The Beach Bungalow

3 stars
View map of 1815 Atlantic Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
34 reviews
Cozy and Clean, perfect for two

This bungalow was just perfect for the two of us. We really enjoyed the tropical setting and the... See full review

  • DRB1962
  • Dec 14, 2012
Cute, clean, and cozy.

The beach bungalow was just big enough for 2 people to stay comfortably with each other. It was... See full review

  • Jessie2012
  • Jul 26, 2012
Key West local-style with one-bedroom vacation home near Smathers Beach
Experience Key West like a local by renting a furnished vacation home with the Beach Villas. These affordable one-bedroom vacation homes sit just a short walk from Smathers Beach in a quiet, residential Key West neighborhood. The properties sit on Atlantic Boulevard near the middle of Key West, less than three miles from Mallory Square and the bars, restaurants and shopping around Duval Street. Boasting free parking and free Wi-Fi, the houses from the Beach Villas sit among tropical gardens of swaying coconut palms, red oleanders and flowering hibiscus.
Highlights
  • Walking distance to Smathers Beach
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor Jacuzzi
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
Rooms
The Beach Villas offers two Key West vacation-home rentals with private porches overlooking tropical gardens. Each house features one bedroom with a queen-size bed, a bathroom with a shower and tub, and a kitchenette with a sink, a microwave, dishes and a refrigerator. Other amenities include stereos, TVs, queen-size sleeper sofas, cordless phones, air conditioning and coin-operated washers and dryers. The Beach Villas guests can stay connected with free Wi-Fi access.
Features
Guests renting a vacation property from the Beach Villas can easily walk to Smathers Beach or to nearby pubs, cafes and restaurants. Free parking is available so guests can bring a car to explore the island. Visitors can step out the French doors onto either a private balcony or a covered deck, both of which feature outdoor furniture and lounge chairs. The tropical garden of palm trees and hibiscus blossoms surrounds an outdoor Jacuzzi, fireplace and gas grill. Bike rentals are available at the Beach Villas, and guests have free Wi-Fi access.
Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Miami International Airport (160 mi/256 km)
Attractions
  • Smathers Beach (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Sloppy Joe's Bar (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Mallory Square (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Key West Botanical Forest and Garden (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
Policies and fees

Guests required to be 25 years or older. Please contact The Beach Villas directly at TGofKW@aol.com to receive your key pickup instructions. Be sure to include your name and arrival date. No refunds will be given if you fail to follow the above instructions.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Beach Bungalow also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Beach Bungalow Rooms

Beach Guest Suite
Beach Guest Suite with one queen bed, refrigerator, microwave, wet bar, private bathroom, remote control T.V., cordless phone and answering service, CD player, hunter ceiling fans, outdoor gas grill, washer/dryer.Tropical jacuzzi also on the property.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for The Beach Bungalow

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beach Bungalow

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Megrit the Egrit
Business
Woodbury, NJ
Mar 15, 2010

The Beach Villas

This is a great place. We have stayed at many places in Key West and this is the best of them all. Clean, comfortable, quiet and it's not a hotel - it's like a home. Smathers Beach is a short walk and Salute' is a great restaurant on the beach - also within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Salute' on the beach - great any time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach Bungalow

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
oldfoggies
Business
IA
Feb 23, 2010

good for a short stay for a single

Our unit was smaller than the pictures looked. It would have been nice to have a small table and chairs to eat at since we ate breakfast in, but then there would not have been enough room. We used the coffee table in the small livingroom. Also the kitchenette was in the bedroom, which was inconveinent as my husband is an early riser and I am not, so he couldn't really use the kitchen as he would have liked. There was a drop cord through the wall between the livingroom and bedroom which seemed a bit scarry for safety. We had to move the bed to plug and unplug the air conditioner as it didn't work correctly using the control buttons. The patio door blinds are in need of repair or replaced to have more privacy. The bathroom was very roomy, almost as big as the livingroom. There was only one key to the doors, so when my husband went out early, for a walk or run, he would lock the door for safety, but then I would be locked in with no way out if need be. This unit would better suit a single renter. Also, the key pick-up was a hassle and a bit confusing for travel-tired newcomers. Thank goodness we had a GPS. It is very close to the beach and the airport which is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We took along a GPS which saved a ton of time finding places of interest. It's just a short drive to most anywhere as the island isn't very big.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach Bungalow

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
aucubbie
Business
Birmingham, AL
Feb 9, 2010

Grandma's extra room in her house

I was very disappointed with room [...] Its not a hotel room, its an extra room at your grandma's house. What hotel room do you have to lock your door with the deadbolt only? The couch was from the 90's and was sticky. The bed was uncomfortable and the head board wasn't even attached to the bed, so if you accidently hit the headboard it hit the wall. No shampoo provided, only soft soap that you would find at a gas station bathroom. They do provide a box fan for your comfort. lol (box fan!)lol I don't read every review on a hotel before I book it, instead I rely on the star rating and the overall user rating. The "Beach Villas" (NOT on the beach, so don't call yourselves that) had a 4.2 user rating and for people who want a hangout on the deck and relax then this is the extra room for you, but it is NOT a hotel room. Its a room of a condo that you would rent if you were going to the beach, but not on the beach. I seriously considered leaving and driving back to Miami that night and pay additional money for a hotel, but decide I wasn't going to make my son weather the 3 hour drive back. Looking back, I wish I had. Other than the, "Beach Villas" (lol) our trip was great. I hope this was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach Bungalow

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New England Guy
Business
New England
Jan 28, 2010

Could have been better

We found this rental here on [...] and chose it because the reviews were pretty good. Not long after we booked it there was a pretty negative [...] review so we wrote to [...]., the owner, about it. He wrote back saying basically how 'most reviews were pretty good'. My girlfriend and I stayed in the Guest Suite for 4 nights in January. In addition to my subjective impressions I will provide a link to a video I took of the unit so you can see with your own eyes.My first impression of the unit is that it is small. There is a bedroom/kitchen combination room, a sitting/TV room and a bathroom. The place clearly has not been updated in some time, i.e. the fixtures are not very new, etc. My main issue with the place is that there is no place to put your things there. The bedroom has no closet at all, nor any drawers for clothes storage. Same for the TV room, no place to put things there, except for the couch and coffee table which we did use at times due to a lack of space anywhere else. There is a closet in the bathroom, though about half of it is filled with a wicker-type, full-height storage shelf-unit used for towels. The other half has an ironing board. There is a shelf about 6 feet high that I ended up putting some clothes on also due to the severe lack of storage space. The hot-tub water was cloudy and dirty. If it was my tub I would drain it, clean the tub and refill it. It was not very pleasant.When we arrived, [...]. showed us the unit and also gave us a quick tour of the other 2-story unit in back of the house. He encouraged us to visit his tourist/ticket booth and book some touristy things with him (which we did, and did get discounts on). One other thing I wanted to mention was that on our last day there, our flight did not leave until 6:30 PM, so we stopped by the ticket booth in the morning and saw [...], told us that it was ok to leave our things in the unit as long as we wanted and not to worry about anyone coming to clean it as no one else was checking in that day. He was very pleasant and accommodating. We thanked him and left. When we returned to the unit to pack up later that afternoon, [...] was at the house and told us that we had to get all of our things out of the unit and leave our bags out on the deck of the house. We did that and went out to ride bikes again. When we finally returned to prepare to leave I thought it was pretty odd that [...] would not let me back into the unit (we still had the keys) to use the bathroom. Instead he told me to go down the street and use the public bathroom down the street. Our impression was that once we were out and done paying, the 'host niceties' were out the window.Anyway, here is the link to the video I took of the unit. Though we are planning to return to Key West, we will not be staying at The Beach Villas again.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vTbHPNTLrko

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach Bungalow

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rod & Nancy
Business
Racine, WI
Nov 27, 2009

Key West Great Getaway

We enjoyed our stay very much! It was cozy for just the two of us. The bedroom was very large with a king size bed. The kitchen was small but functional. The staff was very helpful and [...] was very courteous. There was a binder full of great ideas from where to eat, shop, attractions & even park (parking is a premium). The binder gave us helpful hints to park for free. Just 2 miles from downtown, close to the beach. We would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Jack's Seafood Shack is a great place to eat. We had Grouper & Seared Scallops. The whole meal was fantastic & service was great, all at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach Bungalow

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Conch Rep. Larry
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 12, 2009

Incredible private tropical hideaway.

This was one of our best trips ever. We enjoyed the privacy and quiet. We could spend mornings and afternoons on the beach, and then head to Duval Street and Mallory Square for evening entertainment. Everyone we had to deal with was very friendly and helpful. We would have no problem recommending the Beach Villas to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Parking in Old Town can be a challenge. There is a parking lot on Simonton Street near Greene Street that is $10.00 a day, but only $5.00 on some evenings. This is more convenient than a lot of the street parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach Bungalow

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Palm, FL
Sep 15, 2009

great place to stay, peaceful & relaxing

The unit was very private with a cozy deck. The Location was great. It was away from all of the downtown noise and parties, but within a 5 minute scooter drive of all of these activities. We had a wonderful stay. Would come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach Bungalow

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christopher J Roberts
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Aug 21, 2009

Very Laid Back and Island Ready

It was not a hotel, but an excellent hideaway bungalow...We enjoyed the atmosphere and hidden island charm...We would stay there again if our destination goes back to the keys.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Park off of Duval street where there are no parking meters....it get's costly to park on duval...must visit Captain Tony's, Sunset at the pier, and the Butterfly santuary....and of course at the sunset on the pier please visit Monica Dahl who does excellent palm reading.......

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach Bungalow

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Holly Island Girl
Business
Columbia, MD
May 26, 2009

The perfect vacation!

This was my first trip to Key West, but it won't be my last. The Beach Villas was the perfect place to stay for someone like me who likes a quiet and unique place to stay. All the people at the Fury booth, who gave me my keys and helped me find my way around, were wonderful. Their info steered me away from the tourist traps and into where the locals go, which was where I wanted to go. I'd recommend this lovely place, complete with cat, to all my friends and I'll be staying there the next time I'm in Key West (which won't be long).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I had several meals at the "2 Friends" restaurant on Front street. It's a family-run place with great food and service to match.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach Bungalow

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smokey Cold
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Apr 20, 2009

Perfect Getaway!

This was a great place. Very relaxing and peaceful. Like a home away from home. It was nice to stay someplace where someone takes pride in their place. Not meant for children, more for adults.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top