$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 16, 2014 Check-out: Dec 17, 2014

The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

4 stars
1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
219 reviews
Loved it!

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. The staff... See full review

  • AnitaBlev
  • Jul 6, 2014
The Best of Key West!

The hotel was easily reached by taxi and you could share the fare with other passengers. The bell... See full review

  • Dr. Carole
  • Mar 25, 2014
Luxury resort, on-site water sports along Key West's only natural beach
The Reach Resort underwent a major renovation and now features sumptuous accommodations and abundant amenities on the island's only natural beach. Located at the end of Simonton Street just east of the Southernmost Point Marker, Reach Resort sits a short walk frofm the Duval Street scene and about a mile from Mallory Square.  Guests can unwind in rooms with private balconies overlooking the ocean, relax by the outdoor pool or arrange water sports on the beach.

Highlights
  • Located on 450 feet of Key West's only natural sand beach
  • Beachfront water sports center
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
Rooms

The resort has many flavors of rooms and suites, all of which open onto private balconies--some have ocean views, others have pool or island views. Reach Resort rooms come with single king or two double beds, and suites have king beds and sitting areas with sleeper sofas. Bathrooms are stocked with plush bathrobes and LXR Clear beauty products, while in-room amenities include espresso machines, mini refrigerators, work desks and high-tech gear like LCD TVs, iHome clock radios and Wi-Fi access for a fee.

Dining

Strip House restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service, including prime-cut steaks and an extensive wine list.   

Recreation
During 2006 and 2007, Reach Resort underwent a $37 million USD renovation. Sitting along 450 feet of the island's only natural beach, the property features an outdoor pool and a beachfront water sports operator for boat, bike, kayak and Jet Ski rentals along with scuba, snorkeling and fishing excursions. Reach Resort guests have access to the facilities at a sister property, Casa Marina Resort, including spa services.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Key West Golf Club (5 mi/8 km)
  • Ernest Hemingway Museum (.6 mi/1 km)

Business
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • 4,706 square feet of flexible meeting space
Policies and Fees

A $25 USD ($28.13 USD including tax) daily resort charge includes Wi-Fi, in-room espresso, local and 800 phone calls, weekday newspaper and access to Reach Resort and Casa Marina property amenities.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

24.5475 -81.7939
Nearby airports
Key West Intl Airport, (EYW), 2.00, MI, S; Miami Intl Airport, (MIA), 150.00, MI, N; Ft Lauderdale Intl Airport, (FLL), 180.00, MI, N;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (219)

Ratings and reviews for The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tampa, florida
May 20, 2011

The Reach Hotel

The hotel was perfectly located on the quiet side of Simonton. The staff was very attentive and made me feel very welcome. Loved the beach games and the gazebo on the dock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yankeegurl
Business
maine
Apr 24, 2011

Slipping.....

It was nice but we have stayed there the past few years and this years' service has definately declined. Check your bill when you check out. We found $500 billed to our room that wasn't ours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

coffee at the corner market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jomaxx
Business
San Antonio, TX
Apr 20, 2011

The Reach is well within reach

Easy to get around the grounds. Close to everything, yet secluded and private. Lovely and good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several great places all with a few blocks of the Reach including the sister property.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lyd Kid
Business
Downers Grove, IL
Apr 2, 2011

Expensive, but worth it

The rooms are nothing to brag about, but the pool area and the beach are gorgeous. There is plenty to see and do. Something for everybody. Or just stay at the resort and enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Snorkling off the Dry Tortugas is absolutely beautiful. A must-see. It's fun to observe fish swimming right under you. Take the Yankee Freedom Ferry for an unforgetable day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chowhound
Business
Cape Cod
Mar 31, 2011

very elegant, just like a travel brochur

1st trip to Key West so booked this place sight unseen. It was very upscale, airy, South Beach style modern resort. We had a boutique suite which was small - king bed and sofa bed because at check in we were told there were no doubles available. Furnishings were newish but were a tad shopworn and we had to call for a blanket for the sofa. Drawbacks were no bar sink, just the bath sink, and only an espresso maker (Starbucks in the lobby, natch). Great private beach with waitstaff to your towel/chair. Nice staff but they were out of umbrellas at 10:30am on a Mon? Restaurant and bar were top notch and view is priceless. Turnoffs were the $25 per day "resort fee" ([...]) which covers amenities such as newspaper, espresso machine, beach chairs and wifi...don't know of a resort that doesn't so this is a scam but we had no choice. And this company owns 2 resorts but has no shuttle van/car. We had to pay for a cab from the airport and to go downtown. Seems nutz a place of this service level would not have such a basic amenity. All in all a very nice resort on a quiet, private beach but due to some of the shortcomings I would look around at others in this class before staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

most of the restaurants/bars at the waterfront near Mallory have happy hour around 4-7 and some offer half price menu in addition to drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winter Park, FL
Mar 29, 2011

The hotel and staff were great.

Key West is a great place to tour by bike. If you stay at The Reach, I suggest a bike, so you can get down to the action on Duval and Greene St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Sloppy Joe's is a great place for drinks and sandwiches

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lorraine Happy Traveler
Business
Dracut, Ma.
Jan 30, 2011

A perfect vacation getaway

The staff was very pleasant, and couldn't do enough to please us. Can't wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a short walk from the hotel there are many places to dine. Ask the staff, they are very helpful in recomending great places. You don't need alot of clothes, Shorts, Shirts and sandels accepted everywhere. Very light packing. I love it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Signmom
Business
West Babylon, NY
Jan 16, 2011

Great Vacation

This is the 2nd time I was there. We went to the Reach because we loved it the first time. This time we took friends with us. The rooms are clean. The help is pleasant. Everything is there, pool & beach. It's away from the business of Duval St. but close enough to walk to and to Mallory Square. My friends absolutely loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The busy night life is a bit of a walk, but worth it. The front desk will arrange for a taxi if you want it, to go up north. short ride, worth the walk. There are plenty of places of the beaten path to see also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
None
Jan 15, 2011

Very Disappointed with the Hotel

Very disappointed with the Hotel and its customer service, poor presentation and the fitness is a joke, this is not a four star Hotel, it might be a two star, but their is no way that this is a four star Hotel, it is over price and over rated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston, ma
Jan 7, 2011

birthday getaway

The only hotel with its own beach and is centrally located on key west.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top