Southernmost on the Beach

4 stars
508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
183 reviews
Great spot for 20 th anniversary

We loved it Great service and location Pools, bars and room were terrific See full review

  • Johansen
  • Jul 18, 2014
Great time !!!!!

Drove 1040 miles from TN and was greeted by Ashley at he front desk with a big smile. Was very... See full review

  • Green35Hotrod
  • Jun 21, 2014
Newly expanded hotel with beach and oceanfront guestrooms
The newly expanded, updated Southernmost on the Beach hotel stretches along a secluded section of Key West coastline, far enough to provide respite from downtown craziness, but close enough to hit the scene any time. Guests can catch some rays on the private beach or visit the pier for front row seats of spectacular sunrises and sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel also boasts a junior-size Olympic pool with an oceanfront bar and massage services.

Highlights
  • Located waterfront along a quiet stretch of beach on the south side of Key West
  • All rooms and suites offer either oceanfront access or ocean views
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Rooms

The hotel offers 123 guestrooms, 80 of them newly built, all decorated with dark mahogany furniture and blue and white accents that lend a nautical feel. Guestrooms come in ocean-view and oceanfront styles with either single kings or pairs of queen beds. Custom-designed penthouse suites add to the luxury. In-room amenities include coffee makers, mini refrigerators, iPod docks and free Wi-Fi access.

Dining
The pool bar serves cocktails and a light lunch menu, while the nearby Southernmost Beach Cafe dishes up fresh seafood and waterfront views.   

Recreation
As part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection, Southernmost on the Beach sits among its sister properties along the south coast of Key West. Guests can relax in hammocks or beach chairs on the private beach or take a dip in the outdoor pool. Massage services and a fitness center round out the leisure offerings.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory (1 block)
  • Ernest Hemingway Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Business
  • Copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • Meeting spaces
  • On-site event coordinator
  • Free Wi-Fi  

Southernmost on the Beach Rooms

LUXURY - ROOM
New partial ocean view balcony 2 queen beds. Located on the second or third floor in one of our new buildings. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe balcony king room. Located on the second floor in one of our new buildings. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
OCEANVIEW - ROOM
West Lawn Oceanfront room with 1 king bed. Located on the first or second floor. Newly remodeled. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access. Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

24.5475 -81.7956
Area served
Key West
Nearby airports
The closest airport is Key West International Airport (EYW).
Area description
The Southernmost on the Beach is located on the Atlantic shore of historic old town of Key West. This gorgeous oceanfront property stretches out on a secluded section of the island; away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The brand new and renewed Southernmost on the Beach hotel is just about half a block from the famous Duval Street and about a block from the Southernmost Point of the USA.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities are available at the Southernmost Hotel (across the street from the Southernmost on the Beach). This spacious air conditioned poolside conference room can accommodate parties up to 50 guests. Wireless internet access, dry erase boards, flat screen television, screens, overhead projectors, cd/vcr, video conferencing, surround sound, podium, flip charts, easels, stationery are available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (183)

Ratings and reviews for Southernmost on the Beach

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fun in Keys
West Virginia, USA
Mar 7, 2012

fun getaway

Best Hotel Ever!! I will be back!! Everyone is so nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
north beach
Hampton,N.H.
Mar 5, 2012

fantastic

beautiful, relaxing, very clean, & accomodating to all our needs---the 2nd time staying @ S.M. on the Beach and we loved even more---will be returning next year---Cafe @ on the beach had the best tuna ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nebraska Snowbird
Nebraska, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Great Resort!

Southernmost on the Beach was the cleanest resort we've ever seen. The restaurant and bars were super. The pool areas were very well kept. The staff members were very dedicated and friendly. Everyone made every effort to make our stay pleasant. The location is within a mile of anything you would want to do. Many good restaurants and bars were within a few blocks. The room was large and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was large with a large walk-in shower. All were spotless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jimmy Buffet's original Margaritaville had great food and drinks.

Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
POPPY JACK
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Feb 7, 2012

BEST CHOICE

THE SOUTHERNMOST ON THE BEACH IS BY FAR THE BEST ON THE EAST SIDE IF NOT THE BEST ALTOGETHER IN KEY WEST. TOTALLY A GREAT PLACE TO STAY RIGHT AT THE END OF DUVAL GREAT VIEWS ALL AROUND

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
davecfive
St Clairsville, OH 43950, USA
Feb 6, 2012

Good bang for buck

The hotel was really nice and close to Duval St. Lunch was good but dinner left a little to be desired. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Roof Top Cafe' was the best place we ate. Highly recomend...

Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G and P
Indiana, USA
Feb 3, 2012

It doesn't get any better than this!

Southernmost hospitality at it's best, fantastic place to stay, eat and enjoy the best of Key West. Food and drinks are a bit pricey, but the same as all good places in Key West. Food was unbelievably bountiful and excellent. Service was good at the restaurant, and beyond any expectations at the hotel. Clean, classy, on a beach, how much more could you ask for? Quiet at night and just a short walk to Duvall St. We will go back to the Southernmost!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent an electric car and see the island, we got so see sights and areas not on Duvall Street.

Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bobbie82
Tennessee
Jan 29, 2012

Southernmost on the Beach - Key West

Great place to stay! Directly on the beach, this hotel has all the amenities, including great beach cafe. Located close enough to Duval Street to walk, but far enough away from the noise and crowds. Would highly recommend. Great staff helped us book activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rental cars are not worth it in Key West. Everything easily within walking distance, and there is virtually no parking for any of the activities or to go shopping/eating out. Save your money and take a cab for longer distances.

Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smgreen
NY
Jan 20, 2012

Great family vacation

my family and I really enjoyed our stay...rooms were beautiful view was amazing...definitely will be back again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisaolathegirl
Olathe, Ks
Jan 5, 2012

Everthing you ever wanted

The staff is the best hotel staff I have ever experinced. We had a few foul ups on the beginning of our trip (lost luggage and we needed a room change due to medical problems) but the front desk staff, Travis and Scott, jumped right in and saved our anniversary trip. They set us up in a room at the SMOTB and made sure the needs we needed were met. The staff was on top of getting our luggage to us when it finally arrived and they treated us like royalty for the whole trip. We will stay here from now on. The Southernmost cafe on the beach is on site, right on the beach and they have the best staff, food atmosphere, Key Lime pie to die for and THE BEST happy hour. Paradise all at your fingertips. I could go on and on but I bet you get the drift. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When staying at SMOTB you just have to try the Southernmost Cafe on the Beach. It is right on the property, right on the beach, the best food, breakfast lunch and dinner, and THE BEST Happy Hour on ther island.

Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Princeton, NJ, USA
Jan 1, 2012

We'll be back!

Southernmost On The Beach offers a boutique hotel experience with beautiful ocean views and easy access to all the fun of Duvall Street! Our room was spacious and the furnishings were modern. After long days out exploring the island, it felt good to call the hotel home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Hemmingway House...cats with 6 and 7 toes, oh my!

Back to menu Return to top