$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 22, 2015

Lighthouse Court Hotel

3 stars
View map of 902 Whitehead Street, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
114 reviews
Great atmosphere, relaxing and perfect location.

We were in town for vacation and loved the Lighthouse Court Hotel. The location was great and we... See full review

  • Jody M.
  • Aug 3, 2015
Perfect base to explore from

Only stayed a day but check out the island in turbo mode. The central location helped, being only a... See full review

  • David G.
  • Jul 27, 2015

The historic Lighthouse Court Hotel sits at the heart of downtown Key West, next door to the Key West Lighthouse Museum and across the street from the Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum.  Located just one block from Duval Street, the Lighthouse Court Hotel is within walking distance from popular downtown attractions. The Lighthouse Court Hotel occupies half a city block and comprises ten buildings, which date from 1890 to the 1920s. The buildings boast Key West-style architecture with tin roofs, wood siding, open porches, and French doors.

Rooms

The Lighthouse Court Hotel features 40 guestrooms and suites spread out among ten historic, island-style buildings, separated by brick pathways and tropical landscaping. Best suited to couples, most of the Lighthouse Court Hotel's rooms offer single kings, queens, or double beds. Guestrooms have en-suite baths, and suites boast separate bedrooms and the living rooms have sitting areas and wet bars. The 1,000-square-foot Hemingway Suite boasts dramatic vaulted ceilings, a loft bedroom and a full kitchen. In-room amenities include cable TVs, mini refrigerators, and telephones.

Property features

The Lighthouse Court Hotel has a AAA three diamond rating, and the historic hotel sprawls across a half city block punctuated by walking paths and tropical gardens with views of the lighthouse next door. The property boasts classic, whitewashes Key West architecture with broad porches. Hotel guests can relax at the outdoor pool in the main courtyard, and the pool bar serves tropical drinks in quiet seclusion. The Lighthouse Court Hotel also offers free Wi-Fi access in the courtyard, and guests receive a complimentary continental breakfast in the courtyard each morning.

Highlights
  • Central location in Old Town Key West
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard
Nearby attractions
  • Mallory Square (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • Key West Lighthouse Museum (nest door)
  • Sloppy Joes Bar (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • Smathers Beach (2.6 mi./4.2 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.1 mi./1.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard
Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.4 mi./5.4 km)
  • Miami International Airport (161 mi./257.6 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lighthouse Court Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$149
4.1 / 5 117 reviews
★★★
$159
3.8 / 5 128 reviews
★★★
$159
4.0 / 5 160 reviews
★★★
$149
3.7 / 5 136 reviews
★★★★
$149
4.1 / 5 77 reviews
★★★
$149
4.0 / 5 157 reviews
★★★
$149
3.5 / 5 55 reviews
★★★★
$249
4.2 / 5 68 reviews
★★★
$171
4.0 / 5 146 reviews

Lighthouse Court Hotel Rooms

Penthouse
Private and luxurious suite. One thousand square feet of indoor and outdoor space. Sitting area with plasma tv, gourmet kitchen, dining table, writer's desk, loft bedroom with king bed, deluxe bathroom with shower, private porch overlooking the Hemingway
Courtyard Room
Full-size or Queen bed, private bath with shower, cable tv, telephone, non-smoking, comfortable for two persons.
Suite
Spacious room with separate living area and sleeping area, queen bed, full wetbar with refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker, private bath with shower, cable tv, telephone, non-smoking. Accommodates two persons.
Superior Room
Queen-size bed; private bath with shower; cable tv; telephone; mini-refrigerator; non-smoking room; comfortable for two persons.
1
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
General
Concierge
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock

Dining

Off Site Restaurant
Lighthouse Court serves breakfast Key West offers exceptional dining in a wide array of local restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Lighthouse Court Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Carolinayankee
Family
Charlotte, NC, USA
Dec 31, 2011

Screwed Up Reservation

Thw worst was I booked a two bed room only to find out the hotel could not provide one. Although they upgraded the one queen to a king I still had one of my party of 3 having to sleep on the floor. No couch in the room as an altrernative. It might be a historic site but ammenities were few and far between. The staff ran hot and cold as I was informed by one of the staff that I was not permitted to have 3 guests in a single bed room when it was one of the staff members who upgraded me to the larger bed. Given the absence of any clean, quality alternatives I was forced to accept the less than booked option. I stil don't know who dropped the ball on the reservation but the was ample finger pointing as to responsible party. Hotel seemed like an aged New Orleans brothel. Poor parking accomodations and luggage help given I recently suffered a stroke. No aid offered. Poor TV options no pay per view. Sink size pool. Bed uncomfortable. Convwniwent to Duvall but pictures are quite misleading and I don't think expense is worth it unless like me other options were full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Many so called hotels and resorts around Duvall. Note that any experience with quality hotels and resorts elsewhere will leave you thirsting to be elsewhere.

Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cat2012
Couples
Florida
Jan 3, 2013

Disappointed stay

Hotel did not live up to the advertisement. Don't believe the reviews. There is no parking for your car. You have to search for parking on the street. The room and bathroom was small and smelt of must. Air conditioner did not cool the room. The place needs a complete overhaul to bring it up to 2013. We left half way thru our stay. We should have been reimbursed for our entire stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SuperLooper
Couples
New York, NY
Dec 29, 2012

What a dump!

This hotel is in serious need of refurbishment. The on-line photos look great but do not reflect the reality of peeling paint, large gouges in the window frames, non-working room safe, old-fashioned and chipped stall shower, cheap and insufficient shampoo and soap. Not to mention the wandering roosters outside that kept us awake all night. It was an overall depressing hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
MIDDLETOWN OHIO
Feb 24, 2011

trip to 1940"s

first there is no parking. they do have n ine spots off the back. I DROVE AROUND FOR 30 MIN. BEFORE I COULD FIND A SPACE TWO BLOCKS AWAY. THE SHACK WE WERE IN WAS THREE FEET WIDER THAN THE BED ANDFIVE FEET LONGER THAN THE BED. THE WATER PRESURE WAS SO LOW YOU COULD NOT RINSE OFF. OTHER GUEST SAID THE SAME THING. I WOULD NOT EVER EVER GO BACK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Just Me from Ohio
Couples
Dayton
Feb 9, 2014

Not worth it.

Arrived early at noon and asked if room was available, I wasn't expecting it would be but was told it would be ready at 3:00 it wasn't ready until 4:00. Simply not worth $249.00 a night. Room is way too small and certainly nothing special. Bathroom baseboard and grout along bottom of shower not very clean. location of room was under stairs with absolutely no view. Curtains on door not very private. There was absolutely no parking, had to walk 3 blocks down to park and had to pay $20.00. Location of the hotel was good and the only other good thing about stay was the continental breakfast was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the trolley tour when you first get there.

Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Redhat
Couples
Orlando, FL, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Lackluster at best

If you want to be in the thick of things, this is the location for you. However, I have stayed in naval dormitories that were luxurious compared to this place. There wasn't a "real" comforter to speak of on the bed, the bathrooms were in desperate need of renovation, and there were ants in the room. The staff was friendly enough, but even with the site discount we received this place just wasn't worth the dough. Stick to the chains, as the whole island is so small it's not going to be difficult to get anywhere regardless of where you stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Miami, FL
Nov 13, 2010

Lighthouse Court Hotel

We booked last minute. I normally won't stay at a small hotel, or unknown hotel. One bad thing, is the roosters at 5am, started cockadoodling. The hotel provides earplugs. But then you have to worry about not hearing something important, like a fire alarm. The bed was very uncomfortable. And all fixtures are old. I paid $250, I wouldn't do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Duval St.

Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Key West Castaway
Single
Port St. Lucie, FL
May 16, 2010

Good Location, But No Parking

The guest house is in a good location, across from the Hemingway House and very close to Duval Street if that's what you're looking for, but ..... This is called a "historic" guest house. Room was small and poorly lighted. The floor was spongy in places. The air conditioner was almost against the bed. There were large gaps above the door, enough to allow light, bugs and little critters in. The worst thing is there is almost no on-site parking, leaving you to hunt through the neighborhood for on-street parking. Full payment for the entire stay was taken at check-in. Breakfast was very basic. English and blueberry muffins, bagels, toast, juice and coffee. If you're looking for amenities (and parking) stick to the resorts and chain hotels. Take a cab to Duval.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You're one block over from Duval Street.

Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Atlanta, GA
Apr 28, 2010

The Keys

The Good: Friendly, helpful staff. We were able to check-in a couple hours early. Location was great. The Bad: A little old and rundown... rooms looked liked they tried to update but not a good job. Carpet appeared to have fresh stains... very disgusting considering what substance could have been (bodily fluids). Shower only got luke warm. Very pricey... I have stayed in much nicer hotels for as little as $79... here I paid $223. Understand this had to do with location, but hotel was somewhat old and rundown (although historic looking).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Fl
Dec 28, 2009

Lighthouse Court Hotel, Key West, Fl

My fiancee (yes I proposed to her in Key West) and I went on a Christmas Vacation to Key West, booked 3 nights at this hotel. Hotel is average, front staff people were not helpful, especially [...], gave us a hard time almost on everything. First 2 days, the hotel did not have a parking spot for us, we had to pay $20 a day to park 3 blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top