$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Southernmost on the Beach

4 stars
508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
118 reviews
Great spot for 20 th anniversary

We loved it Great service and location Pools, bars and room were terrific See full review

  • Johansen
  • Jul 18, 2014
Great time !!!!!

Drove 1040 miles from TN and was greeted by Ashley at he front desk with a big smile. Was very... See full review

  • Green35Hotrod
  • Jun 21, 2014
Newly expanded hotel with beach and oceanfront guestrooms
The newly expanded, updated Southernmost on the Beach hotel stretches along a secluded section of Key West coastline, far enough to provide respite from downtown craziness, but close enough to hit the scene any time. Guests can catch some rays on the private beach or visit the pier for front row seats of spectacular sunrises and sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel also boasts a junior-size Olympic pool with an oceanfront bar and massage services.

Highlights
  • Located waterfront along a quiet stretch of beach on the south side of Key West
  • All rooms and suites offer either oceanfront access or ocean views
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Rooms

The hotel offers 123 guestrooms, 80 of them newly built, all decorated with dark mahogany furniture and blue and white accents that lend a nautical feel. Guestrooms come in ocean-view and oceanfront styles with either single kings or pairs of queen beds. Custom-designed penthouse suites add to the luxury. In-room amenities include coffee makers, mini refrigerators, iPod docks and free Wi-Fi access.

Dining
The pool bar serves cocktails and a light lunch menu, while the nearby Southernmost Beach Cafe dishes up fresh seafood and waterfront views.   

Recreation
As part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection, Southernmost on the Beach sits among its sister properties along the south coast of Key West. Guests can relax in hammocks or beach chairs on the private beach or take a dip in the outdoor pool. Massage services and a fitness center round out the leisure offerings.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory (1 block)
  • Ernest Hemingway Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Business
  • Copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • Meeting spaces
  • On-site event coordinator
  • Free Wi-Fi  

Hotel Map

24.5475 -81.7956
Area served
Key West
Nearby airports
The closest airport is Key West International Airport (EYW).
Area description
The Southernmost on the Beach is located on the Atlantic shore of historic old town of Key West. This gorgeous oceanfront property stretches out on a secluded section of the island; away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The brand new and renewed Southernmost on the Beach hotel is just about half a block from the famous Duval Street and about a block from the Southernmost Point of the USA.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Southernmost on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Southernmost on the Beach Rooms

LUXURY - ROOM
New partial ocean view balcony 2 queen beds. Located on the second or third floor in one of our new buildings. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe balcony king room. Located on the second floor in one of our new buildings. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
OCEANVIEW - ROOM
West Lawn Oceanfront room with 1 king bed. Located on the first or second floor. Newly remodeled. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access. Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities are available at the Southernmost Hotel (across the street from the Southernmost on the Beach). This spacious air conditioned poolside conference room can accommodate parties up to 50 guests. Wireless internet access, dry erase boards, flat screen television, screens, overhead projectors, cd/vcr, video conferencing, surround sound, podium, flip charts, easels, stationery are available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for Southernmost on the Beach

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 118
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Johansen
New Jersey
Jul 18, 2014

Great spot for 20 th anniversary

We loved it Great service and location Pools, bars and room were terrific

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try Santiago's Bodega great dinner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Green35Hotrod
Key West,FL.
Jun 21, 2014

Great time !!!!!

Drove 1040 miles from TN and was greeted by Ashley at he front desk with a big smile. Was very tired and she made everything go fast and smoothly to get us in our room quickly. Room was great with side view which was great to sit on the deck with a nice breeze.Pools were awesome .It was a great vacation and we are already planning next years trip. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Traveler to Disney
Highlands Ranch, CO.
May 8, 2014

Happy couple

This was an awesome hotel, worth the money! The beach cafe was Superb! Ate their twice within 10 hrs. Fun atmosphere! The rooms are sooo cute and the bed was so comfy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Yum, yum and super yum!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jean Esquire
New Jersey
Mar 15, 2014

Awesome Key West Hotel

Best place to stay. Rooms clean, food excellent, bar and pool great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best eggs Benedict ever

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stressed Accountant
Hamden, Connecticut
Jan 25, 2014

Total Relaxation

We love this hotel. We have stayed there 3 times and each time had a great time. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the setting is beautiful, the restaurant excellent and the room incredibly comfortable. We go to Key West to relax and Southern Most on the Beach makes that possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rabbit3
Iowa
Jan 14, 2014

Didn't get what was promised

I just returned home after staying the weekend at this hotel. It was a GORGEOUS hotel, however I booked an ocean view room through THIS SITE and since they didn't have balcony rooms available on their site, I was told to call and request an ocean view balcony upgrade for an additional cost of $30/night. THIS SITE was completely wrong, and I was charged $350 (from the hotel) for the 2 night upgrade. At check in, I was told I had a "partial" ocean view room. I told the woman at reception that I was paying for an upgrade ocean view balcony and she told me that I could still see the ocean from my balcony. (Yeah- I could see it if I leaned out 3 feet from my balcony AND looked around the corner. My room 100% faced another building of hotel rooms. No where in my booking through THIS SITE or through the email/phone conversation I had with hotel staff, was the word "partial" ever mentioned. If I'm paying $650/night to stay at a hotel, I would hope that the rate description would be accurate. I'm super disappointed in THIS SITE for their incorrect information and with the hotel for what they classify their "ocean view balcony" upgrade to be. Also- you can't control the thermostat in your room- they do a hotel-wide temperature and I was sweating all weekend. Eek!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Latitudes is a FANTASTIC restaurant!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midasmiser
Ocean isle Beach N C
Dec 20, 2013

Will stay there again

Great location--far enough away from downtown but close enough to walk to everything. Rooms were very nice with large updated bathrooms. Restaurant on premises was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Butterfly conservancy was very cool.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dirty Dick
Naples, FL
Dec 18, 2013

Great Time!

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Southernmost Hotel! Fantastic location with breathtaking sunset view. The staff could not have been more helpful. Easy walk to the main street (Duval) so we could catch all the sites in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hemmingway's House is a can't miss!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Denver Katwoman
Denver, CO
Nov 21, 2013

Great staff, great location

The staff was outstanding-always there for any questions or needs. The property was well maintained. Lots of places to relax-by the pool, on a small beach, secluded among the palms. Overall a great escape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cathy239
Roseville, MI
Sep 15, 2013

anniversary trip

We had a great time here; the room was clean and comforatable and pool was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Flaming Buoy restaurant was fabulous! You must try it! The Conch Republic was very good too!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search