$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

4 stars
1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
367 reviews
Loved it!

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. The staff... See full review

  • AnitaBlev
  • Jul 6, 2014
The Best of Key West!

The hotel was easily reached by taxi and you could share the fare with other passengers. The bell... See full review

  • Dr. Carole
  • Mar 25, 2014
Luxury resort, on-site water sports along Key West's only natural beach
The Reach Resort underwent a major renovation and now features sumptuous accommodations and abundant amenities on the island's only natural beach. Located at the end of Simonton Street just east of the Southernmost Point Marker, Reach Resort sits a short walk frofm the Duval Street scene and about a mile from Mallory Square.  Guests can unwind in rooms with private balconies overlooking the ocean, relax by the outdoor pool or arrange water sports on the beach.

Highlights
  • Located on 450 feet of Key West's only natural sand beach
  • Beachfront water sports center
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
Rooms

The resort has many flavors of rooms and suites, all of which open onto private balconies--some have ocean views, others have pool or island views. Reach Resort rooms come with single king or two double beds, and suites have king beds and sitting areas with sleeper sofas. Bathrooms are stocked with plush bathrobes and LXR Clear beauty products, while in-room amenities include espresso machines, mini refrigerators, work desks and high-tech gear like LCD TVs, iHome clock radios and Wi-Fi access for a fee.

Dining

Strip House restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service, including prime-cut steaks and an extensive wine list.   

Recreation
During 2006 and 2007, Reach Resort underwent a $37 million USD renovation. Sitting along 450 feet of the island's only natural beach, the property features an outdoor pool and a beachfront water sports operator for boat, bike, kayak and Jet Ski rentals along with scuba, snorkeling and fishing excursions. Reach Resort guests have access to the facilities at a sister property, Casa Marina Resort, including spa services.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Key West Golf Club (5 mi/8 km)
  • Ernest Hemingway Museum (.6 mi/1 km)

Business
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • 4,706 square feet of flexible meeting space
Policies and Fees

A $25 USD ($28.13 USD including tax) daily resort charge includes Wi-Fi, in-room espresso, local and 800 phone calls, weekday newspaper and access to Reach Resort and Casa Marina property amenities.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

24.5475 -81.7939
Nearby airports
Key West Intl Airport, (EYW), 2.00, MI, S; Miami Intl Airport, (MIA), 150.00, MI, N; Ft Lauderdale Intl Airport, (FLL), 180.00, MI, N;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (367)

Ratings and reviews for The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
367 out of 367
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 31, 2008

Not a Resort but a Hotel

They should not be calling themselves a resort.They didnt offer any services that a normal resort offers such as any kind of room service.The resteraunt that they had on site wasnt opened until the last day we were there and the menue was limited and the tropical drinks were terrible! /they were serving drinks in glass which is a big NO! NO!/They had no gym which they told us they had. We were stranded at the airport with no limo service which I had called the nite before to confirm they would be able to pick us up. Several times they ran out of hot water and the firealarms were going off at all hours of the nite.The staff didnt seem to know what theyre job was or any other staff members job was. Youd ask how to rent a bike or where a particular store or resteraunt was and they couldnt tell you and wouldnt make an attempt to find out for you.The staff dressed very sloppy. We had to take our own luggage up to the 4th floor and back down when we left. They were still under construction so it was very loud. I would not recommend them to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kateryna111
Tampa, FL
Dec 21, 2012

Very poor quality

Extremely overpriced for location and service. Staff walked into the room without knocking while we were undressed. They were bothering us to clean the room at 8 a.m., meanwhile, the check out was at 11 a.m. Food is average, room is average and you will not see anything because of the palm trees. It was not a water view even though the advertisement said it was. The experience was a big disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bob Road Warrior
Michigan
Feb 14, 2014

This is a Resort In Name Only

Terrible Check In experience. No welcome just business like. Room was cleaned 1 time in 5 days and only after we complained, They blamed that on understaffing and too many check ins. Bar and Restaurant were dead - probably because the Bartender was angry and unwelcoming. Try to get a drink by the pool? Forget it. The only good people working at this property were the H2O staff working the towels and programs at the beach. All other service was worthless - I know because I travel for business 150 nights a year. Check Out was the rudest experience I have ever had. The Location is great - the property is nice otherwise but for $500 plus a night and a supposed resort by Waldorf Astoria? Never again. My suggestion - is you go right next door to The Southernmost Hotel On The Beach - incredibly friendly staff - great pool - great bartenders and servers - and happy to be there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go Next Door to the Southernmost Hotel On The Beach - you will not be disappointed.

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ft lauderdale
Dec 16, 2009

the good bad and really ugly

[...] alot of hidden fees and charges that no one explain about. Also they should notify guests of working conditions cause I sleep late and when the alarm went off almost got a heart attack but I will never stay at your hotel no more cause too much charges front desk needs more english speaking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 31, 2008

Not a Resort but a Hotel

They should not be calling themselves a resort.They didnt offer any services that a normal resort offers such as any kind of room service.The resteraunt that they had on site wasnt opened until the last day we were there and the menue was limited and the tropical drinks were terrible! /they were serving drinks in glass which is a big NO! NO!/They had no gym which they told us they had. We were stranded at the airport with no limo service which I had called the nite before to confirm they would be able to pick us up. Several times they ran out of hot water and the firealarms were going off at all hours of the nite.The staff didnt seem to know what theyre job was or any other staff members job was. Youd ask how to rent a bike or where a particular store or resteraunt was and they couldnt tell you and wouldnt make an attempt to find out for you.The staff dressed very sloppy. We had to take our own luggage up to the 4th floor and back down when we left. They were still under construction so it was very loud. I would not recommend them to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ft lauderdale
Dec 16, 2009

the good bad and really ugly

[...] alot of hidden fees and charges that no one explain about. Also they should notify guests of working conditions cause I sleep late and when the alarm went off almost got a heart attack but I will never stay at your hotel no more cause too much charges front desk needs more english speaking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alloway , NJ
Sep 19, 2010

problems with the airconditioning

we had to stay in the hotel overnight with no air conditioning.we had to move to the Casa Marina which was very nice for the rest of the stay. they should have told us the night before so that we did not have to sleep in a hot room all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Theresa101
New Jersey, USA
Dec 27, 2011

HORRIBLE RUDE STAFF & MANAGEMENT!!

We were completely dissatisfied regarding the horrific treatment my husband and I were subjected to by the hotel management at the Reach Hotel in Key West. My husband and I vacation in Key West every year because Key West is renowned for being pet friendly. When I booked my hotel stay at the Reach, I was told it was a pet friendly hotel. This is a total lie! I am not going to go into all the gory details, but the hotel manager actually called the police to have my husband and I physically removed from the hotel just because our sweet little, calm, quiet, friendly chihuahua was on the beach. I was laying quietly on my lounge chair with my dog (her name is Mandee) asleep by my side when 3 police officers along with the hotel manager and a hotel security guard confronted me on the beach. I was in shock as were many of the other hotel guests who were actually quite fond of our cute little pet. We were then rudely escorted by the police and the hotel manager to our room where we were subjected to very aggressive treatment by the police and management. They were actually trying to provoke me into doing or saying something that would give them cause to arrest me. Can you imagine the embarrassment and humiliation...and all because I had my dog on the beach sleeping in my lounge chair. We are not a trouble makers and would have complied with the hotel rules about having pets on a leash on the beach, but at no time did the hotel manager or security guard ever state a leash was required. If given the opportunity I would have gladly put Mandee on a leash. Rather, the hotel manager chose to wave a piece of paper in front of me on the beach in front of all the other hotel guests stating we were in violation of the hotel policy. Then after all this harassment and being evicted, I unfortunately left my purse behind. When I called the hotel, the said I could come to the hotel and pick it up, but that if I entered the hotel they were going to call the police...AGAIN! We paid for the hotel in full and DID NOT receive any refund for the three nights we missed and had to pay hundreds of dollars to stay else where. Stay far far away from the REACH!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
ecuador
Feb 14, 2010

Awfull nothing like I expected to be

When I book the hotel, the name of Waldorf Astoria Collection create a wide set of expections...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
ecuador
Feb 14, 2010

Awfull nothing like I expected to be

When I book the hotel, the name of Waldorf Astoria Collection create a wide set of expections...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top