$309 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

5 stars
View map of 1 Duval St., Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
santa monica, ca
Sep 28, 2009

great location and nice rooms

nice staff, great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Sep 17, 2009

Fantastic Resort, great location.

I had a wonderful time at the pier house resort. Will definitly go back again. My room was fantastic, all new, balcony, and water view. Great location to all the fun on Duval street. Never used my car the whole stay. The private beach, outdoor bar, and health spa facilities were great. The staff and guests were friendly and a lot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The nightlife was plentiful and within a short distance from the hotel. All types of entertainment. The sunset celebration every evening at Mallory Square was entertaining and fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Weston FL
Sep 14, 2009

Good Couple Hotel

Hotel is close to everything. We expected a better view with our waterfront room. By the way the small beach at the hotel is MUCH BETTER than Smathers beach on the other side of the key.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have got to eat dinner at A & B although service was slow this time, the food and service is usually great. Reservations are highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Captain Ken
Business
Georgetown, KY
Sep 11, 2009

Best Location in Key West

First class service, exceptional staff went the extra mile attending to all of our needs. Rooms were spotless, nice size, and the food choices were very good. Try the Gazpecho and blackened Mahi-Mahi for lunch! Great location, just off Duval yet surrounded by everything you can imagine. Nicely landscaped, large complex that is spreadout and relatively insulated from the noise of Duval Street. The pool and beach are not big, but with both they don't feel crowded,are well maintained and definately worth the visit. Just tell any of the staff what you like to do and they will tell you where to have a great time doing it. Each suggestion hit the mark perfectly every time. Possibly the best all around service I have ever had in over 20 plus years of traveling to Key West. Can't wait to return !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Upper Crust for Pizza on Duval Street. Order a whole pizza, you'll love it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, KY
Aug 21, 2009

Great Staff and Excellent Location

Pier House Resort and Carribean Spa has the best location on the key. It is right on Duvall Street on the most popular end of the street and steps away from the marina where we chartered boats to snorkel, dolphin watch, and fish. The hotel just overwent an extensive renovation and it is wonderful. The rooms are decorated elegantly but subtly reminds you of that island feel. The staff was remarkable. They always acknowledged your presence when you passed them, were very helpful with local information, and all requests were completed with a very short wait time. I also had a great experience at the Carribean Spa. The king size bed was very comfortable. I have only one complaint which is why I did not give them all 5 stars and that is the ice machine was too close to our room. It really didn't bother us untill the weekend when the hotel was the busiest and by then it would have been to much trouble to ask to change rooms. But overall I can't imagine staying anywhere else when we go back, I will just make sure no ice machine is near.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Always negoiate price of goods. They will always give you a better deal then what the tag says.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
Aug 20, 2009

girlcation

Great location, 1 Duval st, step outfront and your at mallory square. girlfriend fell asleep early, and I didn't want to go on Duval st by myself, so I went to the wine bar in the complex, meant new people, the staff was great, and I felt very safe. Rooms were clean, balcony over looked the garden,ordered room service for breakfast, ate it on the balcony and it was just wonderful. Ate dinner at one of the restraunts in the complex, delish!! Hope to return very soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wayne & Laurie
Business
Fultonville NY
Aug 15, 2009

This is truly a vacation in Paradise!

Cheap Tickets did our entire itinerary to Key West from Albany NY. My ONLY suggestion would be to book the airfare using American Airlines as the LAST flight of 3 directly into Key West is on a puddle jumper-PETRIFIED ME! We ended up driving to the second plane to avoid it going home. American Airlines has larger plane coming into Key West. From the moment we landed on this island, my husband and I thought we had landed on another planet-in another world! The lush, tropical gardens, the hot, salty waters of the Gulf of Mexico are incredible. The Pier House is conveniently located in the middle of all the nightlife so you don't need a car-everything is within walking distance. You need to pack a TON of SUNBLOCK and clothes that you can change into a million times a day because the heat will have you showering 3x a day! This is not a resort to bring your kids to, although we saw them there. This is truly a couples paradise and every detail is exquistely thought of. Plan on spending at least 4.50 per drink for beer or 9.00 per drink for anything else. Breakfast/lunches and dinners range from 9.95 each on upto 25.00 per person, so it's not cheap! The good thing is that there is a CVS across the street from the resort that sells bottled water, beer, chips, etc. and you can keep them in the fridge in the room. Pack a tote bag for the beach and Mallory Square and comfy sandals as you will walk a lot and carry a lot around with you. The nightlife is incredible. I recommend Sloppy Joe's bar for the huge nachos for lunch and the Harbourview Cafe at the hotel for breakfast and dinner - eat between 5-7 to take advantage of the specials and then walk up the pier after dinner and take pix of the sunset and then mosey out to Mallory Square for a frozen Margarita and nightly entertainment on the streets (magicians, etc.) then walk back to Duval St and have a few drinks and then go back to the hotel for a dip in the hot tub before bed. Enjoy parasailing or snorkeling around the only living coral reef in the continental U.S. Only 90 miles from Cuba, lots of Cuban/Mexican heritage and it shows in the food. We would go back in a heartbeat! The ONLY thing I wouldn't do is take that small plane in again. I'd either drive down the keys from Miami or take American Airlines in from Atlanta. The BEST vacation EVER!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the local CVS for bottled water and beer for the room as soon as you land. Water and beer are expensive and you can save a lot. It's only across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Port St Lucie
Aug 1, 2009

Great place to stay

Great location and room! Loved the beach access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jul 21, 2009

Great Location - Nice Rooms

We have stayed here many times before over the years and it has always been the best location to stay when in Key West. You are within walking distance to everything and if you need to drive and have a car they have a huge parking lot with free parking which makes it so much more convenient than the other hotels in Key West where you may not have parking or have to pay a daily rate. This stay was even better because every room in the hotel was just recently remodeled so they are all brand new. We normally like to stay in the Caribbean spa room/designer rooms because they are a lot bigger but you forgo the water view which is fine with us. We love The Chart room and the free popcorn. :O) We definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

UpperCrust for Casual Pizza, La Tratoria for Italian, Sarabeth's, Micheal's and Louis Backyard (take a taxi for this one).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aj's mom
Business
atlanta, ga
Jul 11, 2009

great location in old town

friendly staff, great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top