$249 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Merlin Guesthouse

3 stars
811 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
110 reviews
World Traveler

Awesome experience. They upgraded us to a 2 story loft. Made our trip. See full review

  • Melissa C.
  • Jan 16, 2015
Great pre summer getaway

Had a great time staff was very friendly breakfast very good pool area relaxing and enjoyable See full review

  • Larry and Sharon
  • May 22, 2014
Classic Key West guesthouse offers quiet escape at heart of Old Town
A classic Key West hotel, the Merlin Guesthouse offers casual lodging on a private, walled compound just one block from famous Duval Street. Centrally located in the Historic District, the hotel sits within easy walking distance of many Key West attractions, including the restaurants, shopping, and nightlife of Duval Street and the Mallory Square sunset celebration. Merlin Guesthouse offers a range of suites, cottages, and basic guestrooms, and the private, walled compound features tropical gardens, a heated pool and daily continental breakfast.
Highlights
  • Quiet rooms at the heart of downtown Key West
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard
Rooms
The Merlin Guesthouse boasts 20 rooms, suites and cottages spread among the original rooming house rooms and several newer buildings. Basic guest rooms feature long, island-style porches and come equipped with queen-size, four-poster beds, while the king suites have larger beds and extra space. One- and two-bedroom cottages accommodate up to four people in king and queen beds, and they feature kitchenettes or wet bars. In-room amenities include cable TVs, hair dryers and alarm clocks.
Features
The Merlin Guesthouse in Key West holds a two-diamond rating from AAA. The main building, built in 1930, once housed Navy personnel house before transforming into a gambling house, a bordello, and now a quaint hotel with loads of character. Within the walled, shaded courtyard, guests can escape from the lively atmosphere of downtown Key West. A splash pool sits among the gardens. And in the courtyard guests can find hammocks, receive a complimentary continental breakfast each morning and stay connected with free Wi-Fi access.
Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Miami International Airport (161 mi/257.6 km)
Attractions
  • Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Key West Lighthouse Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Mallory Square (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Smathers Beach (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Merlin Guesthouse also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Merlin Guesthouse Rooms

Suite 1 King Bed
King Suites offer a romantic setting with a spacious room, a king-size four-poster bed, and sitting area. All suites also include a small refrigerator, private bath with shower, security safe, air conditioning, cable TV, Bahama fan, daily breakfast, and n
2 Bedroom Cottage
2 Bedroom cottage with Queen bed livingroom cable TV wetbar with frig coffee blender sink private patio 1 bath with shower N/S Children welcome in existing bedding. Max 4 persons.
1 Bedroom Cottage
Cottage Suite: private bedroom with king bed; livingroom with queen sleeper sofa; kitchenette; bathroom with shower; non-smoking unit. Children welcome in existing bedding. Maximum 4 persons.
Standard 1 Queen Bed
One of the best values in Key West, and breakfast is included. Queen-size bed, private bath with shower, hardwood floor, bahama fan, a/c, cable tv, and security safe. These rooms are cozy and rustic, and perfect for two. Non-smoking, adults only. Merlin G

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Security
Internet
WiFi
Room
Telephone

Dining

Restaurant / Dining Information
On-Site Dining: Complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning, under the courtyard arbor, from 8:30am to 10:30am. Selections include fresh brewed coffee, orange juice, croissants, bagels and cream cheese, english muffins with butter and ja

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for Merlin Guesthouse

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JF B
Business
Montreal Canada
Oct 30, 2012

wow

perfect location great staff clean room !!! Will go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CamieQ
Business
Palm Bay, FL
Oct 15, 2012

Nice place to relax

This is the best location, central so you can walk from one end to the other very easily. You can get to the Southern most point and then turn around and walk down Duval to all of the interesting bars and shops. Loved it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Better than Se- a dessert restaurant just up the block, great food and atmosphere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
another robert
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Sep 11, 2012

Great Hotel

1) Location, Location and Location/. Perfect 2) Charming/ Historic 3) Clean/ Very 4) Friendly/ Staff in great moods 5) Amenities/ OK 6) Bed/ It kept me from hitting the floor everynight

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy traveler 2012 8
Business
Key West, FL
Aug 27, 2012

Would not go back

We were not impressed with the hotel. The bed was not great, we couldn't get a full time sleep. The walls of the hotel are not insulated well - we could hear all the travel going by on the street and when you were not laying down you could feel the hot air in the room at your chest and head. All our clothes felt wet to the touch. The location was great, one block off the party street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ramon's
Business
Deerfield Beach, FL
Aug 7, 2012

Our experience

Great location! Ray the hotel manager was amazing! Room was clean and A/C was cold. The pool and deck area was relaxing and cozy. Continenal breakfast was yummy. Great place. We came for our anniversary and have plans to return next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ann Marie 200
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jul 21, 2012

Merlin's a Jewel

Enter the gate and you find yourself in a large tropical garden. Our room was clean and Old Key West -- dark hardwood floors, high ceiling with exposed beams, faux wood blinds, latticed doors. The small but adequate pool has jacuzzi jets, perfect for a mid-day dip or sipping wine after sunset (BYOB). The location work for us. We walked everywhere -- the Hemingway House, Truman's Little White House, Customs House, Kino's Sandals, and Mallory Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two restaurants, Mangia, Mangia and Sarabeth's are excellent -- great food and superb service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KMH in Miami
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 16, 2012

Great little getaway hotel!

The location cannot be beat as the hotel is one block off Duval Street and walking distance to nearly everything. I expected the queen rooms to be little bigger but it is an older hotel that has been renovated and I didn't think the room rate was overpriced for what we got and where we were. The staff is exceptional (Ray couldn't do enough it seemed) and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We will go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob the Happy vacationer
Business
Lewisville Texas
Jun 8, 2012

Very good value for the money

We stayed at the Merlin guesthouse for 5 nights. The room was small but was very clean. Sheets and towels were provided each day and always smelled and looked clean. Our room included a shower but no bathtub...if that's important. We always had hot water too. The included continental breakfast included bagels, muffins, cereal, juice, coffee, milk, yogurt and fruit, was always fresh, and the coffee was hot and strong. The location is perfect for anyone wanting to enjoy the Duval Street scene as it is one block north of Duval. Also, bicycles and moped are available for rent not 2 blocks away for those that get tired of walking. Service and staff was outstanding. We will happily return on our next trip to Key West.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marty Chilaxing
Business
Levittown, Pa
May 31, 2012

Much needed R & R

Stayed May 6-10th, Staff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions for eateries and directions. Continental breakfast made for a good start to the day. Location was excellent, just two blocks off busy Duval and about midway to all bars and restaurants. Room was clean and quite large. Very comfortable bed and nice view of the pool. Bathroom clean and large. It was 82+ degrees the 4 days here, great weather and air conditioner in our room kept us cool at night. Couldn't have asked for a better 5 days and would stay here again. Can't wait to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guitar Girl
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 7, 2012

Great stay, definately will return

Upon arrival to the hotel, we were greeted by very friendly staff who were very welcoming and helpful in suggesting places to eat, sight see, night life, etc. We were also welcomed by two friendly cats and a chicken who occupy the property and it gave you the instant laid back feeling. We arrived a few hours before check in and were allowed to safely keep our luggage in the main office and were notified by phone call when our room was ready...which was much sooner than we expected. Our room was perfect. Very clean and spacious. The decor was very calm and relaxing and the amenities were very accomidating to our needs. The pool was small, but we really didnt spend much time there. We were given a coupon for a sister hotel of the Merlin where they had a bigger pool and we enjoyed 2 for 1 cocktails one afternoon. The continental breakfast was basic and enough to give us the energy to start our adventures for the day. Overall, we had no complaints and definatly plan to stay here again. This was our first trip to Key West, and everything was perfect. You cannot beat how close it is to Duval St without any noise!! We will be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top