$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Merlin Guesthouse

3 stars
811 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
107 reviews
Great pre summer getaway

Had a great time staff was very friendly breakfast very good pool area relaxing and enjoyable See full review

  • Larry and Sharon
  • May 22, 2014
Amazing experience

The hotel is perfectly located, clean rooms, and friendly staff! See full review

  • Lindsey o.
  • Apr 25, 2014
Classic Key West guesthouse offers quiet escape at heart of Old Town
A classic Key West hotel, the Merlin Guesthouse offers casual lodging on a private, walled compound just one block from famous Duval Street. Centrally located in the Historic District, the hotel sits within easy walking distance of many Key West attractions, including the restaurants, shopping, and nightlife of Duval Street and the Mallory Square sunset celebration. Merlin Guesthouse offers a range of suites, cottages, and basic guestrooms, and the private, walled compound features tropical gardens, a heated pool and daily continental breakfast.
Highlights
  • Quiet rooms at the heart of downtown Key West
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard
Rooms
The Merlin Guesthouse boasts 20 rooms, suites and cottages spread among the original rooming house rooms and several newer buildings. Basic guest rooms feature long, island-style porches and come equipped with queen-size, four-poster beds, while the king suites have larger beds and extra space. One- and two-bedroom cottages accommodate up to four people in king and queen beds, and they feature kitchenettes or wet bars. In-room amenities include cable TVs, hair dryers and alarm clocks.
Features
The Merlin Guesthouse in Key West holds a two-diamond rating from AAA. The main building, built in 1930, once housed Navy personnel house before transforming into a gambling house, a bordello, and now a quaint hotel with loads of character. Within the walled, shaded courtyard, guests can escape from the lively atmosphere of downtown Key West. A splash pool sits among the gardens. And in the courtyard guests can find hammocks, receive a complimentary continental breakfast each morning and stay connected with free Wi-Fi access.
Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Miami International Airport (161 mi/257.6 km)
Attractions
  • Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Key West Lighthouse Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Mallory Square (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Smathers Beach (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Merlin Guesthouse also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Merlin Guesthouse Rooms

Suite 1 King Bed
King Suites offer a romantic setting with a spacious room, a king-size four-poster bed, and sitting area. All suites also include a small refrigerator, private bath with shower, security safe, air conditioning, cable TV, Bahama fan, daily breakfast, and n
2 Bedroom Cottage
2 Bedroom cottage with Queen bed livingroom cable TV wetbar with frig coffee blender sink private patio 1 bath with shower N/S Children welcome in existing bedding. Max 4 persons.
1 Bedroom Cottage
Cottage Suite: private bedroom with king bed; livingroom with queen sleeper sofa; kitchenette; bathroom with shower; non-smoking unit. Children welcome in existing bedding. Maximum 4 persons.
Standard 1 Queen Bed
One of the best values in Key West, and breakfast is included. Queen-size bed, private bath with shower, hardwood floor, bahama fan, a/c, cable tv, and security safe. These rooms are cozy and rustic, and perfect for two. Non-smoking, adults only. Merlin G

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Security
Internet
WiFi
Room
Telephone

Dining

Restaurant / Dining Information
On-Site Dining: Complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning, under the courtyard arbor, from 8:30am to 10:30am. Selections include fresh brewed coffee, orange juice, croissants, bagels and cream cheese, english muffins with butter and ja

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Merlin Guesthouse

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wellington Fl
Oct 25, 2010

Great location

Place is very nice , Management staff Horible , maid service a joke she spent a hour making a bed if she took the phone out of her ear it might have been faster, she had to leave at 10 and come back to finish the rest of the 200 sq ft room she left the pillows on the floor ,follow up with manager the answer were looking into this, there is no follow up on guest comments, room 14 leaking roof, floors stick to your feet why managers answer floor needs to be varnished, roof was never repaired great follow up been leaking for months,left coffee maker dirty ,outlets with no power made coffee on the floor, maid left it there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

location great . need a new team of managers

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FL
Jul 31, 2009

Not for everyone

This guesthouse is OVERPRICED for what you get. Parking is on street and only enough space for 4 cars. Everything is more the 4-6 blocks away, dining, sightseeing, etc. Some of the rooms are right on a busy, noisy street, VERY small with a minieture bathroomm and not enough water pressure to shower, only hanging for clothes 3 wall pegs, now phone, 12 inch TV. The continental breakfast is served poolside and is JUST OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

This place is in the worst location for anyting that you want to do in Key West! Too far to walk, no parking, must drive and Pray you'll find a parking space withing walking distance when you return.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rsarkar
Business
Boca Raton, FL, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Recent Key West short trip

There are a few good Hotels in Key West, unfortunately most of them are not located near the Duval Street. If you have selected this hotel for your stay, please make sure you opt for bigger rooms (ofcourse it will cost you more)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

take a look at the Key West city MAP before you arrive there, it will save a lot of time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy traveler 2012 8
Business
Key West, FL
Aug 27, 2012

Would not go back

We were not impressed with the hotel. The bed was not great, we couldn't get a full time sleep. The walls of the hotel are not insulated well - we could hear all the travel going by on the street and when you were not laying down you could feel the hot air in the room at your chest and head. All our clothes felt wet to the touch. The location was great, one block off the party street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Colorado BAK
Business
Boulder, CO
May 4, 2013

Very uncomfortable bed

Merlin guesthouse has a great location. You can walk anywhere. There is no parking but once you find a place on the street you don't need to drive again as long as you're in Key West. The little pool and courtyard are charming. The facility is clean - amenities very basic but fine. However, the bed (Unit #12) was TERRIBLE. Springs were sprung, horribly uncomfortable. My husband and I both suffered sore backs and barely slept. For the price we paid that was unacceptable. I am not very picky about beds, but this was ridiculous. The breakfast was also pretty skimpy. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LOVE Miami yeah
Business
New York
Mar 22, 2014

NOT WORTH THE MONEY

My friend and I both feel the hotel is not worth the money. No internet (very weak wifi signal in the room). The bed is not comfortable and staff is not so friendly. We'd rather paid a little extra for somewhere better. (Location is OK but it doesn't really matter because everyone drives from Miami to Key west).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Feb 17, 2008

Avoid this B&B

The Merlin Guesthouse was a very poor choice for a B&B. It was very expensive, used very cheap and unattractive furnishings, had a very unappealing and sparse continental breakfast. Our unit was overly air conditioned with no adjustments permitted for temperature settings,and had a very uninterested and engaged staff. Considering the high expense there are many other more inviting and comfortable place. I would never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of entertainment, dining, galleries and nightlife on Duvall Street only one block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 12, 2008

Great location Old Town Key West

The Merlin Guest House. Our room, one queen bed, was located in the front on the street...very loud. Our room was the smallest room we've ever stayed in. For an historic hotel, it was more like a cleaned up stable in an old barn. Open raw wood ceiling with wires going everywhere. The old and rotting wood floor had open sharp holes with what looked an attempt to fill them with wood fill. The bathroom was small with no place to put toiletries. The toilet handle was disfunctional and had to be lifted back up after each flush or it continued to run. The electrical switch, on-off for the light was also the switch for the hair dryer. This outlet was not grounded and if you touched the two screws above or below the light switch with a damp hand you got shocked. It happened to me twice and I learned my lesson. We had lots of luggage, because we are divers, and we had to stack our luggage and keep lifting them and restacking them to get what we needed. The good things were...the rock hard bed and I have a bad back...the T V was new. The new Home Depot over-head light was nice, but hardly historic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Merlin Guest House was right in the center of Old Town Key West. We could walk in any direction to get to where we wanted to go. We felt very safe walking around the neighborhood after dark.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Laurent miami
Business
Miami, FL
Jun 11, 2014

trip DC

nice location but noisly because of the street. No food at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wanders
Business
Indianapolis
Feb 14, 2012

Great location from Duval street fun

My only complaint for this B&B was the strong musty smell of the room. Not sure why they still have carpet in tropical locations. It holds the humidity and was dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top