$259 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

Merlin Guesthouse

3 stars
View map of 811 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
109 reviews
World Traveler

Awesome experience. They upgraded us to a 2 story loft. Made our trip. See full review

  • Melissa C.
  • Jan 16, 2015
Great pre summer getaway

Had a great time staff was very friendly breakfast very good pool area relaxing and enjoyable See full review

  • Larry and Sharon
  • May 22, 2014
Classic Key West guesthouse offers quiet escape at heart of Old Town
A classic Key West hotel, the Merlin Guesthouse offers casual lodging on a private, walled compound just one block from famous Duval Street. Centrally located in the Historic District, the hotel sits within easy walking distance of many Key West attractions, including the restaurants, shopping, and nightlife of Duval Street and the Mallory Square sunset celebration. Merlin Guesthouse offers a range of suites, cottages, and basic guestrooms, and the private, walled compound features tropical gardens, a heated pool and daily continental breakfast.
Highlights
  • Quiet rooms at the heart of downtown Key West
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard
Rooms
The Merlin Guesthouse boasts 20 rooms, suites and cottages spread among the original rooming house rooms and several newer buildings. Basic guest rooms feature long, island-style porches and come equipped with queen-size, four-poster beds, while the king suites have larger beds and extra space. One- and two-bedroom cottages accommodate up to four people in king and queen beds, and they feature kitchenettes or wet bars. In-room amenities include cable TVs, hair dryers and alarm clocks.
Features
The Merlin Guesthouse in Key West holds a two-diamond rating from AAA. The main building, built in 1930, once housed Navy personnel house before transforming into a gambling house, a bordello, and now a quaint hotel with loads of character. Within the walled, shaded courtyard, guests can escape from the lively atmosphere of downtown Key West. A splash pool sits among the gardens. And in the courtyard guests can find hammocks, receive a complimentary continental breakfast each morning and stay connected with free Wi-Fi access.
Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Miami International Airport (161 mi/257.6 km)
Attractions
  • Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Key West Lighthouse Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Mallory Square (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Smathers Beach (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Merlin Guesthouse also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Merlin Guesthouse Rooms

Suite 1 King Bed
King Suites offer a romantic setting with a spacious room, a king-size four-poster bed, and sitting area. All suites also include a small refrigerator, private bath with shower, security safe, air conditioning, cable TV, Bahama fan, daily breakfast, and n
2 Bedroom Cottage
2 Bedroom cottage with Queen bed livingroom cable TV wetbar with frig coffee blender sink private patio 1 bath with shower N/S Children welcome in existing bedding. Max 4 persons.
1 Bedroom Cottage
Cottage Suite: private bedroom with king bed; livingroom with queen sleeper sofa; kitchenette; bathroom with shower; non-smoking unit. Children welcome in existing bedding. Maximum 4 persons.
Standard 1 Queen Bed
One of the best values in Key West, and breakfast is included. Queen-size bed, private bath with shower, hardwood floor, bahama fan, a/c, cable tv, and security safe. These rooms are cozy and rustic, and perfect for two. Non-smoking, adults only. Merlin G

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Security
Internet
WiFi
Room
Telephone

Dining

Restaurant / Dining Information
On-Site Dining: Complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning, under the courtyard arbor, from 8:30am to 10:30am. Selections include fresh brewed coffee, orange juice, croissants, bagels and cream cheese, english muffins with butter and ja

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for Merlin Guesthouse

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Duval Shopper
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Best location in town

Staff friendly,kept our luggage untill our room was ready so we were able to enjoy Key West for our overnight stay. Love the later check out time, It gave us a chance to enjoy the ambiance of Key West. Would recommend the B&B anytime

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

1 block of Duval

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DianeS
Business
Flagstaff, AZ
Nov 13, 2011

Attractive Room/Good location

Never having been to the Keys, I was worried about booking a room without any guidence other than written reviews. Happy to say that the room was very clean and up to date. Yes, the bathroom was small but just fine and not an issue at all. We did not want to be on Duval street due to the noise and were happy to see this was just one street over and everything was within walking distance. Worried that the room we were given (facing the street) was going to be too loud and busy but it was just fine. Staff was nice and helpful. Breakfast, not to be counted on to be very interesting and filling but did not expect it to. Parking is an issue, you park on the side street and best then to leave it there until you depart. All in all, clean rooms, nice decor inside rooms, bathroom small but fine. We would stay there again. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Best food, with view was Louie's Backyard. Not really a long walk but for some... Excellent view on the ocean. Is a bed and breakfast place but higher price...We had lunch there. Best thing we did was rent bicycles!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
C. Man
Business
Dearborn, MI, USA
Jan 3, 2012

great!

One of the best places we have ever stayed! Great location, nice clean room, breakfast included and friendly staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris Armbrister
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Treat Yourself to a Great Getaway!

My wife and I needed a couple of days R-n-R, which is exactly what we got at Merlin Guesthouse. It was a great location 1 block from Duval which was perfect...close enough to walk and not worry above driving back after a couple of drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach at the end of Duval street...the beach chair/umbrella guys are the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RandR
Business
MD Eastern Shore
Jan 25, 2012

Magic of the Merlin Guest House, Key West

We stayed 4 nights in the Merlin. FANTASTIC! Staff was very accomodating, and personal. Everything in Key West was within easy travel distance, and Continental breakfast was "just right" to start the day. Key West's heritage was well represented here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Pedicabs whenever possible. Never more than 10 minutes from anywhere you want to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Randy108
Business
Pittsburgh Pa.
Mar 3, 2012

Great First Time to Key West

The hotel was great. We arrived a little early and our room wasn't ready yet, so the gentleman in the office told us that we were welcome to use the pool if we liked until the room was ready. After a short walk we went back and sat by the pool. The gentleman in the office kepy us updated on the preperation of our room and kept checking to see if we needed anything. He kept apologizing that the room was not ready, even though we were 2hrs early. Thats how great the staff was! They informed us that the pool was only open till 8:00pm, but we were able to use it as long as we wanted to. After walking around town all day , we went back and got in the pool around 9:00pm. It was very relaxing without any kids. The rooms were clean,breakfast was good and the staff was friendly. Cant wait to go stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at B.O's fish market. Best fish sandwiches and key lime kool-aid.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HappyTraveler85
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Beautiful Hotel

This is one amazing hotel. The only downfall, which we didn't know until we got there, there is not parking lot. You have to park on the street which is very scarce itself. Basically, you have to park your vehicle when you find a spot and leave it there until you are checking out to leave otherwise you may not find a spot again. The good news is that everything is pretty much in walking distance. The longest distance you may have to walk (one way) would be a mile to a mile and a half. You are also able to rent bikes to get you around. To be honest, you don't really want to be driving around any way...it's very hectic with the amount of bikes and foot traffic any way. Also, if you drive, parking at it's cheapest in areas was $5.00 for a couple hours. So it made more sense to walk any way. The rooms were smaller, but still comfortable. The continental breakfast was healthy and the pool was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The tourist area is a short walk down the street. You will find a ton of restaurants and shopping as well as activities. Also...this hotel is located one block from Duval St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marty Chilaxing
Business
Levittown, Pa
May 31, 2012

Much needed R & R

Stayed May 6-10th, Staff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions for eateries and directions. Continental breakfast made for a good start to the day. Location was excellent, just two blocks off busy Duval and about midway to all bars and restaurants. Room was clean and quite large. Very comfortable bed and nice view of the pool. Bathroom clean and large. It was 82+ degrees the 4 days here, great weather and air conditioner in our room kept us cool at night. Couldn't have asked for a better 5 days and would stay here again. Can't wait to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ramon's
Business
Deerfield Beach, FL
Aug 7, 2012

Our experience

Great location! Ray the hotel manager was amazing! Room was clean and A/C was cold. The pool and deck area was relaxing and cozy. Continenal breakfast was yummy. Great place. We came for our anniversary and have plans to return next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CamieQ
Business
Palm Bay, FL
Oct 15, 2012

Nice place to relax

This is the best location, central so you can walk from one end to the other very easily. You can get to the Southern most point and then turn around and walk down Duval to all of the interesting bars and shops. Loved it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Better than Se- a dessert restaurant just up the block, great food and atmosphere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top