$349 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Southernmost on the Beach

5 stars
508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Best In Stay Elite
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
121 reviews
Great stay

Another wonderful, worry-free stay at an amazing resort! See full review

  • EricCam
  • Oct 11, 2014
Great spot for 20 th anniversary

We loved it Great service and location Pools, bars and room were terrific See full review

  • Johansen
  • Jul 18, 2014
Newly expanded hotel with beach and oceanfront guestrooms
The newly expanded, updated Southernmost on the Beach hotel stretches along a secluded section of Key West coastline, far enough to provide respite from downtown craziness, but close enough to hit the scene any time. Guests can catch some rays on the private beach or visit the pier for front row seats of spectacular sunrises and sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel also boasts a junior-size Olympic pool with an oceanfront bar and massage services.

Highlights
  • Located waterfront along a quiet stretch of beach on the south side of Key West
  • All rooms and suites offer either oceanfront access or ocean views
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Parking (fees apply)
Rooms

The hotel offers 123 guestrooms, 80 of them newly built, all decorated with dark mahogany furniture and blue and white accents that lend a nautical feel. Guestrooms come in ocean-view and oceanfront styles with either single kings or pairs of queen beds. Custom-designed penthouse suites add to the luxury. In-room amenities include coffee makers, mini refrigerators, iPod docks and free Wi-Fi access.

Dining
The pool bar serves cocktails and a light lunch menu, while the nearby Southernmost Beach Cafe dishes up fresh seafood and waterfront views.   

Recreation
As part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection, Southernmost on the Beach sits among its sister properties along the south coast of Key West. Guests can relax in hammocks or beach chairs on the private beach or take a dip in the outdoor pool. Massage services and a fitness center round out the leisure offerings.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory (1 block)
  • Ernest Hemingway Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Business
  • Copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • Meeting spaces
  • On-site event coordinator
  • Free Wi-Fi  
Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee is $10 USD plus 7.5% tax per car and per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Southernmost on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Southernmost on the Beach Rooms

LUXURY - ROOM
New partial ocean view balcony 2 queen beds. Located on the second or third floor in one of our new buildings. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe balcony king room. Located on the second floor in one of our new buildings. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
OCEANVIEW - ROOM
West Lawn Oceanfront room with 1 king bed. Located on the first or second floor. Newly remodeled. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access. Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities are available at the Southernmost Hotel (across the street from the Southernmost on the Beach). This spacious air conditioned poolside conference room can accommodate parties up to 50 guests. Wireless internet access, dry erase boards, flat screen television, screens, overhead projectors, cd/vcr, video conferencing, surround sound, podium, flip charts, easels, stationery are available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Southernmost on the Beach

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed in Key West
Business
Memphis, Tennessee
May 19, 2010

Did not receive room choice

We booked an oceanfront room. However, when we arrived we were given a parking lot view room. We were very disappointed. We were looking forward to a peaceful relaxing getaway with the ocean sounds at our balcony-----didn't happen! The staff should be more accomodating to their guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
traveller22
Business
North england
May 26, 2012

Mis-leading Marketing

Unfortunately what you see is what you DONT GET . do NOT use their website as a guideline , the pool they advertise -where is that !! Looks nothing like the pool they use on the advertising blurb , we also paid for an ocean view - UNLESS you secure first floor room , its not worth the additional money ( and it aint cheap!!) - our view was a wall ( not happy) when we brougt this to the attention of the management , not interested , would not move us , only offered as an upgrade at a discounted rate of $300 surplus for the 3 nights we were staying .. No thanks !!! Never met such disinterested staff in terms of delivering a quality service - we wish we had stayed elsewhere for the money we paid £750!!! so so so disappointed !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
high and dry
Business
illinois
Nov 4, 2011

getaway with friends

lots of construction ---closed the restaurant and drained the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rabbit3
Business
Iowa
Jan 14, 2014

Didn't get what was promised

I just returned home after staying the weekend at this hotel. It was a GORGEOUS hotel, however I booked an ocean view room through THIS SITE and since they didn't have balcony rooms available on their site, I was told to call and request an ocean view balcony upgrade for an additional cost of $30/night. THIS SITE was completely wrong, and I was charged $350 (from the hotel) for the 2 night upgrade. At check in, I was told I had a "partial" ocean view room. I told the woman at reception that I was paying for an upgrade ocean view balcony and she told me that I could still see the ocean from my balcony. (Yeah- I could see it if I leaned out 3 feet from my balcony AND looked around the corner. My room 100% faced another building of hotel rooms. No where in my booking through THIS SITE or through the email/phone conversation I had with hotel staff, was the word "partial" ever mentioned. If I'm paying $650/night to stay at a hotel, I would hope that the rate description would be accurate. I'm super disappointed in THIS SITE for their incorrect information and with the hotel for what they classify their "ocean view balcony" upgrade to be. Also- you can't control the thermostat in your room- they do a hotel-wide temperature and I was sweating all weekend. Eek!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Latitudes is a FANTASTIC restaurant!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
davecfive
Business
St Clairsville, OH 43950, USA
Feb 6, 2012

Good bang for buck

The hotel was really nice and close to Duval St. Lunch was good but dinner left a little to be desired. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Roof Top Cafe' was the best place we ate. Highly recomend...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
buckeye heading south
Business
Medina Ohio
Jan 14, 2014

great view

Quiet place in a very busy town. Close to lots of restraints and shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LGBT Key west
Business
Seattle
Sep 9, 2014

Southernmost

The beds and pillows were extremely uncomfortable The hotel is in an excellent location right on the beach. With a swim out dock

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Camilles

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jul 11, 2009

Excellent Location and value

The hotel was excellent. Everyone was extremely helpful. The rooms were beautiful and kept spotless. The pool was close and absolutely wonderful. I will definetly recommend it to all my friends and would not stay anywhere else . This was the best vacation I've taken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
concord nc
Mar 1, 2010

lovely vacation

had a great itme, staff was helpful locating cheaper options to eat, like subway,- the room was great, coulda used a microwave, thats the only thing lacking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

rented bikes-really the way to travel around key west, every place had racks to lock them up-saved alot of walking to get around town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bobbie82
Business
Tennessee
Jan 29, 2012

Southernmost on the Beach - Key West

Great place to stay! Directly on the beach, this hotel has all the amenities, including great beach cafe. Located close enough to Duval Street to walk, but far enough away from the noise and crowds. Would highly recommend. Great staff helped us book activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rental cars are not worth it in Key West. Everything easily within walking distance, and there is virtually no parking for any of the activities or to go shopping/eating out. Save your money and take a cab for longer distances.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top