$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

4 stars
1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
219 reviews
Loved it!

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. The staff... See full review

  • AnitaBlev
  • Jul 6, 2014
The Best of Key West!

The hotel was easily reached by taxi and you could share the fare with other passengers. The bell... See full review

  • Dr. Carole
  • Mar 25, 2014
Luxury resort, on-site water sports along Key West's only natural beach
The Reach Resort underwent a major renovation and now features sumptuous accommodations and abundant amenities on the island's only natural beach. Located at the end of Simonton Street just east of the Southernmost Point Marker, Reach Resort sits a short walk frofm the Duval Street scene and about a mile from Mallory Square.  Guests can unwind in rooms with private balconies overlooking the ocean, relax by the outdoor pool or arrange water sports on the beach.

Highlights
  • Located on 450 feet of Key West's only natural sand beach
  • Beachfront water sports center
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
Rooms

The resort has many flavors of rooms and suites, all of which open onto private balconies--some have ocean views, others have pool or island views. Reach Resort rooms come with single king or two double beds, and suites have king beds and sitting areas with sleeper sofas. Bathrooms are stocked with plush bathrobes and LXR Clear beauty products, while in-room amenities include espresso machines, mini refrigerators, work desks and high-tech gear like LCD TVs, iHome clock radios and Wi-Fi access for a fee.

Dining

Strip House restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service, including prime-cut steaks and an extensive wine list.   

Recreation
During 2006 and 2007, Reach Resort underwent a $37 million USD renovation. Sitting along 450 feet of the island's only natural beach, the property features an outdoor pool and a beachfront water sports operator for boat, bike, kayak and Jet Ski rentals along with scuba, snorkeling and fishing excursions. Reach Resort guests have access to the facilities at a sister property, Casa Marina Resort, including spa services.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Key West Golf Club (5 mi/8 km)
  • Ernest Hemingway Museum (.6 mi/1 km)

Business
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • 4,706 square feet of flexible meeting space
Policies and Fees

A $25 USD ($28.13 USD including tax) daily resort charge includes Wi-Fi, in-room espresso, local and 800 phone calls, weekday newspaper and access to Reach Resort and Casa Marina property amenities.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

24.5475 -81.7939
Nearby airports
Key West Intl Airport, (EYW), 2.00, MI, S; Miami Intl Airport, (MIA), 150.00, MI, N; Ft Lauderdale Intl Airport, (FLL), 180.00, MI, N;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (219)

Ratings and reviews for The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ll
Sep 27, 2010

Relaxation at its finest

This was the most relaxing atmosphere ever! The staff was super helpful and nice. The hotel location breath taking being that it was right on the edge of tha water (spectacular view). It would have been really great if they had kitchenettes in some of the suites. I recommend ppl to stay here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Duval st

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
microgoddess
Business
Lafayette, LA
Sep 23, 2010

Fantastic resort!

The hotel is located at the southern end of the island, not far from Duval Street, but far enough away to not have all the noise associated with the main "downtown" area. We completely enjoyed our stay at the Reach Resort... the amenities and activities at the hotel made us not want to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sebago's snorkling/sunset cruise is a must! The crew was awesome, the water beautiful, and the beer flowed!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alloway , NJ
Sep 19, 2010

problems with the airconditioning

we had to stay in the hotel overnight with no air conditioning.we had to move to the Casa Marina which was very nice for the rest of the stay. they should have told us the night before so that we did not have to sleep in a hot room all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Irish
Business
Los Gatos, CA
Sep 15, 2010

Oh so close, yet so far!

This hotel had all the hallmarks of an exceptional performer. People were professional and friendly. Upon check-in they did not tell us that our debit card would be charged randomly and with a name that was not recognizable. (We spent two days trying to decide whether or not to cancel our card because of possible theft.) As we wound down our stay, we ended up with no air conditioning for almost 36 hours, when they had told us that it would be 12 hours at most. We were offered a transfer to their sister property at 11pm the night before we were due to depart at 9am, we had 6 bags and declined - our mistake. I must say that the staff and administration were very friendly and accommodating. However, the best intentions in the world are worth little when the staff are not executing their responsibilities behind the scenes. Any major campaign such as the A/C should involve every manager and planning of at least a month when located in this latitude. They failed, we sweated and hence we would never again visit this hotel. They did "comp" us the last night, but that did not seem to make it "right."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun in the Keys
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 25, 2010

Great Location, great stay

Couldn't ask for a better location. Hotel is clean, super friendly staff that was there to help. Suites are roomy. It is not grand as its sister hotel Casa Marina but every bit as comfortable...plus had the run of both resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Duval street is right around the corner. Lots going on day and night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
middletown, ny
Aug 22, 2010

great for the price

staff were very helpful. great trip great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Sloppy Joes, My girlfriend and I had a great time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brick, nj
Aug 21, 2010

A must stay!

Very nice rooms, clean, great location. The only thing was the rooms could be cooler then 65 at times because of the overwhelming summer heat. Water temp was 88-90 everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beach lover...
Business
DC
Aug 17, 2010

Nice

very nice beach and friendly staff...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brer
Business
Point Pleasant, WV
Aug 16, 2010

Great Getaway

Very quit and friendly staff what more could you ask for ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KeyWestVacationer
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 16, 2010

Nickeled and Dimed

When we arrived we had to pay an additional "resort fee" of $50 per day for pool towels and a "popsicle down by the pool". It was explained that this fee was to cover everything from the workout facility to the free interent in the rooms however when we tried to watch television - we couldn't get anything without paying an additional $4.99 for 49 minutes of television(and this for a re-run), no local channels and the previews that were "free" we had no way of getting...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a little grocery store on the corner of the block - get your drinks and snacks there - the rooms have a little refrigerator in the rooms.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top