$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

4 stars
View map of 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
239 reviews
Great getaway

Laying on the beach in the beautiful sun was great. Jet skies where awesome. Beautiful pool. See full review

  • Roxanne G.
  • Apr 16, 2015
Location, Location, Location

For a beautiful beach view, courteous and competent staff, convenient Key West location and... See full review

  • Diana B
  • Apr 7, 2015
Luxury resort, on-site water sports along Key West's only natural beach
The Reach Resort underwent a major renovation and now features sumptuous accommodations and abundant amenities on the island's only natural beach. Located at the end of Simonton Street just east of the Southernmost Point Marker, Reach Resort sits a short walk frofm the Duval Street scene and about a mile from Mallory Square.  Guests can unwind in rooms with private balconies overlooking the ocean, relax by the outdoor pool or arrange water sports on the beach.

Highlights
  • Located on 450 feet of Key West's only natural sand beach
  • Beachfront water sports center
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
Rooms

The resort has many flavors of rooms and suites, all of which open onto private balconies--some have ocean views, others have pool or island views. Reach Resort rooms come with single king or two double beds, and suites have king beds and sitting areas with sleeper sofas. Bathrooms are stocked with plush bathrobes and LXR Clear beauty products, while in-room amenities include espresso machines, mini refrigerators, work desks and high-tech gear like LCD TVs, iHome clock radios and Wi-Fi access for a fee.

Dining

Strip House restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service, including prime-cut steaks and an extensive wine list.   

Recreation
During 2006 and 2007, Reach Resort underwent a $37 million USD renovation. Sitting along 450 feet of the island's only natural beach, the property features an outdoor pool and a beachfront water sports operator for boat, bike, kayak and Jet Ski rentals along with scuba, snorkeling and fishing excursions. Reach Resort guests have access to the facilities at a sister property, Casa Marina Resort, including spa services.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Key West Golf Club (5 mi/8 km)
  • Ernest Hemingway Museum (.6 mi/1 km)

Business
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • 4,706 square feet of flexible meeting space
Policies and Fees

A $25 USD ($28.13 USD including tax) daily resort charge includes Wi-Fi, in-room espresso, local and 800 phone calls, weekday newspaper and access to Reach Resort and Casa Marina property amenities.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
239 out of 239
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ozzy55
Chicago
Feb 24, 2013

Trouble in Paradise

The location is fantastic with great views, unfortunately we had a mechanical problem with the Air Conditioning. it couldn't be fixed but the staff did everything possible to make it right then offered to move us to another room, our view was so great, we opted to stay put. The staff offered to buy us dinner and take a night off our bill for the inconvience. It was well worth it, we will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roxanne G.
Business
Pascoag
Apr 16, 2015

Great getaway

Laying on the beach in the beautiful sun was great. Jet skies where awesome. Beautiful pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diana B
Business
N/A
Apr 7, 2015

Location, Location, Location

For a beautiful beach view, courteous and competent staff, convenient Key West location and surprisingly delicious food, The Reach is an excellent choice for vacationers. The only blip in our stay was a smoke alarm that went haywire and required an electrician to disarm. Just after the ear-splitting alarm began to sound, the telephone went on the blink and it was several minutes before we were able to call for help, but after the electrician disabled the alarm, all was again quiet and peaceful. Other than that minor inconvenience, our stay was perfect and it was nice to be able to walk from the hotel and enjoy Key West's destinations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicole C.
Business
Clinton Township
Feb 9, 2015

Can't wait to go back!

The Reach is AMAZING. Beautiful property, very attentive and friendly guests. We were given cucumbers for our eyes and free Italian ice while we laid at the pool/beach. The room was spacious and had a great view. It's walking distance to Duval Street, but far enough removed that it's a peaceful place to relax. My only complaint is there's no heater for the pool. But I feel like that's being a bit fussy :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kris
Business
Moon
Jan 22, 2015

Family Trip

We booked ocean view room but there is no ocean view from room. Front desk asked us to go to balcony to get ocean view and also mentioned company is marketing these rooms as ocean view but in fact they are not. Front desk also mentioned to get real ocean view room, it will cost $1000/night but are not available for that day. We booked by the wording Ocean View in the room description. But it is cheating for 500/night I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C.X.
Business
flushing
Jan 14, 2015

Love it

Right next to the ocean and we love it. The weather was perfect and the have their own pools open till late night. the room is very clean . Although its bit expensive but over all its good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Catherine G.
Business
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

Girls weekend

The location was just what I was looking for. I was unhappy with location of my two suites, which I was told would be across the walkway and instead they were several walkways away. Also 3 out of the 4 days stay there were never any water bottles left by housecleaning as well as the outside patio was never cleaned. They also only provided an espresso maker instead of regular coffee maker forcing you to purchase from room service or the store on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TRF2
Business
Belton
Dec 29, 2014

First visit to The Reach

Took my wife there for her Birthday. Expected room to be much cleaner, but when the wife began inspecting the room, things got worse. Ended up with resort fees waived. Staff was helpful when they were asked to address issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Bring the right kind of footwear if your staying long unless you rent a scooter or cab it.

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TRF2
Business
Belton
Dec 20, 2014

First visit to The Reach

Took my wife there for her Birthday. Expected room to be much cleaner, but when the wife began inspecting the room, things got worse. Ended up with resort fees waived. Staff was helpful when they were asked to address issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Bring the right kind of footwear if your staying long unless you rent a scooter or cab it.

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dawg1111
Business
key west
Oct 15, 2014

All a al carte

The amenities cost you an extra 25 a day which when ask what they were? it was explained that was for the pool and such, only cappuccino in the room, a coke was available in the gift shop for $3.76 but hey they had a ice machine, parking was only $20 a day food in restaurant was good a la carte only with the sides around $8 each. Anyone checking in off the street were rewarded with complimentary cookies, champagne, and water gift package! if you had reservations you got a door key. Hotel was great clean, great location staff was also great. But even the $39 cheapo on I95 do a continental breakfast and has a coffee pot in the room and at a 1/10 of the cost. It was very evident that they were not concerned about returning guest. For me when I pay this much for a room I don't expect to be over charged for things that normally included. Sometimes you don't feel like you get what you paid for!! This time I know I didn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

stay at the other end of Duval st there is a very nice hotel there. price is comparable and better service

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
prpball
Business
louisville, ky
Oct 4, 2014

no dresser but overall very nice

For some odd reason there was no dresser in the room. When they remodeled they decided not to put dressers in the rooms. Other than that the room was clean and comfy. The overall atmosphere of the hotel was pleasant. Warning!! Restaurant is very expensive, especially for breakfast. Buffet style breakfast only, 28 bucks per person. Ouch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

duvalla street is just 1 block over and there is a ton of shopping and food options. you'll want to drive at least 6 blocks up for parking because the good shopping and food starts around the 600 block and the hotel is around the 1300 block.

Back to menu Return to top