additional night later in the week management would not offer the [...]rate - difference about $5 for the night. Found another hotel just down the street $10/cheaper a night with pool, full sized fridge and microwave that was cleaner as well. The location is convenient, just across from the Vineland Publix market - which has a pretty good fresh deli. Look for spinach salad, the small will feed four very reasonably as side or two as meal. This exit will also head you to and from the airport toll-way or further down to the I-4 Tampa/Orlando freeway. Overall, would not recommend this location. Another HoJo within half mile on other side of street did not get past the lobby but it may be a different animal so am only commenting on this location not the chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I-4 is free roadway and easily accessible from Orlando/Kissimmee - rental car will try to push the prepaid SunPass ($36 extra). Toll roads very between .25 & $1.25 so unless you stay for a month you would likely not hit the $36 "value" offered by rental car companyies.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Suites Lake Front Park Kissimme

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nj
Apr 24, 2011

Ok stay

My family and I traveld to florida to go to universal studios. It was very nice in floriday 90 degrees everyday we were down there. The hotel was okay the utenslils were not sterile. It looks old and like the room could use some work done to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Suites Lake Front Park Kissimme

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scio,Oregon
Apr 23, 2011

AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL

[...] ..it was so filthy , old and awful . We got out as fast as we could.AWFUL AWFUL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Suites Lake Front Park Kissimme

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
phinnish phantom
Business
Minnesota
Apr 21, 2011

Mixed feelings

The room was clean and no bed bugs, but was seventies vintage with areas needing repair. I felt uncomfortable going out after dark and we had a police car use his spotlight on the balconies on a pass through. We found it to be quiet, clean, and the beds were comfortable, hence the mixed review. I would not recommend this hotel to a friend due to the clientel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Just a few blocks West is a Perkins restauant. Pass on the offered hotel breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Suites Lake Front Park Kissimme

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KristineAwesome
Business
Providence, RI
Apr 4, 2011

Clean, comfy, SCARY!

While there we enjoyed the luxuries of a nice staff, great courtesy shuttle driver named Giovanni (who should be working as a tour guide because he is hilarious, smart, and very sweet!)and the world's best pillows. Unfortunately we were also greeted with non-working outlets and vanity light,our 'neighbors' blasting music and smoking weed, what sounded like a domestic violence situation at about 2:30AM, and coming home on our final night to what looked like a young woman overdosed in the parking lot surrounded by screaming people and emergency vehicles. Although all these things were a bit frightening, I was grateful that there was a Target with a Starbucks a short walk away. I was also very happy with the staff for going the extra mile for us idiots who forgot to print out our Disney tickets confirmation email and do it for us. However, because of the fear for my security I would prefer to stay elsewhere next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Shuttle to Disney parks. Makes frequent stops!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Suites Lake Front Park Kissimme

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 4, 2011

Not too shabby!

Close to all theme parks! Shuttle service is pre-scheduled and we opted to drive ourselves to Disney & Universal. Breakfast is standard for continental. There are no microwaves in the room, however there is one in the lobby for all guests to use. The pool is clean. The room was a little on the small side (we had a 2 room 2 bath suite) but as we pretty much only slept there, that wasn't a big issue with us. If you are planning on being out of the room most of your stay, you can't beat the price for this room. The one night I had to do some laundry, one of the dryers didn't dry my clothes, so they allowed me to dry that load PLUS the other 2 I had in their commercial dryers (it took 15 minutes for everything to get done...it was GREAT). The staff is very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you bargain hunt for theme park tickets, make sure the tickets you get have never been used before (there are a lot of places in Orlando that will buy a multi-day pass & re-sell the ticket over & over until it expires). All the theme parks have a finger scanner & you may run the risk of your ticket not working!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Suites Lake Front Park Kissimme

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andy01pr
Business
Sabana Grande, PR
Apr 3, 2011

Great location at a great price

The location of the hotel was excellent, close to everything you might need including theme parks. The room was clean and organized. Service was great and the personnel were friendly. The breakfast was good and plenty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Suites Lake Front Park Kissimme

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kidstop1
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Mar 30, 2011

Great Getaway

The arrival at our Hotel was good. The man behind the counter was very helpful. The others not so much. The hotel is dated and not as clean as it should be. Kinda a bad area as well. We where only there to sleep so it served the purpose. We needed documents printed out but I was told by the front desk that they do not print out anything for the guests. I was given directions to a mall that had what I needed however it was a few miles down the road and we did not have a vehicle. No exceptions where made. All in All I would probably not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The theme parks are not too far away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top