$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

4 stars
1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
219 reviews
Loved it!

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. The staff... See full review

  • AnitaBlev
  • Jul 6, 2014
The Best of Key West!

The hotel was easily reached by taxi and you could share the fare with other passengers. The bell... See full review

  • Dr. Carole
  • Mar 25, 2014
Luxury resort, on-site water sports along Key West's only natural beach
The Reach Resort underwent a major renovation and now features sumptuous accommodations and abundant amenities on the island's only natural beach. Located at the end of Simonton Street just east of the Southernmost Point Marker, Reach Resort sits a short walk frofm the Duval Street scene and about a mile from Mallory Square.  Guests can unwind in rooms with private balconies overlooking the ocean, relax by the outdoor pool or arrange water sports on the beach.

Highlights
  • Located on 450 feet of Key West's only natural sand beach
  • Beachfront water sports center
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
Rooms

The resort has many flavors of rooms and suites, all of which open onto private balconies--some have ocean views, others have pool or island views. Reach Resort rooms come with single king or two double beds, and suites have king beds and sitting areas with sleeper sofas. Bathrooms are stocked with plush bathrobes and LXR Clear beauty products, while in-room amenities include espresso machines, mini refrigerators, work desks and high-tech gear like LCD TVs, iHome clock radios and Wi-Fi access for a fee.

Dining

Strip House restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service, including prime-cut steaks and an extensive wine list.   

Recreation
During 2006 and 2007, Reach Resort underwent a $37 million USD renovation. Sitting along 450 feet of the island's only natural beach, the property features an outdoor pool and a beachfront water sports operator for boat, bike, kayak and Jet Ski rentals along with scuba, snorkeling and fishing excursions. Reach Resort guests have access to the facilities at a sister property, Casa Marina Resort, including spa services.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Key West Golf Club (5 mi/8 km)
  • Ernest Hemingway Museum (.6 mi/1 km)

Business
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • 4,706 square feet of flexible meeting space
Policies and Fees

A $25 USD ($28.13 USD including tax) daily resort charge includes Wi-Fi, in-room espresso, local and 800 phone calls, weekday newspaper and access to Reach Resort and Casa Marina property amenities.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (219)

Ratings and reviews for The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 219
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.2

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
prpball
Business
louisville, ky
Oct 4, 2014

no dresser but overall very nice

For some odd reason there was no dresser in the room. When they remodeled they decided not to put dressers in the rooms. Other than that the room was clean and comfy. The overall atmosphere of the hotel was pleasant. Warning!! Restaurant is very expensive, especially for breakfast. Buffet style breakfast only, 28 bucks per person. Ouch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

duvalla street is just 1 block over and there is a ton of shopping and food options. you'll want to drive at least 6 blocks up for parking because the good shopping and food starts around the 600 block and the hotel is around the 1300 block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Undergrad
Business
Miami, FL
Oct 19, 2013

Almost Perfect

Everything was great and we even got a minor upgrade. However, I used the coffee machine once, cleaned the cup, and placed it in the sink. Came back two hours later and the sink was under heavy assault from sugar ants. Maybe it was my fault, but those ants seemed suspiciously well prepared.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reese13
Business
San Diego
Mar 8, 2013

Key West Reach

Staff was helpful and wonderful , location great, beutiful beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mighty Patriot
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jan 19, 2013

Perfect Location in Key West!

This hotel was located in a prime location in relation to Duval street. It was directly on the ocean with private beach and pool oceanside. I especially loved the hammocks! The service at the pool was great! So friendly and helpful- loved the daily daiquiri's! They also had Billy's water sport location right on our own beach so that was helpful. The front desk were helpful- especially when requiring room service of any kind. They were accommodating when it came to switching our room from a king size to a double without charge. The room was well kept- however room service does not come around until later in the day. The place is like a maze trying to find your room for the first time but after that you can get used to it! The bathroom door took a hard shove to shut but nothing a little muscle couldn't do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

to Duval Street! Opposite end of the lively dancing bars though-- about a 15-20 minute walk to the bars and harbor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
phillygirls
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Great Location, Wonderful Staff

The Staff were wonderful and extremely helpful. The location is ideal in that you do have a beach and you are near enough to Duvall Street to walk. I chose this hotel based upon the premise that all rooms have an oceanview and this is NOT the case. I was informed upon arrival the resort does not have rooms with 2 queen beds, ie a standard room, with oceanviews. I was informed that only rooms with king size beds have oceanviews. Needless to say, this was disappointing! I would, however, stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hwhw
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Nice location

This hotel is very nice, good location with private beach. The room was small but comfortable, the expresso machine was a plus. Also you can access all amenities at Casa Marina next door. Flooded parking I don't know why because it didn't even rained. $15 fee for self parking, $25 fee daily resort, that is $40 additional you have to think when booking. Overpriced restaurant. Go out for dinner or take your own drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take your own drinks and use the fridge in the room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 6, 2011

Nice Place

The Website is a little misleading. The hotel has a lot of rooms and can be a little confusing. The main pool and lounging areas are excellent and the staff was more than accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Louies Back yard is just out the back gate and a must eat place in Key West. Also, next door, you'll find Ambrosia. One of the best Sushi spots on the planet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chowhound
Business
Cape Cod
Mar 31, 2011

very elegant, just like a travel brochur

1st trip to Key West so booked this place sight unseen. It was very upscale, airy, South Beach style modern resort. We had a boutique suite which was small - king bed and sofa bed because at check in we were told there were no doubles available. Furnishings were newish but were a tad shopworn and we had to call for a blanket for the sofa. Drawbacks were no bar sink, just the bath sink, and only an espresso maker (Starbucks in the lobby, natch). Great private beach with waitstaff to your towel/chair. Nice staff but they were out of umbrellas at 10:30am on a Mon? Restaurant and bar were top notch and view is priceless. Turnoffs were the $25 per day "resort fee" ([...]) which covers amenities such as newspaper, espresso machine, beach chairs and wifi...don't know of a resort that doesn't so this is a scam but we had no choice. And this company owns 2 resorts but has no shuttle van/car. We had to pay for a cab from the airport and to go downtown. Seems nutz a place of this service level would not have such a basic amenity. All in all a very nice resort on a quiet, private beach but due to some of the shortcomings I would look around at others in this class before staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

most of the restaurants/bars at the waterfront near Mallory have happy hour around 4-7 and some offer half price menu in addition to drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Signmom
Business
West Babylon, NY
Jan 16, 2011

Great Vacation

This is the 2nd time I was there. We went to the Reach because we loved it the first time. This time we took friends with us. The rooms are clean. The help is pleasant. Everything is there, pool & beach. It's away from the business of Duval St. but close enough to walk to and to Mallory Square. My friends absolutely loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The busy night life is a bit of a walk, but worth it. The front desk will arrange for a taxi if you want it, to go up north. short ride, worth the walk. There are plenty of places of the beaten path to see also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 5, 2011

Hidden fees much?

i guess the main reason why i wasn't completely satisfied with this hotel was the fact that i kept getting surprised by all the additional fees for stuff. while i was already aware of the extra $25/day 'resort fee' that is apparently for the 'complimentary' wifi internet access, new york times delivery, gym access, (non-alcoholic) drink of the day etc., i couldn't help thinking that at a hotel of this standard most of that is included in your hotel reservation. i would rather just pay a set price without having to feel like i'm required to pay extra for all that stuff. also, if anything should be included in the standard room rate, it should be the breakfast. i was shocked and disappointed to find out that the quality of food i've gotten at a sub-par hotel all of a sudden cost me an extra $20. add another $15/day for parking. add more money, depending on any beach service. i guess i'm just an all-inclusive kind of guy and hate getting nickeled and dimed, or rather jacksoned and franklined, for every little thing. on the positive side, the rooms were nicely furnished, including nespresso coffee machines, and the gym equipment was sleek and state-of-the-art. for anyone interested in even more adventure, try their jetski tour around the island. great fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top