Southernmost on the Beach

5 stars
508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
121 reviews
Great stay

Another wonderful, worry-free stay at an amazing resort! See full review

  • EricCam
  • Oct 11, 2014
Great spot for 20 th anniversary

We loved it Great service and location Pools, bars and room were terrific See full review

  • Johansen
  • Jul 18, 2014
Newly expanded hotel with beach and oceanfront guestrooms
The newly expanded, updated Southernmost on the Beach hotel stretches along a secluded section of Key West coastline, far enough to provide respite from downtown craziness, but close enough to hit the scene any time. Guests can catch some rays on the private beach or visit the pier for front row seats of spectacular sunrises and sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel also boasts a junior-size Olympic pool with an oceanfront bar and massage services.

Highlights
  • Located waterfront along a quiet stretch of beach on the south side of Key West
  • All rooms and suites offer either oceanfront access or ocean views
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Parking (fees apply)
Rooms

The hotel offers 123 guestrooms, 80 of them newly built, all decorated with dark mahogany furniture and blue and white accents that lend a nautical feel. Guestrooms come in ocean-view and oceanfront styles with either single kings or pairs of queen beds. Custom-designed penthouse suites add to the luxury. In-room amenities include coffee makers, mini refrigerators, iPod docks and free Wi-Fi access.

Dining
The pool bar serves cocktails and a light lunch menu, while the nearby Southernmost Beach Cafe dishes up fresh seafood and waterfront views.   

Recreation
As part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection, Southernmost on the Beach sits among its sister properties along the south coast of Key West. Guests can relax in hammocks or beach chairs on the private beach or take a dip in the outdoor pool. Massage services and a fitness center round out the leisure offerings.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory (1 block)
  • Ernest Hemingway Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Business
  • Copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • Meeting spaces
  • On-site event coordinator
  • Free Wi-Fi  
Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee is $10 USD plus 7.5% tax per car and per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Southernmost on the Beach Rooms

LUXURY - ROOM
New partial ocean view balcony 2 queen beds. Located on the second or third floor in one of our new buildings. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe balcony king room. Located on the second floor in one of our new buildings. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
OCEANVIEW - ROOM
West Lawn Oceanfront room with 1 king bed. Located on the first or second floor. Newly remodeled. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access. Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

24.5475 -81.7956
Area served
Key West
Nearby airports
The closest airport is Key West International Airport (EYW).
Area description
The Southernmost on the Beach is located on the Atlantic shore of historic old town of Key West. This gorgeous oceanfront property stretches out on a secluded section of the island; away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The brand new and renewed Southernmost on the Beach hotel is just about half a block from the famous Duval Street and about a block from the Southernmost Point of the USA.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities are available at the Southernmost Hotel (across the street from the Southernmost on the Beach). This spacious air conditioned poolside conference room can accommodate parties up to 50 guests. Wireless internet access, dry erase boards, flat screen television, screens, overhead projectors, cd/vcr, video conferencing, surround sound, podium, flip charts, easels, stationery are available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Southernmost on the Beach

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calabash, NC
Jan 31, 2010

Southernmost On The Beach

Our trip was fantastic, everything went so well, we could not believe it. The Hotel, food and just everyting was so perfect. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We did not have a bad meal while there and the tours we took were very informative. We will definitly be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian and on the beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
caseynangie
Business
Levant, Maine
Jan 26, 2010

Wonderful

We relaxed! It was perfect. Went sightseeing and got to know the staff at the pool bar...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dixon, IL
Jan 20, 2010

Just off the beaten path

We were within walking distance of Duval Street but not in the noisy area. The beach area was small but nicely kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Beach Cafe was a convenient spot for a nice meal overlooking the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loves Key West
Business
Melrose, MA
Dec 16, 2009

A wonderful vacation in Key West

We went to Key West to relax and unwind and this hotel was perfect for that. We had a new room (525)with a balcony in building B which was very convenient to the beautiful pool area. We spent most of our time lounging at the pool - special thanks to [...], who served us delicious cocktails and lunches poolside. We really enjoyed talking with her. We also had great service from her husband [...](who was the bartender at the Southernmost Cafe), and [...](who was our server at the Cafe). While we ate dinners at a variety of wonderful restaurants (Louie's Backyard, Rooftop Cafe, Lattitudes, Kelley's, Camille's), we enjoyed staying on the quiet end of Duval. It was a bonus to be located on one of Key West's beaches. Rather than fight the crowds on Mallory Square, we stayed on the property and saw some beautiful sunsets. Free internet and free parking were also nice perks. We are already planning a return trip to this lovely hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love Florida Travel!
Business
Omaha, NE
Nov 29, 2009

The Perfect Place to Stay in Key West

This was our 3rd time in Key West and by far this was the best overall hotel experience we had. The location was perfect. Steps away from a fabulous beach, with the restaurant situated right on the beach, so you can sip a cocktail in your beach chair. The food was very good too! Just a couple steps to Duval Street as well. It's on the quiet end of Duval so you can relax while being a very short walk to all the fun and shopping. The rooms were fabulous and the view even better. There was no charge for the ample parking and the location means no need for a taxi. They also charged no resort fee, and the on-site spa was wonderful. There was a refrigerator in the room. The balcony was fabulous, with a beautiful ocean view. There is a bar at the pool too. This is a great place to stay for a couple or for the whole family. We will never stay anywhere else in Key West. This hotel provided the best of everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ralph & Rose Ann
Business
Ormond Beach, FL
Nov 17, 2009

Great Vacation Location

This hotel is absolutely fantastic. The rooms were beautiful in the area we stayed in. I think they were recently remodeled. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a great time and will be staying there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judy the bargain hunter
Business
Madison, WI
Nov 16, 2009

Great place!

Excellent location near the Southernmost point in the US and right around the corner from Duval street... Bikes available to rent right at the hotel. Really enjoyed the cafe restaurant on the beach. Went parasailing and snorkeling with the Fury watersports company while in Key West - both reasonable rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Fury water sports offered parasailing and snorkeling at very reasonable rates

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Nov 14, 2009

Great hotel, great location

Staff was very helpful and friendly. Liked the fact they had a concierge to help book water activities and give suggestions on things to do and places to visit during our stay. Great location on the water. With the beach and cafe just steps away from our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
northern virginia
Oct 20, 2009

Fabulous hotel

Great location away from the noise of Duval street but still accessible. Saw the ocean each morning out our room window. Great view of the sky. Excellent staff,very helpful and friendly. Would recommend it highly - ask for a room with a view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JANET'S VACA
Business
BOSTON, MA
Oct 19, 2009

unbelievable location

The ocean was so beautiful and it was just a great place to stay. Also, loved the cell phone calls regarding our flight and gate change. WE would have missed our flight... THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE WAS SO AWESOME...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

CAMILLE'S GREAT RESTURANT

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top