$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

4 stars
1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
219 reviews
Loved it!

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. The staff... See full review

  • AnitaBlev
  • Jul 6, 2014
The Best of Key West!

The hotel was easily reached by taxi and you could share the fare with other passengers. The bell... See full review

  • Dr. Carole
  • Mar 25, 2014
Luxury resort, on-site water sports along Key West's only natural beach
The Reach Resort underwent a major renovation and now features sumptuous accommodations and abundant amenities on the island's only natural beach. Located at the end of Simonton Street just east of the Southernmost Point Marker, Reach Resort sits a short walk frofm the Duval Street scene and about a mile from Mallory Square.  Guests can unwind in rooms with private balconies overlooking the ocean, relax by the outdoor pool or arrange water sports on the beach.

Highlights
  • Located on 450 feet of Key West's only natural sand beach
  • Beachfront water sports center
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
Rooms

The resort has many flavors of rooms and suites, all of which open onto private balconies--some have ocean views, others have pool or island views. Reach Resort rooms come with single king or two double beds, and suites have king beds and sitting areas with sleeper sofas. Bathrooms are stocked with plush bathrobes and LXR Clear beauty products, while in-room amenities include espresso machines, mini refrigerators, work desks and high-tech gear like LCD TVs, iHome clock radios and Wi-Fi access for a fee.

Dining

Strip House restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service, including prime-cut steaks and an extensive wine list.   

Recreation
During 2006 and 2007, Reach Resort underwent a $37 million USD renovation. Sitting along 450 feet of the island's only natural beach, the property features an outdoor pool and a beachfront water sports operator for boat, bike, kayak and Jet Ski rentals along with scuba, snorkeling and fishing excursions. Reach Resort guests have access to the facilities at a sister property, Casa Marina Resort, including spa services.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Key West Golf Club (5 mi/8 km)
  • Ernest Hemingway Museum (.6 mi/1 km)

Business
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • 4,706 square feet of flexible meeting space
Policies and Fees

A $25 USD ($28.13 USD including tax) daily resort charge includes Wi-Fi, in-room espresso, local and 800 phone calls, weekday newspaper and access to Reach Resort and Casa Marina property amenities.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (219)

Ratings and reviews for The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ozzy55
Chicago
Feb 24, 2013

Trouble in Paradise

The location is fantastic with great views, unfortunately we had a mechanical problem with the Air Conditioning. it couldn't be fixed but the staff did everything possible to make it right then offered to move us to another room, our view was so great, we opted to stay put. The staff offered to buy us dinner and take a night off our bill for the inconvience. It was well worth it, we will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
prpball
Business
louisville, ky
Oct 4, 2014

no dresser but overall very nice

For some odd reason there was no dresser in the room. When they remodeled they decided not to put dressers in the rooms. Other than that the room was clean and comfy. The overall atmosphere of the hotel was pleasant. Warning!! Restaurant is very expensive, especially for breakfast. Buffet style breakfast only, 28 bucks per person. Ouch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

duvalla street is just 1 block over and there is a ton of shopping and food options. you'll want to drive at least 6 blocks up for parking because the good shopping and food starts around the 600 block and the hotel is around the 1300 block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AnitaBlev
Business
Alabama
Jul 6, 2014

Loved it!

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. The staff was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Getaway for fun
Business
Ohio
Jun 23, 2014

Not bad, but they nickel and dime you to death

Overall the location was the best. Rooms were fine, but all of the charges on top of your bill were ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler 03
Business
Memphis, Tn
Jun 8, 2014

The Reach

The is an older building so the rooms are a bit larger. Bath towels are brought in twice a day. Yet bathrooms are not cleaned each day. The beach made for the hotel always has a thick abundance of seaweed on the beach. It was cleaned off once in 6 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TRF2
Business
Kansas City, Mo.
Jun 3, 2014

Missed opportunity

Staff didn't seem that interested in helping or greeting you unless they worked for tips. Customer service was less than desirable, unless you made someone make eye contact with you. Room was filthy, examples are: Carpet needed cleaned, filthy glass in bathroom with stick substance in bottom of it, hair dryer worn and had hair hanging from inside it, bed mattress obviously old due to body molds/depressions in sleeping positions, flat surfaces hadn't been dusted in months, except mirror hanging by entry door, carpet not vacuumed, note pad next to nightstand that was used as a coaster was water logged and dried. Good news is that cleaning staff inspected our concerns and addressed issues at hand as best they could while trying to cool off the Mrs on her birthday, yes my wife's birthday to boot. Management waived resort fees for the week. Not the best experience at a hotel that carries the Waldorf Astoria name (The Reach). Disappointed. The location of the hotel, the beach, and the Key West island way of life carried the rest of our experience. Definitely had to (Reach) down to find that special something at this hotel..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Siboney - Great Cuban food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
martafoos
Business
PIttsburgh
May 19, 2014

Not as nice as Casa Marina, but closer

The best thing about this hotel is the private beach. Not at all rocky, very nice. BUT the price is practically the same as the sister hotel Casa Marina, and that hotel is far, far, far nicer. A bit further away from Duval, yes, but! If you ride bikes, you will be fine. If you walk, it may pose more of a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ambrosia- get the salmon sushi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vagabond Kid
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Apr 10, 2014

Excellence

The Reach is everything I have come to expect in a Waldorf hotel. The location at the quiet end of the island, the beautiful grounds the staff, all were excellent. We stayed for six nights and did not want to leave,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Louie's Back Yard is literally next door, through a path by the pool. The restaurant offers superb dining and the most charming atmosphere on the island of Key West.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. Carole
Business
Wyandotte, MI
Mar 25, 2014

The Best of Key West!

The hotel was easily reached by taxi and you could share the fare with other passengers. The bell staff greeted you at the door and welcomed you with them holding the door open for your entrance. The pool is right next to the beach. Exquisite swimming and sunning which is why I came. The meals there were excellent as well. At the pool, every 2:30PM you are served free ice cream and given cucumbers to cool your eyes and a cool washcloth to refresh your face. My room was on the third floor and I had a view of the courtyard, the turquoise sea and the nighttime sky where I spotted Orion's belt. This was my first visit and it will NOT be my last! I loved it and have a beautiful tan to sport here in cold MI. Sincerely, Dr. Carole M. Rowland

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear walking shoes and you will be able to navigate Key West easily. That's the way to get into the spirit of the Keys!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoannG
Business
Bethesda, MD
Feb 22, 2014

worth the splurge

The location of The Reach is great - in the quiet part of town and right on the beach. The private beach is the real draw, since there are few beaches in KW. The housekeeping left something to be desired. The room was clean, but the little details were not attended to. After the first day (of 5) there was no bath mat and the toiletries were not replenished. The sheets were not changed unless we asked for it. The hotel was quiet and the balconies were lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Louie's Backyard for dinner. Southernmost Hotel Cafe and Bar for lunch or dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
52carp
Business
Pearl River, NY
Feb 22, 2014

Top Shelf

Nothing but the best of everything at this hotel. Suite was spotless, perfectly located, great service and staff. Jennifer at the front desk is courteous and professional. Waiters and bartenders are the best. You get what you pay for here. We WILL be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try the colossal stone crab claws at the "Half-Shell Raw Bar" at the north end of Duval Street. They also serve Rolling Rock.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top