$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Southernmost on the Beach

4 stars
508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
118 reviews
Great spot for 20 th anniversary

We loved it Great service and location Pools, bars and room were terrific See full review

  • Johansen
  • Jul 18, 2014
Great time !!!!!

Drove 1040 miles from TN and was greeted by Ashley at he front desk with a big smile. Was very... See full review

  • Green35Hotrod
  • Jun 21, 2014
Newly expanded hotel with beach and oceanfront guestrooms
The newly expanded, updated Southernmost on the Beach hotel stretches along a secluded section of Key West coastline, far enough to provide respite from downtown craziness, but close enough to hit the scene any time. Guests can catch some rays on the private beach or visit the pier for front row seats of spectacular sunrises and sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel also boasts a junior-size Olympic pool with an oceanfront bar and massage services.

Highlights
  • Located waterfront along a quiet stretch of beach on the south side of Key West
  • All rooms and suites offer either oceanfront access or ocean views
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Rooms

The hotel offers 123 guestrooms, 80 of them newly built, all decorated with dark mahogany furniture and blue and white accents that lend a nautical feel. Guestrooms come in ocean-view and oceanfront styles with either single kings or pairs of queen beds. Custom-designed penthouse suites add to the luxury. In-room amenities include coffee makers, mini refrigerators, iPod docks and free Wi-Fi access.

Dining
The pool bar serves cocktails and a light lunch menu, while the nearby Southernmost Beach Cafe dishes up fresh seafood and waterfront views.   

Recreation
As part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection, Southernmost on the Beach sits among its sister properties along the south coast of Key West. Guests can relax in hammocks or beach chairs on the private beach or take a dip in the outdoor pool. Massage services and a fitness center round out the leisure offerings.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory (1 block)
  • Ernest Hemingway Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Business
  • Copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • Meeting spaces
  • On-site event coordinator
  • Free Wi-Fi  

Hotel Map

24.5475 -81.7956
Area served
Key West
Nearby airports
The closest airport is Key West International Airport (EYW).
Area description
The Southernmost on the Beach is located on the Atlantic shore of historic old town of Key West. This gorgeous oceanfront property stretches out on a secluded section of the island; away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The brand new and renewed Southernmost on the Beach hotel is just about half a block from the famous Duval Street and about a block from the Southernmost Point of the USA.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Southernmost on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Southernmost on the Beach Rooms

LUXURY - ROOM
New partial ocean view balcony 2 queen beds. Located on the second or third floor in one of our new buildings. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe balcony king room. Located on the second floor in one of our new buildings. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
OCEANVIEW - ROOM
West Lawn Oceanfront room with 1 king bed. Located on the first or second floor. Newly remodeled. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access. Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities are available at the Southernmost Hotel (across the street from the Southernmost on the Beach). This spacious air conditioned poolside conference room can accommodate parties up to 50 guests. Wireless internet access, dry erase boards, flat screen television, screens, overhead projectors, cd/vcr, video conferencing, surround sound, podium, flip charts, easels, stationery are available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for Southernmost on the Beach

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed in Key West
Memphis, Tennessee
May 19, 2010

Did not receive room choice

We booked an oceanfront room. However, when we arrived we were given a parking lot view room. We were very disappointed. We were looking forward to a peaceful relaxing getaway with the ocean sounds at our balcony-----didn't happen! The staff should be more accomodating to their guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
traveller22
North england
May 26, 2012

Mis-leading Marketing

Unfortunately what you see is what you DONT GET . do NOT use their website as a guideline , the pool they advertise -where is that !! Looks nothing like the pool they use on the advertising blurb , we also paid for an ocean view - UNLESS you secure first floor room , its not worth the additional money ( and it aint cheap!!) - our view was a wall ( not happy) when we brougt this to the attention of the management , not interested , would not move us , only offered as an upgrade at a discounted rate of $300 surplus for the 3 nights we were staying .. No thanks !!! Never met such disinterested staff in terms of delivering a quality service - we wish we had stayed elsewhere for the money we paid £750!!! so so so disappointed !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
high and dry
illinois
Nov 4, 2011

getaway with friends

lots of construction ---closed the restaurant and drained the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rabbit3
Iowa
Jan 14, 2014

Didn't get what was promised

I just returned home after staying the weekend at this hotel. It was a GORGEOUS hotel, however I booked an ocean view room through THIS SITE and since they didn't have balcony rooms available on their site, I was told to call and request an ocean view balcony upgrade for an additional cost of $30/night. THIS SITE was completely wrong, and I was charged $350 (from the hotel) for the 2 night upgrade. At check in, I was told I had a "partial" ocean view room. I told the woman at reception that I was paying for an upgrade ocean view balcony and she told me that I could still see the ocean from my balcony. (Yeah- I could see it if I leaned out 3 feet from my balcony AND looked around the corner. My room 100% faced another building of hotel rooms. No where in my booking through THIS SITE or through the email/phone conversation I had with hotel staff, was the word "partial" ever mentioned. If I'm paying $650/night to stay at a hotel, I would hope that the rate description would be accurate. I'm super disappointed in THIS SITE for their incorrect information and with the hotel for what they classify their "ocean view balcony" upgrade to be. Also- you can't control the thermostat in your room- they do a hotel-wide temperature and I was sweating all weekend. Eek!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Latitudes is a FANTASTIC restaurant!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LGBT Key west
Seattle
Sep 9, 2014

Southernmost

The beds and pillows were extremely uncomfortable The hotel is in an excellent location right on the beach. With a swim out dock

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Camilles

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
buckeye heading south
Medina Ohio
Jan 14, 2014

great view

Quiet place in a very busy town. Close to lots of restraints and shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
davecfive
St Clairsville, OH 43950, USA
Feb 6, 2012

Good bang for buck

The hotel was really nice and close to Duval St. Lunch was good but dinner left a little to be desired. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Roof Top Cafe' was the best place we ate. Highly recomend...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Geneva, IL
Mar 6, 2010

Could Have Been A Five Star

I have to say that you really could not ask for a better location. Southernmost on the Beach is on the far south side of Key West and we were in room 513 with a fabulous view of the water out the window. We could watch the cruise ships every morning. It was an easy walk to Duval street. We also enjoyed the Southernmost on the Beach Cafe for breakfast. They really served a nice breakfast! I only wish that they had served waffles as I had to go to another restaurant to get a waffle for breakfast. The rooms were very clean but everyday housekeeping forgot to leave something - washcloths, coffee etc... For the price we paid to stay specifically at this resort, I would expect much better from the housekeeping staff - I didn't enjoy chasing them down each day to get the forgotten items. On Thursday evening of our week stay the neighbor in room 514 came home after 2 am and was yelling & screaming and it almost seemed like he was punching the walls. I had never heard so many swear words in my life. This woke up everyone that was close to room 514. I didn't expect to have this kind of clientele at the Southernmost but at least they checked out the next morning. Overall, a good stay and I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Abondonza is just up Simonston a couple of blocks and they have great Italian Food. Also, just a few blocks from Abondonza on Simonston is Duffy's Seafood & Steak. They really did serve a very good steak.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Middlesex, NJ
Feb 21, 2011

Beautiful place to stay

Loved getting away for a long weekend and this was the place to be! Friendly staff, very helpful,great suggestions, and very clean. Felt good from the moment we arrived and would stay there again without a doubt. The only thing missing was a shuttle to the airport...oh well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't really need a car...easier to walk, rent a bike, or hire a ride. Also saves money on parking and time finding a place to park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frequent key west-er
northern New York
Jan 3, 2011

Beautiful Location

We were only in Key West for 5 days so we wanted someplace near the beach with a pool. The surroundings were very nice. The staff was enthusiastic and friendly. The rooms were tastefully decorated with balconies. The hotel was quiet and the beds were very comfortable. The only bad thing that happened was we got locked out of our room at night and maintenance had to replace the whole door handle/lock and even then we had problems with the key-card. On the plus side, we had to check out at 11:00am and our flight wasn't until 5:00. The hotel stored our luggage and we were free to use the pools, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a restaurant in the hotel but if you want to experience Key West, definitely walk around. There is a very authentic Cuban fastfood outdoor restaurant right across from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top