$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

4 stars
1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
219 reviews
Loved it!

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. The staff... See full review

  • AnitaBlev
  • Jul 6, 2014
The Best of Key West!

The hotel was easily reached by taxi and you could share the fare with other passengers. The bell... See full review

  • Dr. Carole
  • Mar 25, 2014
Luxury resort, on-site water sports along Key West's only natural beach
The Reach Resort underwent a major renovation and now features sumptuous accommodations and abundant amenities on the island's only natural beach. Located at the end of Simonton Street just east of the Southernmost Point Marker, Reach Resort sits a short walk frofm the Duval Street scene and about a mile from Mallory Square.  Guests can unwind in rooms with private balconies overlooking the ocean, relax by the outdoor pool or arrange water sports on the beach.

Highlights
  • Located on 450 feet of Key West's only natural sand beach
  • Beachfront water sports center
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
Rooms

The resort has many flavors of rooms and suites, all of which open onto private balconies--some have ocean views, others have pool or island views. Reach Resort rooms come with single king or two double beds, and suites have king beds and sitting areas with sleeper sofas. Bathrooms are stocked with plush bathrobes and LXR Clear beauty products, while in-room amenities include espresso machines, mini refrigerators, work desks and high-tech gear like LCD TVs, iHome clock radios and Wi-Fi access for a fee.

Dining

Strip House restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service, including prime-cut steaks and an extensive wine list.   

Recreation
During 2006 and 2007, Reach Resort underwent a $37 million USD renovation. Sitting along 450 feet of the island's only natural beach, the property features an outdoor pool and a beachfront water sports operator for boat, bike, kayak and Jet Ski rentals along with scuba, snorkeling and fishing excursions. Reach Resort guests have access to the facilities at a sister property, Casa Marina Resort, including spa services.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Key West Golf Club (5 mi/8 km)
  • Ernest Hemingway Museum (.6 mi/1 km)

Business
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • 4,706 square feet of flexible meeting space
Policies and Fees

A $25 USD ($28.13 USD including tax) daily resort charge includes Wi-Fi, in-room espresso, local and 800 phone calls, weekday newspaper and access to Reach Resort and Casa Marina property amenities.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (219)

Ratings and reviews for The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 26, 2008

Nice Place To Stay

The Reach Resort was a nice place to stay. It is conveniently located near Duval Street, but is a bit of a walk to Mallory Square area(little over a mile).The hotel was a bit noisy with people coming in at all hours during the night and were quite inconsiderate. The main lobby is airconditioned,as are the rooms,but once you leave the lobby to go to the elevators leading up to the rooms it is opened to the air outside and was muggy and damp. The rooms were neat,clean and comfortable. I found the bed to be very comfortable. There was a nice balcony with the view of the ocean ,a safe and a refrigerator. There was also an espresso coffee machine and sink in the room. Overall we had a great time.We must have walked a total of 10 miles in three days. The nightlife was great, dinig great and we made some new friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is right on the beach!There is also dining at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 12, 2008

very modern and uptodate decor

The hotel was nice, the room was very nice, like a suite, very modern and very comfortable. The were not too man eating facilities. except for the restaurant inside the resort. The New York Strip highly recommend..Excellent service and the food was great..good decor too. But I think the hotels need more eating facilities. I found the hotel not that close to Center of town where the action was, but still in walking distance..We enjoy our stay and the hotel too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

More shopping, better shopping center of town.. and more restaurtant and clubs...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Overland Park, KS
Oct 4, 2008

Enjoyable stay

We stayed at the Reach on our honeymoon and were very satisified. The resort has a very nice beach (not very many in Key West). The staff walked around asking if we needed anything while enjoying the beach area. The room was a bit small but had a very nice view and was cleaned very well each day. The shower did not have a door so we had minor flooding issues everytime someone took a shower. The Strip House restaurant located onsite was the best steak I've ever had...amazing. It's pricey but very good. It is the only food option so plan for meals offsite. Staff was very friendly and helpful even when we locked our keys in the room twice. The bike rentals at the hotel are awesome and well worth the daily fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at Croissants de France bakery and pastry 3 times. They have awesome breakfast and lunch food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Feeding Hills
Sep 28, 2008

Off season visit

The Reach Resort was comfortable and clean. The location was ideal as you are right on the ocean. The beach was smaller than expected, but had nice soft sand. The pier was nice and we liked that we were able to visit the neighboring sister hotel, Casa Marina and use their pool and amenities. It gave us more options and more room to roam since their beach was larger and they also had a nice pier. We loved that we were on the ocean, but also that we were only a block away from Duval Street, so it was an easy walk to all of the action. It was nice staying on that side of Key West as it was quiet at the hotel and the evenings were nice sitting down by the beach on the hammocks. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay extremely and would stay there again and recommend it to friends. We were staying in the off season, so I expect that it would be much busier than it was. It was very nice - we can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rutherfordton
Sep 26, 2008

My review of Reach Resort

The trip was a gift from my mother for our honeymoon and we could not have been happier or had a better time. The hotel and whole trip was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 20, 2008

VERY COUPLE FRIENDLY

THE REACH RESORT WAS AMAZING. THE ROOM WAS HUGE. WE HAD A GREAT VIEW OF THE OCEAN. IT'S ON THE QUIET SIDE OF KEY WEST AND IT WAS A PERFECT PLACE FOR OUR HONEYMOON.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

THERE IS A JET SKI RENTAL RIGHT ON THE BEACH OF THE HOTEL AND THE 27 MILE TOUR AROUND KEY WEST WAS AMAZING

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denison
Sep 7, 2008

Central location to sites

Had a really good experience at the reach resort, friendly curtious staff, nice rooms, clean, beautiful view of atlantic, Newly renovated Romantic setting. Me and my wife stayed at the reach for 5 days and nights for our 15th anniversary and we plan on doing it every year from now on at the same time same place. It was that good. The timing was perfect(offseason by a day) A week without rain or tourist for that matter. was like we had the whole island to ourself and the staff at the reach was very accomidating in helping out with the things we needed to explore the island and helped make it a perfect trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

At the quit end of duvall st, and 2 blocks from the southern most point. Lighthouse, Hemmingway house as well as the little white house is all close by. We rented a scooter, and this really added to the adventure, plus allowed us to travel at will on the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ronkonkoma
Sep 1, 2008

Labor Day 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Reach for 4 days. This was our 2nd trip. The first time we stayed at Ocean Key. We enjoyed the Reach. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful! Drinks were expensive at the bar but our bartender was great. Our room was upgraded during check in and we ended up staying on the 5th floor. What a beautiful view! Good location. 2 blocks from Duval and then a good 5-10 minute walk to the heart of Duval where all the craziness happens. This was good for us considering we are bibulous people and it helped keep the pounds off :) Make sure you stop at La Te Da and say hi to Doug the BEST bartender in Key West and enjoy their delicious food. We are ready to go back in January. Key West is becoming our favorite weekend spot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Mills
Aug 28, 2008

Nice Renovation!

The Reach was a very nice resort. The room was very nice, but unfortunately with a lousy view. The pool was very nice, but we felt a little uncomfortable as the pool guy was pushing a little too hard for tips (i.e. several bills tucked in a clipboard on which you had to 'sign out' towels). it's nothing more than a recently renovated property with a wonderful view. But, we didn't complain about the additional fee or the $12/day self-parking charge. Generally speaking, Key West is an expensive locale when it comes to meals, but even given that fact, The Strip Room restaurant attached to the 'resort' was pricey. My wife had a mojito for $13.50, and they automatically added in a 15% tip! We weren't a party of 6 or more, either - it was just the two of us having a drink in the bar in the afternoon. And, the only reason we were there was that The Reach doesn't have an outdoor tiki bar near the pool... you have to go inside this rather swanky 'club' restaurant and sit there. If you were to wait for the poolside servers, you would die of thirst. Hey - I'm on vacation! So, overall: Rooms (even with the lousy view) - 8 out of 10 Staff - 6 Restaurant/Bar - 6 Poolside experience - 6 Location - 9.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Camille's restaurant just two blocks away on Simonton Street - perfect for breakfast. Also, check out the Southernmost Cafe for a beautiful view and surprisingly good food and drinks (just 1 block away at the Southern end of Duvall Street).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 9, 2008

not very family friendly

we were net to construstion very loud the hotel didnt have very good food the beach was not very nice or clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top