$379 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 18, 2015 Check-out: Mar 19, 2015

The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

4 stars
View map of 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
225 reviews
Can't wait to go back!

The Reach is AMAZING. Beautiful property, very attentive and friendly guests. We were given... See full review

  • Nicole C.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Loved it!

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. The staff... See full review

  • AnitaBlev
  • Jul 6, 2014
Luxury resort, on-site water sports along Key West's only natural beach
The Reach Resort underwent a major renovation and now features sumptuous accommodations and abundant amenities on the island's only natural beach. Located at the end of Simonton Street just east of the Southernmost Point Marker, Reach Resort sits a short walk frofm the Duval Street scene and about a mile from Mallory Square.  Guests can unwind in rooms with private balconies overlooking the ocean, relax by the outdoor pool or arrange water sports on the beach.

Highlights
  • Located on 450 feet of Key West's only natural sand beach
  • Beachfront water sports center
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
Rooms

The resort has many flavors of rooms and suites, all of which open onto private balconies--some have ocean views, others have pool or island views. Reach Resort rooms come with single king or two double beds, and suites have king beds and sitting areas with sleeper sofas. Bathrooms are stocked with plush bathrobes and LXR Clear beauty products, while in-room amenities include espresso machines, mini refrigerators, work desks and high-tech gear like LCD TVs, iHome clock radios and Wi-Fi access for a fee.

Dining

Strip House restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service, including prime-cut steaks and an extensive wine list.   

Recreation
During 2006 and 2007, Reach Resort underwent a $37 million USD renovation. Sitting along 450 feet of the island's only natural beach, the property features an outdoor pool and a beachfront water sports operator for boat, bike, kayak and Jet Ski rentals along with scuba, snorkeling and fishing excursions. Reach Resort guests have access to the facilities at a sister property, Casa Marina Resort, including spa services.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Key West Golf Club (5 mi/8 km)
  • Ernest Hemingway Museum (.6 mi/1 km)

Business
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • 4,706 square feet of flexible meeting space
Policies and Fees

A $25 USD ($28.13 USD including tax) daily resort charge includes Wi-Fi, in-room espresso, local and 800 phone calls, weekday newspaper and access to Reach Resort and Casa Marina property amenities.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (225)

Ratings and reviews for The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
225 out of 225
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TJMM
Business
Raleigh, NC
Mar 1, 2012

Wonderful Hotel

Very nice experience! The hotel is in a quiet area right on the Atlantic with a great private pool area, yet close to Duval and all of the restaurants & night life. The hotel staff was excellent and went out of their way to be helpful. The staff was very attentive to our needs. This was our first trip to Key West and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We plan to come back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The concier gave us good tips on restaurants and attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TMJP
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Long Weekend getaway

We enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back. Everyone there was very friendly and helpful. The private beach was great and the hammocks were comfy just to lounge in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent the bicycles, Easiest way to get around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Nick
Business
Norway
Feb 23, 2012

Nice hotel

Perfect location, nice people, fine serice at the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawk fan
Business
ohio
Feb 12, 2012

Too many hidden charges

the hotel location and ammenties were first rate, the staff was helpful but often uninformed. We got lots of well-meaning but false information especially about transportation to the airport and cost of room. There is a 25 dollar a day surcharge for amenities which you may not use and a fifty dollar a day credit which can only be used on site and not for room price. The bill was never correct and very confusing ( we were repeatedly charged for a free, supposedly included breakfast plan and had to remind them to remove from our bill).food service was good but pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel was located within easy walking distance of all main attractions on Duvall street. Rental car was unnecessary.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TLHCt
Business
Danbury, CT, USA
Jan 14, 2012

Key West Vacation

Loved the location, friendly staff, & beautiful grounds. Not sure the additional $25.00/day resort fee on top of nightly rate was worth it. Paul at front desk was very helpful. Would recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants we enjoyed: Blue Heaven, Camille's, Banana Cafe, El Siboney

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Theresa101
Business
New Jersey, USA
Dec 27, 2011

HORRIBLE RUDE STAFF & MANAGEMENT!!

We were completely dissatisfied regarding the horrific treatment my husband and I were subjected to by the hotel management at the Reach Hotel in Key West. My husband and I vacation in Key West every year because Key West is renowned for being pet friendly. When I booked my hotel stay at the Reach, I was told it was a pet friendly hotel. This is a total lie! I am not going to go into all the gory details, but the hotel manager actually called the police to have my husband and I physically removed from the hotel just because our sweet little, calm, quiet, friendly chihuahua was on the beach. I was laying quietly on my lounge chair with my dog (her name is Mandee) asleep by my side when 3 police officers along with the hotel manager and a hotel security guard confronted me on the beach. I was in shock as were many of the other hotel guests who were actually quite fond of our cute little pet. We were then rudely escorted by the police and the hotel manager to our room where we were subjected to very aggressive treatment by the police and management. They were actually trying to provoke me into doing or saying something that would give them cause to arrest me. Can you imagine the embarrassment and humiliation...and all because I had my dog on the beach sleeping in my lounge chair. We are not a trouble makers and would have complied with the hotel rules about having pets on a leash on the beach, but at no time did the hotel manager or security guard ever state a leash was required. If given the opportunity I would have gladly put Mandee on a leash. Rather, the hotel manager chose to wave a piece of paper in front of me on the beach in front of all the other hotel guests stating we were in violation of the hotel policy. Then after all this harassment and being evicted, I unfortunately left my purse behind. When I called the hotel, the said I could come to the hotel and pick it up, but that if I entered the hotel they were going to call the police...AGAIN! We paid for the hotel in full and DID NOT receive any refund for the three nights we missed and had to pay hundreds of dollars to stay else where. Stay far far away from the REACH!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CT Family of Four
Business
Norwalk, CT, USA
Dec 24, 2011

Amazing location

One block from Duvall St and with its own private beach...it doesn't get any better than that! The room was nice and spacious too, especially the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
laur87
Business
Southington, CT, USA
Dec 23, 2011

great stay

The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, the room was always cleaned so nicely. Location was perfect for duval street nightlife! Great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Theresa101
Business
New Jersey, USA
Dec 21, 2011

NIGHTMARE

They advertise as Pet friendly and THEY ARE NOT. Derick was like a prison guard who actually got us thrown out of the hotel because our dog was sleeping on our chair on the beach. We had to pay for three nights at the Banana Bay Resort which is extremely pet friendly. My dog is extremely well behaved and is not yappy. She weighs 7 lbs. What jerks they are!!! DO NOT RECOMMEND at all. They had the police come escort us off the property and threaten us! Very embarrassing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vacation duo
Business
Bellville, OH, USA
Dec 15, 2011

First time in Key West!

This was our first time in Key West. We loved the hotel and the staff. They would always ask us if we needed anything or if there was anything they could do for us. The room was great and the bed was very comfortable. We would stay there again next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Pete's Dueling Piano Bar on Duval Street. Very entertaining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top