$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

4 stars
1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
219 reviews
Loved it!

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. The staff... See full review

  • AnitaBlev
  • Jul 6, 2014
The Best of Key West!

The hotel was easily reached by taxi and you could share the fare with other passengers. The bell... See full review

  • Dr. Carole
  • Mar 25, 2014
Luxury resort, on-site water sports along Key West's only natural beach
The Reach Resort underwent a major renovation and now features sumptuous accommodations and abundant amenities on the island's only natural beach. Located at the end of Simonton Street just east of the Southernmost Point Marker, Reach Resort sits a short walk frofm the Duval Street scene and about a mile from Mallory Square.  Guests can unwind in rooms with private balconies overlooking the ocean, relax by the outdoor pool or arrange water sports on the beach.

Highlights
  • Located on 450 feet of Key West's only natural sand beach
  • Beachfront water sports center
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
Rooms

The resort has many flavors of rooms and suites, all of which open onto private balconies--some have ocean views, others have pool or island views. Reach Resort rooms come with single king or two double beds, and suites have king beds and sitting areas with sleeper sofas. Bathrooms are stocked with plush bathrobes and LXR Clear beauty products, while in-room amenities include espresso machines, mini refrigerators, work desks and high-tech gear like LCD TVs, iHome clock radios and Wi-Fi access for a fee.

Dining

Strip House restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service, including prime-cut steaks and an extensive wine list.   

Recreation
During 2006 and 2007, Reach Resort underwent a $37 million USD renovation. Sitting along 450 feet of the island's only natural beach, the property features an outdoor pool and a beachfront water sports operator for boat, bike, kayak and Jet Ski rentals along with scuba, snorkeling and fishing excursions. Reach Resort guests have access to the facilities at a sister property, Casa Marina Resort, including spa services.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Key West Golf Club (5 mi/8 km)
  • Ernest Hemingway Museum (.6 mi/1 km)

Business
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • 4,706 square feet of flexible meeting space
Policies and Fees

A $25 USD ($28.13 USD including tax) daily resort charge includes Wi-Fi, in-room espresso, local and 800 phone calls, weekday newspaper and access to Reach Resort and Casa Marina property amenities.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

24.5475 -81.7939
Nearby airports
Key West Intl Airport, (EYW), 2.00, MI, S; Miami Intl Airport, (MIA), 150.00, MI, N; Ft Lauderdale Intl Airport, (FLL), 180.00, MI, N;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (219)

Ratings and reviews for The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 5, 2011

Hidden fees much?

i guess the main reason why i wasn't completely satisfied with this hotel was the fact that i kept getting surprised by all the additional fees for stuff. while i was already aware of the extra $25/day 'resort fee' that is apparently for the 'complimentary' wifi internet access, new york times delivery, gym access, (non-alcoholic) drink of the day etc., i couldn't help thinking that at a hotel of this standard most of that is included in your hotel reservation. i would rather just pay a set price without having to feel like i'm required to pay extra for all that stuff. also, if anything should be included in the standard room rate, it should be the breakfast. i was shocked and disappointed to find out that the quality of food i've gotten at a sub-par hotel all of a sudden cost me an extra $20. add another $15/day for parking. add more money, depending on any beach service. i guess i'm just an all-inclusive kind of guy and hate getting nickeled and dimed, or rather jacksoned and franklined, for every little thing. on the positive side, the rooms were nicely furnished, including nespresso coffee machines, and the gym equipment was sleek and state-of-the-art. for anyone interested in even more adventure, try their jetski tour around the island. great fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
miami, fl
Jan 3, 2011

Just fine!

Gret beach, my favorite at key west. Not the best location, but it is ok, not too far from main st. Room was great! I wish they had more amenities and activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Can't remember the name. Is a big place in a southeast corner somewhere on duval st. It is under a few trees and has a beautiful bar. Great prices and excellent food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
frederick, md
Dec 10, 2010

not the best

this hotel was adequate, not great just okay, I have stayed at another waldorf hotel before and this one was not up to their standards. i expected so much more. The employees were great but the hotel itself was not. plus there were hidden fees i had no idea about. for instance, parking was 15 per day! and everything was extra, including internet, wifi, coffee, everything that a high end hotel would be free. I was not satisfied with there commitment to be the best hotel in key west. I would not recommend this hotel. On the other hand the employees went out of their way to help m. especially the front desk person, guy named [...]. he did everything he could to help me and went beyond what i expected. [...], thank you for making my stay that much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smpuk
Business
Fort Lauderdale
Dec 5, 2010

Southernmost view

Sun and fun. See all the stars at night, then watch the sun rise on a nice look out point in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Duval Street one block away, which is filled with great food, shopping and night life

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bucks County, PA.
Nov 24, 2010

Move the jet ski's to the far left

The hotel and grounds are beautiful the view is spectacular. Pool side bar and dining are great. The jet ski operator needs to move the operation to the far right or left. If your in the water you my get run over and the fumes can be awful. We have stayed at this hotel three times, this is the first time we have encounter this. Also the new sand makes the water murky out about 100 yards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get off Duval, many great restaurants on back streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Forex Trader
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Nov 13, 2010

Reach Resort Review

This resort is very beautiful, and most of the staff there tried very hard to make things pleasant, but I have two complaints. One, they must contract out the housekeeping service and this is a BIG negative. We knew check-in was at 4pm, but arrived at 12:30pm due to our flight. They said to come back in a couple of hours, they would hold our bags. We came back at 2:30pm, but our room was not ready. They said they put in for it to be cleaned, that housekeeping was aware that we had arrived in the city and wanted the room. It seemed they could do nothing about it, but put in the request. A manager, [...], went to the room to check it out, said they were in the room cleaning and that it shouldn't be much longer (this was at 2:45), but we didn't end up in our room until 4:30. My daughter is a nurse who had worked the night shift and was miserable being up that long without sleep. They were aware of this, but seemed to have their hands tied about getting us in the room. This made the stay start off badly, plus we were offered nothing in return for our inconvenience like a hotel voucher for the restaurant or something. Two, there was a required $25 "resort fee" that was worthless. It said you got wireless internet for it, free sample drinks, popsicles, just other stuff you would generally expect from any resort. Most all hotels have wireless, you shouldn't have to pay for it. All we got for the "resort fee" was one popsicle a piece on one of the four days of our stay, and we had to ask for that. No one offered the sample of the day drink and when I did ask for it once, the woman said it was "coming around soon", but it never did. Overall, the people who work there were great, like [...] who tried to help us get into our room sooner, the guys around the pool. There was only one hotel clerk, a young woman whose name I don't remember, who seems unwilling to try to help us in our bad situation of getting into the room. When we were leaving, there was some other people who at 5pm could not get into their rooms, and they were really mad about it, making a big fuss over it, much more fuss than we had made. My daughter and I were sitting in the lobby, shaking our heads at each other, knowing how those guys were feeling.I must also add that the room was tight for space. We had to manuver around each other to get back and forth to the bathroom and had nowhere to lay out all our stuff. This made things less comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Abandanza's (not sure that it's spelled right) was a great restaurant because of the food. They had the best spaghetti I've ever eaten. It's a reasonably priced place, and all the food looks gourmet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
miami beach
Oct 30, 2010

key west

perfect location. has a beach which is really special for key west. we had such a good time we stayed an extra nite- just booked it over the phone with the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

sarabeth's for brunch, camille's for breakfast upper crust for pizza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
oddie
Business
oslo
Oct 15, 2010

-absolutely super, location and standard

-several visits to Key West, always Pier House.. This place absolutely a swell substitute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

-deep sea fishing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Oct 13, 2010

Really great place to stay

The service was the most friendly I have ever experianced In Key West. We took a girls trip, The Hotel had everything you could want, near all the fun and yet you can have some quiet time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Take the jet ski island tour right at the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Rosales
Business
Miami, FL
Sep 27, 2010

Definitely coming back

We booked at The Reach Resort to celebrate our 2nd Anniversary. If you are looking for a beachfront resort with plenty of great amenities and friendly service, the Reach Resort is the way to go. The resort is clean, cozy, with elegant rooms and plenty of towels. Upon walking-up to the resort's beach, we were immediately set-up with our own umbrella, chairs, towels, and even ice cream! We also enjoyed the drinks from the bar while relaxing at the pool. The resort is conveniently located within walking distance of Duval Street. We narrowed our search for a hotel based on location, customer reviews, hotel amenities, star ratings, and pricing before we decided on The Reach Resort. The Reach Resort exceeded our expectations. We would recommend this resort to anyone and definitely plan to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top