$298 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 23, 2015

Santa Maria Suites Resort

4 stars
View map of 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
39 reviews
A little bit of paradise in paradise

If you are looking for a stay on the hustle and bustle of downtown Duval, this is not your place.... See full review

  • TheK.
  • Aug 27, 2015
Excellent accommodation

Just returned from a 10 night stay at Santa Maria Suites. The accommodation was excellent and the... See full review

  • Amanda G.
  • Aug 16, 2015

The Santa Maria Suites Resort sits just steps from the beach near the southern end of Duval Street.  Located on the quiet, south side of the island, the Santa Maria Suites Resort offers a secluded getaway with lush gardens and extravagant suites. However, at just a mile from Mallory Square, it's conveniently close enough to the shopping and nightlife of Old Town, as well as to local watersports and charter boats.  The on-site Ambrosia restaurant serves sushi and other Japanese fare, and the Santa Maria Suites Resort provides complimentary in-room Wi-Fi access.

Rooms

The Santa Maria Suites Resort features high-end, two-bedroom suites with luxurious amenities to pamper guests while providing all the conveniences of home. Suites feature king- or queen-size beds in bedrooms. The extravagant kitchens boast custom white cabinets topped by sea-foam granite along with a full complement of appliances-including Jenn-Air cooktops and Sub-Zero refrigerators-to make in-room entertaining easy. Bedroom amenities include flat screen televisions, custom-designed leather furniture and large closets. Master baths feature Chinese glass tiles with double Mediterranean basins and dual designer showerheads, while raised-basin sinks, marble walls, stone counters and Bath and Body Work amenities provide a spa-like feel. Accommodations also feature Wi-Fi access (free).

Property features

The Santa Maria Suites Resort boasts a secret-garden-like courtyard surrounded by private balconies, terraces, and luxurious two bedroom accommodations. Comfortable chaises line the curves of an outdoor pool surrounded by exotic trees, fragrant native wildflowers and lavish tropical greenery. Guests can find chilled towels and fresh smoothies prepared poolside. The Santa Maria Suites Resort also features beach access, a guest parking lot, and an evening happy hour with complimentary wine. Ambrosia, the on-site restaurant, serves sushi and other Japanese delicacies.

Highlights
  • Two-bedroom suites boast full, gourmet kitchens
  • Outdoor pools with chilled towels and fresh smoothies prepared poolside
  • On-site sushi restaurant
  • Beach access
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
Nearby attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.4 mi./2.2 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (1.3 mi./2.1 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.3 mi./2.1 km)
  • Key West Lighthouse Museum (0.6 mi./1 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (2.9 mi./4.6 km)
  • Miami International Airport (161 mi./257.6 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Santa Maria Suites Resort also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$149
4.1 / 5 77 reviews
★★★★★
$259
4.2 / 5 217 reviews
★★★
$149
4.0 / 5 157 reviews
★★★★★
$219
4.4 / 5 110 reviews
★★★★
$220
4.0 / 5 218 reviews
★★★★
$169
4.5 / 5 115 reviews
★★★★
$209
4.5 / 5 159 reviews
★★★★
$174
4.0 / 5 35 reviews
★★★★★
$239
4.4 / 5 122 reviews

Santa Maria Suites Resort Rooms

Luxury 2 Bedroom Pool View Suite
Two bedroom, two bathroom luxury suite with pool view, a fully equipped state of the art kitchen, in-room washer and dryer and three 48in flat screen TV's. The bright and airy living room provides a comfortable seating area. The living room TV is equipped with a A/V input for easy connection to a laptop, video game console or a video camera. The bedrooms have one king bed in each room, large closets, in-room safe and custom furniture. The bathrooms feature natural stone counters and marble walls with large mirrors providing a spa like feel. The master bath is located in the guestroom with a spacious shower. The second bath, featuring a shower, is located directly outside of the second guestroom. Each unit offers a private patio or balcony.
One Bedroom Suite
One bedroom, two bathroom luxury suite with a fully equipped state of the art kitchen, in-room washer and dryer and two 48in flat screen TV's. The bright and airy living room provides a comfortable seating area. The living room TV is equipped with a A/V input for easy connection to a laptop, video game console or video camera. The bedroom has one queen bed, large closet and custom designed furniture. The bathrooms feature natural stone counters and marble walls with large mirrors providing a spa like feel. Each unit offers a private patio.
Luxury Two Bedroom Accommodation
Two bedroom, two bathroom luxury accommodations with a fully equipped state of the art kitchen, in-room washer and dryer and three 48in flat screen TV's. The bright and airy living room provides a comfortable seating area. The living room TV is equipped with a A/V input for easy connection to a laptop, video game console or video camera. The bedrooms have one queen bed in each room, large closets, and in room safe. The bathrooms feature natural stone counters and marble walls with large mirrors providing a spa like feel. A specific room type is not guaranteed when taking advantage of the Luxury Two Bedroom Accommodations; either a suite or a bi-level suite will be available upon check-in.
Luxury 2 Bedroom Pool View Bi-level Suite
Two bedroom luxury, two level suite with a pool view, fully equipped state of the art kitchen, in-room washer and dryer and three 48in flat screen TV's. The bright and airy living room provides a comfortable seating area. The living room TV is equipped with a A/V input for easy connection to a laptop, video game console or video camera. The two bedrooms, which are located on the second level, have one queen bed in each bedroom, a large closet, in room safe and custom designed furniture. The suite has a half bath located on first floor and one bathroom in each guestroom, featuring one bath and one shower with natural stone counters and marble walls with large mirrors providing a spa like feel. These second floor units are accessible by one flight of stairs. Each bi-level suite offers a private balcony.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Ambrosia Restaurant
Japanese restaurant with a sushi bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Santa Maria Suites Resort

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 39
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Santa Maria Suites Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mostly Unhappy Guest
Friends
Florida
Jan 7, 2013

Great location, staff lacking

Overall the experience was fine- I'm very happy with the location of the hotel, but was annoyed by the front desk clerk, who seemed strangely happy to let me know about additional fees that I would be paying-- I'm not going to be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Santa Maria Suites Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChrisTravel
Friends
Hickory, NC
May 14, 2014

Wedding destination getaway

The staff was fantastic and friendly. The service and extra amenities were great...free smoothies, free sunscreen availability poolside, the muffins, etc. My only complaint is that our room was upstairs and much smaller than the room downstairs. There was hardly any space between the bedroom and bed placement and any room in the bathroom. Our friends downstairs room was 4 times more spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Santa Maria Suites Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vinay S.
Friends
Raleigh
Jun 4, 2015

Family Trip

Good Location and clean hotel. Family friendly stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Santa Maria Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cesar David Garcia
Friends
Miami Beach
Jun 7, 2010

Best Hotel Ever!!

Great service, and lots of free things from the hotel which makes you feel like they really appreciate you coming.. Free parking, free beach chairs, free smoothies, free waters in hotel room & pool, free Muffins, nice towels, 3 42 inch flat panels, awesome showers with inputs for ipod, camera's etc. So many details were thought about. a kitchen to die for. 3 balconies. Just awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Santa Maria Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cgirl89
Friends
Charlotte, NC
Jul 21, 2009

What an oasis!

This hotel was fabulous! We dodged Hurricane Ike and were some of the first tourists allowed on the island afterward. We lucked out and got this suite for an affordable price as a result. Jackpot! It was beautiful and perfect for us. We were two couples and having the two separate rooms, with a common living room and kitchen worked out wonderfully for us. Modern appliances, furnishings, and bathroom fixtures were lovely. We couldn't have asked for a better place to enjoy Key West. We still talk about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Micheal's for a nice, romantic dinner and Pepe's for breakfast.

Review of Santa Maria Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Cincinnati OH
Oct 11, 2010

Wonderful Stay

Excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Santa Maria Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elo87fr
Friends
Miami, FL
Aug 25, 2014

Perfect hotel for a weekend in Key West

We were a group of 9 and stayed there for a weekend. The suites are really clean and big enough for a group. Kitchens have all you need to cook if you need to. We loved the wine happy hour and the free smoothies all day. Great location and just far enough from the craziness of Duval Street so you're not bothered at night. Would definitely recomment this property!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Santa Maria Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
whatTheHelp
Friends
Boston, MA
Sep 9, 2014

fantastic resort.

We got a king suit, although a bit pricey but splitting with friends was reasonable for the service and amenities. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Santa Maria Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EMGirls4
Friends
colora
May 21, 2015

Surpassed expectations

First trip to Key West - four high school friends celebrating turning 60. In every way the location and the Santa Maria surpassed our expectations. We are all very seasoned travelers - bordering on the travel snob mentality, and we were all thrilled with the resort's modern suites - from the kitchen to the comfy beds to the wide screen tvs. The Dove ice cream minis placed daily in our freezer are a special treat, but the morning muffins could be replaced with a healthier, more appealing variety. The suite was immaculate - as is the pool area. Love the always-available lemonade and fruit-immersed water at the pool, the yummy complimentary frozen smoothies and the happy hour! Front desk personnel were super friendly and accommodating. The location - at the quiet end of Duval was perfect for us, and despite the property being completely booked, the pool area remained relatively empty. We felt as if we had the property all to ourselves! Although the beach is what it is, having access to lounge chairs, the beautiful ocean view and a friendly beach boy we enjoyed two restful afternoons under the palm trees. Daily long walks, runs, a bike ride around the island, and a sunset sail on the Spirit of Independence helped burn off some calories. May weather called for blue skies, cotton ball clouds, trade winds and warm evenings. Luckily we reached out to a former colleague who lives in the area for dining recommendations, and we made our reservations prior to our trip. All were in walking distance of the Santa Maria. In every way, the Santa Maria far surpassed our expectations. We can't wait to return one day with our families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top