$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2014 Check-out: Sep 19, 2014

Southernmost on the Beach

4 stars
508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
118 reviews
Great spot for 20 th anniversary

We loved it Great service and location Pools, bars and room were terrific See full review

  • Johansen
  • Jul 18, 2014
Great time !!!!!

Drove 1040 miles from TN and was greeted by Ashley at he front desk with a big smile. Was very... See full review

  • Green35Hotrod
  • Jun 21, 2014
Newly expanded hotel with beach and oceanfront guestrooms
The newly expanded, updated Southernmost on the Beach hotel stretches along a secluded section of Key West coastline, far enough to provide respite from downtown craziness, but close enough to hit the scene any time. Guests can catch some rays on the private beach or visit the pier for front row seats of spectacular sunrises and sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel also boasts a junior-size Olympic pool with an oceanfront bar and massage services.

Highlights
  • Located waterfront along a quiet stretch of beach on the south side of Key West
  • All rooms and suites offer either oceanfront access or ocean views
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Rooms

The hotel offers 123 guestrooms, 80 of them newly built, all decorated with dark mahogany furniture and blue and white accents that lend a nautical feel. Guestrooms come in ocean-view and oceanfront styles with either single kings or pairs of queen beds. Custom-designed penthouse suites add to the luxury. In-room amenities include coffee makers, mini refrigerators, iPod docks and free Wi-Fi access.

Dining
The pool bar serves cocktails and a light lunch menu, while the nearby Southernmost Beach Cafe dishes up fresh seafood and waterfront views.   

Recreation
As part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection, Southernmost on the Beach sits among its sister properties along the south coast of Key West. Guests can relax in hammocks or beach chairs on the private beach or take a dip in the outdoor pool. Massage services and a fitness center round out the leisure offerings.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory (1 block)
  • Ernest Hemingway Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Business
  • Copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • Meeting spaces
  • On-site event coordinator
  • Free Wi-Fi  

Hotel Map

24.5475 -81.7956
Area served
Key West
Nearby airports
The closest airport is Key West International Airport (EYW).
Area description
The Southernmost on the Beach is located on the Atlantic shore of historic old town of Key West. This gorgeous oceanfront property stretches out on a secluded section of the island; away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The brand new and renewed Southernmost on the Beach hotel is just about half a block from the famous Duval Street and about a block from the Southernmost Point of the USA.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Southernmost on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Southernmost on the Beach Rooms

LUXURY - ROOM
New partial ocean view balcony 2 queen beds. Located on the second or third floor in one of our new buildings. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe balcony king room. Located on the second floor in one of our new buildings. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
OCEANVIEW - ROOM
West Lawn Oceanfront room with 1 king bed. Located on the first or second floor. Newly remodeled. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access. Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities are available at the Southernmost Hotel (across the street from the Southernmost on the Beach). This spacious air conditioned poolside conference room can accommodate parties up to 50 guests. Wireless internet access, dry erase boards, flat screen television, screens, overhead projectors, cd/vcr, video conferencing, surround sound, podium, flip charts, easels, stationery are available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for Southernmost on the Beach

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed in Key West
Memphis, Tennessee
May 19, 2010

Did not receive room choice

We booked an oceanfront room. However, when we arrived we were given a parking lot view room. We were very disappointed. We were looking forward to a peaceful relaxing getaway with the ocean sounds at our balcony-----didn't happen! The staff should be more accomodating to their guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
south jersey
May 10, 2010

key west

Excellent location. Close to downtown but not too close. Everything well maintained. Staff is very knowledgeable and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

cafe on beach is excellent and resonable

Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bethany Beach, De
Apr 27, 2010

Our stay

I attended a conference in Key West , my husband accompanied me. The hotel was within walking distance to a lot of the attractions, but quite a bit of distance from the marina and main attractions on Duval Street. I found the rooms to be spacious and spotless. However, when you are paying those kind of prices it should be. The beach was beautiful and the pool bar was quaint, however, the prices were extreme; which I also noted in the restaurant on campus. The concierges were always helpful. One day of our stay, we were not left any wash clothes and we had to write our requests down for housekeeping as they did not understand English. Overall, a beautiful place, but a little too pricey...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Went to Marguaritaville's while in Key West-The best "cheeseburger in Paradise" I have ever had.

Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steph in Boston
Boston, MA
Apr 13, 2010

Awesome Place to stay!

This hotel was clean, friendly and in a great location. Having never traveled to Key West I read a ton of reviews about hotels on the island and this hotel seemed to have the best reviews. I was not disappointed. It is in the quiet (but close to action) section of the island. Great views, pools and staff! I will definitely return to this hotel. My only issue was that the AC wasn't high enough, but I think it goes with their awesome efforts to be GREEN:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mangoes- GREAT FOOD!

Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Garner, NC
Apr 6, 2010

Wonderful Get Away for a Couple

My husband and I haven't traveled a lot, so we wanted to go someplace special. We did a lot of research for this trip. We decided we could go a whole lot cheaper, but we are so glad we didn't. This was the best trip imaginable. We loved the hotel it was so pretty, the staff made us feel like we were family. We also got to meet the owners and they made us feel so comfortable. If you don't go to Southern Most At The Beach it's certainly your loss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent bikes and go anywhere you want to go. You can bike end to end on Duval Street, parking and locking it while shopping in the many bike racks on both sides of the street. You can also ride bikes to eat at restaurants in Key West.

Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shawn and Melanie
Texas
Mar 15, 2010

Great escape in the heart of Key West

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised of how beautiful the resort was. Southernmost on the Beach offers a variety of experiences and caters to almost every type of need. The prestige of the resort separates the spring breakers from the more mature families that wish to spend a vacation without the distractions of unnecessary issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Plano, IL
Mar 9, 2010

Great place to stay

The rooms fall into two categories: 1) Older with fantastic water view; 2)Beautiful newly renovated with parking lot view. We had the latter. The waterfront was a short walk away but when we saw our friends older room, we were pleased with our newer room. Staff was top-notch! Definitely recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk up Simonton to "Abondonza" Italian or "Duffy's" steak house!

Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
sayreville new jersey
Mar 7, 2010

thanksgiving in the ket west

everything was so good that we are going back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Geneva, IL
Mar 6, 2010

Could Have Been A Five Star

I have to say that you really could not ask for a better location. Southernmost on the Beach is on the far south side of Key West and we were in room 513 with a fabulous view of the water out the window. We could watch the cruise ships every morning. It was an easy walk to Duval street. We also enjoyed the Southernmost on the Beach Cafe for breakfast. They really served a nice breakfast! I only wish that they had served waffles as I had to go to another restaurant to get a waffle for breakfast. The rooms were very clean but everyday housekeeping forgot to leave something - washcloths, coffee etc... For the price we paid to stay specifically at this resort, I would expect much better from the housekeeping staff - I didn't enjoy chasing them down each day to get the forgotten items. On Thursday evening of our week stay the neighbor in room 514 came home after 2 am and was yelling & screaming and it almost seemed like he was punching the walls. I had never heard so many swear words in my life. This woke up everyone that was close to room 514. I didn't expect to have this kind of clientele at the Southernmost but at least they checked out the next morning. Overall, a good stay and I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Abondonza is just up Simonston a couple of blocks and they have great Italian Food. Also, just a few blocks from Abondonza on Simonston is Duffy's Seafood & Steak. They really did serve a very good steak.

Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Mar 5, 2010

Fantastic getaway

Staff was very friendly, quick to respond to our requests. Beautiful location. Room was very clean and comfortable. On the quieter side of island, which we preferred. Will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search