$379 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Southernmost on the Beach

5 stars
View map of 508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
128 reviews
Great stay

Another wonderful, worry-free stay at an amazing resort! See full review

  • EricCam
  • Oct 11, 2014
Great spot for 20 th anniversary

We loved it Great service and location Pools, bars and room were terrific See full review

  • Johansen
  • Jul 18, 2014
Newly expanded hotel with beach and oceanfront guestrooms
The newly expanded, updated Southernmost on the Beach hotel stretches along a secluded section of Key West coastline, far enough to provide respite from downtown craziness, but close enough to hit the scene any time. Guests can catch some rays on the private beach or visit the pier for front row seats of spectacular sunrises and sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel also boasts a junior-size Olympic pool with an oceanfront bar and massage services.

Highlights
  • Located waterfront along a quiet stretch of beach on the south side of Key West
  • All rooms and suites offer either oceanfront access or ocean views
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Parking (fees apply)
Rooms

The hotel offers 123 guestrooms, 80 of them newly built, all decorated with dark mahogany furniture and blue and white accents that lend a nautical feel. Guestrooms come in ocean-view and oceanfront styles with either single kings or pairs of queen beds. Custom-designed penthouse suites add to the luxury. In-room amenities include coffee makers, mini refrigerators, iPod docks and free Wi-Fi access.

Dining
The pool bar serves cocktails and a light lunch menu, while the nearby Southernmost Beach Cafe dishes up fresh seafood and waterfront views.   

Recreation
As part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection, Southernmost on the Beach sits among its sister properties along the south coast of Key West. Guests can relax in hammocks or beach chairs on the private beach or take a dip in the outdoor pool. Massage services and a fitness center round out the leisure offerings.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory (1 block)
  • Ernest Hemingway Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Business
  • Copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • Meeting spaces
  • On-site event coordinator
  • Free Wi-Fi  
Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee is $10 USD plus 7.5% tax per car and per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Southernmost on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Southernmost on the Beach Rooms

OCEANVIEW - ROOM
West Lawn Oceanfront room with 1 king bed. Located on the first or second floor. Newly remodeled. Room includes free wireless internet access. Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
LUXURY - ROOM
New partial ocean view balcony 2 queen beds. Located on the second or third floor in one of our new buildings. Room includes free wireless internet access, Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe balcony king room. Located on the second floor in one of our new buildings. Room includes free wireless internet access, Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities are available at the Southernmost Hotel (across the street from the Southernmost on the Beach). This spacious air conditioned poolside conference room can accommodate parties up to 50 guests. Wireless internet access, dry erase boards, flat screen television, screens, overhead projectors, cd/vcr, video conferencing, surround sound, podium, flip charts, easels, stationery are available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Southernmost on the Beach

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 128
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bowler Barb
Business
Minneapolis
Oct 14, 2014

All we hoped for

Partial view of the ocean from balcony, close to attractions, very clean and nicely appointed, morning paper every day, complimentary water in room every day, beautiful beach with chairs and umbrella/table, several ways for energy savings (more efficient than we have ever seen), beautiful pool area/bar, employees very helpful and pleasant.. Food excellent but pricey, no room service, no microwave, ice machine by room was out of order and not fixed for a week but others were available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Trolley to other attractions has stop right across street after tickets purchased at another location. Very handy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S. Herron
Business
Charleston, SC
Aug 16, 2014

Exceeds Expectations!

Very nice room with awesome bathroom! Location was great especially for family vacation. Food at hotel was very good. Only one minor complaint- coffee wasn't very good but Cuban coffee across the street sufficed :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Banana Cafe on Duval/ breakfast is fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
E and K
Business
Norton, MA
Dec 1, 2013

Fun getaway for Mom and daughter

Had a great stay at the Southernmost Hotel on the Beach! Went to Key West to celebrate my daughter turning 21 & we had an amazing time! The hotel was beautiful and the staff were friendly and helpful! We enjoyed eating and drinking at the Southernmost beach cafe and relaxing pool side. The waitstaff and bar staff were friendly at both the cafe and pool. The entertainment was great both during the day and evening. The activities at the pool were entertaining! The sunsets were beautiful. The rooms were modern and we had a great view.(Our room was partial ocean view) The hotel is walking distance to the action on Duval but also quiet when you want to relax. We can't wait to return and will stay at the Southernmost on the Beach again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sockman
Business
North Carolina
Sep 23, 2013

Great Place

Everything was great! Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NatM
Business
New York
Sep 4, 2013

Very nice but way too expensive

Very comfortable beds and nice rooms. However too expensive to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Momma Ang
Business
New Jersey
Aug 27, 2013

Great Family Getaway

Southernmost on the Beach was a very nice hotel. The decor was very contemporary and they had beautiful floors without those ugly rugs. When we booked they said we were getting partial ocean view and we were skeptical but the view was really nice from our balcony and we sat out there every night! Location was great, right near Duvall Street. You definitely don't need a car to get around! Some of the staff , at the desk, were a little uppity. This was our first time at this hotel so when we asked questions they looked at us like we were from a different planet! The people of Key West were so friendly. Just ask a local for the best places to go! We will definitely come back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Visit Onlywood restaurant off of Duvall Street . Quiet with excellent Italian food. Reasonable prices. Nice atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keith92028
Business
Fallbrook, California
Aug 29, 2012

Excellent Hotel

I stay there with my two daughters. The rooms were spacious, clean and well air conditioned. The staff was great. There was ample free parking and free Wifi.. It is at the south end of Duval Street. Close enough to walk, yet far enough to not here the night life when you want to sleep, We ate several meals at the Beach Cafe and enjoy every entree. We loved the place and will be back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smgreen
Business
NY
Jan 20, 2012

Great family vacation

my family and I really enjoyed our stay...rooms were beautiful view was amazing...definitely will be back again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BostonSue
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 22, 2011

Terrific week of fun

Only compliments, everyone very attentative, room was lovely, service excellent and friendly, exercise room convenient, pool spotless, great hammocks, and great $3 Happy hour. A great place to stay in Old Town on the Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Grab the Jet Ski Tour at The Reach rather than having to take a cab to Fury.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
swimlover
Business
NYC
Mar 12, 2011

Palm trees, ocean view, great service

My 25-yr-old daughter and I needed good weather and enough quiet to get a lot of reading done. Plus we wanted to swim (ocean and pool) and have some nice meals. We were able to do all of that at Southernmost on the Beach. Plus the room was lovely--superb linens, big bathroom with lots of shelf space, really nice (green) toiletries, a balcony with ocean view to the side. We loved it. The beach bar was lively, the pool bar was quiet and friendly at night. Fun activities too if you wanted--snorkel lessons, hula hoop fitness classes on the beach, wine tastings. No pressure though, and lots of lounge chairs under the palms in quiet places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Fury snorkel trips are just the right amount of time. They include about 90 minutes of sailing and an hour of snorkeling. A perfect way to begin the day; you're back on shore by 12:30 and ready for lunch. A really big lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top