$268 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Santa Maria Suites Resort

4 stars
1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
36 reviews
fantastic resort.

We got a king suit, although a bit pricey but splitting with friends was reasonable for the service... See full review

  • whatTheHelp
  • Sep 9, 2014
Perfect hotel for a weekend in Key West

We were a group of 9 and stayed there for a weekend. The suites are really clean and big enough for... See full review

  • Elo87fr
  • Aug 25, 2014
Lavishly equipped suites in a tropical garden setting near Old Town

The Santa Maria Suites Resort sits just steps from the beach near the southern end of Duval Street.  Located on the quiet, south side of the island, the Santa Maria Suites Resort offers a secluded getaway with lush gardens and extravagant suites. However, at just a mile from Mallory Square, it's conveniently close enough to the shopping and nightlife of Old Town, as well as to local watersports and charter boats.  The on-site Ambrosia restaurant serves sushi and other Japanese fare, and the Santa Maria Suites Resort provides complimentary in-room Wi-Fi access.

Highlights
  • Two-bedroom suites boast full, gourmet kitchens
  • Outdoor pools with chilled towels and fresh smoothies prepared poolside
  • On-site sushi restaurant
  • Beach access
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
Rooms

The Santa Maria Suites Resort features high-end, two-bedroom suites with luxurious amenities to pamper guests while providing all the conveniences of home. Suites feature king- or queen-size beds in bedrooms. The extravagant kitchens boast custom white cabinets topped by sea-foam granite along with a full complement of appliances-including Jenn-Air cooktops and Sub-Zero refrigerators-to make in-room entertaining easy. Bedroom amenities include flat screen televisions, custom-designed leather furniture and large closets. Master baths feature Chinese glass tiles with double Mediterranean basins and dual designer showerheads, while raised-basin sinks, marble walls, stone counters and Bath and Body Work amenities provide a spa-like feel. Accommodations also feature Wi-Fi access (free).

Features

The Santa Maria Suites Resort boasts a secret-garden-like courtyard surrounded by private balconies, terraces, and luxurious two bedroom accommodations. Comfortable chaises line the curves of an outdoor pool surrounded by exotic trees, fragrant native wildflowers and lavish tropical greenery. Guests can find chilled towels and fresh smoothies prepared poolside. The Santa Maria Suites Resort also features beach access, a guest parking lot, and an evening happy hour with complimentary wine. Ambrosia, the on-site restaurant, serves sushi and other Japanese delicacies.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (2.9 mi./4.6 km)
  • Miami International Airport (161 mi./257.6 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.4 mi./2.2 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (1.3 mi./2.1 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.3 mi./2.1 km)
  • Key West Lighthouse Museum (0.6 mi./1 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Santa Maria Suites Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Santa Maria Suites Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
One bedroom, two bathroom luxury suite with a fully equipped state of the art kitchen, in-room washer and dryer and two 42 flat screen TV's. The bright and airy living room provides a comfortable seating area. The living room TV is equipped with a DVD player and A/V input for easy connection to a laptop, video game console or camcorder. The bedroom has one king bed, large closet and custom designed furniture. The bathrooms feature natural stone counters and marble walls with large mirrors providing a spa like feel. Each unit offers a private patio.
Luxury Two Bedroom Accommodation
Two bedroom, two bathroom luxury accommodations with a fully equipped state of the art kitchen, in-room washer and dryer and three 42” flat screen TV’s. The bright and airy living room provides a comfortable seating area. The living room TV is equipped with a DVD player and A/V input for easy connection to a laptop, video game console or a camcorder. The bedrooms have either one queen bed or one king bed in each room, large closets, and in room safe. The bathrooms feature natural stone counters and marble walls with large mirrors providing a spa like feel. A specific room type is not guaranteed when taking advantage of the Luxury Two Bedroom Accommodations; either a suite or a bi-level suite will be available upon check-in.
Luxury 2 Bedroom Pool View Bi-level Suite
Two bedroom luxury, two level suite with a pool view, fully equipped state of the art kitchen, in-room washer and dryer and three 42” flat screen TV’s. The bright and airy living room provides a comfortable seating area. The living room TV is equipped with a DVD player and A/V input for easy connection to a laptop, video game console or a camcorder. The two bedrooms, which are located on the second level, have one queen bed in each bedroom, a large closet, in room safe and custom designed furniture. The suite has a half bath located on first floor and one bathroom in each guestroom, featuring one bath and one shower with natural stone counters and marble walls with large mirrors providing a spa like feel. These second floor units are accessible by one flight of stairs. Each bi-level suite offers a private balcony.
Luxury 2 Bedroom Pool View Suite
Two bedroom, two bathroom luxury suite with pool view, a fully equipped state of the art kitchen, in-room washer and dryer and three 42” flat screen TV’s. The bright and airy living room provides a comfortable seating area. The living room TV is equipped with a DVD player and A/V input for easy connection to a laptop, video game console or a camcorder. The bedrooms have one king bed in each room, large closets, in-room safe and custom furniture. The bathrooms feature natural stone counters and marble walls with large mirrors providing a spa like feel. The master bath is located in the guestroom with a spacious shower. The second bath, featuring a shower, is located directly outside of the second guestroom. Each unit offers a private patio or balcony.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Ambrosia Restaurant
Japanese restaurant with a sushi bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Santa Maria Suites Resort

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Santa Maria Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 1, 2011

Santa Maria - Great!

Our room was clean, quiet, and very nice. It was large enough for an extended stay. The pool area was amazing. We walked to everything. We couldn't have been more pleased. Finally, the staff went out of their way to accomodate us at every turn. For instance, when an unexpected work crisis erupted back home, they let my girlfriend check in with her office from one of their own work stations. (They don't have a business center - not that you would want to work from such a great vacation destination!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Rum Bar - very nice place for a well made cocktail! On Duvall street, but not as crazy as the rest of the "tourist trap" type establishments.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Maria Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Lodge
Business
Merrimack, NH
Apr 28, 2010

A hidden Jewel

This was our second time staying at Santa Maria in the past six months. We loved it even more the second time. I have mixed feelings about giving such a good review because I don't want it to be booked up the next time we head to Key West. The staff is so friendly, professional and helpful. Exceptionally clean in the rooms and all around the property. We will definately stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Maria Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
24 year old traveler
Business
Martins Ferry, OH
May 2, 2010

What an awesome hotel!

The staff was amazing. From the time we arrived the man working the front desk, [...], was the most helpful of any hotel staff I ever encountered. The rooms were amazing. The pool was peaceful yet fun. During the hotel's happy hour free wine was served poolside! The hotel is located on the quiet end of the island but very close to Duval St. and all the fun. The hotel even has access to a private beach! I can't wait to return. If you are staying in Key West this is the place to be!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You will receive plenty of 2 for 1 specials at bars, so take advantage of those. Plus, the $10 coozie cup at Flying Monkeys allows you to have $7 refills (this is awesome for 22 oz. of frozen alcoholic beverage!). Sloopy Joes is the most packed place to be but very fun! The Lazy Gecko is close but and is a good time too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Maria Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sanford, NC
Jul 25, 2010

Santa Maria Suites Resort July 2010

This hotel is one block off of the "quiet" end of Duval Street. If you want to go to the West end, it is a bit far to walk, but within easy bicycling range. We rented an electric vehicle right accross the street at A&M Rentals, which was recommende by the hotel. It was a perfect fit for the week. The suite had a very nicely equipped kitchen and everything was flawlessly clean. The room was well maintained as was the hotel in general, pool, and grounds. What really made this a great stay was the hotel staff. Friendly, helpful, and fun to be around. [...] and [...] were great and suggested placed to visit and even made reservations for us. What great people! If I were going back tomorrow, I would stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Parking is at a premium in Key West. Many attractions are witning walking distance or easily accessible by bicycle. Bikes, scooters, and electric vehicles are rented by numerous places. So consider if you need/want a car. If you do rent a car, I would suggest a smaller one that is easy to manuver.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Maria Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vero Beach
Sep 13, 2008

Party like a rock star

We were able to take an impromptu trip to the Keys since I am a resident of Vero Beach and had an out-of-town guest who wanted to check out Key West. Although this suite was more than 2 people needed, my friend decided to go all out since he wanted to have a great time-and did we ever. We stayed the weekend after hurricane Ike hit, and they had just started letting people back into the area. It was pretty dead the night we came in (Thursday) but by Friday things were getting back to normal. Although we were a little ways from Duval Street, it was walking distance. The restaurant at the hotel was closed for 2 weeks during our stay and might have contributed to the discounted stay but we didn't feel it was a detrament, but they normally offer complementary poolside lunch when the restaurant is open. We stayed in a 2 floor unit. We liked our unit better because the Bed rooms were on 2nd floor, and would be better if sharing a unit with other people who may want to stay up late. The staff was great and the pool area was awesome. I think it was my best get-away ever! We meet a few people from the Miami area that found the same deal at 1/2 price and they were fortunate enough to grab some friends and get away from the city and split the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just start walking and hit any thing you want

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Maria Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VKTIM
Business
OHIO
Feb 9, 2010

Great Getaway Place

Santa Maria Suites was a great place for a much needed getaway. The friendliness of staff from check-in, local information, and complimentary poolside beverages was tremendous. I would highly recommend this contemporarily styled condos to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Tropical scooters and bikes... All you need in Key West.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Maria Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cesar David Garcia
Business
Miami Beach
Jun 7, 2010

Best Hotel Ever!!

Great service, and lots of free things from the hotel which makes you feel like they really appreciate you coming.. Free parking, free beach chairs, free smoothies, free waters in hotel room & pool, free Muffins, nice towels, 3 42 inch flat panels, awesome showers with inputs for ipod, camera's etc. So many details were thought about. a kitchen to die for. 3 balconies. Just awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Maria Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cgirl89
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 21, 2009

What an oasis!

This hotel was fabulous! We dodged Hurricane Ike and were some of the first tourists allowed on the island afterward. We lucked out and got this suite for an affordable price as a result. Jackpot! It was beautiful and perfect for us. We were two couples and having the two separate rooms, with a common living room and kitchen worked out wonderfully for us. Modern appliances, furnishings, and bathroom fixtures were lovely. We couldn't have asked for a better place to enjoy Key West. We still talk about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Micheal's for a nice, romantic dinner and Pepe's for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Maria Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati OH
Oct 11, 2010

Wonderful Stay

Excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Maria Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
May 8, 2010

Excellent place to stay in Key West

Great rooms overlooking beautiful pool. The resort is located off of the quieter end of Duval Street. This made for a nice peaceful and quiet getaway. The bars and nightlife are only a short walk away. The staff is very helpful and scheduled trips for us out on the ocean. The restaurant located in the hotel is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top