$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

4 stars
1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
367 reviews
Loved it!

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. The staff... See full review

  • AnitaBlev
  • Jul 6, 2014
The Best of Key West!

The hotel was easily reached by taxi and you could share the fare with other passengers. The bell... See full review

  • Dr. Carole
  • Mar 25, 2014
Luxury resort, on-site water sports along Key West's only natural beach
The Reach Resort underwent a major renovation and now features sumptuous accommodations and abundant amenities on the island's only natural beach. Located at the end of Simonton Street just east of the Southernmost Point Marker, Reach Resort sits a short walk frofm the Duval Street scene and about a mile from Mallory Square.  Guests can unwind in rooms with private balconies overlooking the ocean, relax by the outdoor pool or arrange water sports on the beach.

Highlights
  • Located on 450 feet of Key West's only natural sand beach
  • Beachfront water sports center
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
Rooms

The resort has many flavors of rooms and suites, all of which open onto private balconies--some have ocean views, others have pool or island views. Reach Resort rooms come with single king or two double beds, and suites have king beds and sitting areas with sleeper sofas. Bathrooms are stocked with plush bathrobes and LXR Clear beauty products, while in-room amenities include espresso machines, mini refrigerators, work desks and high-tech gear like LCD TVs, iHome clock radios and Wi-Fi access for a fee.

Dining

Strip House restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service, including prime-cut steaks and an extensive wine list.   

Recreation
During 2006 and 2007, Reach Resort underwent a $37 million USD renovation. Sitting along 450 feet of the island's only natural beach, the property features an outdoor pool and a beachfront water sports operator for boat, bike, kayak and Jet Ski rentals along with scuba, snorkeling and fishing excursions. Reach Resort guests have access to the facilities at a sister property, Casa Marina Resort, including spa services.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Key West Golf Club (5 mi/8 km)
  • Ernest Hemingway Museum (.6 mi/1 km)

Business
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • 4,706 square feet of flexible meeting space
Policies and Fees

A $25 USD ($28.13 USD including tax) daily resort charge includes Wi-Fi, in-room espresso, local and 800 phone calls, weekday newspaper and access to Reach Resort and Casa Marina property amenities.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

24.5475 -81.7939
Nearby airports
Key West Intl Airport, (EYW), 2.00, MI, S; Miami Intl Airport, (MIA), 150.00, MI, N; Ft Lauderdale Intl Airport, (FLL), 180.00, MI, N;

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (367)

Ratings and reviews for The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
367 out of 367
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DozerX
Chicago, IL
Jan 8, 2013

Perfect place

Friendly staff. They upgraded us twice and placed us in a perfect room, overlooking the courtyard with a view of the ocean. This is a beautiful spot, very laidback with very friendly staff and is walking distance to all the good stuff. Will stay here again if we make it back to the Keys!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Garbos Grille! Very good, fresh food. Really nice people and helpful. This is basically a food cart, but dont let that fool you. This is high quality, fresh seafood that tastes amazing!

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AnitaBlev
Alabama
Jul 6, 2014

Loved it!

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. The staff was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Getaway for fun
Ohio
Jun 23, 2014

Not bad, but they nickel and dime you to death

Overall the location was the best. Rooms were fine, but all of the charges on top of your bill were ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler 03
Memphis, Tn
Jun 8, 2014

The Reach

The is an older building so the rooms are a bit larger. Bath towels are brought in twice a day. Yet bathrooms are not cleaned each day. The beach made for the hotel always has a thick abundance of seaweed on the beach. It was cleaned off once in 6 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TRF2
Kansas City, Mo.
Jun 3, 2014

Missed opportunity

Staff didn't seem that interested in helping or greeting you unless they worked for tips. Customer service was less than desirable, unless you made someone make eye contact with you. Room was filthy, examples are: Carpet needed cleaned, filthy glass in bathroom with stick substance in bottom of it, hair dryer worn and had hair hanging from inside it, bed mattress obviously old due to body molds/depressions in sleeping positions, flat surfaces hadn't been dusted in months, except mirror hanging by entry door, carpet not vacuumed, note pad next to nightstand that was used as a coaster was water logged and dried. Good news is that cleaning staff inspected our concerns and addressed issues at hand as best they could while trying to cool off the Mrs on her birthday, yes my wife's birthday to boot. Management waived resort fees for the week. Not the best experience at a hotel that carries the Waldorf Astoria name (The Reach). Disappointed. The location of the hotel, the beach, and the Key West island way of life carried the rest of our experience. Definitely had to (Reach) down to find that special something at this hotel..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Siboney - Great Cuban food.

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
martafoos
PIttsburgh
May 19, 2014

Not as nice as Casa Marina, but closer

The best thing about this hotel is the private beach. Not at all rocky, very nice. BUT the price is practically the same as the sister hotel Casa Marina, and that hotel is far, far, far nicer. A bit further away from Duval, yes, but! If you ride bikes, you will be fine. If you walk, it may pose more of a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ambrosia- get the salmon sushi.

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vagabond Kid
Richmond, Virginia
Apr 10, 2014

Excellence

The Reach is everything I have come to expect in a Waldorf hotel. The location at the quiet end of the island, the beautiful grounds the staff, all were excellent. We stayed for six nights and did not want to leave,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Louie's Back Yard is literally next door, through a path by the pool. The restaurant offers superb dining and the most charming atmosphere on the island of Key West.

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. Carole
Wyandotte, MI
Mar 25, 2014

The Best of Key West!

The hotel was easily reached by taxi and you could share the fare with other passengers. The bell staff greeted you at the door and welcomed you with them holding the door open for your entrance. The pool is right next to the beach. Exquisite swimming and sunning which is why I came. The meals there were excellent as well. At the pool, every 2:30PM you are served free ice cream and given cucumbers to cool your eyes and a cool washcloth to refresh your face. My room was on the third floor and I had a view of the courtyard, the turquoise sea and the nighttime sky where I spotted Orion's belt. This was my first visit and it will NOT be my last! I loved it and have a beautiful tan to sport here in cold MI. Sincerely, Dr. Carole M. Rowland

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear walking shoes and you will be able to navigate Key West easily. That's the way to get into the spirit of the Keys!

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoannG
Bethesda, MD
Feb 22, 2014

worth the splurge

The location of The Reach is great - in the quiet part of town and right on the beach. The private beach is the real draw, since there are few beaches in KW. The housekeeping left something to be desired. The room was clean, but the little details were not attended to. After the first day (of 5) there was no bath mat and the toiletries were not replenished. The sheets were not changed unless we asked for it. The hotel was quiet and the balconies were lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Louie's Backyard for dinner. Southernmost Hotel Cafe and Bar for lunch or dinner.

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
52carp
Pearl River, NY
Feb 22, 2014

Top Shelf

Nothing but the best of everything at this hotel. Suite was spotless, perfectly located, great service and staff. Jennifer at the front desk is courteous and professional. Waiters and bartenders are the best. You get what you pay for here. We WILL be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try the colossal stone crab claws at the "Half-Shell Raw Bar" at the north end of Duval Street. They also serve Rolling Rock.

Review of The Reach Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bob Road Warrior
Michigan
Feb 14, 2014

This is a Resort In Name Only

Terrible Check In experience. No welcome just business like. Room was cleaned 1 time in 5 days and only after we complained, They blamed that on understaffing and too many check ins. Bar and Restaurant were dead - probably because the Bartender was angry and unwelcoming. Try to get a drink by the pool? Forget it. The only good people working at this property were the H2O staff working the towels and programs at the beach. All other service was worthless - I know because I travel for business 150 nights a year. Check Out was the rudest experience I have ever had. The Location is great - the property is nice otherwise but for $500 plus a night and a supposed resort by Waldorf Astoria? Never again. My suggestion - is you go right next door to The Southernmost Hotel On The Beach - incredibly friendly staff - great pool - great bartenders and servers - and happy to be there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go Next Door to the Southernmost Hotel On The Beach - you will not be disappointed.

Back to menu Return to top