$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Southernmost on the Beach

5 stars
508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Best In Stay Elite
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
120 reviews
Great stay

Another wonderful, worry-free stay at an amazing resort! See full review

  • EricCam
  • Oct 11, 2014
Great spot for 20 th anniversary

We loved it Great service and location Pools, bars and room were terrific See full review

  • Johansen
  • Jul 18, 2014
Newly expanded hotel with beach and oceanfront guestrooms
The newly expanded, updated Southernmost on the Beach hotel stretches along a secluded section of Key West coastline, far enough to provide respite from downtown craziness, but close enough to hit the scene any time. Guests can catch some rays on the private beach or visit the pier for front row seats of spectacular sunrises and sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel also boasts a junior-size Olympic pool with an oceanfront bar and massage services.

Highlights
  • Located waterfront along a quiet stretch of beach on the south side of Key West
  • All rooms and suites offer either oceanfront access or ocean views
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Rooms

The hotel offers 123 guestrooms, 80 of them newly built, all decorated with dark mahogany furniture and blue and white accents that lend a nautical feel. Guestrooms come in ocean-view and oceanfront styles with either single kings or pairs of queen beds. Custom-designed penthouse suites add to the luxury. In-room amenities include coffee makers, mini refrigerators, iPod docks and free Wi-Fi access.

Dining
The pool bar serves cocktails and a light lunch menu, while the nearby Southernmost Beach Cafe dishes up fresh seafood and waterfront views.   

Recreation
As part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection, Southernmost on the Beach sits among its sister properties along the south coast of Key West. Guests can relax in hammocks or beach chairs on the private beach or take a dip in the outdoor pool. Massage services and a fitness center round out the leisure offerings.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory (1 block)
  • Ernest Hemingway Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Business
  • Copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • Meeting spaces
  • On-site event coordinator
  • Free Wi-Fi  

Hotel Map

24.5475 -81.7956
Area served
Key West
Nearby airports
The closest airport is Key West International Airport (EYW).
Area description
The Southernmost on the Beach is located on the Atlantic shore of historic old town of Key West. This gorgeous oceanfront property stretches out on a secluded section of the island; away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The brand new and renewed Southernmost on the Beach hotel is just about half a block from the famous Duval Street and about a block from the Southernmost Point of the USA.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Southernmost on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Southernmost on the Beach Rooms

LUXURY - ROOM
New partial ocean view balcony 2 queen beds. Located on the second or third floor in one of our new buildings. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe balcony king room. Located on the second floor in one of our new buildings. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
OCEANVIEW - ROOM
West Lawn Oceanfront room with 1 king bed. Located on the first or second floor. Newly remodeled. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access. Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities are available at the Southernmost Hotel (across the street from the Southernmost on the Beach). This spacious air conditioned poolside conference room can accommodate parties up to 50 guests. Wireless internet access, dry erase boards, flat screen television, screens, overhead projectors, cd/vcr, video conferencing, surround sound, podium, flip charts, easels, stationery are available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Southernmost on the Beach

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bobbie82
Business
Tennessee
Jan 29, 2012

Southernmost on the Beach - Key West

Great place to stay! Directly on the beach, this hotel has all the amenities, including great beach cafe. Located close enough to Duval Street to walk, but far enough away from the noise and crowds. Would highly recommend. Great staff helped us book activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rental cars are not worth it in Key West. Everything easily within walking distance, and there is virtually no parking for any of the activities or to go shopping/eating out. Save your money and take a cab for longer distances.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smgreen
Business
NY
Jan 20, 2012

Great family vacation

my family and I really enjoyed our stay...rooms were beautiful view was amazing...definitely will be back again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisaolathegirl
Business
Olathe, Ks
Jan 5, 2012

Everthing you ever wanted

The staff is the best hotel staff I have ever experinced. We had a few foul ups on the beginning of our trip (lost luggage and we needed a room change due to medical problems) but the front desk staff, Travis and Scott, jumped right in and saved our anniversary trip. They set us up in a room at the SMOTB and made sure the needs we needed were met. The staff was on top of getting our luggage to us when it finally arrived and they treated us like royalty for the whole trip. We will stay here from now on. The Southernmost cafe on the beach is on site, right on the beach and they have the best staff, food atmosphere, Key Lime pie to die for and THE BEST happy hour. Paradise all at your fingertips. I could go on and on but I bet you get the drift. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When staying at SMOTB you just have to try the Southernmost Cafe on the Beach. It is right on the property, right on the beach, the best food, breakfast lunch and dinner, and THE BEST Happy Hour on ther island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Princeton, NJ, USA
Jan 1, 2012

We'll be back!

Southernmost On The Beach offers a boutique hotel experience with beautiful ocean views and easy access to all the fun of Duvall Street! Our room was spacious and the furnishings were modern. After long days out exploring the island, it felt good to call the hotel home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Hemmingway House...cats with 6 and 7 toes, oh my!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BostonSue
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 22, 2011

Terrific week of fun

Only compliments, everyone very attentative, room was lovely, service excellent and friendly, exercise room convenient, pool spotless, great hammocks, and great $3 Happy hour. A great place to stay in Old Town on the Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Grab the Jet Ski Tour at The Reach rather than having to take a cab to Fury.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
high and dry
Business
illinois
Nov 4, 2011

getaway with friends

lots of construction ---closed the restaurant and drained the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Jul 29, 2011

SMOTB

Overall enjoyable experience, newly upgraded, clean property, friendly staff, prompt service, nice pool and restaurant on property,overall would recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a Sunset sail while in Key West--highly recommend the Western Union.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KeyWestTraveler
Business
Savannah,NY
Jun 19, 2011

very nice getaway

my husband choose this hotel and at first i was a little skeptical because the online picture really did not show a lot, but when we first arrived i was floored its a beautiful hotel and a perfect location. we walked down the beach when first getting to the hotel and it was absolutely breath taking. the location of the hotel is perfect all the museums and entertainment is right down the street on duval and so forth especially if you do not plan on renting a car or scooter everything was in walking distance. the staff was amazing if you are arriving early or have a later depature they are willing to hold you luggage. we would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Very rested
Business
louisville, Ky
May 9, 2011

Hospitality at it's best

absolutely wonderful time. The staff was very friendly and helpful with all our needs. I have traveled a lot and have never found a more friendly place. It was my partner's birthday and they had flowers delivered and waiting upon our arrival. They treated us as a couple and that was nice. The staff at the restaurant was just as friendly. I can not say enough about this hotel and its staff. The only place I will stay when visiting Key West

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
swimlover
Business
NYC
Mar 12, 2011

Palm trees, ocean view, great service

My 25-yr-old daughter and I needed good weather and enough quiet to get a lot of reading done. Plus we wanted to swim (ocean and pool) and have some nice meals. We were able to do all of that at Southernmost on the Beach. Plus the room was lovely--superb linens, big bathroom with lots of shelf space, really nice (green) toiletries, a balcony with ocean view to the side. We loved it. The beach bar was lively, the pool bar was quiet and friendly at night. Fun activities too if you wanted--snorkel lessons, hula hoop fitness classes on the beach, wine tastings. No pressure though, and lots of lounge chairs under the palms in quiet places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Fury snorkel trips are just the right amount of time. They include about 90 minutes of sailing and an hour of snorkeling. A perfect way to begin the day; you're back on shore by 12:30 and ready for lunch. A really big lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top