$249 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

5 stars
1 Duval St., Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
192 reviews
Lovely! Wish we could of stayed longer!

The resort is very clean and has beautiful grounds. It has a perfect location and it is one of the... See full review

  • Jenbear7
  • Jul 12, 2014
Location is great!

Beach is small but very nice! Best location in old town! See full review

  • Alizbeth
  • Jun 12, 2014
Waterfront luxury just steps from Duval Street and Mallory Square
Located at the northern end of Duval Street, the Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa treats guests to Gulf of Mexico views and a location in the island's lively tourist district near Mallory Square. A waterfront fixture for nearly 40 years, the resort features a private beach, boat dock and an outdoor pool amid tropical gardens. Rooms and suites ooze elegant island style with modern amenities. The full-service Caribbean Spa offers massage and beauty treatments.

Highlights
    • Located on Duval Street, at the heart of Old Town Key West and steps from Mallory Square
    • Private beach with separate, secluded topless sunbathing area
    • Free Wi-Fi  
    Rooms

    Guests of the Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa choose from standard hotel rooms, lanai rooms with private patios or balconies, spa adjacent and harbor-view rooms and spacious one- and two-bedroom suites, each with a unique design theme. Accommodations sport custom furniture, single kings or pairs of queen beds and luxurious extras like rain showers or soaking tubs. In-room amenities include coffee makers, refrigerators, flat-screen TVs, in-room movies and free Wi-Fi.

    Dining

    Guests can take meals HarbourView Cafe, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and overlooks the ocean. When cocktail hour hits, they can sip boat drinks at any of three bars on the property, including the Chart Room Bar, a local favorite.

    Recreation

    Sprawling across a six-acre compound in the heart of Key West's famous tourist district, the Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa offers quiet seclusion and unbeatable access to island attractions. The waterfront location features a private beach, private boat dock and an outdoor pool nestled within lush gardens. Caribbean Spa pampers with massages, facials, body treatments, nail and hair services seven days a week.

    Transportation
      • Key West International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
      • Miami International Airport (159 mi/254.4 km)
      Attractions
        • Mallory Square (1 block)
        • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
        • Harry S. Truman Little White House (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

        Business
          • 2,600-square-foot conference center
          • Beach and garden outdoor event spaces
          • Full-service catering
          Policies and fees
          • Guests must be 21 years old to check in.
          • All rooms are nonsmoking.
          • Self-parking is $20 plus 7.5% tax per night. Valet parking is $25.

          This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

          Hotel Map

          24.5611 -81.8061
          Area served
          Key West, FL
          Nearby airports
          Key West International- EYW and Miami International - MIA Airports
          Area description
          Area attractions and activities include diving, fishing, Mallory Square, historical tours, Hemingway House, Turman's Little White House, glass bottom boat tours, sunset cruises, aquarium, Mel Fisher Maritime Museum and the Audubon House.

          Recommendations for you

          Customers who viewed Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa also booked these hotels.

          Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
          Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

          Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa Rooms

          Lanai Room
          If inviting tropical views are more your style, our lanai rooms are the perfect choice. Available with either one king or two queen beds and a patio or balcony surrounded by native tropical flora. Non-smoking rooms
          Suite Deal
          Looking for Suite Deals? You're at the right place. Each of our newly renovated one-bedroom suites has been appointed with gorgeous island inspired dcor. These suites come complete with a balcony, separate living area with a great view, and free wireless high-speed Internet. You may request a king bedded suite with a pullout or a suite with two queen beds. Come on down, this is the life for sure. Non-smoking rooms
          Traditional Room
          Even traditional Rooms at Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa take you to another place. Each one of a kind traditional room boasts custom designed furniture, rain showers, and either one king or two queen poster beds. Non-smoking rooms

          Amenities

          • WiFi
          • Pool
          General
          Concierge
          Activities
          Pool
          Fitness Center
          Spa
          Dining
          Restaurant
          Room service
          Services
          Conference facilities
          Internet
          WiFi
          Accessibility
          Handicapped rooms/facilities

          Dining

          Market Bistro
          The charming ambiance of a European street-side cafe provides a unique setting for a menu of delicious American deli favorites and fresh salads. The bakery fills the air with the tempting aromas of fresh baked breads, cakes and pastries.
          Havana Docks Sunset Deck
          Renowned for the island's most spectacular view of the sunset, Havana Docks Sunset Deck is the bar where locals and visitors alike come to experience Key West's sensational sunsets in a lively tropical atmosphere.
          Beach Bar and Grille
          Enjoy a late lunch or dinner at the Beach Bar & Grille where light fare, tropical frozen drinks, cocktails and live music celebrate in an open atmosphere.
          HarbourView Caf
          Enjoy a casual setting that offers terrace or indoor panoramic seating, along with a menu of fresh local seafood and seasonal Florida shellfish. Join us in the HarbourView Caf, for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.

          Hotel Policies

          Check-in:
          1600
          Check-out:
          1200

          Terms and conditions

          Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

          The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

          Back to menu Return to top

          Guest Reviews (192)

          Ratings and reviews for Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Overall score

          4.4 / 5
          5.01.0
          192 out of 192
          Amenities:
          4.4
          Room cleanliness:
          4.7
          Hotel staff:
          4.5
          Room comfort:
          4.6
          Location:
          4.9
          Value:
          4.1

          91% would recommend to a friend.

          Sort by:
          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          4
          5.01.0
          T. William
          Central Florida
          May 21, 2010

          Superb anniversary hideaway

          We wanted to celebrate our 50th anniversary in a first class way and we did. The Pier House is located right in the middle of all that is happening in Key West; totally walkable; park the car and forget it. A wandering bird apparently used our car for target practice but when we returned to clean it we found the staff, apparently, had done it for us. Staff members are well trained and always available although not visible unless you need them. Restaurant service is excellent; restaurant creativity is unimaginative and on a scale of 1 to 10, we would rate the cooking about a 6, but that is the only flaw and abundant creative restaurants abound in the walking area for folks of any age; we are in our 70s. Enjoyed the private beach and the pool as well.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          4
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          4
          Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

          Shopping offerings in Key West, especially Old Town, are what you would expect at any Caribbean Island. Hint: Walk 7 or more blocks to find top rank high class art galleries; many exist;

          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          4
          5.01.0
          T. William
          Central Florida
          May 21, 2010

          Superb anniversary hideaway

          We wanted to celebrate our 50th anniversary in a first class way and we did. The Pier House is located right in the middle of all that is happening in Key West; totally walkable; park the car and forget it. A wandering bird apparently used our car for target practice but when we returned to clean it we found the staff, apparently, had done it for us. Staff members are well trained and always available although not visible unless you need them. Restaurant service is excellent; restaurant creativity is unimaginative and on a scale of 1 to 10, we would rate the cooking about a 6, but that is the only flaw and abundant creative restaurants abound in the walking area for folks of any age; we are in our 70s. Enjoyed the private beach and the pool as well.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          4
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          4
          Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

          Shopping offerings in Key West, especially Old Town, are what you would expect at any Caribbean Island. Hint: Walk 7 or more blocks to find top rank high class art galleries; many exist;

          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Anonymous
          Philadelphia, PA
          May 13, 2010

          Breathtaking beach-front Key West Resort

          - Private Beach with a roped off swimming area (the only private beach we found) - Wait staff will serve you breakfast or lunch at the pool or on the beach in addition to the 2 amazing outdoor restaurants on the dock. - We took the trolley tour and it was $29 per person and a good look at the whole island if you have never been there before - We took the Fury sunset cruise(no dinner was served) and for $50 a competitor had a full dinner buffet available for the same price - Two Friends Bar- we had breakfast and a rat ran across the roof of the outdoor portion of the restaurant. -Rum Barrel - great food, great drinks, perfect place to catch the game (we went 3 times) - Shor- great breakfast spot located on the water at the Hyatt we loved it there and although it was pricey for breakfast, the signature apple pancakes and cinnamon bun french toast was worth the price -For mothers day brunch we went to Bistro 245- great selection of breakfast,sushi, and seafood for $50. (they would not serve mimosas until 12pm) - Sloppy Joes and Irish Kevins are a must see but definitely not for the kids! -Great trip, can't wait to get back there!!!!

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

          La Trattoria - New York quality Italian restaurant in the heart of Key West located right on Duval Street!

          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Anonymous
          Philadelphia, PA
          May 13, 2010

          Breathtaking beach-front Key West Resort

          - Private Beach with a roped off swimming area (the only private beach we found) - Wait staff will serve you breakfast or lunch at the pool or on the beach in addition to the 2 amazing outdoor restaurants on the dock. - We took the trolley tour and it was $29 per person and a good look at the whole island if you have never been there before - We took the Fury sunset cruise(no dinner was served) and for $50 a competitor had a full dinner buffet available for the same price - Two Friends Bar- we had breakfast and a rat ran across the roof of the outdoor portion of the restaurant. -Rum Barrel - great food, great drinks, perfect place to catch the game (we went 3 times) - Shor- great breakfast spot located on the water at the Hyatt we loved it there and although it was pricey for breakfast, the signature apple pancakes and cinnamon bun french toast was worth the price -For mothers day brunch we went to Bistro 245- great selection of breakfast,sushi, and seafood for $50. (they would not serve mimosas until 12pm) - Sloppy Joes and Irish Kevins are a must see but definitely not for the kids! -Great trip, can't wait to get back there!!!!

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

          La Trattoria - New York quality Italian restaurant in the heart of Key West located right on Duval Street!

          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          2
          5.01.0
          Anonymous
          Rochester, NY
          May 5, 2010

          not going to stay there again

          Every time we encountered service, it was below average. From check in when the front desk clerk gave us directions to our room, and we had to lug our own luggage to it (no bell service), to leaving a note for the housekeeper to leave extra towels since there is no turn down service and everywhere in between. The housekeeper ignored that request. At the beach, we waited an hour till the waiter came over to get drink/lunch orders from us-and that was after my husband flagged him down. The guy at the beach who brought our chairs had a major attitude. There are no beach umbrellas at the beach or the pool so if you've had too much sun, I guess you have to go in. Forget staying out and reading under the umbrella. Next time we're going back to Ocean Key resort where the service exceeds expectations.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          4
          Room cleanliness:
          2
          Hotel staff:
          2
          Room comfort:
          3
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          2
          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          2
          5.01.0
          Anonymous
          Rochester, NY
          May 5, 2010

          not going to stay there again

          Every time we encountered service, it was below average. From check in when the front desk clerk gave us directions to our room, and we had to lug our own luggage to it (no bell service), to leaving a note for the housekeeper to leave extra towels since there is no turn down service and everywhere in between. The housekeeper ignored that request. At the beach, we waited an hour till the waiter came over to get drink/lunch orders from us-and that was after my husband flagged him down. The guy at the beach who brought our chairs had a major attitude. There are no beach umbrellas at the beach or the pool so if you've had too much sun, I guess you have to go in. Forget staying out and reading under the umbrella. Next time we're going back to Ocean Key resort where the service exceeds expectations.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          4
          Room cleanliness:
          2
          Hotel staff:
          2
          Room comfort:
          3
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          2
          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          TAMMYLEE AND HER BILLY
          KEYWEST, FL.
          Apr 28, 2010

          great for lovers!!!!!

          my boyfriend and i had a great time.....perfect location>>> the shops were great... all the bars and restrants you can not ask for more!!!! the people staff and travelers awesome!!! you will return for more!!!!! oh ya!!!! the sunsets....HOLY WOW!!!!

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

          MUST SEE ALL!!!!!

          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          TAMMYLEE AND HER BILLY
          KEYWEST, FL.
          Apr 28, 2010

          great for lovers!!!!!

          my boyfriend and i had a great time.....perfect location>>> the shops were great... all the bars and restrants you can not ask for more!!!! the people staff and travelers awesome!!! you will return for more!!!!! oh ya!!!! the sunsets....HOLY WOW!!!!

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

          MUST SEE ALL!!!!!

          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          PB and J
          Tequesta, FL
          Apr 25, 2010

          Don't stay anywhere else: it's awesome!!

          From the moment we arrived our worries went away. We enjoyed the hotel restaurant (ocean view while having breakfast or lunch)! The rooms were quiet and comfortable. The location was superb..did not have to drive at all.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

          Be sure to enjoy the spa experience...and don't miss out on Pepe's for breakfast or lunch!

          Review of Pier House Resort and Caribbean Spa

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          PB and J
          Tequesta, FL
          Apr 25, 2010

          Don't stay anywhere else: it's awesome!!

          From the moment we arrived our worries went away. We enjoyed the hotel restaurant (ocean view while having breakfast or lunch)! The rooms were quiet and comfortable. The location was superb..did not have to drive at all.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

          Be sure to enjoy the spa experience...and don't miss out on Pepe's for breakfast or lunch!

          Back to menu Return to top