$239 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

5 stars
1 Duval St., Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
191 reviews
Location is great!

Beach is small but very nice! Best location in old town! See full review

  • Alizbeth
  • Jun 12, 2014
location, location, locatio

The hotel was centrally located to all attractions! Did the ghost tour at night...alittle cheesy... See full review

  • Nana of Katie
  • Jun 4, 2014
Waterfront luxury just steps from Duval Street and Mallory Square
Located at the northern end of Duval Street, the Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa treats guests to Gulf of Mexico views and a location in the island's lively tourist district near Mallory Square. A waterfront fixture for nearly 40 years, the resort features a private beach, boat dock and an outdoor pool amid tropical gardens. Rooms and suites ooze elegant island style with modern amenities. The full-service Caribbean Spa offers massage and beauty treatments.

Highlights
    • Located on Duval Street, at the heart of Old Town Key West and steps from Mallory Square
    • Private beach with separate, secluded topless sunbathing area
    • Free Wi-Fi  
    Rooms

    Guests of the Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa choose from standard hotel rooms, lanai rooms with private patios or balconies, spa adjacent and harbor-view rooms and spacious one- and two-bedroom suites, each with a unique design theme. Accommodations sport custom furniture, single kings or pairs of queen beds and luxurious extras like rain showers or soaking tubs. In-room amenities include coffee makers, refrigerators, flat-screen TVs, in-room movies and free Wi-Fi.

    Dining

    Guests can take meals HarbourView Cafe, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and overlooks the ocean. When cocktail hour hits, they can sip boat drinks at any of three bars on the property, including the Chart Room Bar, a local favorite.

    Recreation

    Sprawling across a six-acre compound in the heart of Key West's famous tourist district, the Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa offers quiet seclusion and unbeatable access to island attractions. The waterfront location features a private beach, private boat dock and an outdoor pool nestled within lush gardens. Caribbean Spa pampers with massages, facials, body treatments, nail and hair services seven days a week.

    Transportation
      • Key West International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
      • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
      Attractions
        • Mallory Square (1 block)
        • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
        • Harry S. Truman Little White House (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

        Business
          • 2,600-square-foot conference center
          • Beach and garden outdoor event spaces
          • Full-service catering
          Policies and fees
          • Guests must be 21 years old to check in.
          • All rooms are nonsmoking.
          • Self-parking is $20 plus 7.5% tax per night. Valet parking is $25.

          This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

          Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa Rooms

          Lanai Room
          If inviting tropical views are more your style, our lanai rooms are the perfect choice. Available with either one king or two queen beds and a patio or balcony surrounded by native tropical flora. Non-smoking rooms
          Suite Deal
          Looking for Suite Deals? You're at the right place. Each of our newly renovated one-bedroom suites has been appointed with gorgeous island inspired dcor. These suites come complete with a balcony, separate living area with a great view, and free wireless high-speed Internet. You may request a king bedded suite with a pullout or a suite with two queen beds. Come on down, this is the life for sure. Non-smoking rooms
          Traditional Room
          Even traditional Rooms at Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa take you to another place. Each one of a kind traditional room boasts custom designed furniture, rain showers, and either one king or two queen poster beds. Non-smoking rooms

          Amenities

          • WiFi
          • Pool
          General
          Concierge
          Activities
          Pool
          Fitness Center
          Spa
          Dining
          Restaurant
          Room service
          Services
          Conference facilities
          Internet
          WiFi
          Accessibility
          Handicapped rooms/facilities

          Recommendations for you

          Customers who viewed Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa also booked these hotels.

          Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
          Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

          Hotel Map

          24.5611 -81.8061
          Area served
          Key West, FL
          Nearby airports
          Key West International- EYW and Miami International - MIA Airports
          Area description
          Area attractions and activities include diving, fishing, Mallory Square, historical tours, Hemingway House, Turman's Little White House, glass bottom boat tours, sunset cruises, aquarium, Mel Fisher Maritime Museum and the Audubon House.

          Dining

          Market Bistro
          The charming ambiance of a European street-side cafe provides a unique setting for a menu of delicious American deli favorites and fresh salads. The bakery fills the air with the tempting aromas of fresh baked breads, cakes and pastries.
          Havana Docks Sunset Deck
          Renowned for the island's most spectacular view of the sunset, Havana Docks Sunset Deck is the bar where locals and visitors alike come to experience Key West's sensational sunsets in a lively tropical atmosphere.
          Beach Bar and Grille
          Enjoy a late lunch or dinner at the Beach Bar & Grille where light fare, tropical frozen drinks, cocktails and live music celebrate in an open atmosphere.
          HarbourView Caf
          Enjoy a casual setting that offers terrace or indoor panoramic seating, along with a menu of fresh local seafood and seasonal Florida shellfish. Join us in the HarbourView Caf, for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.

          Hotel Policies

          Check-in:
          1600
          Check-out:
          1200

          Terms and conditions

          Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

          The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

          Back to menu Return to top

          Guest Reviews (191)

          Ratings and reviews for Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Overall score

          4.4 / 5
          5.01.0
          31 out of 191
          Amenities:
          4.6
          Room cleanliness:
          4.8
          Hotel staff:
          4.5
          Room comfort:
          4.6
          Location:
          4.9
          Value:
          4.2

          97% would recommend to a friend.

          Sort by:
          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          4
          5.01.0
          gremlin
          New Jersey
          Mar 16, 2014

          wonderful oasis

          Even with spring break, Pier House was a wonderful oasis with great pool and beach location, yet not far from all the other sites. Grounds were beautiful and well maintained. Staff was always helpful. The Harborview Café was excellent and convenient with a beautiful location. I definitely would stay here the next time I am in Key West.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          4
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          4
          Value:
          4
          Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

          A great dinner location. Café Sole.

          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          4
          5.01.0
          Karen Curious Traveler
          Tucson, AZ
          Dec 31, 2013

          Nice Sisters Get-together Weekend Stay

          I've stayed many times over the past few years at this property because of it's great location and good service.The fact that it has its own little beach is a big plus for us, as looking out over the water while sunning on the sandy shore is part of the experience we've come to expect as part of a "tropical" vacation. It was somewhat disappointing this time to see that they've taken a few shortcuts--parking is no longer "free", and, when ordering a favorite tropical drink, that little extra (usually included elsewhere), a cherry, was missing, and in fact, there was no piece of fruit added at the rim. The room amenities were very nice, and the front desk people were more than helpful, as usual. So our respite here was very relaxing and renewing.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          4
          Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

          Xmas boat parade is easily viewed from the beach bar at this hotel, or while sitting on the uncrowded, sandy beach next to it.

          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          1
          5.01.0
          Eddylg
          Miami
          Feb 8, 2013

          Tourist trap

          This is far away from being a 5 stars hotel. I rented 2 rooms (203 and 305) 305 was extremely noisy all night long due to some engine in the corridor. They don't have central air conditionning and the unit in the rooms are so old and noisy you won't sleep Breakfast was nasty and they overcharged the bill. We complain to the front desk in the evening, they told us to complain in the morning crew, the morning crew said we should've complained to the evening staff. Can't even take their responsability. I also asked them to show me their 5 stars rating, they didn't have anything to show Tourist trap!

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          1
          Room cleanliness:
          4
          Hotel staff:
          1
          Room comfort:
          1
          Location:
          4
          Value:
          1
          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Aunt Rabbit
          Staten Island, New York
          Jun 21, 2012

          pier house is number one

          We loved this hotel. The rooms were very spacious, and clean. The entire staff was always there to offer help. We did some fishing while there, and of course we had the fished shipped back home, the manager (Todd) took care of everything, the fish was home before us. We enjoyed the pool and the beach. We had breakfast at the Harbor View Restaurant, I think 13.00 was a bit much for a bagel and coffee. Other than that, we had a great time. I sure I will be back!!

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

          The Rum Barrel and Two Friends have the greatest food at reasonable prices

          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          4
          5.01.0
          fbc58
          NJ
          May 17, 2012

          great for couples

          The location and staff were great. Our room was over the spa facing the street. Beautifully appointed, and very comfortable. I would recommend a room facing the parking lot if you want to sleep late, the street can be noisy.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          4
          Hotel staff:
          4
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          4
          Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

          Don't rent a car.

          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          beautfly68
          Fort Lauderdale
          May 7, 2012

          Stunning getaway!

          Had the very best time at the Pier House, enjoyed it the 2nd time more than the 1st. Will be back, I didn't want to leave. Want to get married here in the future. XOXO the Pier House!

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          4
          5.01.0
          Squirrely
          Virginia Beach, VA, USA
          Feb 9, 2012

          Girls Week in Key West

          I took my daughters, ages 31 and 26, for a week long girls only vacation and we stayed at the Pier House. I highly recommend the hotel except for 1 thing that was annoying. The air conditioner, a radiator type, was quite noisy and kept us up a while the first night until we got used to it. Otherwise, the hotel, pool, beach area, beach bar and grill and staff were wonderful. My girls are "foodies" and we ate at fantastic restaurants including Blue Heaven, Flaming Buoy, Lobos and the Food Truck (for lunch.) Don't miss the Aqua Drag Show and dueling pianos at Pete's.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          4
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          4
          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Cairns Family
          Mahwah, New Jersey
          Jun 18, 2011

          Location has it all!

          Beautifully appointed hotel, centrally located in the historic district. Beautiful pool and beach. Delightful bars, cafe and restaurant within resort. Views and comforts sublime. Carribean spa was a wonderfully added pleasure to our stay. All staff were courteous, friendly and extremely helpful. We loved the carribean style of our room, especially the plantation style shutters and fine furnishings and use of warm colors. Nice modern bathrooms in up to date style. Pier House Keylime pie is the best on the island!

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

          Do not miss sunset festival, eat at restaurants by the pier. Go to Sunset Key by boat to Lattitudes restaurant for extra special sunset dinner. Have breakfast with the roosters at Blue Heaven on Petronia St, rustic but delicious food. Ernest Hemingway House is a must to visit after that breakfast as it is very close by on Whitehead. Must try all seafood and cocktails while you are in Key West!

          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Cairns Family
          Mahwah, New Jersey
          Jun 18, 2011

          Location has it all!

          Beautifully appointed hotel, centrally located in the historic district. Beautiful pool and beach. Delightful bars, cafe and restaurant within resort. Views and comforts sublime. Carribean spa was a wonderfully added pleasure to our stay. All staff were courteous, friendly and extremely helpful. We loved the carribean style of our room, especially the plantation style shutters and fine furnishings and use of warm colors. Nice modern bathrooms in up to date style. Pier House Keylime pie is the best on the island!

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

          Do not miss sunset festival, eat at restaurants by the pier. Go to Sunset Key by boat to Lattitudes restaurant for extra special sunset dinner. Have breakfast with the roosters at Blue Heaven on Petronia St, rustic but delicious food. Ernest Hemingway House is a must to visit after that breakfast as it is very close by on Whitehead. Must try all seafood and cocktails while you are in Key West!

          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          4
          5.01.0
          Anonymous
          Naples, FL
          Dec 26, 2010

          Wonderful Key West Hotel

          Besides being perfectly situated to enjoy all that Key West has to offer, thePier House boasts all the conveniences for a stand alone resort experience. Beach, heated pool and hot tub, restaurant and bar to name some. Beautifully landscaped with tropical plants. Situated adjacent to Mallory Square.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          4
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

          Close to all the attractions of Key West.

          Back to menu Return to top