$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Southernmost on the Beach

5 stars
508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Best In Stay Elite
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
120 reviews
Great stay

Another wonderful, worry-free stay at an amazing resort! See full review

  • EricCam
  • Oct 11, 2014
Great spot for 20 th anniversary

We loved it Great service and location Pools, bars and room were terrific See full review

  • Johansen
  • Jul 18, 2014
Newly expanded hotel with beach and oceanfront guestrooms
The newly expanded, updated Southernmost on the Beach hotel stretches along a secluded section of Key West coastline, far enough to provide respite from downtown craziness, but close enough to hit the scene any time. Guests can catch some rays on the private beach or visit the pier for front row seats of spectacular sunrises and sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel also boasts a junior-size Olympic pool with an oceanfront bar and massage services.

Highlights
  • Located waterfront along a quiet stretch of beach on the south side of Key West
  • All rooms and suites offer either oceanfront access or ocean views
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Rooms

The hotel offers 123 guestrooms, 80 of them newly built, all decorated with dark mahogany furniture and blue and white accents that lend a nautical feel. Guestrooms come in ocean-view and oceanfront styles with either single kings or pairs of queen beds. Custom-designed penthouse suites add to the luxury. In-room amenities include coffee makers, mini refrigerators, iPod docks and free Wi-Fi access.

Dining
The pool bar serves cocktails and a light lunch menu, while the nearby Southernmost Beach Cafe dishes up fresh seafood and waterfront views.   

Recreation
As part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection, Southernmost on the Beach sits among its sister properties along the south coast of Key West. Guests can relax in hammocks or beach chairs on the private beach or take a dip in the outdoor pool. Massage services and a fitness center round out the leisure offerings.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory (1 block)
  • Ernest Hemingway Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Business
  • Copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • Meeting spaces
  • On-site event coordinator
  • Free Wi-Fi  

Hotel Map

24.5475 -81.7956
Area served
Key West
Nearby airports
The closest airport is Key West International Airport (EYW).
Area description
The Southernmost on the Beach is located on the Atlantic shore of historic old town of Key West. This gorgeous oceanfront property stretches out on a secluded section of the island; away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The brand new and renewed Southernmost on the Beach hotel is just about half a block from the famous Duval Street and about a block from the Southernmost Point of the USA.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Southernmost on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Southernmost on the Beach Rooms

LUXURY - ROOM
New partial ocean view balcony 2 queen beds. Located on the second or third floor in one of our new buildings. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe balcony king room. Located on the second floor in one of our new buildings. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
OCEANVIEW - ROOM
West Lawn Oceanfront room with 1 king bed. Located on the first or second floor. Newly remodeled. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access. Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities are available at the Southernmost Hotel (across the street from the Southernmost on the Beach). This spacious air conditioned poolside conference room can accommodate parties up to 50 guests. Wireless internet access, dry erase boards, flat screen television, screens, overhead projectors, cd/vcr, video conferencing, surround sound, podium, flip charts, easels, stationery are available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Southernmost on the Beach

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SwimmerJ3n
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Apr 1, 2012

Excellent Escape

We were greeted with superb hospitality. Our room was clean and the cleaning staff and pool staff all super. The hotel is really beautiful and the view from our room outstanding. Hope we get to return someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

half price drinks/appetizers at most restaurants during happy hour - helped our budget

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Admin
Business
Champaign, IL, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Beach Vacation

Our room had an excellent view, comfortable bed, and was very clean. The pool staff attended to our every wish. I was very pleased with the entire stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shark Bites ice cream and pizza. Small town feel and great food. Owners were very helpful pointing out local attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
keywest t
Business
vermont
Mar 22, 2012

march getaway

This was hotel was in a great spot easy walking to eveything or rideing a bike. Well staffed everyone was right there for all your needs. I stayed eithier the pool or the beach area. Our waitress Heather at the shores bar was great and had some great dinner suggestions. I would joke we her beacause she looked just like Reese Weatherspoon the actress she said she had been told that before. Thanks again for the great time Tim

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great eating place called Santiago's very good food call for a reservation beacause its always busy and your right there close to duval st where there is always things happening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deb Z
Business
Plymouth, MA, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Amazing Vacation

The hotel was beautiful and the location was amazing, far enough away from the crowds but close enough to walk to. when we wanted. I would highly recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fun in Keys
Business
West Virginia, USA
Mar 7, 2012

fun getaway

Best Hotel Ever!! I will be back!! Everyone is so nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
north beach
Business
Hampton,N.H.
Mar 5, 2012

fantastic

beautiful, relaxing, very clean, & accomodating to all our needs---the 2nd time staying @ S.M. on the Beach and we loved even more---will be returning next year---Cafe @ on the beach had the best tuna ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nebraska Snowbird
Business
Nebraska, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Great Resort!

Southernmost on the Beach was the cleanest resort we've ever seen. The restaurant and bars were super. The pool areas were very well kept. The staff members were very dedicated and friendly. Everyone made every effort to make our stay pleasant. The location is within a mile of anything you would want to do. Many good restaurants and bars were within a few blocks. The room was large and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was large with a large walk-in shower. All were spotless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jimmy Buffet's original Margaritaville had great food and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
POPPY JACK
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Feb 7, 2012

BEST CHOICE

THE SOUTHERNMOST ON THE BEACH IS BY FAR THE BEST ON THE EAST SIDE IF NOT THE BEST ALTOGETHER IN KEY WEST. TOTALLY A GREAT PLACE TO STAY RIGHT AT THE END OF DUVAL GREAT VIEWS ALL AROUND

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
davecfive
Business
St Clairsville, OH 43950, USA
Feb 6, 2012

Good bang for buck

The hotel was really nice and close to Duval St. Lunch was good but dinner left a little to be desired. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Roof Top Cafe' was the best place we ate. Highly recomend...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G and P
Business
Indiana, USA
Feb 3, 2012

It doesn't get any better than this!

Southernmost hospitality at it's best, fantastic place to stay, eat and enjoy the best of Key West. Food and drinks are a bit pricey, but the same as all good places in Key West. Food was unbelievably bountiful and excellent. Service was good at the restaurant, and beyond any expectations at the hotel. Clean, classy, on a beach, how much more could you ask for? Quiet at night and just a short walk to Duvall St. We will go back to the Southernmost!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent an electric car and see the island, we got so see sights and areas not on Duvall Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top