$158 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

The Beach Bungalow

3 stars
1815 Atlantic Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
61 reviews
Cozy and Clean, perfect for two

This bungalow was just perfect for the two of us. We really enjoyed the tropical setting and the... See full review

  • DRB1962
  • Dec 14, 2012
Cute, clean, and cozy.

The beach bungalow was just big enough for 2 people to stay comfortably with each other. It was... See full review

  • Jessie2012
  • Jul 26, 2012
Key West local-style with one-bedroom vacation home near Smathers Beach
Experience Key West like a local by renting a furnished vacation home with the Beach Villas. These affordable one-bedroom vacation homes sit just a short walk from Smathers Beach in a quiet, residential Key West neighborhood. The properties sit on Atlantic Boulevard near the middle of Key West, less than three miles from Mallory Square and the bars, restaurants and shopping around Duval Street. Boasting free parking and free Wi-Fi, the houses from the Beach Villas sit among tropical gardens of swaying coconut palms, red oleanders and flowering hibiscus.
Highlights
  • Walking distance to Smathers Beach
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor Jacuzzi
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
Rooms
The Beach Villas offers two Key West vacation-home rentals with private porches overlooking tropical gardens. Each house features one bedroom with a queen-size bed, a bathroom with a shower and tub, and a kitchenette with a sink, a microwave, dishes and a refrigerator. Other amenities include stereos, TVs, queen-size sleeper sofas, cordless phones, air conditioning and coin-operated washers and dryers. The Beach Villas guests can stay connected with free Wi-Fi access.
Features
Guests renting a vacation property from the Beach Villas can easily walk to Smathers Beach or to nearby pubs, cafes and restaurants. Free parking is available so guests can bring a car to explore the island. Visitors can step out the French doors onto either a private balcony or a covered deck, both of which feature outdoor furniture and lounge chairs. The tropical garden of palm trees and hibiscus blossoms surrounds an outdoor Jacuzzi, fireplace and gas grill. Bike rentals are available at the Beach Villas, and guests have free Wi-Fi access.
Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Miami International Airport (160 mi/256 km)
Attractions
  • Smathers Beach (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Sloppy Joe's Bar (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Mallory Square (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Key West Botanical Forest and Garden (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
Policies and fees

Guests required to be 25 years or older. Please contact The Beach Villas directly at TGofKW@aol.com to receive your key pickup instructions. Be sure to include your name and arrival date. No refunds will be given if you fail to follow the above instructions.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

24.5517 -81.7779
Area served
Key West, FL
Nearby airports
Key West International Airport-- 5 minutes away by car.
Area description
The Beach Villas Guest Suites, live like a local in this wonderful Key West neighborhood just a half block from Smather's Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Beach Bungalow also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Beach Bungalow Rooms

Beach Guest Suite
Beach Guest Suite with one queen bed, refrigerator, microwave, wet bar, private bathroom, remote control T.V., cordless phone and answering service, CD player, hunter ceiling fans, outdoor gas grill, washer/dryer.Tropical jacuzzi also on the property.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for The Beach Bungalow

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beach Bungalow

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
small town, nc
Dec 16, 2010

enjoyable

went to celbrate my 50th birthday and get away from the cold but I guess i should have gone southwest and not south. i did the duval crawl booze walk it was ok but I over did it and made the next day leaving rough. i wanted to fish but the weather did not cooperate. i planned on cooking my catch on the outdoor grill but windy and cold, didn't go. was going to partake in the hot tube but to cold. the hotel was very pleasant and comfortable. duval and such was to far to walk to but there are plenty of modes to get there. did the trolley tour but not untill the last day you actaully get two days for the same price better to do earlier. with three or four option available on site this would be a good place to have a few people to share the entire facility. looking forward to another trip back and do plan on staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

covered it earlier short to the trolley station north end of town but take advantage of the two days

Review of The Beach Bungalow

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
small town, nc
Dec 16, 2010

enjoyable

went to celbrate my 50th birthday and get away from the cold but I guess i should have gone southwest and not south. i did the duval crawl booze walk it was ok but I over did it and made the next day leaving rough. i wanted to fish but the weather did not cooperate. i planned on cooking my catch on the outdoor grill but windy and cold, didn't go. was going to partake in the hot tube but to cold. the hotel was very pleasant and comfortable. duval and such was to far to walk to but there are plenty of modes to get there. did the trolley tour but not untill the last day you actaully get two days for the same price better to do earlier. with three or four option available on site this would be a good place to have a few people to share the entire facility. looking forward to another trip back and do plan on staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

covered it earlier short to the trolley station north end of town but take advantage of the two days

Review of The Beach Bungalow

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron & Nita
Plant City, FL
Aug 26, 2010

Very calming

Read and relax. Very quiet and enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Beach Bungalow

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron & Nita
Plant City, FL
Aug 26, 2010

Very calming

Read and relax. Very quiet and enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Beach Bungalow

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Retired, Re-employed Bernie
Paulding County, Ohio
Jul 18, 2010

A Jimmy Buffet Escape

I'd never stay anywhere else unless I HAD to! True Island atmosphere. Have a sloppy joe and "sloppy rita"; peel & eat shrimp and a Loaded Landshark @ Margaritaville; take the sunset glass-bottom boat trip; shop not just on Duval, but the smaller shops off the beaten track; Butterfly House is unique. The whole experience of Key West is like nowhere else on earth. Best experienced if you aren't "normal"!!! I'm ready to go again as soon as I pack!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

I'm in the 60+ range: love the nightlife, but not 24/7! The Villa is great'cause you can be on the beach after a half-block walk.Unless you really want to travel around the island a lot, renting a car is more of a pain than not:parking is scarce. Best mode is renting a scooter. Best 4 me: hop a bus to town & cab it back when you've had enough shopping and crazyness. Kick back and have a cold one on the deck while you plan the next adventure. Bet ya could stay a month and still not experience all the history and activities the island has to offer.

Review of The Beach Bungalow

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Retired, Re-employed Bernie
Paulding County, Ohio
Jul 18, 2010

A Jimmy Buffet Escape

I'd never stay anywhere else unless I HAD to! True Island atmosphere. Have a sloppy joe and "sloppy rita"; peel & eat shrimp and a Loaded Landshark @ Margaritaville; take the sunset glass-bottom boat trip; shop not just on Duval, but the smaller shops off the beaten track; Butterfly House is unique. The whole experience of Key West is like nowhere else on earth. Best experienced if you aren't "normal"!!! I'm ready to go again as soon as I pack!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

I'm in the 60+ range: love the nightlife, but not 24/7! The Villa is great'cause you can be on the beach after a half-block walk.Unless you really want to travel around the island a lot, renting a car is more of a pain than not:parking is scarce. Best mode is renting a scooter. Best 4 me: hop a bus to town & cab it back when you've had enough shopping and crazyness. Kick back and have a cold one on the deck while you plan the next adventure. Bet ya could stay a month and still not experience all the history and activities the island has to offer.

Review of The Beach Bungalow

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J & E
El Paso, TX
Jul 5, 2010

Great location near beach

The outdoor area was very nice and relaxing with lush tropical plants surrounding the location and several patio areas that were very enjoyable. We stayed at the "Beach Bunaglow" which was a good size unit with a loft bedroom which had it's own private patio. The kitchen was small but accomidating since we mostly ate out. We also liked the fact that Smather's Beach was only one block away.Overall our stay was enjoyable and look forward to staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Caroline's on Duvall St. had the best food we had on our vacation and was inexpensive with huge portions. You'll become repeat customers like us.

Review of The Beach Bungalow

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J & E
El Paso, TX
Jul 5, 2010

Great location near beach

The outdoor area was very nice and relaxing with lush tropical plants surrounding the location and several patio areas that were very enjoyable. We stayed at the "Beach Bunaglow" which was a good size unit with a loft bedroom which had it's own private patio. The kitchen was small but accomidating since we mostly ate out. We also liked the fact that Smather's Beach was only one block away.Overall our stay was enjoyable and look forward to staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Caroline's on Duvall St. had the best food we had on our vacation and was inexpensive with huge portions. You'll become repeat customers like us.

Review of The Beach Bungalow

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
ft. lauderdale, fl
Jun 7, 2010

don't waste your money!

we couldn't even stay at the beach villas because the air conditioning did not work. we were unable to reach owner to fix the problem and had to spend half a day looking for another hotel to stay in because it was a holiday weekend. we ended up having to stay at 2 different hotels because none had a room for the 3 nights that we were down there for.i should have known that when you have to pick your hotel key up at a"ticket booth" there was a potential for trouble. the owner finally returned my call after leaving 4 messages at 10pm at night and was very rude he told me that he wouldn't refund my money and he would get the air conditioning fixed the next day. long story short i DO NOT recommend this hotel! it was a terrible experience and ruined our vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Beach Bungalow

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
ft. lauderdale, fl
Jun 7, 2010

don't waste your money!

we couldn't even stay at the beach villas because the air conditioning did not work. we were unable to reach owner to fix the problem and had to spend half a day looking for another hotel to stay in because it was a holiday weekend. we ended up having to stay at 2 different hotels because none had a room for the 3 nights that we were down there for.i should have known that when you have to pick your hotel key up at a"ticket booth" there was a potential for trouble. the owner finally returned my call after leaving 4 messages at 10pm at night and was very rude he told me that he wouldn't refund my money and he would get the air conditioning fixed the next day. long story short i DO NOT recommend this hotel! it was a terrible experience and ruined our vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top