$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Southernmost on the Beach

5 stars
508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Best In Stay Elite
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
120 reviews
Great stay

Another wonderful, worry-free stay at an amazing resort! See full review

  • EricCam
  • Oct 11, 2014
Great spot for 20 th anniversary

We loved it Great service and location Pools, bars and room were terrific See full review

  • Johansen
  • Jul 18, 2014
Newly expanded hotel with beach and oceanfront guestrooms
The newly expanded, updated Southernmost on the Beach hotel stretches along a secluded section of Key West coastline, far enough to provide respite from downtown craziness, but close enough to hit the scene any time. Guests can catch some rays on the private beach or visit the pier for front row seats of spectacular sunrises and sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel also boasts a junior-size Olympic pool with an oceanfront bar and massage services.

Highlights
  • Located waterfront along a quiet stretch of beach on the south side of Key West
  • All rooms and suites offer either oceanfront access or ocean views
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Parking (fees apply)
Rooms

The hotel offers 123 guestrooms, 80 of them newly built, all decorated with dark mahogany furniture and blue and white accents that lend a nautical feel. Guestrooms come in ocean-view and oceanfront styles with either single kings or pairs of queen beds. Custom-designed penthouse suites add to the luxury. In-room amenities include coffee makers, mini refrigerators, iPod docks and free Wi-Fi access.

Dining
The pool bar serves cocktails and a light lunch menu, while the nearby Southernmost Beach Cafe dishes up fresh seafood and waterfront views.   

Recreation
As part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection, Southernmost on the Beach sits among its sister properties along the south coast of Key West. Guests can relax in hammocks or beach chairs on the private beach or take a dip in the outdoor pool. Massage services and a fitness center round out the leisure offerings.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory (1 block)
  • Ernest Hemingway Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Business
  • Copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • Meeting spaces
  • On-site event coordinator
  • Free Wi-Fi  
Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee is $10 USD plus 7.5% tax per car and per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Southernmost on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Southernmost on the Beach Rooms

LUXURY - ROOM
New partial ocean view balcony 2 queen beds. Located on the second or third floor in one of our new buildings. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe balcony king room. Located on the second floor in one of our new buildings. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
OCEANVIEW - ROOM
West Lawn Oceanfront room with 1 king bed. Located on the first or second floor. Newly remodeled. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access. Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities are available at the Southernmost Hotel (across the street from the Southernmost on the Beach). This spacious air conditioned poolside conference room can accommodate parties up to 50 guests. Wireless internet access, dry erase boards, flat screen television, screens, overhead projectors, cd/vcr, video conferencing, surround sound, podium, flip charts, easels, stationery are available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Southernmost on the Beach

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sayreville new jersey
Mar 7, 2010

thanksgiving in the ket west

everything was so good that we are going back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Geneva, IL
Mar 6, 2010

Could Have Been A Five Star

I have to say that you really could not ask for a better location. Southernmost on the Beach is on the far south side of Key West and we were in room 513 with a fabulous view of the water out the window. We could watch the cruise ships every morning. It was an easy walk to Duval street. We also enjoyed the Southernmost on the Beach Cafe for breakfast. They really served a nice breakfast! I only wish that they had served waffles as I had to go to another restaurant to get a waffle for breakfast. The rooms were very clean but everyday housekeeping forgot to leave something - washcloths, coffee etc... For the price we paid to stay specifically at this resort, I would expect much better from the housekeeping staff - I didn't enjoy chasing them down each day to get the forgotten items. On Thursday evening of our week stay the neighbor in room 514 came home after 2 am and was yelling & screaming and it almost seemed like he was punching the walls. I had never heard so many swear words in my life. This woke up everyone that was close to room 514. I didn't expect to have this kind of clientele at the Southernmost but at least they checked out the next morning. Overall, a good stay and I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Abondonza is just up Simonston a couple of blocks and they have great Italian Food. Also, just a few blocks from Abondonza on Simonston is Duffy's Seafood & Steak. They really did serve a very good steak.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Mar 5, 2010

Fantastic getaway

Staff was very friendly, quick to respond to our requests. Beautiful location. Room was very clean and comfortable. On the quieter side of island, which we preferred. Will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
concord nc
Mar 1, 2010

lovely vacation

had a great itme, staff was helpful locating cheaper options to eat, like subway,- the room was great, coulda used a microwave, thats the only thing lacking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

rented bikes-really the way to travel around key west, every place had racks to lock them up-saved alot of walking to get around town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Murray's
Business
Charlotte, NC
Feb 26, 2010

Friendly, friendly, friendly!

Exactly what we wanted: private beach, great pool & bar, adjacent public beach and restaurant. Rooms are spotless and impeccably furnished. Staff is fantastic and eager to please. The hotel is on the quiet side of the island but one block from Duval so we walked down to the other side every day. For the money, I don't think you can do much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Abbondanza's on Simonton. About 4 blocks away. Fantastic Italian restaurant but don't order pasta unless you plan to share. Portions are huge and delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mishu the Dog
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 21, 2010

Finest in Key West!!!

Great location off of Duval Street. Beautiful beach, pool, live music!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LinMar14
Business
South Florida
Feb 2, 2010

Weekend at Key West

Great hotel, friendly check-in staff. Room very clean with stylish decor, bed very comfy. Walking distance to Duval Street, Southernmost Point & House, & trolley tour stop right across the street which is a great way to get to Mallory Square, too. Restaurant at hotel has varied menu, good food. Nice bar near pool. Pier with loungers & a sand volleyball court near pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Hairdryers provided, but for energy saving reasons have a modifier that will only let you use medium heat. Ladies, if your hair takes a while to dry, bring your own. Also, no tubs in the bathroom, only showers. Very roomy, however.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Whitehall, PA
Feb 1, 2010

Fabulous stay

The location was superb. Easy walking distance to everything. The gardens and ocean view were breathtaking. This was our second trip to Key West. The first time we stayed at a nice hotel on the northern part of the island but we definately preferred this hotel's accomodations and location at the southern tip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stevensville, MD
Feb 1, 2010

Excellent Hotal

We arrived to the coldest weather we have ever experienced in Key West. The Hotel was lovely, but the heater in our room was broken. It took 2 days before it was fixed - I must commend them for their determination and follow - through to consult experts on how to fix it. Hardly any restaurants near the hotel (only found 2!!)The beach restaurant next to the hotel was where we spent most of our time - good food, but cold since they serve outside. The cold weather stopped us from riding bikes and walking as much as we usually do. The location of the hotel was too far from the center of town, so froze walking the long distance to town and activities. No entertainment at the hotel or nearby - very few restaurants in the area. Sorry to say, it was not a very pleasant vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
future conch
Business
Chesapeake VA
Feb 1, 2010

Kew West

The hotel was fabulous. The concierge was great, she set us up on a sunset cruise where we had a fantastic time. Everyone at the hotel was extememly friendly. The location right on the water was perfect. We would definitely return and stay at The Southernmost on the Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Fury sunset cruise was great. Free appetizers, beer and margaritas with a live band. 2 hours of dancing and fun watching the sunset over the gulf of mexico.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top