$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

4 stars
View map of 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oxie
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 26, 2012

Quieter side of Key West

A haven in Key West away from the crowds of Duval Street. Perfect small beach, lovely pool area, attentive service, Starbucks in the gift shop, wonderfully comfortable bed, easy walks to Hemingway House, Mallory Square, lots of restaurants and shops. Hotel staff is very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss Louie's Backyard for lunch, dinner or drinks on the deck.

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jerm747
Business
Fort Myers, FL, USA
Mar 25, 2012

carpet

Great value however the carpet needs to be cleaned in a bad way. Hotel staff was great, I will surely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phacelia tanacetifolia
Business
Knoxville, TN, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Pampered

My husband and I and our five-year-old daughter stayed here during spring break and overall really enjoyed the stay. We certainly felt pampered with the attentive staff and pool/beach "boys" who quickly set up your chairs and towels and umbrella on the beach or pool. Fruit, popsicles, and even sunglasses cleaning were offered throughout the day. They also had fun little organized activities for the kids - 1 in morning and 1 in afternoon. They came around with menus so that you could order your lunch. The food was fabulous -- generous breakfast buffet with all kinds of offerings and a delicious menu of offerings for dinner at the Strip House (the in-house restaurant). One didn't really need to leave the hotel to have a super time -- it was completely relaxing. A few CONS: (1) It would be nice if the hotel could offer blocks of rooms that are non-smoking. We couldn't really enjoy our balcony as we had puffers on either side of us. (2) The room was quite small but very comfortable. Better lighting would have helped, such as a reading lamp beside the lounger. (3) What is the appeal of jet skis? Several times during the day, the hotel's horde of jet skis would be ushered from the beach to the surf where riders learned how to run them. They were noisy and smelled just awful, which certainly spoiled things for people on the beach. Despite the cons, I would return. Overall, it was quite lovely and we felt well-taken care of. The natural beach at The Reach is quite beautiful and that's hard to find in Key West.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sign up with Fury Adventures to take one of their boat trips. We did the half-day Island Adventure and it was loads of fun and well worth the extra $$$.

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris4321
Business
Lafayette, Indiana
Mar 17, 2012

Great, wonderful, beautiful

You won't be disappointed at this hotel. The staff was wonderful, the room very clean and with it's own beach access it was wonderful. The hotel is a block away from Duval Street which made it easy to see all the interesting night life. Hemingway's house is five or six blocks away too. We went to the beach and found they had at least three attendants available to help. They set up our beach chairs and umbrella, brought complimentary mini-margaritas, frozen popsicles and cool water every now and again. Great wonderful service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything.

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TJMM
Business
Raleigh, NC
Mar 1, 2012

Wonderful Hotel

Very nice experience! The hotel is in a quiet area right on the Atlantic with a great private pool area, yet close to Duval and all of the restaurants & night life. The hotel staff was excellent and went out of their way to be helpful. The staff was very attentive to our needs. This was our first trip to Key West and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We plan to come back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The concier gave us good tips on restaurants and attractions.

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TMJP
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Long Weekend getaway

We enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back. Everyone there was very friendly and helpful. The private beach was great and the hammocks were comfy just to lounge in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent the bicycles, Easiest way to get around.

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Nick
Business
Norway
Feb 23, 2012

Nice hotel

Perfect location, nice people, fine serice at the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawk fan
Business
ohio
Feb 12, 2012

Too many hidden charges

the hotel location and ammenties were first rate, the staff was helpful but often uninformed. We got lots of well-meaning but false information especially about transportation to the airport and cost of room. There is a 25 dollar a day surcharge for amenities which you may not use and a fifty dollar a day credit which can only be used on site and not for room price. The bill was never correct and very confusing ( we were repeatedly charged for a free, supposedly included breakfast plan and had to remind them to remove from our bill).food service was good but pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel was located within easy walking distance of all main attractions on Duvall street. Rental car was unnecessary.

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TLHCt
Business
Danbury, CT, USA
Jan 14, 2012

Key West Vacation

Loved the location, friendly staff, & beautiful grounds. Not sure the additional $25.00/day resort fee on top of nightly rate was worth it. Paul at front desk was very helpful. Would recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants we enjoyed: Blue Heaven, Camille's, Banana Cafe, El Siboney

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Theresa101
Business
New Jersey, USA
Dec 27, 2011

HORRIBLE RUDE STAFF & MANAGEMENT!!

We were completely dissatisfied regarding the horrific treatment my husband and I were subjected to by the hotel management at the Reach Hotel in Key West. My husband and I vacation in Key West every year because Key West is renowned for being pet friendly. When I booked my hotel stay at the Reach, I was told it was a pet friendly hotel. This is a total lie! I am not going to go into all the gory details, but the hotel manager actually called the police to have my husband and I physically removed from the hotel just because our sweet little, calm, quiet, friendly chihuahua was on the beach. I was laying quietly on my lounge chair with my dog (her name is Mandee) asleep by my side when 3 police officers along with the hotel manager and a hotel security guard confronted me on the beach. I was in shock as were many of the other hotel guests who were actually quite fond of our cute little pet. We were then rudely escorted by the police and the hotel manager to our room where we were subjected to very aggressive treatment by the police and management. They were actually trying to provoke me into doing or saying something that would give them cause to arrest me. Can you imagine the embarrassment and humiliation...and all because I had my dog on the beach sleeping in my lounge chair. We are not a trouble makers and would have complied with the hotel rules about having pets on a leash on the beach, but at no time did the hotel manager or security guard ever state a leash was required. If given the opportunity I would have gladly put Mandee on a leash. Rather, the hotel manager chose to wave a piece of paper in front of me on the beach in front of all the other hotel guests stating we were in violation of the hotel policy. Then after all this harassment and being evicted, I unfortunately left my purse behind. When I called the hotel, the said I could come to the hotel and pick it up, but that if I entered the hotel they were going to call the police...AGAIN! We paid for the hotel in full and DID NOT receive any refund for the three nights we missed and had to pay hundreds of dollars to stay else where. Stay far far away from the REACH!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top