Lighthouse Court Hotel

3 stars
902 Whitehead Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
181 reviews
Perfect getaway with friends!

Room and hotel location were perfect! Staff was friendly and very accommodating. Couldn't have... See full review

  • JLMJLM
  • Jul 7, 2014
Fantastic Stay

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The property was well-maintained and the staff was very courteous.... See full review

  • junio627
  • Jun 30, 2014
Downtown Key West Inn offers guestrooms overlooking the lighthouse

The historic Lighthouse Court Hotel sits at the heart of downtown Key West, next door to the Key West Lighthouse Museum and across the street from the Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum.  Located just one block from Duval Street, the Lighthouse Court Hotel is within walking distance from popular downtown attractions. The Lighthouse Court Hotel occupies half a city block and comprises ten buildings, which date from 1890 to the 1920s. The buildings boast Key West-style architecture with tin roofs, wood siding, open porches, and French doors.

Highlights
  • Central location in Old Town Key West
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard
Rooms

The Lighthouse Court Hotel features 40 guestrooms and suites spread out among ten historic, island-style buildings, separated by brick pathways and tropical landscaping. Best suited to couples, most of the Lighthouse Court Hotel's rooms offer single kings, queens, or double beds. Guestrooms have en-suite baths, and suites boast separate bedrooms and the living rooms have sitting areas and wet bars. The 1,000-square-foot Hemingway Suite boasts dramatic vaulted ceilings, a loft bedroom and a full kitchen. In-room amenities include cable TVs, mini refrigerators, and telephones.

Features

The Lighthouse Court Hotel has a AAA three diamond rating, and the historic hotel sprawls across a half city block punctuated by walking paths and tropical gardens with views of the lighthouse next door. The property boasts classic, whitewashes Key West architecture with broad porches. Hotel guests can relax at the outdoor pool in the main courtyard, and the pool bar serves tropical drinks in quiet seclusion. The Lighthouse Court Hotel also offers free Wi-Fi access in the courtyard, and guests receive a complimentary continental breakfast in the courtyard each morning.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.4 mi./5.4 km)
  • Miami International Airport (161 mi./257.6 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • Key West Lighthouse Museum (nest door)
  • Sloppy Joes Bar (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • Smathers Beach (2.6 mi./4.2 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (1.1 mi./1.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard

Lighthouse Court Hotel Rooms

Penthouse
Private and luxurious suite. One thousand square feet of indoor and outdoor space. Sitting area with plasma tv, gourmet kitchen, dining table, writer's desk, loft bedroom with king bed, deluxe bathroom with shower, private porch overlooking the Hemingway
Courtyard Room
Full-size or Queen bed, private bath with shower, cable tv, telephone, non-smoking, comfortable for two persons.
Suite
Spacious room with separate living area and sleeping area, queen bed, full wetbar with refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker, private bath with shower, cable tv, telephone, non-smoking. Accommodates two persons.
Superior Room
Queen-size bed; private bath with shower; cable tv; telephone; mini-refrigerator; non-smoking room; comfortable for two persons.
1
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
General
Concierge
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock

Hotel Map

24.5509 -81.801
Nearby airports
Key West International Airport, (EYW), 4.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Dining

Off Site Restaurant
Lighthouse Court serves breakfast Key West offers exceptional dining in a wide array of local restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for Lighthouse Court Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Carolina, USA
Apr 14, 2012

Key West Fun!

The Lighthouse Court Hotel is located just a block off of Duval, in the MIDDLE of everything. Yet it was quiet at night. My room was a standard and right off the courtyard where the pool is located. Bed was comfy, shower water was hot, a/c and ceiling fans kept me cool and comfy. There are only 9 parking spaces here, so when you arrive, leave the car alone. Who needs it anyway? Everything is within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is SO close! Walked everywhere I went ~

Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hockey ref
Methuen, MA, USA
Apr 12, 2012

good location, do not need a car, easy walks to downtown, Duval Street, Mallory Square, and beach

my only complaints are that the walls are paper thin, and when partiers come in at 4am and stay up until 5:30am, one tends to wake up and not get back to sleep. Also, located on the backside of the property where we were is a street light that shine into your room, even with the blind closed. Location is excellent for walking to wherever you want to go. 2nd time staying here, this time better than the last time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Green Parrot is just two blocks away, lots of fun!

Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K1234
Miami, FL, USA
Apr 7, 2012

Not Bad, but don't expect too much

I think the pictures are a little bit deceptively nice since only the pictures of big rooms are posted. But for those who are staying in smaller rooms might get slightly disappointed. For small rooms, the shower is a bit too small in such a big bath room. The curtain for the room was not quite enough for privacy. The wifi is not covering the whole hotel area, which is quite disappointing. Superb location. Good staff. It's a comfortable hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RichInCT
Fairfield County, CT, USA
Feb 18, 2012

Great location

Located across the street from the Hemingway house, this is a great spot within easy walking distance of Duval St and other Old Town attractions. Friendly staff and comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kate242
Washington, DC
Jan 19, 2012

Great place to stay!

Great experience with this place. Location is walking distance to Duval St and hotel is directly across the street from Hemmingway house. Staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was completely clean and very quaint. Private front porch with chairs is a nice touch. Shared hammock, corn hole toss game, swing, pool and bar/cafe were perfect. Excellent value for the money. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Blue Heaven for breakfast and get the eggs benedict with steak and shrimp and a fresh vodka/orange juice. Unbeatable!

Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Redhat
Orlando, FL, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Lackluster at best

If you want to be in the thick of things, this is the location for you. However, I have stayed in naval dormitories that were luxurious compared to this place. There wasn't a "real" comforter to speak of on the bed, the bathrooms were in desperate need of renovation, and there were ants in the room. The staff was friendly enough, but even with the site discount we received this place just wasn't worth the dough. Stick to the chains, as the whole island is so small it's not going to be difficult to get anywhere regardless of where you stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Carolinayankee
Charlotte, NC, USA
Dec 31, 2011

Screwed Up Reservation

Thw worst was I booked a two bed room only to find out the hotel could not provide one. Although they upgraded the one queen to a king I still had one of my party of 3 having to sleep on the floor. No couch in the room as an altrernative. It might be a historic site but ammenities were few and far between. The staff ran hot and cold as I was informed by one of the staff that I was not permitted to have 3 guests in a single bed room when it was one of the staff members who upgraded me to the larger bed. Given the absence of any clean, quality alternatives I was forced to accept the less than booked option. I stil don't know who dropped the ball on the reservation but the was ample finger pointing as to responsible party. Hotel seemed like an aged New Orleans brothel. Poor parking accomodations and luggage help given I recently suffered a stroke. No aid offered. Poor TV options no pay per view. Sink size pool. Bed uncomfortable. Convwniwent to Duvall but pictures are quite misleading and I don't think expense is worth it unless like me other options were full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Many so called hotels and resorts around Duvall. Note that any experience with quality hotels and resorts elsewhere will leave you thirsting to be elsewhere.

Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sitt
Orlando, FL, USA
Dec 7, 2011

comfortable and cozy

Nice Hotel, small rooms but upgraded to a king bed ,nice, good coffee and breakfast, relaxing once you have a parking spot. all in all I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DP123
NY,NY
Dec 5, 2011

its a nice place, but the amenities are missing

Overall a nice place to stay, but they need to update their mattresses and toilets. I overheard several people complaining about the same two things. Mattresses where you can feel the springs all night long, and toilets that ran with no ability to fix. Seems like an easy fix when we called the office but, it took them a while. Maybe they were in margartiaville. The 1st night i didn't sleep from the bed. The 2nd we forced the issue to get a mattress pad. I would stay there again if forced, but after spending some time on key west I found some other adorable places. Too bad i didn't see them online b4 hand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent bikes online to save 10% ahead of time. Bikes, not scooters, not trolleys, are the best way to get around Kew west.

Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Petter
Sweden
Dec 2, 2011

Lighthouse

Great hotel. Only downs for me was the limited parking, the rude and slow staff(only some, does not apply to all the staff) and the laughable breakfast. The Hotel is clean and cosy and the rooms are great, especially if u get one of the two-story rooms. Perfect hotel if u spend more time out in the town or on the beaches than at the hotel since, apart from your room, there's not much to the hotel. Also, on a side note, the internet signal doesn't cover the whole hotel which to me meant that I had no internet i my room...not a biggie but would have liked to know beforehand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top