$260 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Southernmost on the Beach

4 stars
508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
183 reviews
Great spot for 20 th anniversary

We loved it Great service and location Pools, bars and room were terrific See full review

  • Johansen
  • Jul 18, 2014
Great time !!!!!

Drove 1040 miles from TN and was greeted by Ashley at he front desk with a big smile. Was very... See full review

  • Green35Hotrod
  • Jun 21, 2014
Newly expanded hotel with beach and oceanfront guestrooms
The newly expanded, updated Southernmost on the Beach hotel stretches along a secluded section of Key West coastline, far enough to provide respite from downtown craziness, but close enough to hit the scene any time. Guests can catch some rays on the private beach or visit the pier for front row seats of spectacular sunrises and sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel also boasts a junior-size Olympic pool with an oceanfront bar and massage services.

Highlights
  • Located waterfront along a quiet stretch of beach on the south side of Key West
  • All rooms and suites offer either oceanfront access or ocean views
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Rooms

The hotel offers 123 guestrooms, 80 of them newly built, all decorated with dark mahogany furniture and blue and white accents that lend a nautical feel. Guestrooms come in ocean-view and oceanfront styles with either single kings or pairs of queen beds. Custom-designed penthouse suites add to the luxury. In-room amenities include coffee makers, mini refrigerators, iPod docks and free Wi-Fi access.

Dining
The pool bar serves cocktails and a light lunch menu, while the nearby Southernmost Beach Cafe dishes up fresh seafood and waterfront views.   

Recreation
As part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection, Southernmost on the Beach sits among its sister properties along the south coast of Key West. Guests can relax in hammocks or beach chairs on the private beach or take a dip in the outdoor pool. Massage services and a fitness center round out the leisure offerings.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory (1 block)
  • Ernest Hemingway Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Business
  • Copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • Meeting spaces
  • On-site event coordinator
  • Free Wi-Fi  

Hotel Map

24.5475 -81.7956
Area served
Key West
Nearby airports
The closest airport is Key West International Airport (EYW).
Area description
The Southernmost on the Beach is located on the Atlantic shore of historic old town of Key West. This gorgeous oceanfront property stretches out on a secluded section of the island; away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The brand new and renewed Southernmost on the Beach hotel is just about half a block from the famous Duval Street and about a block from the Southernmost Point of the USA.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Southernmost on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Southernmost on the Beach Rooms

LUXURY - ROOM
New partial ocean view balcony 2 queen beds. Located on the second or third floor in one of our new buildings. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe balcony king room. Located on the second floor in one of our new buildings. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
OCEANVIEW - ROOM
West Lawn Oceanfront room with 1 king bed. Located on the first or second floor. Newly remodeled. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access. Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities are available at the Southernmost Hotel (across the street from the Southernmost on the Beach). This spacious air conditioned poolside conference room can accommodate parties up to 50 guests. Wireless internet access, dry erase boards, flat screen television, screens, overhead projectors, cd/vcr, video conferencing, surround sound, podium, flip charts, easels, stationery are available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (183)

Ratings and reviews for Southernmost on the Beach

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sockman
North Carolina
Sep 23, 2013

Great Place

Everything was great! Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dirty Dick
Naples, FL
Dec 18, 2013

Great Time!

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Southernmost Hotel! Fantastic location with breathtaking sunset view. The staff could not have been more helpful. Easy walk to the main street (Duval) so we could catch all the sites in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hemmingway's House is a can't miss!

Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shegoin
Howard, OH
Sep 30, 2009

Great Hotel!

We went out on the glass bottom boat, it was a really nice trip! As far as the hotel, it was beautiful and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The only thing I didn't like about the room was the lack of water pressure in the shower. Be sure to check out Duvall Street! Wow, what a party time that was!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sammy Surfer
Elkins, WV
Jan 27, 2011

A wonderful winter vacation

Our first in Key West and we WILL go back and stay at Southernmost again. The trip was incredible from start to finish. The staff was very kind when we checked in even though our flight got us into town almost three hours before check-in. We left our bags at the front desk and walked down Duval street. Our first incredible find was a small outside restaurant and bar called Blue Heaven that had live music at lunch on a Monday. The restaurant at the hotel as well as the poolside bar were both very nice and easily accessible. Although there is no natural beach the small man-made area was just enough for the amount of guests and offered a refreshing dip while getting an incredible tan. The room was quiet even in such a large building and the cleaning service very friendly. While a few dollars more pricey than our budget had allowed the stay in the Ocean front room on the South end of Duval St. made it completely worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Jet ski tour around Key West Island is a great way to get out and see the sight under your own control with knowledgeable guides.

Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Aug 13, 2009

Great Time!

THe hotel was located right near Duval street making all activities within walking distance. The hotel staff and concierge were awesome. They hotel allowed us late checkout on our last day and the concierge didnt miss a beat with rentals, expeditions and taxi service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Green35Hotrod
Key West,FL.
Jun 21, 2014

Great time !!!!!

Drove 1040 miles from TN and was greeted by Ashley at he front desk with a big smile. Was very tired and she made everything go fast and smoothly to get us in our room quickly. Room was great with side view which was great to sit on the deck with a nice breeze.Pools were awesome .It was a great vacation and we are already planning next years trip. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ralph & Rose Ann
Ormond Beach, FL
Nov 17, 2009

Great Vacation Location

This hotel is absolutely fantastic. The rooms were beautiful in the area we stayed in. I think they were recently remodeled. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a great time and will be staying there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisaolathegirl
Olathe, Ks
Jan 5, 2012

Everthing you ever wanted

The staff is the best hotel staff I have ever experinced. We had a few foul ups on the beginning of our trip (lost luggage and we needed a room change due to medical problems) but the front desk staff, Travis and Scott, jumped right in and saved our anniversary trip. They set us up in a room at the SMOTB and made sure the needs we needed were met. The staff was on top of getting our luggage to us when it finally arrived and they treated us like royalty for the whole trip. We will stay here from now on. The Southernmost cafe on the beach is on site, right on the beach and they have the best staff, food atmosphere, Key Lime pie to die for and THE BEST happy hour. Paradise all at your fingertips. I could go on and on but I bet you get the drift. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When staying at SMOTB you just have to try the Southernmost Cafe on the Beach. It is right on the property, right on the beach, the best food, breakfast lunch and dinner, and THE BEST Happy Hour on ther island.

Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fun in Keys
West Virginia, USA
Mar 7, 2012

fun getaway

Best Hotel Ever!! I will be back!! Everyone is so nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LinMar14
South Florida
Feb 2, 2010

Weekend at Key West

Great hotel, friendly check-in staff. Room very clean with stylish decor, bed very comfy. Walking distance to Duval Street, Southernmost Point & House, & trolley tour stop right across the street which is a great way to get to Mallory Square, too. Restaurant at hotel has varied menu, good food. Nice bar near pool. Pier with loungers & a sand volleyball court near pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Hairdryers provided, but for energy saving reasons have a modifier that will only let you use medium heat. Ladies, if your hair takes a while to dry, bring your own. Also, no tubs in the bathroom, only showers. Very roomy, however.

Back to menu Return to top