$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Merlin Guesthouse

3 stars
811 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
140 reviews
Great pre summer getaway

Had a great time staff was very friendly breakfast very good pool area relaxing and enjoyable See full review

  • Larry and Sharon
  • May 22, 2014
Amazing experience

The hotel is perfectly located, clean rooms, and friendly staff! See full review

  • Lindsey o.
  • Apr 25, 2014
Classic Key West guesthouse offers quiet escape at heart of Old Town
A classic Key West hotel, the Merlin Guesthouse offers casual lodging on a private, walled compound just one block from famous Duval Street. Centrally located in the Historic District, the hotel sits within easy walking distance of many Key West attractions, including the restaurants, shopping, and nightlife of Duval Street and the Mallory Square sunset celebration. Merlin Guesthouse offers a range of suites, cottages, and basic guestrooms, and the private, walled compound features tropical gardens, a heated pool and daily continental breakfast.
Highlights
  • Quiet rooms at the heart of downtown Key West
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard
Rooms
The Merlin Guesthouse boasts 20 rooms, suites and cottages spread among the original rooming house rooms and several newer buildings. Basic guest rooms feature long, island-style porches and come equipped with queen-size, four-poster beds, while the king suites have larger beds and extra space. One- and two-bedroom cottages accommodate up to four people in king and queen beds, and they feature kitchenettes or wet bars. In-room amenities include cable TVs, hair dryers and alarm clocks.
Features
The Merlin Guesthouse in Key West holds a two-diamond rating from AAA. The main building, built in 1930, once housed Navy personnel house before transforming into a gambling house, a bordello, and now a quaint hotel with loads of character. Within the walled, shaded courtyard, guests can escape from the lively atmosphere of downtown Key West. A splash pool sits among the gardens. And in the courtyard guests can find hammocks, receive a complimentary continental breakfast each morning and stay connected with free Wi-Fi access.
Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Miami International Airport (161 mi/257.6 km)
Attractions
  • Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Key West Lighthouse Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Mallory Square (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Smathers Beach (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard

Merlin Guesthouse Rooms

Suite 1 King Bed
King Suites offer a romantic setting with a spacious room, a king-size four-poster bed, and sitting area. All suites also include a small refrigerator, private bath with shower, security safe, air conditioning, cable TV, Bahama fan, daily breakfast, and n
2 Bedroom Cottage
2 Bedroom cottage with Queen bed livingroom cable TV wetbar with frig coffee blender sink private patio 1 bath with shower N/S Children welcome in existing bedding. Max 4 persons.
1 Bedroom Cottage
Cottage Suite: private bedroom with king bed; livingroom with queen sleeper sofa; kitchenette; bathroom with shower; non-smoking unit. Children welcome in existing bedding. Maximum 4 persons.
Standard 1 Queen Bed
One of the best values in Key West, and breakfast is included. Queen-size bed, private bath with shower, hardwood floor, bahama fan, a/c, cable tv, and security safe. These rooms are cozy and rustic, and perfect for two. Non-smoking, adults only. Merlin G

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Security
Internet
WiFi
Room
Telephone

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Merlin Guesthouse also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

24.5534 -81.799
Nearby airports
EYW - Key West Airport, (EYW), 4.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Dining

Restaurant / Dining Information
On-Site Dining: Complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning, under the courtyard arbor, from 8:30am to 10:30am. Selections include fresh brewed coffee, orange juice, croissants, bagels and cream cheese, english muffins with butter and ja

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for Merlin Guesthouse

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KMH in Miami
Miami, FL
Jul 16, 2012

Great little getaway hotel!

The location cannot be beat as the hotel is one block off Duval Street and walking distance to nearly everything. I expected the queen rooms to be little bigger but it is an older hotel that has been renovated and I didn't think the room rate was overpriced for what we got and where we were. The staff is exceptional (Ray couldn't do enough it seemed) and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We will go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob the Happy vacationer
Lewisville Texas
Jun 8, 2012

Very good value for the money

We stayed at the Merlin guesthouse for 5 nights. The room was small but was very clean. Sheets and towels were provided each day and always smelled and looked clean. Our room included a shower but no bathtub...if that's important. We always had hot water too. The included continental breakfast included bagels, muffins, cereal, juice, coffee, milk, yogurt and fruit, was always fresh, and the coffee was hot and strong. The location is perfect for anyone wanting to enjoy the Duval Street scene as it is one block north of Duval. Also, bicycles and moped are available for rent not 2 blocks away for those that get tired of walking. Service and staff was outstanding. We will happily return on our next trip to Key West.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marty Chilaxing
Levittown, Pa
May 31, 2012

Much needed R & R

Stayed May 6-10th, Staff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions for eateries and directions. Continental breakfast made for a good start to the day. Location was excellent, just two blocks off busy Duval and about midway to all bars and restaurants. Room was clean and quite large. Very comfortable bed and nice view of the pool. Bathroom clean and large. It was 82+ degrees the 4 days here, great weather and air conditioner in our room kept us cool at night. Couldn't have asked for a better 5 days and would stay here again. Can't wait to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guitar Girl
Pittsburgh, PA
May 7, 2012

Great stay, definately will return

Upon arrival to the hotel, we were greeted by very friendly staff who were very welcoming and helpful in suggesting places to eat, sight see, night life, etc. We were also welcomed by two friendly cats and a chicken who occupy the property and it gave you the instant laid back feeling. We arrived a few hours before check in and were allowed to safely keep our luggage in the main office and were notified by phone call when our room was ready...which was much sooner than we expected. Our room was perfect. Very clean and spacious. The decor was very calm and relaxing and the amenities were very accomidating to our needs. The pool was small, but we really didnt spend much time there. We were given a coupon for a sister hotel of the Merlin where they had a bigger pool and we enjoyed 2 for 1 cocktails one afternoon. The continental breakfast was basic and enough to give us the energy to start our adventures for the day. Overall, we had no complaints and definatly plan to stay here again. This was our first trip to Key West, and everything was perfect. You cannot beat how close it is to Duval St without any noise!! We will be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HappyTraveler85
Wisconsin, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Beautiful Hotel

This is one amazing hotel. The only downfall, which we didn't know until we got there, there is not parking lot. You have to park on the street which is very scarce itself. Basically, you have to park your vehicle when you find a spot and leave it there until you are checking out to leave otherwise you may not find a spot again. The good news is that everything is pretty much in walking distance. The longest distance you may have to walk (one way) would be a mile to a mile and a half. You are also able to rent bikes to get you around. To be honest, you don't really want to be driving around any way...it's very hectic with the amount of bikes and foot traffic any way. Also, if you drive, parking at it's cheapest in areas was $5.00 for a couple hours. So it made more sense to walk any way. The rooms were smaller, but still comfortable. The continental breakfast was healthy and the pool was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The tourist area is a short walk down the street. You will find a ton of restaurants and shopping as well as activities. Also...this hotel is located one block from Duval St.

Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Randy108
Pittsburgh Pa.
Mar 3, 2012

Great First Time to Key West

The hotel was great. We arrived a little early and our room wasn't ready yet, so the gentleman in the office told us that we were welcome to use the pool if we liked until the room was ready. After a short walk we went back and sat by the pool. The gentleman in the office kepy us updated on the preperation of our room and kept checking to see if we needed anything. He kept apologizing that the room was not ready, even though we were 2hrs early. Thats how great the staff was! They informed us that the pool was only open till 8:00pm, but we were able to use it as long as we wanted to. After walking around town all day , we went back and got in the pool around 9:00pm. It was very relaxing without any kids. The rooms were clean,breakfast was good and the staff was friendly. Cant wait to go stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at B.O's fish market. Best fish sandwiches and key lime kool-aid.

Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
George ti
New York, NY, USA
Mar 1, 2012

Great location

The location was close to the heart of key west but the place was very small and parking was rather tough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RAYMED
Miami, FL
Feb 27, 2012

Great Weekend

The check-in process couldn't have been easier, we got there after the office was closed. They have a number to call and they give you your room number and how to get in. Next morning, I went to the office and finished the check-in process which it took literally 3 minutes. Great staff, free service, free wi-fi, heated pool and only 2 blocks from Duval Street. Once you park at the Bed and Breakfast, you can seriously forget about driving and trying to find parking in Key West.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wanders
Indianapolis
Feb 14, 2012

Great location from Duval street fun

My only complaint for this B&B was the strong musty smell of the room. Not sure why they still have carpet in tropical locations. It holds the humidity and was dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Modelo
Christiansburg, VA
Feb 4, 2012

Great mid-Winter escape

Friendly, courteous staff. Basic accomodations without a lot of frills, but very clean and comfortable. The location is excellent - justy one block off Duval Street, and centrally located within walking distance to all of Old Town. Everyone we talked with who was staying there was very satisfied with their choice. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Merlin to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top