$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

Southernmost on the Beach

4 stars
508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
183 reviews
Great spot for 20 th anniversary

We loved it Great service and location Pools, bars and room were terrific See full review

  • Johansen
  • Jul 18, 2014
Great time !!!!!

Drove 1040 miles from TN and was greeted by Ashley at he front desk with a big smile. Was very... See full review

  • Green35Hotrod
  • Jun 21, 2014
Newly expanded hotel with beach and oceanfront guestrooms
The newly expanded, updated Southernmost on the Beach hotel stretches along a secluded section of Key West coastline, far enough to provide respite from downtown craziness, but close enough to hit the scene any time. Guests can catch some rays on the private beach or visit the pier for front row seats of spectacular sunrises and sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel also boasts a junior-size Olympic pool with an oceanfront bar and massage services.

Highlights
  • Located waterfront along a quiet stretch of beach on the south side of Key West
  • All rooms and suites offer either oceanfront access or ocean views
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Rooms

The hotel offers 123 guestrooms, 80 of them newly built, all decorated with dark mahogany furniture and blue and white accents that lend a nautical feel. Guestrooms come in ocean-view and oceanfront styles with either single kings or pairs of queen beds. Custom-designed penthouse suites add to the luxury. In-room amenities include coffee makers, mini refrigerators, iPod docks and free Wi-Fi access.

Dining
The pool bar serves cocktails and a light lunch menu, while the nearby Southernmost Beach Cafe dishes up fresh seafood and waterfront views.   

Recreation
As part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection, Southernmost on the Beach sits among its sister properties along the south coast of Key West. Guests can relax in hammocks or beach chairs on the private beach or take a dip in the outdoor pool. Massage services and a fitness center round out the leisure offerings.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory (1 block)
  • Ernest Hemingway Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Business
  • Copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • Meeting spaces
  • On-site event coordinator
  • Free Wi-Fi  

Southernmost on the Beach Rooms

LUXURY - ROOM
New partial ocean view balcony 2 queen beds. Located on the second or third floor in one of our new buildings. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe balcony king room. Located on the second floor in one of our new buildings. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
OCEANVIEW - ROOM
West Lawn Oceanfront room with 1 king bed. Located on the first or second floor. Newly remodeled. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access. Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Southernmost on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

24.5475 -81.7956
Area served
Key West
Nearby airports
The closest airport is Key West International Airport (EYW).
Area description
The Southernmost on the Beach is located on the Atlantic shore of historic old town of Key West. This gorgeous oceanfront property stretches out on a secluded section of the island; away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The brand new and renewed Southernmost on the Beach hotel is just about half a block from the famous Duval Street and about a block from the Southernmost Point of the USA.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities are available at the Southernmost Hotel (across the street from the Southernmost on the Beach). This spacious air conditioned poolside conference room can accommodate parties up to 50 guests. Wireless internet access, dry erase boards, flat screen television, screens, overhead projectors, cd/vcr, video conferencing, surround sound, podium, flip charts, easels, stationery are available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (183)

Ratings and reviews for Southernmost on the Beach

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
E and K
Norton, MA
Dec 1, 2013

Fun getaway for Mom and daughter

Had a great stay at the Southernmost Hotel on the Beach! Went to Key West to celebrate my daughter turning 21 & we had an amazing time! The hotel was beautiful and the staff were friendly and helpful! We enjoyed eating and drinking at the Southernmost beach cafe and relaxing pool side. The waitstaff and bar staff were friendly at both the cafe and pool. The entertainment was great both during the day and evening. The activities at the pool were entertaining! The sunsets were beautiful. The rooms were modern and we had a great view.(Our room was partial ocean view) The hotel is walking distance to the action on Duval but also quiet when you want to relax. We can't wait to return and will stay at the Southernmost on the Beach again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Denver Katwoman
Denver, CO
Nov 21, 2013

Great staff, great location

The staff was outstanding-always there for any questions or needs. The property was well maintained. Lots of places to relax-by the pool, on a small beach, secluded among the palms. Overall a great escape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sockman
North Carolina
Sep 23, 2013

Great Place

Everything was great! Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cathy239
Roseville, MI
Sep 15, 2013

anniversary trip

We had a great time here; the room was clean and comforatable and pool was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Flaming Buoy restaurant was fabulous! You must try it! The Conch Republic was very good too!

Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NatM
New York
Sep 4, 2013

Very nice but way too expensive

Very comfortable beds and nice rooms. However too expensive to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Momma Ang
New Jersey
Aug 27, 2013

Great Family Getaway

Southernmost on the Beach was a very nice hotel. The decor was very contemporary and they had beautiful floors without those ugly rugs. When we booked they said we were getting partial ocean view and we were skeptical but the view was really nice from our balcony and we sat out there every night! Location was great, right near Duvall Street. You definitely don't need a car to get around! Some of the staff , at the desk, were a little uppity. This was our first time at this hotel so when we asked questions they looked at us like we were from a different planet! The people of Key West were so friendly. Just ask a local for the best places to go! We will definitely come back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Visit Onlywood restaurant off of Duvall Street . Quiet with excellent Italian food. Reasonable prices. Nice atmosphere.

Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smileman
New York
Jul 18, 2013

Excellent Hotel!

My wife and I just returned from a stay at Southernmost on the Beach and had an excellent stay. The grounds are spotless, the staff is friendly and attentive, and the rooms are beautiful. The hotel is located at the quieter end of Duval Street, away from all the cruise ship crowds, which for us was perfect. A walk around the corner was all it took to be right among the restaurants, shops and bars. There are plenty of chairs at the pool and beach so there is no need to "save" seats. There are several comfy hammocks to stretch out on as well. The only minor disappointment was our balcony. I requested an oceanfront room and our room was indeed oceanfront. However, our balcony was not private. It is located along the walkway that leads to the other rooms. A minor point, but we would have preferred to have a private balcony. Nevertheless, we loved the hotel and would definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dianna beach seeker
New Mexico
Jun 30, 2013

Fabulous vacation spot

The hotel exceeded our expectations. We had an ocean view. The hotel staff was great. The co concierge booked our snorkeling and jet ski adventures. We received free drink coupons and discounts for local restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Conch Republic Seafood restaurant is a great experience. You need to drive or bike from the hirel. Also, we enjoyed the food and music at Sloppy Joe's which is a short walk from the hotel.

Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HRLori
New York, NY
Feb 15, 2013

Paradise

This hotel has set the bar for all others. The location, the amenities, the beach, the beach, the beach. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Southernmost on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TheRev
Rochester, Kent UK
Sep 29, 2012

Exceeded Expectations

The main travel feedback site is not all ways right! This is the BEST hotel on Key West and I have stayed in a few. The service is that good you don't really even see the staff you just get what you need. Great beach and the pier is a great place to start any day. Book with Confidence you won;t be disappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast is great value and a great view with excellent service

Back to menu Return to top