$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Merlin Guesthouse

3 stars
View map of 811 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
118 reviews
Great place to stay!

Fabulous quaint hotel. Tucked away among palm trees and beautiful landscaping. The staff was... See full review

  • JI'm S.
  • Aug 26, 2015
Just perfect!

This bed and breakfast is so cute and charming. Our room was lovely, the property was very well... See full review

  • Danni007
  • Aug 16, 2015
A classic Key West hotel, the Merlin Guesthouse offers casual lodging on a private, walled compound just one block from famous Duval Street. Centrally located in the Historic District, the hotel sits within easy walking distance of many Key West attractions, including the restaurants, shopping, and nightlife of Duval Street and the Mallory Square sunset celebration. Merlin Guesthouse offers a range of suites, cottages, and basic guestrooms, and the private, walled compound features tropical gardens, a heated pool and daily continental breakfast.
Rooms
The Merlin Guesthouse boasts 20 rooms, suites and cottages spread among the original rooming house rooms and several newer buildings. Basic guest rooms feature long, island-style porches and come equipped with queen-size, four-poster beds, while the king suites have larger beds and extra space. One- and two-bedroom cottages accommodate up to four people in king and queen beds, and they feature kitchenettes or wet bars. In-room amenities include cable TVs, hair dryers and alarm clocks.
Property features
The Merlin Guesthouse in Key West holds a two-diamond rating from AAA. The main building, built in 1930, once housed Navy personnel house before transforming into a gambling house, a bordello, and now a quaint hotel with loads of character. Within the walled, shaded courtyard, guests can escape from the lively atmosphere of downtown Key West. A splash pool sits among the gardens. And in the courtyard guests can find hammocks, receive a complimentary continental breakfast each morning and stay connected with free Wi-Fi access.
Highlights
  • Quiet rooms at the heart of downtown Key West
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard
Nearby attractions
  • Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Key West Lighthouse Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Mallory Square (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Smathers Beach (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard
Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Miami International Airport (161 mi/257.6 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Merlin Guesthouse also booked these hotels.

★★★
$159
3.8 / 5 128 reviews
★★★
$159
4.0 / 5 160 reviews
★★★★
$149
4.1 / 5 77 reviews
★★★
$149
3.7 / 5 136 reviews
★★★
$149
4.0 / 5 157 reviews
★★★
$159
3.9 / 5 114 reviews
★★★
$149
3.5 / 5 55 reviews
★★★
$171
4.0 / 5 146 reviews
★★★
$179
3.3 / 5 67 reviews

Merlin Guesthouse Rooms

Suite 1 King Bed
King Suites offer a romantic setting with a spacious room, a king-size four-poster bed, and sitting area. All suites also include a small refrigerator, private bath with shower, security safe, air conditioning, cable TV, Bahama fan, daily breakfast, and n
2 Bedroom Cottage
2 Bedroom cottage with Queen bed livingroom cable TV wetbar with frig coffee blender sink private patio 1 bath with shower N/S Children welcome in existing bedding. Max 4 persons.
1 Bedroom Cottage
Cottage Suite: private bedroom with king bed; livingroom with queen sleeper sofa; kitchenette; bathroom with shower; non-smoking unit. Children welcome in existing bedding. Maximum 4 persons.
Standard 1 Queen Bed
One of the best values in Key West, and breakfast is included. Queen-size bed, private bath with shower, hardwood floor, bahama fan, a/c, cable tv, and security safe. These rooms are cozy and rustic, and perfect for two. Non-smoking, adults only. Merlin G

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Security
Internet
WiFi
Room
Telephone

Dining

Restaurant / Dining Information
On-Site Dining: Complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning, under the courtyard arbor, from 8:30am to 10:30am. Selections include fresh brewed coffee, orange juice, croissants, bagels and cream cheese, english muffins with butter and ja

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Merlin Guesthouse

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 118
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashish J.
Family
Columbia
May 18, 2015

Great stay

Location was great. Great value for money. The staff was very helpful and knowledgable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
George M.
Family
Bear
Mar 3, 2015

Best stay in Key West

This was hands down the most enjoyable place I've ever stayed. The staff were all both professional, personable, and friendly. The check in/out was so quick I had to ask if it was all done. The room was inviting, clean, and comfortable. The pool / jacuzzi is heated in winter and cooled in summer. The deck was surrounded with a privacy fence, had the perfect tropical setting, and was surprisingly quiet. The complementary breakfast on the deck is diverse enough for any type of diet. The WIFI was fast with no blips or freezes. Location couldn't have been better, close enough to Duval Street to walk and far enough from it that the noise and late night revelers were non existent. I will stay there every time I'm in Key West and have already recommended it to everyone I know. The type of traveler selections below don't allow more than 1 selection but I would recommend it to Business, couples, solo, families, and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super travel organizer
Family
Weston, FL
Nov 24, 2012

Thanksgiving in Key West

Very good experience, a block from the very middle of Duval St. It was five blocks South to the southermost point and around six blocks North to Malory Square. Quiet steet. Nothing to complain about at all. Everyone was very helpful. The mini 1 bedroom cottage, very quaint I must say. It had everything we needed, as we were looking to take in the old Key West vibe. It appears to have been updated recently, everything was new and interior was just painted, you could still smell the brand new paint. It had a living room/ breakfast area with a flat screen and a full kitchen. The breakfast abiance on the patio was very peaceful. The only thing was that your confirmation said the departure hour was 12 noon when they actually knocked on our door to tell us that we should be leaving at 11 am, not 12 noon. You must change that on your website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Zackary State Park, we rented bikes, great ride. Also go down to the Southernmost bar to get the beach vibe while having lunch and visit the milestone. Malory Square for the sunset is great too and the restaurants closeby on the water a few blocks up.

Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rsarkar
Family
Boca Raton, FL, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Recent Key West short trip

There are a few good Hotels in Key West, unfortunately most of them are not located near the Duval Street. If you have selected this hotel for your stay, please make sure you opt for bigger rooms (ofcourse it will cost you more)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

take a look at the Key West city MAP before you arrive there, it will save a lot of time.

Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlbertaLisa
Family
Sweden
Nov 20, 2011

Perfect stay for a family

We were 3 adult and a child in a guesthouse and that was perfect. A small kitchinette making it possible to have some snacks, and the very central location made our 2 nights stay perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Duval Shopper
Family
Tampa, FL, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Best location in town

Staff friendly,kept our luggage untill our room was ready so we were able to enjoy Key West for our overnight stay. Love the later check out time, It gave us a chance to enjoy the ambiance of Key West. Would recommend the B&B anytime

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

1 block of Duval

Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy summer traveler
Family
West Chester, PA, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Great location

The hotel is within walking distance of the fun stuff of Key West. The room was very small, but it was clean. The morning breakfast is decent. The front desk is not manned all night, but there is a phone number for emergencies. I had a loud family next to me, but only for one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duffy's is on the same street as the Merlin. It's off the main drag, so it's not crowded, and the food and service were super!

Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Fort Myers, FL
Apr 9, 2010

Very happy with stay.

We had a great time going to the museums and bars. We also did snorkling and walking around the city looking at the community.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top