Lighthouse Court Hotel

3 stars
View map of 902 Whitehead Street, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
114 reviews
Great atmosphere, relaxing and perfect location.

We were in town for vacation and loved the Lighthouse Court Hotel. The location was great and we... See full review

  • Jody M.
  • Aug 3, 2015
Perfect base to explore from

Only stayed a day but check out the island in turbo mode. The central location helped, being only a... See full review

  • David G.
  • Jul 27, 2015

The historic Lighthouse Court Hotel sits at the heart of downtown Key West, next door to the Key West Lighthouse Museum and across the street from the Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum.  Located just one block from Duval Street, the Lighthouse Court Hotel is within walking distance from popular downtown attractions. The Lighthouse Court Hotel occupies half a city block and comprises ten buildings, which date from 1890 to the 1920s. The buildings boast Key West-style architecture with tin roofs, wood siding, open porches, and French doors.

Rooms

The Lighthouse Court Hotel features 40 guestrooms and suites spread out among ten historic, island-style buildings, separated by brick pathways and tropical landscaping. Best suited to couples, most of the Lighthouse Court Hotel's rooms offer single kings, queens, or double beds. Guestrooms have en-suite baths, and suites boast separate bedrooms and the living rooms have sitting areas and wet bars. The 1,000-square-foot Hemingway Suite boasts dramatic vaulted ceilings, a loft bedroom and a full kitchen. In-room amenities include cable TVs, mini refrigerators, and telephones.

Property features

The Lighthouse Court Hotel has a AAA three diamond rating, and the historic hotel sprawls across a half city block punctuated by walking paths and tropical gardens with views of the lighthouse next door. The property boasts classic, whitewashes Key West architecture with broad porches. Hotel guests can relax at the outdoor pool in the main courtyard, and the pool bar serves tropical drinks in quiet seclusion. The Lighthouse Court Hotel also offers free Wi-Fi access in the courtyard, and guests receive a complimentary continental breakfast in the courtyard each morning.

Highlights
  • Central location in Old Town Key West
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard
Nearby attractions
  • Mallory Square (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • Key West Lighthouse Museum (nest door)
  • Sloppy Joes Bar (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • Smathers Beach (2.6 mi./4.2 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.1 mi./1.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard
Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.4 mi./5.4 km)
  • Miami International Airport (161 mi./257.6 km)

Lighthouse Court Hotel Rooms

Penthouse
Private and luxurious suite. One thousand square feet of indoor and outdoor space. Sitting area with plasma tv, gourmet kitchen, dining table, writer's desk, loft bedroom with king bed, deluxe bathroom with shower, private porch overlooking the Hemingway
Courtyard Room
Full-size or Queen bed, private bath with shower, cable tv, telephone, non-smoking, comfortable for two persons.
Suite
Spacious room with separate living area and sleeping area, queen bed, full wetbar with refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker, private bath with shower, cable tv, telephone, non-smoking. Accommodates two persons.
Superior Room
Queen-size bed; private bath with shower; cable tv; telephone; mini-refrigerator; non-smoking room; comfortable for two persons.
1
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
General
Concierge
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock

Hotel Map

24.5509 -81.801
Nearby airports
Key West International Airport, (EYW), 4.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Dining

Off Site Restaurant
Lighthouse Court serves breakfast Key West offers exceptional dining in a wide array of local restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for Lighthouse Court Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Longwood Fl
Oct 29, 2009

Surprised by how nice

The hotel was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We rented scooters at the scooter hospital. So glad we did every thing is in walking distance but by the end of the day you are worn out from all the back and forth.

Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
La Prairie, Quebec, Canada
Oct 27, 2009

Perfect!

Great location, beautiful grounds, friendly staff. Free breakfast is perfect (bagel, english muffin, toast, juice, yogourt, coffee, danish and muffin) Nice clean hotel at a great price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Arlington, VA
Aug 20, 2009

Good enough

The "Standard Room" was by far the smallest hotel room I've ever seen. It's tiny even by old European standards. I actually think the bathroom was the same size as the living space. But, on the other hand, when in Key West, how much are you really in a hotel room anyway?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A&B Lobster House: One of the most excellent dining experiences we've ever had. Great service, delicious food!

Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yop
Couples
Houston, Texas
Aug 10, 2009

Perfect place to stay

this place is excellent to relax, get a nice tan, meet nice people and just walk around. Water activities are the best, specially when you are in warm blue water

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Heaven

Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
edmonton canada
Jul 16, 2009

nice hotel

hotel was nice but there is no internet..they say its in the pool area but its non existent..also parking is very tight and often not available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HAWKINS FAMILY
Couples
WEST PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
Jul 13, 2009

LOVED IT!!!

THE STAFF WAS WONDERFUL AND IT WAS VERY CLOSE TO EVERYTHING!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
tampa florida
Jun 26, 2009

Lighthouse Court

Awesome location!! Great room, decent pool. Very hapy with overall experience. Only down side, of the four days we where there, the pool bar was only open one evening. So don't count on getting any type of drinks at the hotel!! Sits literally right across from Ernest Hemmingway house, one block off Duval. I took my 15 year old niece, and it was fine. But it was mostly adults. Great staff, great room. Breakfast was very sparse, so I guess don't count on the bar, and don't count on the breakfast. Other than that, it rocked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

The Sebago water sports team was the best, I would skip the fury team and definetly go with Sebago, much more professional when it came to snorkeling, parasailing etc.

Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Armando M
Friends
Miami, Fl
Jun 21, 2009

Cozy little Hotel

I was pleased with the overall location of the Hotel. It has a LightHouse on the Property and is a great Cozy place to stay for the weekend. The price payed for the room was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Duval Street is one Block from Hotel. Heminways House was across the street and the LightHouse is one the property. Great walking Distance from the Night Life.

Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Gainesville, FL
Jun 17, 2009

Awesome bungalow in the middle of town!

We checked in early- there is VERY limited parking so it might be difficult at night or on weekends to find parking. Vicki was amazing at the front desk and answered all of our questions and gave GREAT dining tips- eat at Blue Heaven Cafe 2 blocks away- sooo yummy! The pool is heated and would be wonderful in cooler weather but was slightly too warm for the 100 degree heat although I still got in :) Great hotel, very friendly staff, great lighthouse view! bar by the pool- center of town. we walked everywhere- SO GREAT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Heaven is 2 blocks down and has a DELICIOUS brunch!!! Try the lobster benedict!!!

Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boca Raton, FL
May 26, 2009

lighthouse court

relaxing and European couple crowd

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top