$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

4 stars
View map of 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
239 out of 239
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tampa, florida
May 20, 2011

The Reach Hotel

The hotel was perfectly located on the quiet side of Simonton. The staff was very attentive and made me feel very welcome. Loved the beach games and the gazebo on the dock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yankeegurl
Business
maine
Apr 24, 2011

Slipping.....

It was nice but we have stayed there the past few years and this years' service has definately declined. Check your bill when you check out. We found $500 billed to our room that wasn't ours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

coffee at the corner market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jomaxx
Business
San Antonio, TX
Apr 20, 2011

The Reach is well within reach

Easy to get around the grounds. Close to everything, yet secluded and private. Lovely and good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several great places all with a few blocks of the Reach including the sister property.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lyd Kid
Business
Downers Grove, IL
Apr 2, 2011

Expensive, but worth it

The rooms are nothing to brag about, but the pool area and the beach are gorgeous. There is plenty to see and do. Something for everybody. Or just stay at the resort and enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Snorkling off the Dry Tortugas is absolutely beautiful. A must-see. It's fun to observe fish swimming right under you. Take the Yankee Freedom Ferry for an unforgetable day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chowhound
Business
Cape Cod
Mar 31, 2011

very elegant, just like a travel brochur

1st trip to Key West so booked this place sight unseen. It was very upscale, airy, South Beach style modern resort. We had a boutique suite which was small - king bed and sofa bed because at check in we were told there were no doubles available. Furnishings were newish but were a tad shopworn and we had to call for a blanket for the sofa. Drawbacks were no bar sink, just the bath sink, and only an espresso maker (Starbucks in the lobby, natch). Great private beach with waitstaff to your towel/chair. Nice staff but they were out of umbrellas at 10:30am on a Mon? Restaurant and bar were top notch and view is priceless. Turnoffs were the $25 per day "resort fee" ([...]) which covers amenities such as newspaper, espresso machine, beach chairs and wifi...don't know of a resort that doesn't so this is a scam but we had no choice. And this company owns 2 resorts but has no shuttle van/car. We had to pay for a cab from the airport and to go downtown. Seems nutz a place of this service level would not have such a basic amenity. All in all a very nice resort on a quiet, private beach but due to some of the shortcomings I would look around at others in this class before staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

most of the restaurants/bars at the waterfront near Mallory have happy hour around 4-7 and some offer half price menu in addition to drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winter Park, FL
Mar 29, 2011

The hotel and staff were great.

Key West is a great place to tour by bike. If you stay at The Reach, I suggest a bike, so you can get down to the action on Duval and Greene St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Sloppy Joe's is a great place for drinks and sandwiches

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winter Park, FL
Mar 29, 2011

The hotel and staff were great.

Key West is a great place to tour by bike. If you stay at The Reach, I suggest a bike, so you can get down to the action on Duval and Greene St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Sloppy Joe's is a great place for drinks and sandwiches

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lorraine Happy Traveler
Business
Dracut, Ma.
Jan 30, 2011

A perfect vacation getaway

The staff was very pleasant, and couldn't do enough to please us. Can't wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a short walk from the hotel there are many places to dine. Ask the staff, they are very helpful in recomending great places. You don't need alot of clothes, Shorts, Shirts and sandels accepted everywhere. Very light packing. I love it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Signmom
Business
West Babylon, NY
Jan 16, 2011

Great Vacation

This is the 2nd time I was there. We went to the Reach because we loved it the first time. This time we took friends with us. The rooms are clean. The help is pleasant. Everything is there, pool & beach. It's away from the business of Duval St. but close enough to walk to and to Mallory Square. My friends absolutely loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The busy night life is a bit of a walk, but worth it. The front desk will arrange for a taxi if you want it, to go up north. short ride, worth the walk. There are plenty of places of the beaten path to see also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
None
Jan 15, 2011

Very Disappointed with the Hotel

Very disappointed with the Hotel and its customer service, poor presentation and the fitness is a joke, this is not a four star Hotel, it might be a two star, but their is no way that this is a four star Hotel, it is over price and over rated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top