Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

5 stars
1 Duval St., Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
111 reviews
Great Hotel and Location

Stayed for four nights and loved our experience. They have both a small beach and a pool that are... See full review

  • chasealimn
  • Apr 5, 2014
Self Contained Luxury

I am so pleased with this place. I didn't want to leave and I am already thinking of planning... See full review

  • Ebeth512
  • Jan 21, 2014
Waterfront luxury just steps from Duval Street and Mallory Square
Located at the northern end of Duval Street, the Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa treats guests to Gulf of Mexico views and a location in the island's lively tourist district near Mallory Square. A waterfront fixture for nearly 40 years, the resort features a private beach, boat dock and an outdoor pool amid tropical gardens. Rooms and suites ooze elegant island style with modern amenities. The full-service Caribbean Spa offers massage and beauty treatments.

Highlights
    • Located on Duval Street, at the heart of Old Town Key West and steps from Mallory Square
    • Private beach with separate, secluded topless sunbathing area
    • Free Wi-Fi  
    Rooms

    Guests of the Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa choose from standard hotel rooms, lanai rooms with private patios or balconies, spa adjacent and harbor-view rooms and spacious one- and two-bedroom suites, each with a unique design theme. Accommodations sport custom furniture, single kings or pairs of queen beds and luxurious extras like rain showers or soaking tubs. In-room amenities include coffee makers, refrigerators, flat-screen TVs, in-room movies and free Wi-Fi.

    Dining

    Guests can take meals HarbourView Cafe, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and overlooks the ocean. When cocktail hour hits, they can sip boat drinks at any of three bars on the property, including the Chart Room Bar, a local favorite.

    Recreation

    Sprawling across a six-acre compound in the heart of Key West's famous tourist district, the Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa offers quiet seclusion and unbeatable access to island attractions. The waterfront location features a private beach, private boat dock and an outdoor pool nestled within lush gardens. Caribbean Spa pampers with massages, facials, body treatments, nail and hair services seven days a week.

    Transportation
      • Key West International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
      • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
      Attractions
        • Mallory Square (1 block)
        • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
        • Harry S. Truman Little White House (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

        Business
          • 2,600-square-foot conference center
          • Beach and garden outdoor event spaces
          • Full-service catering
          Policies and fees
          • Guests must be 21 years old to check in.
          • All rooms are nonsmoking.
          • Self-parking is $20 plus 7.5% tax per night. Valet parking is $25.

          This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

          Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa Rooms

          Lanai Room
          If inviting tropical views are more your style, our lanai rooms are the perfect choice. Available with either one king or two queen beds and a patio or balcony surrounded by native tropical flora. Non-smoking rooms
          Suite Deal
          Looking for Suite Deals? You're at the right place. Each of our newly renovated one-bedroom suites has been appointed with gorgeous island inspired dcor. These suites come complete with a balcony, separate living area with a great view, and free wireless high-speed Internet. You may request a king bedded suite with a pullout or a suite with two queen beds. Come on down, this is the life for sure. Non-smoking rooms
          Traditional Room
          Even traditional Rooms at Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa take you to another place. Each one of a kind traditional room boasts custom designed furniture, rain showers, and either one king or two queen poster beds. Non-smoking rooms

          Amenities

          • WiFi
          • Pool
          General
          Concierge
          Activities
          Pool
          Fitness Center
          Spa
          Dining
          Restaurant
          Room service
          Services
          Conference facilities
          Internet
          WiFi
          Accessibility
          Handicapped rooms/facilities

          Hotel Map

          24.5611 -81.8061
          Area served
          Key West, FL
          Nearby airports
          Key West International- EYW and Miami International - MIA Airports
          Area description
          Area attractions and activities include diving, fishing, Mallory Square, historical tours, Hemingway House, Turman's Little White House, glass bottom boat tours, sunset cruises, aquarium, Mel Fisher Maritime Museum and the Audubon House.

          Dining

          Market Bistro
          The charming ambiance of a European street-side cafe provides a unique setting for a menu of delicious American deli favorites and fresh salads. The bakery fills the air with the tempting aromas of fresh baked breads, cakes and pastries.
          Havana Docks Sunset Deck
          Renowned for the island's most spectacular view of the sunset, Havana Docks Sunset Deck is the bar where locals and visitors alike come to experience Key West's sensational sunsets in a lively tropical atmosphere.
          Beach Bar and Grille
          Enjoy a late lunch or dinner at the Beach Bar & Grille where light fare, tropical frozen drinks, cocktails and live music celebrate in an open atmosphere.
          HarbourView Caf
          Enjoy a casual setting that offers terrace or indoor panoramic seating, along with a menu of fresh local seafood and seasonal Florida shellfish. Join us in the HarbourView Caf, for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.

          Hotel Policies

          Check-in:
          1600
          Check-out:
          1200

          Terms and conditions

          Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

          The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

          Back to menu Return to top

          Guest Reviews (111)

          Ratings and reviews for Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Overall score

          4.4 / 5
          111 out of 111
          Amenities:
          4.4
          Room cleanliness:
          4.7
          Hotel staff:
          4.5
          Room comfort:
          4.5
          Location:
          4.9
          Value:
          4.1

          91% would recommend to a friend.

          Sort by:
          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          4
          Nahpetsmc
          Sarasota fl.
          Jun 20, 2012

          A wonderful and peaceful stay

          This hotel for me and my wife was just perfect the staff is gracious helpful and attentive to your every need it's seems very natural for them not put on your comfort and is there priority can't say enough about the food great presentation flavor and quality have not seen such a well rounded well run place in a long time a little pricey for us but well worth it . Treat yourself

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          4
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          4
          Dining tip: In Hotel

          Best bang for your buck and excellent service

          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          4
          fbc58
          NJ
          May 17, 2012

          great for couples

          The location and staff were great. Our room was over the spa facing the street. Beautifully appointed, and very comfortable. I would recommend a room facing the parking lot if you want to sleep late, the street can be noisy.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          4
          Hotel staff:
          4
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          4
          Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

          Don't rent a car.

          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          5
          beautfly68
          Fort Lauderdale
          May 7, 2012

          Stunning getaway!

          Had the very best time at the Pier House, enjoyed it the 2nd time more than the 1st. Will be back, I didn't want to leave. Want to get married here in the future. XOXO the Pier House!

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          4
          Hokie fan
          Virginia
          Apr 11, 2012

          long weekend getaway

          great location. pool and beach is nice. I would stay here again . enjoyed the piano bar and staff

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          4
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          5
          skmiller68
          Gloucester, VA, USA
          Feb 29, 2012

          Perfect Wedding Anniversary!!

          My husband and I went to Key West for our 13th wedding anniversary and could not have asked for a more perfect stay. The staff were warm and inviting, the location is the best on the island, and the attention to detail was wonderul. I had pre-ordered some ammenities to be delivered upon arrival and again on our anniversary. They were Johnny on the spot with everything. They even included cards with my order which added that special touch. We will definately be staying here for all future trips to Key West.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          4
          Room cleanliness:
          4
          Hotel staff:
          4
          Room comfort:
          4
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          4
          Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

          Everything is at your front door but no noise!!

          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          4
          Squirrely
          Virginia Beach, VA, USA
          Feb 9, 2012

          Girls Week in Key West

          I took my daughters, ages 31 and 26, for a week long girls only vacation and we stayed at the Pier House. I highly recommend the hotel except for 1 thing that was annoying. The air conditioner, a radiator type, was quite noisy and kept us up a while the first night until we got used to it. Otherwise, the hotel, pool, beach area, beach bar and grill and staff were wonderful. My girls are "foodies" and we ate at fantastic restaurants including Blue Heaven, Flaming Buoy, Lobos and the Food Truck (for lunch.) Don't miss the Aqua Drag Show and dueling pianos at Pete's.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          4
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          4
          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          5
          recon
          OC NJ
          Jan 28, 2012

          it was the best

          hotel was great, close to everything, but not loud, staff could not have been nicer and room was wonderful, had a small outside porch .. Pool was great, had breakfast over looking water each morning, seveal bars, and walking distance to anything you wanted.. cannot wait to go back again..

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

          take trolley tour to see everything, take a boat ride, Boardwalk area has great resturants and sights off duval street..

          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          4
          Pink Flamingo
          Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
          Jan 6, 2012

          Mini vacation

          The location on the hotel is perfect. It does have a small beach which most hotels in key west do not. I did pay for the upgraded room but it did not have a balcony. The bartenders were very attentive. I would stay there again.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          4
          Room cleanliness:
          4
          Hotel staff:
          4
          Room comfort:
          4
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          4
          Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

          Cafe Marquise is a terrific restaurant. You have to make a reservation and it is expensive. With all of that the food is terrific.

          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          5
          AllisChalmers
          Rochester, Il
          Nov 14, 2011

          Great 40th wedding anniversary getaway.

          Wonderful hotel in a great location. Easy walking distance for all the Key West items of fame. As a onus the World International Poer boat races were being held in Key West and the race course passes by the hotels' beach. Great stay.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          5
          Anonymous
          Johns Creek, GA
          Jul 21, 2011

          More than we expected

          Great Hotel, great service, great spa, great rooms. Right in the heart of Key West off of Duval Street and Mallory Square. You don't need a car or scooter (unless you want one) because you can walk to anywhere you want to go. The Concierge helped us with any request that we had. We look forward to staying here again.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

          Fury is the best place to do any kind of water activity. They were helpful, nice and when we had a problem with a jet ski tour, they offered us a discount to return the next day.

          Back to menu Return to top