$289 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Southernmost Hotel

5 stars
1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
179 reviews
family trip

good location and enviroment. like a garden, really really good hotel to live in See full review

  • bunnybunny11
  • Dec 21, 2014
My 6th Year there

I've been staying at Southernmost for the past 6 years during a charity bike ride. The new and... See full review

  • FTL Guy
  • Nov 18, 2014
Quiet, beachfront hotel offers abundant amenities on Key West
The Southernmost Hotel sits at the south end of Duval Street near Key West's famous Southernmost Point of the United States. And while Southernmost Hotel is slightly removed from the hustle of the main tourist strip, it is still close enough for guests to join the excitement when the mood strikes. For reliable day trips, guests simply stroll to restaurants, eclectic shops and art galleries nearby, along with that one constant-the Atlantic Ocean, which is across the street. Southernmost Hotel also offers parking (fees apply) and Wi-Fi access.

Highlights
  • Close to the Southernmost Point of the United States
  • Two pools and a pool bar
  • Southernmost Hotel guests also have access to amenities at nearby sister hotels
  • Free Wi-Fi
Rooms

Southernmost Hotel rooms and suites sport single kings or pairs of queen beds. Depending on the room booked, some spaces deliver pool, fountain or city views via private balconies or patios. All accommodations come equipped with free Wi-Fi, mini refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, cable TVs and-in room safes. Some suites also have kitchenettes and living room areas.

Dining

For all meals, guests can dine on fresh seafood outside on the beach at the nearby Southernmost Beach Cafe and the pool bar at the Southernmost Hotel offers cocktails and light lunch fare poolside.

Recreation
Southernmost Hotel offers a nice set of free amenities that include parking (fees apply), Wi-Fi throughout the property and two swimming pools.  Guests can also take advantage of the fitness center, bike rentals and massage services on site, or visit the sister property, Southernmost on the Beach, where they also have access to the beach, beach chairs, pier and oceanfront pool.
Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory (1 block)
  • Ernest Hemingway Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Business
  • Flexible indoor and outdoor meeting spaces, including  a conference room for 50 guests, plus beachfront and poolside gathering areas
  • Catering services
  • Presentation equipment
  • Copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee is $10 USD plus 7.5% tax per car and per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Southernmost Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Southernmost Hotel Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe king room. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, free resort activities. Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe 2 queen room. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, free resort activities. Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)
ECONOMY - ROOM
Economy king. Room includes free parking, free wireless internet access, free resort activities. Resort Fee: USD 25+tax per accommodation, per night (effective 1 January 2014)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities are available at the Southernmost Hotel. This spacious air conditioned poolside conference room can accommodate parties up to 50 guests. Wireless internet access, dry erase boards, flat screen television, screens, overhead projectors, cd/vcr, video conferencing, surround sound, podium, flip charts, easels, stationery are available.

Dining

Southernmost Beach Cafe
Dine oceanfront just across the street. Great Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner menu....Happy hour daily from 4pm-7pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (179)

Ratings and reviews for Southernmost Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Southernmost Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 14, 2011

Great Amenities and Friendly Staff

Very nice hotel. Very clean. Great pools, private fake beach, hammocks, poolside drink service (pushy but professional), towel service, beachside chairs (umbrellas for a fee) and nice front desk people. The only problem we had was the concierge. He said there was just one snorkel boating experience leaving from the island. Turns out there were multiple but we did not do enough investigation. One was almost half as much money as the one suggested. We found a coupon that would have saved us a nominal amount of money but the concierge said he would book the trip for us and we would be able to use the coupon at the Fury (company name) snorkel excursion check-in. Lo and behold that is exactly incorrect and turns out he gets a commission for booking the trip and the coupon is used only when you book directly with Fury. They also have a preferred taxi service that they call exclusively and when we tried to get in a taxi that pulled into the lobby they nearly yanked us out of the taxi after saying that the unpreferred taxi service would rip us off. Which is illogical because every taxi service charges the same (rip-off) rate of $8 per person to and from the airport (that is less than 3 miles away).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Circle K convenience store north on Duvall street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Gay Traveler
Business
San Diego CA
Jun 14, 2011

Nice

The hotel is at one end of Duval Street and close to the ocean. There are other hotels that are closer to the bars, if that's your thing. I must say that it was very quiet and the hotel has a great island feel to it. If it wasn't so insanely hot/humid in Key West, it would be a perfect distance from everything! So if you don't like to sweat...and I mean SWEAT to the point you are changing outfits every four hours and taking 15 showers a day...maybe go closer to the area you want to primarily spend your time. That being said, my room did have amazing AC that I was extremely grateful for! One thing that was evident from the beginning is that everyone is extremely friendly! Have a great time and go to Bourbon Street Pub! Place is a blast and I'm heading back for Fantasy Fest this year! Now THAT will be a blast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

All the bars are right on Duval Street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brookie1978
Business
Charleston, SC
Jun 12, 2011

Great Hotel- great location

Great staff, really friendly, awesome pools. Don't waste your money staying at the beach front hotel, you can use their pools or beach and stay here. Would stay again. Key West leaves a little to be desired, but the hotel was great. We brought our bikes, which was key- you could ride anywhere on the island. We are both in our thirties and no kids but were happy to not be staying in the center of all the madness. Southernmost is just far enough away from the madness of Duval to make you exhale as you pull in the driveway. Close enough to go back to it all a few hours later... if you want to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bring or rent bikes. Absolutely the way to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jack and Leslie
Business
Youngstown , Ohio
Jun 9, 2011

Married In Key West

The Southernmost Hotel was Beautiful. We enjoyed our stay there very much.Pool area was wonderful, food etc... All employee's were very kind and will do anything for you...my experience was that i was getting married and i was having a hard time getting my wedding gown on , the lady from the front desk came to my room and helped me with getting it on , as a bride i was freaking out ...they saved the day...and when we got back to our room we seen that they left us a bottle of champaigne and a box of choc's...that was wonderful and Both My Husband and I love this hotel so much we will be back next year !!!!! Thanks for the memories...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
May 30, 2011

Southernmost Hotel

Beautiful room, spacious with very cold air conditioning. Pool is perfect with a completely renovated tiki bar and a walk across the street to their private beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants are everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hayward, CA
May 13, 2011

Very nice! If you want the beach...

Be aware that this hotel is actually a chain of 3 hotels on the same street. Make sure to call and ask which of their 3 properties you are staying in. We thought we were beach front because that is where the address on google maps points, but we actually were on their property behind the beachfront hotel. Huge dissapointment when we arrived, but overall, this is a very nice and clean hotel. Nice atmosphere, great pools and pool-side bar. Would have stayed here anyway, but they deceive guests with the location. Be sure to call to make sure which property you are booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walk to downtown, but not bad - only 15 mins and lots to see and do on the way. Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jkfran
Business
Salt Lake City
Apr 29, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

The total resort package is great, the staff was very friendly, the pool and pool bar was a great place to getaway and relax. The beach grill cafe had the best food we found on key west and keep going back to the cafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, NY
Apr 27, 2011

Good experience

We had a romantic birthday trip to this hotel and it really met our expectations. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, the grounds were immaculately kept, and the location was superb. Located on the quieter end of Duval you could choose to enter the chaos of drunks and transvestites on the opposite end, or hang in the comfort and luxury of the Southernmost. Great time, highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CT Rays Fan
Business
Waterford CT
Apr 23, 2011

Fantastic!!!!

Room was perfect. Great staff in every aspect. Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Southernmost Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arena, Wisconsin
Apr 3, 2011

Best Place in the Keys

This was my fifth trip to Key West and this was the best place i have stayed so far. The staff was more than helpful the rooms were spotless. You are right on duval street but on the south side so quiet at night so you can sleep but walking distance to all the action and night life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top